Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2013 Visitor Reviews of
Dark Summit Haunted house (Summit, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
8 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cunbe   (Event Visited: 10/12/13 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not to hard to find. There is a large sign letting you know where to turn. You can see the house from the parking lot

Wait Entertainment: Very minimal wait. 5 minutes. The wait entertainment was great. The 3 girls were hilarious. They were involved with the the rules as well as just keeping our attention. Overall great job by them!

Length of Event: 15 minutes to get through.

Actor Performance: Very good. Actors always stayed in character. They had the timing down great. A ton of misdirection and pop-outs, which in my opinion, is the most important thing in a haunted house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great. There were 5 of us. They broke us out into groups of 2,2, and 1. They actually sent someone in solo. Pretty cool. Small groups were great for this house.

Appropriate Ages: At least teen

Props / Special FX: Props were very good. Not a ton of special effects, however, the house was so well done, it didn't need any special affects.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good. All actors were dressed great and stayed in character.

Summary: Outstanding!! I have been coming to this house since it opened and it has gotten better and better each year. This year it was outstanding. It is definitely worth the 10 bucks. This house is the essence of an old school haunted house. A ton of misdirection and pure scares. They had some decent effects as well, however, where this house stood out was the actor performances and timing. I was extremely impressed. The scenes were really well done and the timing was outstanding. My only gripe with this house was the amount of times they discussed the rules. I understand that rules need to be discussed, however, they discussed the rules prior to going into the house, as well as once we got into the house. They also questioned us on the rules which became a nuisance. Just tell us once, we understand!!! But overall, great job. I recommend this over some of the more high priced houses as the "scares per dollar" is much better here. Really well done this year. Favorite house of the year thus far!

4 out of 10 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jolidejackie   (Event Visited: 10/12/13 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This is by far the easiest haunted house to get to. Parking isn't a problem.

Wait Entertainment: The outside entertainment was hilarious, the actresses and actors amped you up to go inside.

Length of Event: It took maybe 15 minutes to walk through.

Actor Performance: The actors and actresses kepted you going, it was smooth transitions and flow from one room to the next, everyone played into the flow so there wasn't disconnect.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The wait wasn't long at all, patrons were addressed immediately and shortly lead into the haunt.

Appropriate Ages: I found it to be appropriate for most anyone seeking a thrill.

Props / Special FX: I love the special effects and lighting. Props were realistic, for once I couldn't point out the fakeness in the house.

Costumes / Make-up: Make up was by far the best I've seen done for a haunt. The attention to detail from head to toe was simply amazing. Very lifelike.

Summary: Dark summit had to be one of the best houses I have walked through. From the moment you approached the house you were pulled in and entertained. The house had a unique setup that I have not seen before and the actor flow was amazing there wasn't that odd disconnect from room to room, it told a story. From start to finish the actors kept you going and connected with each person. In one case for me,they screamed my name which brought it from a normal haunted house to being very personal and honestly it pulled you in. I sat outside the haunt for an hour and the actors never broke character even when they had a break from patrons. That is the dedication and love for what they do that made it so enjoyable. I would definitely walk through again and recommend anyone to walk through it. Definitely worth checking out.

1 out of 4 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: TomKen   (Event Visited: 10/12/13 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The haunt has a bright lit up yellow sign pointing to the haunt. As well as some signs by the Citco gas station and advertisement in the local news paper.

Wait Entertainment: While I was there, there were a group of boys just leaving the haunt screaming their butts off. There were two characters, Sugar and Spice, that kept in character. The day we went, it rained so they started drinking out of a dirty puddle of rain water! We only had to wait like 2 minutes.

Length of Event: 15- 20 minutes. It depends on how fast you run before they capture you and make you a permanent resident!

Actor Performance: This was the reason why I came back again this year! The actors always kept in character. My friend and I were trapped by a huge herd of actors messing with us as we were trying to reach the exit!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The patron flow was phenomenal! They took people group by group.

Appropriate Ages: This haunted house is extreme for your average local haunted house. I would say it was appropriate for ages 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: The props were cool too. You couldn't expect anything to happen at one part or the other!

Costumes / Make-up: The make- up was outstanding! All the actors were wearing appropriate clothes too. Not like the average teen haunted house when a Michael Myres comes up in jeans and a hoodie.

Summary: As you walk in you are greeted by Mr. Shadows, the ring master, who then tells you the rules. After that, you are taken to cells where the bad performers go, a creepy freakshow, a dark maze with a couple dip windows that scare the crap out of you, a clown room, a really cool magic room, and even a certain trap door section that might make you say bye- bye to your group once you go one by one. The highlight of the experience was when you go through the dark maze and this very creepy bunny guy jumps out of a drop panel right towards you.

1 out of 4 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mdanny90   (Event Visited: 10/18/13 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunted attraction was a little bit off the beaten path and bit hard to find the entrance. However it was definitely worth it.

Wait Entertainment: The actors definitely had you entertained from the time you bought your tickets until the time you left the grounds. The sisters certainly kept us amused. Even the reading of the rules was an entertaining experience

Length of Event: The length of the event was perfect. Not too short and not too long. It was actually a pretty large for the price.

Actor Performance: The actors kept everyone very involved. They try to almost make it personal. Pinhole the clown was extremely interactive. The sisters out front quite interesting as well.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There was no waiting to get into this haunted attraction and they made us feel like we were the only people there. They kept things moving at a good pace throughout the house.

Appropriate Ages: I would say that the ages this haunted house says it is suited for is appropriate because I could not see young children going through there. Teenagers and above will really enjoy it.

Props / Special FX: The props and special effects were great and really set the mood for the haunted house. You could not predict what was coming next.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup were right on point and each character had a very unique personality to go along with their style.

Summary: Overall I think this haunted house was worth the price and the almost 24 mile drive to get there from where me and my friends live. I think it is great that they recognize the first responders and military personnel. I really appreciate it because I am an EMT and I am a member of an EMA organization. The manager even came out and talked to us afterwards and let us take pictures with the actors. This showed us that not only were they good actors but they were down to Earth people as well.  
 
Inside the haunted house they made sure that there was not a dull moment. They even forced our group of 8 to split up into groups of 2. Splitting us up definitely added to the scare factor. I really don't get scared myself but I had a really good time and I think that most of my friends got really scared. I definitely recommend this haunted house to anyone who is looking for a good scare right before Halloween. They do an awesome job.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at