Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2013 Visitor Reviews of
Fright Night (Forest City, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
10 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ass102   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: i got the adress on the facebook page link i got from a friend, and with the help of gps i was able to find the lil town easly.

Wait Entertainment: all i can say is watch out for the butchur and the guy who picks ur nose and smells your hair. There was also a fat clown who tormented my son on the wagon and infront of what they call the dead mans diner....

Length of Event: first week of there event and was fun i come every year and this year there was a ton of work done and lots of changing done so exstended the time by easly 10 min. fot the church and for the trail easy 8 to 10 min.

Actor Performance: it was raining and the younger actors were far greater at staying in carricter then some of the older cast members. But over all i think they did a great job with the weather and all.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: not once did i run into another group or person.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up no younger for sure......

Props / Special FX: ok i loved the bridge. the new work done on your sceans and decorating was a pleasure for me and my son. thank you. i just wish the kitchen would have had more done to it. over all i loved your program this year more then some others, thank you. :P

Costumes / Make-up: make up this year was far better then last year so great job on bringing in some new tallent.

Summary: this year i chose to start my haunted house tour with fright night and was exstreamly pleased with the performance of the actors, and the true craftmenship of the guys who build this program each and every year more this year then ever..... I want to thank the young man who sat on the bench with my son in the rain so i was able to finish going through the last three sections due to my son being to scared to finish with me...So thank you mr Brown for that. I also want to ask that they never stop doing this program cause you all truly help your comunity and those around you..

8 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/04/13 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I was in the backseat. I didn't really pay attention, but we've been here before and it's a very small town.

Wait Entertainment: Lots!

Length of Event: All 4 attractions with hayride time, probably about an hour and a half. You can make a night of this one.

Actor Performance: Very good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Didn't run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: Some good props, but way too much plywood and menards sheeting.

Costumes / Make-up: Again, some really good and some street clothes with black makeup.

Summary: Forest City is fun. You can definitely make a night of it here. 4 attractions, food stand, snack bar, hayrack ride and a cute 'museum'. There is lots to do! They need to step up some of the sets. I saw way too much plain plywood. But then the bridge and van were great and the trail had great details. Loved how they kept you literally off balance. However, steps need to be MUCH better marked and lit. I'm careful and I was tripped up quite a few times. One of my fave scenes was the nun and the baby. Sick and wrong! Loved it! Or the scenes where they were throwing people against walls. Yep, loved those too. I think Forest City is a great place to go for the evening.

5 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Cryptkeeper   (Event Visited: 10/11/13 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This takes place in a very small town. They really didn't have signs up but it wasn't difficult to find.

Wait Entertainment: They have a couple of different characters that will mess with you at one place we had a guy called the Butcher who was very intimidating with a real meat cleaver. Never spoke a word but made the hair stand up on your neck. Loved the clown Beep who insults you and gets in your face. G-string was fantastic on the wagon!

Length of Event: We took our time and sat by the fire - about 1 1/2 hours total time.

Actor Performance: This was something they really work at - we were surprised on how well they did. I don't scare easy - yet they "got me" and that is not easy. Some funny times too.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There was a group in front of us but we never came in contact with them. I knew they were a little close but all went well. Nothing took away from the scenes.

Appropriate Ages: This should be ten and up. I think due to some of the graphic make up.

Props / Special FX: Props are the actors and even this area is better. You can tell they have done work on this haunt!I like the simple feeling of the actors doing the scare.

Costumes / Make-up: This is really an improvement. Don't know what or who did something to change here but it is working!

Summary: This is worth the money for a night of entertainment. I don't go here expecting movie calibur anything. I expect and they do a great job with what they have. Love coming here to see how they switch thing up and they didn't disappoint. I will be back again next year. Great that they work with the kids in the community. We go and not only have a time in the attractions but they have a little museum with authentic movie items and you can eat all you want at two locations with your choice of anything carnival/fair food menus.

4 out of 9 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The same location for years now. Not too hard to find in this very small town.

Wait Entertainment: A few monsters working the haunted house, and trail work throughout the crowd. You also have the basement display which is somewhat entertaining and keeps you busy while waiting ..

Length of Event: The haunted house 1 is around 15 minutes, the trail maybe 15 minutes and the second maybe 10 minutes, skinner house maybe 15 minutes, so overall this event does have some time behind it.

Actor Performance: Only problem here, too many kids and kids are not scary! They are loaded down with young kids and that is the weak link here!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: All the flow moved along great.

Appropriate Ages: I would say around 10 years here, there is lots of yelling here and some in your face here.

Props / Special FX: No high end effects here, very simple stuff here but it does work here. The props are basic equipment!

Costumes / Make-up: The outfits are good, but make up here is weak, lots of masks.

Summary: Throughout the years this event started as a powerhouse event at the park, then worked into a simple house event after several years off ! This years event does seem much better than last year with an added trail and much improved skinner house attraction, we seem to find this event better constructed this year than last, the only weak thing here is the kids! This event should be staffed by middle aged people who are on their A game to work better with the surroundings! The overall attraction here is very enjoyable even over stacked with loud kids screaming at the top of their lungs! We attended with the arm bands and unlimited visits to each event, this makes you feel like you are getting a much better deal, I think that $15.00 is the right price here and just don't see asking more, and give in the unlimited band too, you will find more people interested at those prices .

3 out of 8 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: gaiadin   (Event Visited: After Oct. 31 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The event was located a little off the beaten path and I didn't really notice any signs leading there, but if you plug the address into your GPS, it'll take you straight there.

Wait Entertainment: This event encompasses a total of four locations,involving a hay-rack ride(minus the hay) between them. The characters between the events were truly great. G-string Shirley especially was a pleasure to talk to on the ride to the other locations. And the butcher with his authentic cleaver made the trip frightfully exciting.

Length of Event: Going through all four locations took us around two hours in total.

Actor Performance: Despite being the second to last performance of the season, I really felt the joy the actors had for the event. I really enjoyed the participation they encouraged by asking names and taunting throughout the event.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They seemed to handle the traffic flow very well. I went in with a group of five and we were mostly by ourselves the whole time. There were a few occasions where we ran into another group, but the experience was still great.

Appropriate Ages: I wouldn't recommend this event to anyone under 15 or so.

Props / Special FX: While the props were cool, I put a great deal of my enjoyment on the actors at this particular event.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were great if a little generic. I especially liked G-string Shirley's saucy costume.

Summary: I drove over an hour to go to this event, and it was absolutely worth it. The staff was an absolute treat, and I was genuinely frightened by the texas chainsaw massacre scene. They set it up perfectly by using real weapons on the wait entertainment so it wasn't unreasonable to assume that the chainsaws they are waving in your face might be real too! (which they were). All in all, I had an incredible time. The actors seemed to encourage interaction, and I could truly feel the joy they felt plying their craft. I definitely recommend going with a group of good friends. 
And G-String Shirley, if you're reading this, thank you for a great time! We will be back next year!

6 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/04/13 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Forest City is very small and the church (Where you get the tickets) is just a block off main road. This is my 3rd time, so by now we have got it down. They have a trailer ride to get you from one house to another which is really nice.

Wait Entertainment: Watch out for "The Butcher" or as we called him "Sniffy McSnifferson" Very nice seating and fire area outside the Skinner house.

Length of Event: all four house combined was 40 minutes

Actor Performance: One thing you can say about these guys is they try hard. They do not hold back. Some of the kids yelling "get out" is a bit tired. When you attend as many houses as we do, to me it is like yelling "Boo"!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We had no problem running into other groups. At one point I heard a group coming up behind us, and next thing I knew they were no longer there. They do a nice job of crowd control.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Probably one of the weaker areas in the house. Not a lot of detailed scenery. A lot of wood and you could still see the Menards advertisements. Simple to fix. I did think the van was interesting and uncomfortable!! Lots of chainsaws!! Beware!!

Costumes / Make-up: Great combination of Masks and make up. The Butchers mask was moist and dank! Yuk!

Summary: This house has improved. Still need to watch your step on some of the stairs and ramp exits. Some missed opportunities for some scares on the trail, as well as an easy creepy thing to do would be a slight water spray in the basement in the Skinner house when cutting the leg off the poor gal. ;)Decent value for an evening of entertainment, and like I said, these guys really do seem to enjoy what they do. Of the four attractions I would rank them 1. The trail 2. The cage 3. The church 4. The Skinner house. Not to mention, they have a great food wagon with tons of choices. So make a night of it, food and scares galore.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at