Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2013 Visitor Reviews Submitted by cissypissy

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
13 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Baldwin Asylum (Rantoul, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/12/13 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: In the old Walmart. Pretty hard to miss.

Wait Entertainment: None while we were there.

Length of Event: 15 mins

Actor Performance: They were very good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: A group caught up with us.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Outstanding. Loved the evil dead rooms, the 3d rooms were good and I loved the use of all the sheets.

Costumes / Make-up: All excellent.

Summary: They've got a great base to work with, but there is much room for improvement.  
They could use more people and some of the actors need to chug a red bull and get into their part! Get loud! There were too many quiet, starers. There were also quite a few empty spaces. It was pretty light, so you knew the empty spaces held no scare. It's too bad too, because they have an awesome space. Just fill up the empty hallways. 
Some of the actors were outstanding, though. I really loved the makeup and masks.  
Back to my main complaint of the year. $15.00 is too much for a 15 minute haunt. They need something else or a lower price.  
I did like the coffin ride, but that was $3.00 more.  
I wouldn't recommend this one to haunt savvy people without some changes.

20 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Midway of Madness Haunted Barn (Urbana, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/12/13 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you know where the fairgrounds are, it's pretty easy. We didn't. More signs are needed.

Wait Entertainment: Little girl twins at the door were awesome!!!!! And then the scary little girls who appeared after we got out were really good. They had food vendors and a hearse.

Length of Event: 15 mins

Actor Performance: Very good. They were into their parts.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never saw a group besides our own.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Pretty good. Loved the midway theme. One actor used tongs in a carnival food scene to clap together at us. I liked that. The guy with the corn dog eyes was good, too. They did a good job with the midway theme.

Costumes / Make-up: All were good. I don't remember seeing any street clothes. That's pretty impressive.

Summary: I had fun. The actors worked their parts and all were totally in costume or if they weren't, I didn't notice....and I usually do. I do believe I saw the tallest clown I've ever seen and he was working the scare so that was quite effective. 
I loved the outdoor/barn building setting. I'm partial to the outdoor haunts. They're just more fun. I also really enjoyed the cattle thingie. It's like a maze, but you can see through it and you can see the scary people but you have no idea when you're going to get to them. 
Some of the spaces could have been tighter and I think that would have helped. The corn hallway was a bit of fond nostalgia. I haven't seen that in a while. 
All in all a fun one and the $10 price tag was reasonable. 

8 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Fright Night (Forest City, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/04/13 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I was in the backseat. I didn't really pay attention, but we've been here before and it's a very small town.

Wait Entertainment: Lots!

Length of Event: All 4 attractions with hayride time, probably about an hour and a half. You can make a night of this one.

Actor Performance: Very good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Didn't run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: Some good props, but way too much plywood and menards sheeting.

Costumes / Make-up: Again, some really good and some street clothes with black makeup.

Summary: Forest City is fun. You can definitely make a night of it here. 4 attractions, food stand, snack bar, hayrack ride and a cute 'museum'. There is lots to do! They need to step up some of the sets. I saw way too much plain plywood. But then the bridge and van were great and the trail had great details. Loved how they kept you literally off balance. However, steps need to be MUCH better marked and lit. I'm careful and I was tripped up quite a few times. One of my fave scenes was the nun and the baby. Sick and wrong! Loved it! Or the scenes where they were throwing people against walls. Yep, loved those too. I think Forest City is a great place to go for the evening.

5 out of 9 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Downs Haunted House (Downs, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/05/13 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's right as you go into town, but could use more lighting and parking signs.

Wait Entertainment: There were quite a few monsters roaming.

Length of Event: 8-10 mins

Actor Performance: Good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Guided. Still we ran into a group.

Appropriate Ages: All ages.

Props / Special FX: They do a good job. Everything was quite detailed, down to the SMELL.

Costumes / Make-up: Good mix. I liked the lady outside with the baby. She had a good story.

Summary: You can't beat Downs haunted house, for the price. The night we were there (i think their first night open) they didn't have the park open or the hayride. I really missed that. The park is a big part of the experience. The house is a fun one. Not terrifying, but it was a good time. One tip, if I may; the people taking the groups through should really have a code or sign to signify whether the groups's all in the room. Yelling, "Is everybody in?" And the other person yelling, "yes" just doesn't cut it.

4 out of 9 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted Theater (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/11/13 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you get to the downtown square in Auburn, it's pretty hard to miss. Although in years past, they did things up bigger out in front.

Wait Entertainment: The had a scary statue, some DVDs and books you could buy and a wheel to spin for $1.00. 
Oh and the Mystery Machine from Scooby Doo. Huh?

Length of Event: 7-9 mins

Actor Performance: There weren't many actors at all.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Saw no one but our group.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: They mainly relied on props. There weren't that many, but there were more props than actors.

Costumes / Make-up: The ticket taker looked awesome. He had great makeup and contacts! Also, the strobe light room girl.

Summary: They had all the rooms and turns and creepy atmosphere and even some decent props, but the haunt overall fell flat. I think it was he lack of humans working. The strobe light room was one of the best I've ever seen and the actor in that room had great makeup and costume, but just sort of moved slowly and then stood staring. You can't see crap in that room. That is an opportunity to scare the bejesus out of people!! Their 3-d rooms were also probably the best I've ever seen, but no scares! That was a shame because the 3-d was very disorienting. Also the ticket taker had great makeup.....really great and his performance taking the tickets cracked me up. That was good. I even enjoyed the skeleton playing the organ, but again, no scare. The scene where you get sprayed with water needs to seriously turn down the nozzle. Walking around with soaking wet pants the rest of the night is pretty fricking annoying. 
This place has potential and has been much better in the past. I hope they get more actors as the season gets into swing. At least the price hasn't jumped up ridiculously like some places, so that was a definite plus.

5 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted House (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/11/13 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/13
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's hard to miss if you make it to the town square. There is a sign off the main road pointing the way.

Wait Entertainment: We got there right after they opened and there was no entertainment yet, but they have 2 bonfires and a snack trailer.

Length of Event: 12-15 mins

Actor Performance: Spectacular!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great. Didn't see anyone other than our group. We moved along at a stop and go (sometimes backwards) pace. Not fast but not terribly slow either.

Appropriate Ages: Two twelve year olds were in line...they chickened out. They should have.  

Props / Special FX: The house has had more of a theme and more "stuff" in the past, but the actors performances and a couple of the sets more than made up for this. The shut in room d**n (censored) near killed me. However, the 13 feet under theme was completely lost on me. I didn't get that anywhere. 

Costumes / Make-up: Loved the costumes in the first room, even though we missed the show. All others were good. I didn't notice any super stand outs but that's probably because I was too busy jumping, running and screaming.

Summary: God, I love Auburn. They do such an awesome job!! The actors were spot on. I cannot tell you how many times I jumped and screamed. My throat was sore by the time I left. 
When we first walked in, the room and characters were great but somehow the door was left open and we walked right into the second room and missed the performance in the first, dang it. From then on it was twists and turns and screams. I had a ball! 
I won't spoil it, but the 'shut-in" place had me freaking out!! 
I didn't see anywhere in the rules where it said the actors won't touch you. Good thing they omitted this, because they do!! But it was all fine, I don't mind. Touching to scare works quite well. 
The maze with the bright flashlights blinded me! Loved it! 
I really loved how you had to figure out how to get out of rooms. It wasn't always obvious and when it was, it was probably wrong.  
I will say that we go to haunted houses every weekend in October (yes, my friends and I are just that fun:/) and there is one person in our group who never gets scared or even startled, for that matter, and when you hear him yell, it's a good haunt!! 
At Auburn there is no standing in lines waiting to go in. Buy your tickets and then do what you want because they call your number over a loudspeaker.  
The only drawback this year was the front of the house. There were no monsters and there were loud kids. Screaming, yelling, laughing preteens do not make me scared, just annoyed (and it wasn't the patron preteens. Pretty sure they were kids of workers). I didn't mind that the guys taking your tickets weren't dressed up and actually talked to you, but they could do a bit more in this area. As we were leaving the other hh down the street, we walked back by and there was a really cool hearse and some monsters out front then. Much better. 
The $10 price tag, although higher than in the past, was WELL worth it. Just a gripe here, but the $15,$20 and even higher prices of other haunts this year are generally too high and this year they've pretty much all hiked their prices to silly levels.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2018 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at