Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2013 Visitor Reviews of
Eleventh Hour Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
10 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: porbcat666   (Event Visited: 10/05/13 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Excellent location! roughly, 200 yards from North Ave. visible from street and plenty of parking signs to direct patrons.

Wait Entertainment: Out near the ticket Booth at the main entrance there was no entertainment. The indoor waiting area had a "ghoulish" custodian sweeping and a Nurse type woman directing the line. This actor did not stay in character at all and mostly chatted with the customers about why she was good for this job.

Length of Event: approx. 10-12 minutes.

Actor Performance: Lazy

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Being this early in the season, there weren't too many people visiting the haunt. However, we still ran into 3 other groups. there was absolutely no effort made to pace the flow of customers.

Appropriate Ages: 5-12

Props / Special FX: a lot of the scenes were recycled from the old Eleventh Hour. The "new" scenes were thrown together and lacked creativity as well as actors. many of the FX did not work. Including the freight elevator which is the very first attraction patrons walk into. We were asked to exit and walk around a curtain when the elevator doors wouldn't even close to begin the ride. This pretty much set the tone for the rest of the haunt.

Costumes / Make-up: There were so few actors, you would think they would, at least, put more effort into their look but, no.

Summary: Every year, my wife and I start off the season with Eleventh Hour.We usually frequent 1 to 2 haunts per week in October. The buy one get one rip pass was always a great value. Until this year. The new location in Melrose park is the perfect building for a haunt and has a lot of potential. The Creators of eleventh hour (whom had always entertained us in years passed)ignored this potential and decided to recycle old sets and patch in the empty spaces with a few, thrown together, new ones. Don't be fooled, it is advertised as containing multiple haunts but that is only defined by walking walking in an out of the same doorway with a plain clothed worker re-setting a couple barrels to re route you back through another passageway. The Charm of the old location is completely lost as well as any mood that could've been set. the previous location was made with a lot of semi trailers which made there sets dark, tight, and really made you feel claustrophobic at times. The new location has walls but no ceilings, so at any point, you could look up and see the rest of the warehouse. This also allowed for lighting to bleed into other sets. There were so many missed opportunities for scares because there were no actors around for at least, 3/4 of the haunt. You would think on opening weekend at a new location, Owners and actors alike would want to impress their customers. Not these guys.

5 out of 8 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cupajoe415   (Event Visited: 10/11/13 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty Good... When you see all the bright orange parking cones it isn't hard to find where you are to go.

Wait Entertainment: Not a ton.. I saw one guy out there and heard laughter, but we had tickets already from the opening night for free admission. So we bypassed this.

Length of Event: Pretty good! Not the longest out there but I didn't feel robbed in anyway in this area.

Actor Performance: Good and bad! Having at one point been a zombie myself at a haunt, so many here were so poor in their acting. There movements were good, but something in their performance was lacking... and did not feel intimidating in anyway. I can't blame them necessarily, I think with some more training they can do better. I can tell they were trying. There were to many screamers and moaners and not enough lines, that make actors memorable. Though a good zombie can be memorable without lines as well. I will say the two girls in the fireplace area, were great. They held up the group a bit talking one of the guests to try and get in a fireplace. They were funny and enjoyable. The most enjoyable actor is the guy who played with his puppet rufus. I believe he was Mr. Jingles last year. This guy is top notch!!!! His one liners and jokes are hilarious. I think if it weren't for him, I may have called this trip a bust on both trips so far. The waiting area before the main entrance had pretty good actors as well though. I do not think this haunt is beyond recoverable here in any area. I think they just need some more memorable individual actors and maybe some time to fix some things. With some training and some differentiation in character, all acting issues can be remedied.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were spread out enough, and didn't run into anyone. No problems here. Though it was really too easy to go into actors hiding crypts instead of staying on the path, because of the lighting. Our group had to be chased out of these areas multiple times.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: I think this is where I will talk about lighting. It has already been mentioned... but with the open ceiling, light tends to bleed dimly into all areas and make things feel odd. I actually did not notice this however, in the lit up streets area where we first enter the zombie scenes because the lighting drew your attention to the streets. I think that when you have an open ceiling plan that is working against you, you need to actually add more light into each of the rooms. This draws your attention into the room as opposed to upward to the ceiling. The tombs and crypts areas suffer because of this. Since this is all brand new, I am hoping they can get the time to fix this. Especially because I feel like I may have missed alot of cool detail due to the lighting.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and makeups were good. No problems here.

Summary: Eleventh Hour, I visited you last year for the first time. I loved my experience. There were memorable characters and scenes. I couldn't be more excited when I heard of your move to Melrose Park, and your larger space. Sadly the distinctive 11 hour flavor is missing. I will give you much grace here, as It is a whole new space and setup you had to do. I don't know if everyone else will though. I think actor training and characters and lighting are your two big issues right now, and both of those can be fixed with some time and care. I will try to come back for a third visit in a week or so, and continue my support. To everyone reading this, give Eleventh hour a chance. They have very strong haunt roots and phenomenal work put into what they do, with a little more time I'm hoping they can hit their stride.

7 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: eDsKillaZ   (Event Visited: 10/04/13 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find with directions or GPS. Located in a Huge warehouse! Ticket Booth located in front.

Wait Entertainment: It was opening day so there was no wait even though I purchased RIP passes through youswoop which saved me money regardless had I paid general admission.

Length of Event: 10 min

Actor Performance: Poor at Best! Very few actors.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not bump into any groups since the haunt was empty.

Appropriate Ages: 5&up

Props / Special FX: Very poor lighting and use of the strobes. The haunt lacks darkness and fog to cover up for the ceiling of the warehouse being exposed and to lit up in the haunt.

Costumes / Make-up: I saw no costumes. The only make up i saw was the nurse at the entrance who was taunting sum patrons. She looked pretty convincing!

Summary: Overall Eleventh Hour was a big disappointment this season regardless if it was opening day. You would think they would want to impress patrons this year with there NEW MASSIVE LOCATION as stated on there website and postings. Well my friends.. that is about exactly what your going to get! One NEW MASSIVE piece of Jaloppy! Scenes from the previous Eleventh Hour Haunt just scrambled and put together very poorly with no real good scares. Eleventh Hour in the past was always entertaining and now its just a big mess out to hurt peoples wallet without giving a bit of customer satisfaction this year. You guys got alot of work to do! So much potential with the new big location but the show just isnt the same. And please get rid of the girl at on the loud microphone giving that pointless distorted introduction. Anyways.. This haunt is not worth the $23 as advertised. The management needs to take action and put some effort into this haunt this season.

5 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: enginebear   (Event Visited: 10/10/13 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was not hard to miss at all. The google maps directions took me right to the front door. Fun fact! You can park in the Aldi's parking lot for free!

Wait Entertainment: The wait was average. I mean, it was about 20-30 minutes which is pretty standard for a haunted house a couple of weeks before Halloween.

Length of Event: Wow! This was impressive. Since the event was so huge (it takes place in a giant warehouse) it was about 40 minutes for me and my friends (a group of 5) to get through. For the price, that is totally worth it.

Actor Performance: This is actually the reason I am commenting. The acting started as soon as we paid for our tickets. A lot of haunts don't have the "feel" of a haunt until the actual "tour" starts. This place had actors in the WAIT line. Nobody sounded rehearsed or stale, and the best part is since it was themed everybody seemed to be with the theme. Nobody seemed out of place, and ultimately their goal was to scare the crud out of people... and they sure did! This one particular actor who played a sort of grumbling zombie roaming the "streets" of Melrose was particularly gruesome and wonderful.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The Patron Flow was steady from what I could tell. I never was distracted by the group ahead or behind me though, and thats what is important to me.

Appropriate Ages: I'd say 10+ (if you have a well-stomached 10 year old...)

Props / Special FX: Even though it takes place inside, I felt like I was actually walking the streets of a contaminated Melrose Park. It was pretty amazing to see them bring the haunt inside but still give that claustrophobic haunted house feeling. The special effects were good (such as shaking bridges and pop outs with lights and such) but I'd say the props were the best part. There is a 30ft+ Tesla coil... need I say more?

Costumes / Make-up: Again, part of the reason I am commenting. The actors were by far the best part. Part of what made them so good was their disgusting makeup and bloody, gutty... everything.

Summary: Overall, one of the best haunts I've been to this year and in previous years. I go all over the country for these things, and as far as I can tell this place is one of the best (and has the most potential to be EVEN BETTER which is saying something) of any I've seen. This is coming from someone who goes to main attractions like Horror Nights in Orlando and several different Fear Fests. The staff is friendly at the door, but as soon as you walk in the feeling of terror ensues. There were times when I literally jumped three times for the SAME actor in the SAME room. I rarely post reviews on websites, but its important enough to me to let everyone know that this place is one of the top. I even made plans to go back for halloween.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at