Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2013 Visitor Reviews of
Midway of Madness Haunted Barn (Urbana, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
20 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/12/13 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you know where the fairgrounds are, it's pretty easy. We didn't. More signs are needed.

Wait Entertainment: Little girl twins at the door were awesome!!!!! And then the scary little girls who appeared after we got out were really good. They had food vendors and a hearse.

Length of Event: 15 mins

Actor Performance: Very good. They were into their parts.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never saw a group besides our own.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Pretty good. Loved the midway theme. One actor used tongs in a carnival food scene to clap together at us. I liked that. The guy with the corn dog eyes was good, too. They did a good job with the midway theme.

Costumes / Make-up: All were good. I don't remember seeing any street clothes. That's pretty impressive.

Summary: I had fun. The actors worked their parts and all were totally in costume or if they weren't, I didn't notice....and I usually do. I do believe I saw the tallest clown I've ever seen and he was working the scare so that was quite effective. 
I loved the outdoor/barn building setting. I'm partial to the outdoor haunts. They're just more fun. I also really enjoyed the cattle thingie. It's like a maze, but you can see through it and you can see the scary people but you have no idea when you're going to get to them. 
Some of the spaces could have been tighter and I think that would have helped. The corn hallway was a bit of fond nostalgia. I haven't seen that in a while. 
All in all a fun one and the $10 price tag was reasonable. 

12 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/12/13 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very hard to find. Tucked back in the fair grounds with little guidance. Finally you do see a lit sign that says Haunted Barn. The fairgrounds is behind Carle Hospital, if that helps.

Wait Entertainment: A chainsaw masked clown as well as creepy little children. The two twins outside the front door looked great. A hearse as well as a food trailer were sitting out front.

Length of Event: 12 minutes

Actor Performance: Strong performances by the actors, with a fun introduction by the rules giver. Once while entering an electrocution room, we did hear a bunch of actors chatting and laughing...always kind of a bummer. The chainsaw in the house pretty much did not chase us, maybe being adults he felt we were not worth the challenge. Unfortunately, or fortunately I am terrified of the chainsaw so I was able to walk out of the house at a normal pace. The kids and LARGE actors were used at appropriate places.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very well spaced, we did not run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Mostly walking through black painted wooden walls set up in the barns opening to different Midway carnival scenes. There were some excellent animatronics. The details in the rooms were enough to get the point the across and what was in the rooms was nice. I really liked the corn hallway, very creepy. I loved the corn dogs crammed into the eyes of a prop!

Costumes / Make-up: Some make-up, but mostly masks.

Summary: This is the kind of haunted house I like with gritty in your face scare tactics. No guide, find your way, very dark with surprises and banging through out. 
The dark mazes and lighting kept you very disoriented as well as they had nice distractions to set you up for the scares. The overt smell of hay and uneven floor worked well in adding to the feeling that things were "just not right".The jolts and bangs produced good screams and laughter from our group. 
The 10$ admission probably a couple bucks to high for the perceived value of the haunt. But all in all kudos to the Midway of Madness haunted Barn. Go experience it!

3 out of 6 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/26/13 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located at the fair grounds - easy to find with GPS . Lighted road sign marking the event.

Wait Entertainment: A couple clowns walking the lines - not much interaction with the crowd here. There is a greet hot dog and hot chocolate booth and priced vary reasonable - everything was good. Also a shaved ice truck but much too cold for that .

Length of Event: The line is the real wait here, it moves very slow - we waited over one hour just to get in, they could use a speed pass here. The event maybe 20 minutes in length, not bad.

Actor Performance: All the characters were excellent and done a very good job, they pulled this off very well. Everyone was on their mark and gave 100% to the scare, and yes it worked.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No flow problems here, for the size of the crowd we had no issues with bottle neck jams or any issues with other groups.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 8 and above with no problem, but there wasn't any young kids here - mostly college and high school age. There is some scare factor here so even young adults were having issues going through, very nice!

Props / Special FX: The props were all excellent and above there mark, the themes of various circus and fair events came off perfectly and very convincing. There are also automation effects thrown in and just the right times and well balanced to give you a real scare - perfectly done and very professional here!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make up all seemed done very well, no issues here.

Summary: This is the first time attending this event, I think it operated last year. We were very surprised at the overall effort done here, the setting works great for the theme and the lack of light pulls you into the dark theme of a haunted fair/circus event. The event went was very well done and thought out and we had more to look at than time to see everything, well done. The length of the event was very good and it was continually designed so you always had action around you, the way it should be. There were several section which were very good, but some of the automation monsters seemed to be stand out points for myself. This event is a MUST RETURN attraction and looking forward to next year, and at $10.00 a ticket this is the best deal going ! 
Only problem noticed here was no VIP or SPEED pass - maybe $15.00. And also open the entry fence somewhere near the ticket booth for easy access to go to the restroom, nobody wants to be lifted over the fence by guys (actually saw a girl have this done) or lots of people rush into the restroom afterward, stand in line for 50 minutes after drinking pop or hot chocolate ..  
Otherwise; all good here !

6 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Drdent   (Event Visited: 10/12/13 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I live in Decatur ,about an hour from Urbana. I know champaign/Urbana area pretty well so it was not to bad to find for me.if you are not from Urbana it might be a little hard to find,but it's in the fairgrounds behind the Carle hospital .

Wait Entertainment: There was people coming and going,but it was not crowded. We walked right up to the ticket counter with no line. We waited out side for maybe two minutes to give the people in front of us a little space before we entered.

Length of Event: It probably took 15 minutes to go through the whole thing.

Actor Performance: The actors were very well made up and they stayed in character very well

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not not see or run into any other patrons while inside.it was like we were the only two people trapped inside a haunted house.

Appropriate Ages: It would be fine for teenagers and up. Maybe 12 and up. It would really freak out young children. 12 and under not a good idea.

Summary: The shaking floor at the very beginning really surprised me . I didn't even enter the first room when the floor shook and surprised me and I dropped my keys in the dark hall and I found them just as they opened the door to the first room.from there it was a thrill a minute.in one room a eight foot tall clown snuck up behind my wife an made her scream, it surprised me too.we entered a white room with bloody body parts hanging from the ceiling.my wife was holding my belt so she wouldn't lose me. Then a small woman in a long white bloody coat entered the room , the lights flashed off and when they came back on my wife was standing at the door at the far end. I don't know how she got by me and the bloody lady but she did. There was a zombie dog that jumped out of a dog house that was a real scary prop.At the last spot there was a creepy guy at the end of a long hall and you had to walk toward him to get out. We walked towards him keeping our eyes on him so he couldn't scare us when a spook with a chainsaw came out of the dark behind us and chased us out the door. Like I said a thrill a minute.

3 out of 7 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: blackash   (Event Visited: 10/26/13 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We only had a flyer to go by. Could have been clearer on the directions to get to the place. Not being from the area it was not easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Had a guy in costume that would walk a roud with a noise maker. Usually tried to continue the scare of the chaisaw guy. Still trying to figure out the Midway of Madness name. Did not feel like a midway, and did not see much madness going on outside.

Length of Event: Didn't keep track. Felt like 15 min.

Actor Performance: The haunt felt understaffed. There was one scene we went by and nothing happened. There was another scene with twom actors dressed as trees? Both were sitting on a couch and one had his mask off drinking a pepsi. Not good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: A little quick. We ran into the group infront of us and the group behing us ran into us. They didn't appear to have anything in place that could help control this issue.

Appropriate Ages: all

Props / Special FX: A few pnumatics, but nothitng that was great. Drop panel after the sitting room was te best one.

Costumes / Make-up: fair. Lot of masks. Not that it is bad, but some more face paint would have been nice.

Summary: While standing in line, we had high hopes. The location felt remote. The sounds we heard from the house while we were standing in line were really geting our hopes up. Seeing people exit running from the chainsaw really added to the overall atmosphere. We were suprised though that for a college town, there were not more people there either as workers or as paying customers. Inside the haunt nothing sttod out besides that first drop panel. However the dark walls were nice for adding darkness in the hallways. A lot of the actors didn't seem the have the energy fo being later in the night.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at