Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com – Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2013 Visitor Reviews of
Statesville Haunted Prison® & City of the Dead (Lockport, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
13 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: aquaman2689   (Event Visited: 10/20/13 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunt is very easy to find. Located off a main road with signs and everything. Easily seen since its one of the few things in the area and parking is abundant and free.

Wait Entertainment: The music was a little off. It didn't set a mood or a tone to prepare me for anything frightening. There were a few line actors going around. They had great makeup but that's where the scare factors stopped. They would only really pick on the easily scared individuals and maybe have a chat with other patrons and possibly pose for a picture. You can see the main holding cell that they try and set the mood for right from line and you can see what to expect which ruins that part. If the weather is rainy, the line does have a big tent overhead so you will stay dry.

Length of Event: It was about 15mins for The haunted prison and 10mins for City of the Dead.

Actor Performance: It was very mild. Some actors seem liked they were making their dialog up on the spot and didn't really hit the mark with it. Others had their lines down but lacked the acting skill to play the part. A few characters were right on the mark but it wasn't enough to make this haunt real to me. Even in the clown room, I thought it would be intense but the actors just were not on queue to make what is supposed to be their scariest room scary at all.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This is the part that upset me the most! There was no running into the group in front of you or behind you because it was like one big conga line of 50 people going through at once herded like cattle through both haunts. It was very hard to even pretend to be scared since I saw what was coming way ahead of time. They need to go with a more traditional 10 or less group limit that most haunts do. I asked a friend who goes to this haunt every year if its like this all the time and he said, yes. I can go on and on about how this ruined everything but ill leave it at this.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 13 and up just for some of the graphic nature of the FX and an a scare factor I would say 13 also since it wasn't that intense.

Props / Special FX: This is the one area Statesville really did a great job with! The animatronics were really the highlight and stole the show. To a toilet that shoots water at you to animated monsters, it was a cool sight to see. The introduction to the Haunted Prison was top notch with the warden flying over you and actors getting electrocuted. But if you have been here before, its all the same stuff. City of the Dead is where most of the FX come out to shine as it has less actors than the Prison.

Costumes / Make-up: I would say this was mediocre. As simple as a guy with makeup on, on stilts. To an elaborate lab experiment monster if I had to have a best guess at the character. The warden was one of the top costumes at the beginning giving you high expectations, but they are quickly taken away by having simple costumes with face paint for some areas. The clown room was very basic to me as it looked like they all went to the local Halloween store to suit up. Leave the scary looking "costumes" the animatronics.

Summary: I tried to keep spoilers out of the review in case you visit this haunt because I don't like spoilers and would assume the same to most people. So overall, I would not go to this Haunt again. Its the same haunt every year and is overpriced in my opinion. The scare factor is taken away from the way they run the haunt by cramming as many people through as quickly as possible like its a money making machine and nothing more. Once you pay, they want you in and out and it doesn't seem like they care if you were entertained. In one room I tried to go really slow and get separation from the giant group to see if I can actually get scared, but an actor broke character to yell at me to keep moving. When they put you in the holding cell right before going into the haunt is visible from the line and ruins what is coming next. If they had that somewhere it couldn't be seen, it might add a little something to the experience. The introduction on the house is the best I have ever seen in a haunt but unfortunately it is the only thing that set the mood for the haunt and was the scariest part. I would only attend this haunt again if it was free just for the scenery but I like actually getting some bang for my buck so I would turn my attention to other haunts and attractions.

7 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: GailA   (Event Visited: 10/05/13 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Statesville was very easy to find, especially if you are familiar with the area. There was plenty of parking in the lot and the walk to get from the parking lot to the entrance was mere yards away.

Wait Entertainment: While waiting in line I mainly watched the guy twirling fire sticks but there was a lot of other things going on. Loud music, screams, actors scaring the kids in line. It was fun.

Length of Event: We were there for an hour and a half and I would say maybe 30 minutes of that was waiting in line. It was the longest haunted house I have ever been to.

Actor Performance: Every one of the actors were AWESOME! One guy was messing with me asking my name over and over when I wasn't getting anywhere with him I told him to ask my friend. When he did she said something "not so nice" and his reaction was hilarious! The room with all the mirrors and the little chics running around that looked the girl from the movie The Ring, scared the crap out of me! The actors looked amazing, they played their roles incredibly, they got so close you could feel the heat from their breath when they tried to bite you. It was a great experience.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They have a pretty good system going on! There is a couple times when you are in a room with 20 or so people but then they dispurse you and you are pretty much with your own group the whole time. There was four of us in my group and 85% of the time it was just the four of us. Stick with your group right in the beginning though because we almost got split up in the very first room we gathered in.

Appropriate Ages: It really depends on your kids and how they scare. I am going to return with my 13 year old son, I think any older and he will be "too cool" to scare lol. Right now he is the perfect age to be scared but not have to exit. My 7 year old daughter I would not take!

Props / Special FX: The props were really good. The best I've seen. There were so many rooms and tunnels and narrow walkways. You felt like you were in a real haunted prison. There were 2 vortex tunnels, which I personally hate! In a lot of the rooms you really couldn't tell what was a prop and what was a person. That's a great effect to have when scaring! One of the creepier parts is when the walkway gets narrow and there are cells on both sides and you don't know who is going to come from where. In the first room the floor drops which you totally don't expect. There are things flying over your head, its hard to look everywhere. Very cool.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were all very detailed. Many actors were dressed as movie characters and many as inmates. From the moment you enter until the moment you leave everyone is in character 100% of the time. I would rate the quality of make-up and costumes a 10

Summary: I would have to say this was the best haunted house I have been to as far as actors, visual effects and scaring. Although they did not have a Michael Meyers and to me that dude is scary as ****. My husband and I went with another couple so there was four of us. The actors 80% of the time jumped out at the 2nd person which was good for me because I was the 3rd person so I still got the scare but not as bad lol. The guys directing you, not actors persay were all very funny, cracking jokes about our husbands and getting loud. Even they were entertaining. My husband and I found a deal on living social for VIP entrance and zombie paintball. Zombie paintball was closed the night we went but I really look forward to going back for it. I recommend you buy some kind of VIP package, we waited maybe 30 minutes in line and our friend who didn't have a VIP package waited over 2 hours.

4 out of 9 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Fuzzball   (Event Visited: 10/10/13 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very visible from Weber Road. Located on 'Cottonwood Farms'. Near the Menards, north of Caton Farm.

Wait Entertainment: Music, creatures getting in your face.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: All the actors were very good. They genuinely seemed to enjoy what they were doing. Very 'believable' performances.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Steady and no bottle necks. Groups tend to disperse the further you get into the haunt.

Appropriate Ages: 12 years or older

Props / Special FX: The props and special effects were all very good. It gave you the feel you were in an actual rogue prison, all while carrying the thought that if this is 'Statesville' are real prisoners some of the creatures?

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and Make up are excellent. Very well detailed, transforming the creatures into the monsters they are.

Summary: We arrive to this event around 7:45. I would allow extra time due to construction in the area. There was a line, which is to be expected at any haunt. First the good points, they had music, and creature actors to entertain you while you wait. The wait time was very short. Once you enter the prison there is a lot going on. Rooms, walkways, tunnels and creatures to scare you. You are in there for about 15 to 20 minutes. I was very impressed how the creatures never stopped being their character. The points I think took away from the event. Parking is stressful. People aren't always paying attention while walking and if you are the driver you have to be on the defensive. I would not suggest taking children under 12 years of age. Could give little ones nightmares. In closing this event was the value we paid. We receive a lot of entertainment, laughs and scare.

3 out of 8 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cupajoe415   (Event Visited: 10/17/13 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Statesville was very easy to find, with the giant pumpkin and parking people.

Wait Entertainment: They Get alot of credit here, with a few exceptions. The music was often distracting and not very well fitting for a haunt at some points. Also I am not favorable toward masks at most haunts, as it is a the cheap way. However, I have to say the wait entertainment at Statesville is the best I have seen at any haunt this year. They all were in your face and hit their marks very well in the lines. The thing that impressed me most though was their energy. They were not borred slow or tired, but were high energy non-stop. While it was early in the night, I was still impressed.

Length of Event: Maybe about 35-40 minutes with wait for city of the dead.

Actor Performance: Actors were pretty good. Nothing to complain about, some were funny. Liked the folks in the bathroom area, and the clowns. All of the folks in the city of the dead did great too. I have to say, there was a smaller guy I think who game from below the lazerlights and the fog and got me, which doesnt happen often. Great job. I think there can still be more done here for improvement in terms of stronger acting from some, but like I said nothing to complain about. I should also mentione the really cool gaurd in the first sell that made me tell jokes and dance for the crowd... it was funny.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great!!!! They have check points throughout the house where you are regrouped. This anoys some, but helps the flow and the actors reset considerably I imagine. I like it.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: Beutiful... In terms of props the best I have seen. Awesome attention to detail even in places you should never be looking. Great job.

Costumes / Make-up: Makeup and costumes were good!

Summary: So I used to work at a haunt where peers (not the owners) talked crap about Statesville. I never had first hand experience. I say this because I went in with an attitude for my first visit. But I was blown away. This haunt has one of the best environments I have seen in my travels. Acting was decent to really good by some. There is some growth I can see needed there for a few in the house. The environment and set design and props on the other hand were the best ever! EXCELENT job guys. If you have an opportunity and you have not checked out statesville. I would reccomend it.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at