Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2013 Visitor Reviews of
Terror at Skellington Manor (Rock Island, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
13 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/04/13 @ 11:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in a old hotel right in downtown area, three levels of first rate fear. Great location, but can be hard to find. Use GPS

Wait Entertainment: Lots of things going on, effects in the waiting grand room, sounds and digital effects throughout the wait.

Length of Event: Maybe almost 30 minutes after you get into the actual upstairs to get ready to enter the attraction and another 30 minutes to go through the haunt.

Actor Performance: Everyone done a first rate job here, very well stocked with actors and everything right on the mark. A first rate event here!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was almost perfect, we did have a group behind us who was too quick to enjoy the attraction, and had to be slowed down to keep them off our heels, they were slowed down and we enjoyed the event seamlessly ..

Appropriate Ages: This event should be for 10 and above.

Props / Special FX: The props are perfect, and loaded with automation effects and monsters, this event is linked to digital effects and lots of automation monsters and Disney like effects and projections.

Costumes / Make-up: First rate outfits and make up here!

Summary: After one year off from this event, we returned to find a much improved haunted hotel, and the 2011 event was perfect - one of the best we ever seen. This event is ranked with the very best haunted houses we have ever seen, and yes we attend lots of Chicago and St. Louis events, this attraction is a high end haunt with lots of punch in it! This is a large attraction and worth every penny to get in, as for bang for your buck you will not find a better haunted house period. The actors all done a professional job and everything went off totally flawlessly ..

6 out of 10 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Katherine   (Event Visited: 10/12/13 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunt in located in downtown Rock Island. It's easy to find and there is plenty of parking in the lot or on the street.

Wait Entertainment: AMAZING wait entertainment! The queue lines are inside a really nice room that has been set up with plenty to keep you in the mood while you wait your turn. There is a timed light show with music that is way cool

Length of Event: It took about 25 minutes to go through the entire haunt.

Actor Performance: The actors are REALLY committed to frightening people!!! Their timing was awesome and it isn't always the first person in the group to get hit - sometime the middle sometimes the end of our group got it - that made us all even MORE tense.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There were a lot of people going through but it didn't ever feel crowded or rushed. We didn't bump into any other groups and we didn't have anyone on our heels.

Appropriate Ages: I wouldn't take kids under 12. The gore factor isn't over the top but the INTENSITY of this place is not for little kids.

Props / Special FX: TOP NOTCH props and FX!! There were times when we couldn't tell if it was real or a prop!! They are movie quality!

Costumes / Make-up: Very detailed costumes for the most part and they all were good for the rooms they were in. The masks and make up were outstanding!! This place has to have professionals doing make up - there was some very realistic wounds and blood going on!!

Summary: If you only go to one haunt make it THIS ONE!! We are definitely going back! The experience starts as soon as you get out of your car looking at this creepy building. It only gets better once you are inside. They build up the terror from the minute you get the tickets!! They have actors in the lines downstairs to give you a little taste of what's in store for you too. We found the clowns to be particularly traumatizing!! Oh and we walked into a room with a huge PENTAGRAM on the floor and wound up with the most enormous satan in front of us and a demon with an ax and a horrible NEVER ENDING growl behind us - they had us in a hallway - my sister pretty much will never sleep again - well done!! and omg the DOLLS!! nightmares about dolls. This place has just about every trauma you can imagine under one roof. It's intense in your face horror.

11 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: nikjay   (Event Visited: 10/12/13 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Terror at Skellington Manor was easy enough to find. I would recommend a GPS if you don't know the area, as there is no noticeable signage anywhere except on the front of the building.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was excellent. They had a creature reacher that would come out and scare you and some projector busts that would activate every 20 minutes or so to put on a 5 minute show, synced up with lights and air bursts.

Length of Event: The overall length from start to finish was about 25 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actor performance was great. On our walk-through no one broke character. There was one actress in a "sheet" room that had a scream that was almost deafening. All actors we encountered did a great job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The crowd flow inside was very good. I once felt that we had a group hot on our heels, but there were certain spots where actors would purposely hold up a group to make sure that no one bumped into anyone in front of them or behind them in the house.

Appropriate Ages: I would say that you could take someone around 12 years of age. Skellington Manor did have it's share of scares but I didn't think the gore was too over the top to prevent it from being adult only.

Props / Special FX: The props used were very good and well used. At first I thought they had bad activation on some of their props because they would always go off a little late, but after my third time turning to look behind me at a prop going off and having someone right in my face when I turned around, I realized this was intentional. I especially like the bed levitation prop they used.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make ups used were very good as well. There were very few masks used. It was nice to see time taken to actually paint on details and full face make ups. Some costumes were a little bare bones so to speak, such as some actors just being in an apron and t-shirt and jeans, but beyond that the rest were very appropriate and went with the character.

Summary: All in all this was a very well done haunt. It was definitely a personal favorite of the season so far. Line entertainment was excellent, the actors were spot on and props were very effective in setting up distraction scares. I will say keep an eye out in the bed levitation area for the actress that does the "exorcist" back bend walk at you, that creeped me out something fierce. While not as gory as some I have seen, I would definitely say it is appropriate for pre-teens and older. Anyone in the quad city area looking for a good quality scare can't go wrong at Skellington Manor.

1 out of 5 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/26/13 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 11/04/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A little difficult if you have never been downtown Rock Island. Not well illuminated so pay attention to the street

Wait Entertainment: They do a automated show as you wait in line as well as a video.

Length of Event: 25 minutes

Actor Performance: There is an Exorcist scene that is the best i have ever seen. The rest of the cast does what they do without disappointment.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Variable since there is so much eye candy here to look at you may find groups going slow just to take it all in.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: You will have to look hard to find better. They are a prop driven haunt and they have lots.

Costumes / Make-up: Variable but nothing really cheesy. The makeup is good and they limit the latex mask.

Summary: For my personal taste if you have been to the glorified haunts in Chicago and you have never been here you are in for a surprise. Look at their price and then see what kind of show you get. They feature animated props that show age but are still effective. They have state of the art effects used by the best. They know how to scare you and how to creep you out. The only criticism that I could make is one that limits the feel of the haunt due to the constraints of the building itself.Located in an old masonic lodge three stories tall there are staircases to walk and the feel that you are indeed in a building. That aside I personally don't know what more you could ask for in a nights entertainment.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at