Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2013 Visitor Reviews of
Basement of the Dead featuring Shattered (Aurora, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
60 out of 73 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: viso1321   (Event Visited: 10/12/13 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There is a sign out in front, but we drove right by it and had to double back. After seeing where it was, we felt silly having missed it the first time.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was fantastic. You could tell these people really enjoyed their jobs. I did see one person come out of character fairly often, so that was disappointing.

Length of Event: Maybe 30 minutes at the most

Actor Performance: Disappointing at best. There were no where near enough actors in the house, and the actors that were there missed most, if not all, of the cues. I was truly disappointed in this. They have the opportunity to do a truly great job given the space. I can understand if its Friday night opening weekend to have kinks, but Saturday of the second week? Come on, you're just ripping people off and charging them tons of money to do it. They rely on loud noises for most of the haunt, and I came out with a headache.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Also disappointing. The guy working the door, Satan(who, by the way, was never in character, ever) literally just opened the door and shut it behind you. There was no welcome entertainment, no story to be told. We slowed down so we would not run into the group ahead, and the group behind us ran into us! Not one actor took the time to redirect or separate us.

Appropriate Ages: Most, as it offers very little scare.

Props / Special FX: There were maybe two rooms in the first house I enjoyed as far as props. Everything else was just a lame attempt to distract you so the actor coming up could miss their cue. Also, they have things hanging from the ceiling, which is kind of cool once. Putting it in every single room is simply lazy and redundant. They also used the spinning vortex. Three times. Come on... 
 
I will say the shattered house was really cool with the 3D paint. You can tell a ton of work was put into that.

Costumes / Make-up: This is where they excelled. The outside entertainment was awesome, and the few characters inside looked great. Whoever is doing the make-up needs a raise, as they are the ONLY person that is working on this haunt.

Summary: I had very high hopes for this haunt, and was very disappointed. We paid the extra $10 to skip the line, so the price of the ticket for two people was $70. Whoever is running this house needs to reevaluate their philosophy on price vs value. Actors are poorly trained and seem to not care about the character. One of the main reasons I love haunted houses is because I love to watch the actors involved, because a majority of the time you will find people that LOVE what they do. It just isn't true here. I also enjoy looking at the craftsmanship that goes into each room, and walking through a mostly pitch black ply wood haunt was not even slightly impressive. I truly hope this was the year they tried something different and will go back to whatever they were doing before. If they continue this way, they will be shuttering the doors for good. Standing outside and watching the line entertainment scare people would have been more worthwhile. 
 
I do have to give them props on Shattered 3D. That house was amazing, and the quality of work was there. They just don't utilize the space or atmosphere.

15 out of 45 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Souploach   (Event Visited: 10/13/13 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is great and has a great atmosphere. It is right across the street from the casino and next to the river, pretty cool spot for a haunt.

Wait Entertainment: They had an assortment of actors outside from stilt walkers, a devil to take tickets, vampire, and chainsaw welding creeps.

Length of Event: The length of Basement of the dead is around 20 minute and Shattered was roughly 10.

Actor Performance: Actors were great inside both haunts. All seems like they had their own characters they portrayed. The nurses in Basement of the Dead blew my mind. Awesome job ladies.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It flowed nicely we did not run into another group the entire time throughout both haunts.

Summary: I went through both Basement of the Dead and Shattered. Basement of the Dead is more of the traditional haunted house, dark, scary, and very keeps you on edge. It is populated with numerous scenes that you could expect to see in a basement with great actors in all of them. I was very impressed with the overall layout and use of prop and actor placement, great haunted house. I was a little weary about the whole 3-D haunted house, because I went in one before I was not very fond of, however Shattered put all my uncertainties to rest. Absolutely beautiful (but still scary) artwork and scenes though the entire haunt from the ceiling to the floor. I'm not kidding even the floor!! They really went the extra step detailing the haunt and filling it with great props and clowns for actors. I was very pleased with the entire experience and I absolutely love the location of the haunt and the atmosphere from the outside.

12 out of 40 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: davejw1980   (Event Visited: 10/12/13 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was harder to find in the past, but they now have a light up arrow sign in front of the haunt that is easily seen from the street.

Wait Entertainment: The Basement is amazing when it comes to outside entertainment. They have stilt walkers, chain saw men, a vampire, and clowns running everywhere. Then to top it off they have a DJ that comes out of the building on a moving stage. The DJ plays a mix of rock and some dance type music. He also was throwing out stuff to the crowd and inviting people up on stag to take pictures.

Length of Event: 25 mins

Actor Performance: The actors all were very good. Some of the more memorable ones for me was the pig guy who made a loud "squeelish" sound, the two nurses who moved very "jerky" when they followed us. The elevator man was very intimidating and in your face.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I did not fell like I was at all rushed, except for when my party was pulling me to hurry and get out of a room.

Appropriate Ages: 13 years or older due to the gore factor.

Props / Special FX: There are spinning tunnels, squeeze halls, moving pictures, jump out type props. My favorite was the elevator and clown bodies in the 3D haunt. The art was incredible.

Costumes / Make-up: Every actor I saw was in a full costume that was well done. The mask were very unique and looked like they were made from very old cloth. The clowns were all done in 3D black light paint and made it very confusing to determine who was real and who was a prop.

Summary: Basement of the Dead and Shattered 3D is advertised as a top haunt and they do not disappoint! The actors scare you the whole time you are in their area. Because of the make up, mask, and costumes it is real easy to forget they are just people, which in my opinion is the is why you go to a haunt. The room designs are well done and the 3D art is so well done I can not put it into words. The outside was so entertaining that we stayed around after we got done with the haunt, just to see others get scared and to listen to the DJ. I spent the night down at the Basement so I feel that my money was well worth a night of fun and scares!

12 out of 40 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/13/13 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Next to a giant casino it's not difficult to locate but the haunt itself has limitations on how they can present their entrance. Just look for the big crowd.

Wait Entertainment: They have always been good at this. Guys on stilts, really good stalker props. They could be a tad more interactive but still very good.

Length of Event: 20 minutes or so depending on how much looking you want to do.

Actor Performance: No weak points here at all. They are a premier haunt and they clearly require their performers to be that. There are different levels of interaction but all did a good to great job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This is probably a weak point again depending on how much looking a group does. We caught a group and a group behind us caught us but you can always slow down if you don't like being with a group in front.

Appropriate Ages: As all haunts know your kids...this can get very intense at times.

Props / Special FX: Three vortex tunnels running at different speeds. Very good set designs. This is a premier haunt so you would expect some good animatronics if they use them. My only complaint was the use of certain cheesy prop wannabes. Hanging flex drainage hose in a walkway. This is more garage haunt stuff than a top rated event. It cheapens the effects.

Costumes / Make-up: This section is what sets a good haunt and a great haunt apart. They are really good here. If the level and type of makeup matter to you then you should be pleased.

Summary: I have been here before a couple years ago. They are primarily a scare haunt with good set design and some very good props. The second haunt new to us was the "shattered" 3-d event. Airbrush and artist generated walls compliment a very good cast. If I had a complaint there(nit pick) don't do all clowns, mix in some other images. I would recommend you do both but if you choose to just do the Basement and you are a veteran of these things you probably have seen all this before. They do it very well but they don't really surprise you with something new. If you just want a creepy atmosphere and energetic performers....you should really like this.

6 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jlogothetis   (Event Visited: 10/05/13 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There is a huge parking garage right next to the haunt . I thought the haunted house was pretty easy to find because of all the characters walking around outside, also there is a decorated truck that say basement of the dead right on the street . Not to mention the large groups of people .

Wait Entertainment: The wait was a little long but was well worth it. While you are in line there is a DJ that plays awesome music (wide variety) . The outside entertainment is just amazing . I was so scared before I even entered.

Length of Event: It took me a good 15 to 20 minutes to get though the haunt . It felt like forever because I was so scared .

Actor Performance: AMAZING!!!!!! I loved a lot of the actors but I have to say that the nurses from silent hill just rock . It is like they came right from the movie .WOW

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were not rushed at all . I was able to view everything and did not see any other group .

Appropriate Ages: UMMM depends, I am in my 20's and was terrified, so it depends on what you can handle.

Summary: AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!! A MUST SEE!!!!!!! I am going to make this place a Halloween tradition . I also want to mention for the extra seven dollars Shatters(the other haunt) is amazing . I am terrified of clowns ever since I seen the movie IT and the haunt made me think of that because that is the whole theme. The 3D props are very detailed, from the floor to the ceiling . Its hard to determine which one I like better. I also have to mention there ticket booth that in itself is a scary setup. The workers selling tickets were very nice and helpful to my group . Once again WOW!!!

5 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: DragonSlayer   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was a special Friday the 13th opening so the visibility was very poor. I would assume that they normally have better signage when the event is officially operating.

Wait Entertainment: Lots of stuff to see and do! They had about 5 people in very neat costumes moving around the area including one guy jumping and running in special stilts and another that was over 12 feet tall with a very elaborate pumpkin mask. They also had a costumed DJ who was bringing people up to the stage and tying them up with duct tape! Very interesting to say the least.

Length of Event: About 10 minutes for Basement of the Dead and about 5 minutes for Shattered 3D.

Actor Performance: Very good! Nobody broke character and most made some very strange noises instead of just screaming like most places. Some of the other actors were talking in a jibberish or nonsensical way which also made it more interesting. The actors were very intense and they seemed to love their craft.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We had no issues here at all. There was a line outside but once they let us in we did not bump into another group and another group did not catch up to us. They also let you in as a group with only your people! Since it was just me and one other person, we went through by ourselves which only added to the dread and intensity of the attraction! I have heard others complain about this place having bad patron flow but we had no issues. It could have been that night though.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 13 and up. Some scenes were pretty graphic and the actors were in your face the whole time.

Props / Special FX: What can I say? The special effects were awesome not so much because of the money invested but because of the lighting. They nailed the lighting and this made everything look so much better!

Costumes / Make-up: Again, very good make up and costumes. No cheesy masks here and some make up was cringe worthy. Very elaborate and well done. Definitely Hollywood quality!

Summary: Overall Basement of the Dead and Shattered 3D are by far some of the best haunts in IL. Basement of the Dead is your classic haunt which begins and ends with a bang. They seem to know how to scare and they do it well. They catch you off guard with one thing then hit you with another. There were times in Basement of the Dead where I truly felt unnerved and very uneasy which doesn't happen often. Some of the rooms are very interesting and different than most haunts and they use the lighting and effects inside to completely catch you off guard. I would attempt to go through this place by yourself or with only a small group if possible as it definitely adds to the dread. Basement of the Dead also does what most haunts stopped doing and that is putting you in a small area with minimal space to move and then putting actors in your face. This is what makes haunts scary. While I like the over the top set pieces in some places, I tend to find the tight quarters to be that much more scary.  
 
Shattered 3D is their second separate haunt which has some of the best painting and artwork I have seen in a 3D haunt. Shattered is not as scary but it is very fun to go through. There were times inside Shattered where I actually touched the wall just to make sure it really wasn't moving! It's that well done. The use of props and application of paint adds to some of the scenes to make them seem surreal and almost like a fuzzy TV in your eyes. You really feel like you are being taken away to another world. Basement of the Dead and Shattered 3D prove again to be one of the best haunts in IL and for good reason!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at