Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2014 Visitor Reviews of
Baldwin Asylum (Rantoul, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
51 out of 68 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ha714y   (Event Visited: 10/04/14 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easily seen the a huge sign and website directions easy to follow.

Wait Entertainment: Cue line music, not a long wait.

Length of Event: 20-25 mins

Actor Performance: Awesome actors, loved the makeup used instead of masks.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, didn't have any issues.

Summary: Loved the asylum details for the first section, the props and that cabin was amazing. My friends and I will definitely be coming back, hopefully with some others to experience this amazing haunt. Zombies, Vampires, Killers, and Clowns, what's not to love? It's an amazingly scary, frightfully delightful place. 
 

31 out of 43 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: DAmado   (Event Visited: 10/19/14 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I heard the haunt was behind Pizza Hut in Rantoul, but I became confused because across the street was a sign to keep going a block to the Haunted House. My friend luckily said it was in the Taylor Studios building. I don't know why that advertisement was giving us conflicting information. The light up sign giving telling us to go further was lit up well, but the actual haunt looked like a dark building with no real street lights pointing you.

Wait Entertainment: I didn't see much for wait entertainment. My wait wasn't very long, so I didn't worry about it. They were playing music and there was a screen with videos playing

Length of Event: It took about 20 minutes to get through.

Actor Performance: Most of the actors did a fantastic job staying in character. I found most of them screamed or said "help me", "play with me", "stay with me", etc. They looked really cool, but they didn't scare me. I think a lot of people find this scary, but not me.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into another group, which is good. It looked like they had a larger group of military patrons in front of us. I was a little nervous we would get stuck with them, but we never saw them after that.

Appropriate Ages: It has a lot of bloody parts. I wouldn't take someone younger than 13 unless they could handle it.

Props / Special FX: There was medical equipment, awesome scenes, a really loud werewolf creature, and some other props that looked high quality.

Costumes / Make-up: I didn't really notice most of the costumes. I guess clowns were dressed as clowns. Patients were dressed in hospital clothes, etc. The makeup however. WOW! I have never been to a haunt that relied so heavily on makeup. It is such a huge improvement over masks that all other haunts default to. People looked like they had claw marks, chunks of skin missing, etc. Very bloody, but I almost wanted to stop and just ask about it! One girl looked like half of her face was torn off. It was really gross in an awesome way. In the area with the zombies, the makeup was like being in an episode of the Walking Dead. It was the coolest place I have ever seen.

Summary: This was my first visit to Baldwin Asylum. I usually go to the haunts in the Bloomington area, so I can't comment on them from previous years. However, my friend said a lot of stuff changed inside the haunt from last year, and they were voted as one of the best, so I decided to check them out. 
 
They play music throughout the haunt, and actors have to act over it. Sometimes, it is disorienting, and gets your adrenaline going, but other times, I felt like it just drowned out the actors, and ruined that feeling of dread.  
 
You enter the asylum, and run into a doctor on some kind of stilts. At least, I assume he wasn't that tall. Then you are at a cabin that looks like something out of a horror movie. Amazing. There was a whole zombie graveyard and an old ruined church. And clowns.  
 
All in all, I have never seen anything like this place. It reminds me of some of the much bigger haunts in Chicago. The scenes are well thought out, and the detail is crazy. I only rated them low on the scare factor because I really want to get scared, but I have yet to find a haunt that actually does the job for me. I will absolutely go back to this haunt next year, though.  
 
It was worth the drive, and worth the money.

24 out of 36 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: HauntCham   (Event Visited: 10/19/14 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I got the directions from the website, and someone told me it was in the Taylor Studios building in Rantoul. On the way there, I saw the sign that another reviewer found confusing; I realized it was for the other long time Rantoul haunt. I assume there's some competition going on, as that other haunt had placed their sign directly across from Baldwin, which made things confusing. Seems a bit unfriendly, but knowing that I needed to turn at the Pizza Hut, I found things easily enough.

Wait Entertainment: Not a lot in the way of entertainment. Some music videos projected onto the wall in a dark room. The music was some standard metal, though they showed their trailer from time to time as well; the wait wasn't too long, so I couldn't see how often it looped.

Length of Event: 20 minutes once we got inside the haunt proper.

Actor Performance: The actors were great for the most part. In character, knowing when to pop out, and they did a great job of pushing you through the haunt without you realizing it. Once in a while, they'd trap you in a place where you didn't see an obvious exit; part of their performance would then reveal the exit. This is a nice touch, as it keeps you guessing. It wasn't until I was done that I realized how easily they had herded me along. 
 
I read another review mentioned more animatronics in the haunt than actors; there seemed to be multiple actors in almost every room, so I'm not sure if that person was rushing through. The density of actors was about perfect - always enough to keep you on your toes, and sometimes enough to group up on you and scare you. 
 
If there's a weak spot to the actors, it would be the clown area. They stayed in character, but their characters weren't very scary. They seemed to be trying a little too hard to be the "weird" "creepy" clown. I would have preferred something a little overt, especially since it was the final area.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I never saw another group. I think part of this is due to the actors keeping people going, which I mentioned above.

Appropriate Ages: Teens and up. I wouldn't go any younger.

Props / Special FX: Taylor Studios makes museum pieces, and you can see that expertise in the sets. The design, artwork - it's on a completely different level than any other haunt in central Illinois. It more closely resembles what you expect out of a bigger city haunt, just a little smaller in size. It's amazing. 
 
The props are well thought out and match the areas well. Everything looks like it's been treated; nothing looks off the shelf just for decor. 
 
There are very, very few animatronics; far fewer than you see in other haunts. But that's a good thing; the ones that are there are just there to supplement the feel of a room or distract you from an actor about to pounce. In all, Baldwin really seems to focus more on the actors and sets than a bunch of animated stuff and crazy effects. Given how much more effective that is, that seems like a good idea.

Costumes / Make-up: The thing that really grabbed me about Baldwin was the look of the actors. This haunt knows how good it makes them look (and how good the sets look), because a lot of it is brighter than other haunted houses in central Illinois that are just simple sets and masks. That light doesn't stop the scares; but it really lets you see how amazing the makeup jobs are on these guys. 
 
None of the makeups are overly gory; rather, I'd say it's all the right amount of gore all the time. The wounds often looked fairly realistic; I think that actually made it even creepier. They looked fresh, and half the time, they looked like the person had wounded themself (claw marks on a face, self inflicted cuts). It was freaky, and the actors often played up the wounds. 
 
A bunch of the other actors were in prosthetics like you'd see on Face/Off or something. Those looked amazing, too. There was some real artistry to them, and the paint jobs on those were amazingly detailed. Whoever they've got doing make-ups is doing a good job; whether in prosthetic or not, the look always fit the scene, and always added to the scare.

Summary: Baldwin Asylum feels a lot like a local version of a big city haunt. That's a compliment. Many of the normal central Illinois haunts seem to need rebuilding or relocation every year, so their sets, costumes, make-ups, etc. all seem to suffer. Baldwin has none of that - they feel like they take time to make their sets and actors perfect. It all feels planned, thoughtful. 
 
I went through Baldwin last year, and this year is even better. They've changed a TON since last year, adding some terrific maze segments, a ruined church that is probably one of the single most impressive haunt location I've ever seen, and more. 
 
Definitely worth the $15, and definitely going back next year. Can't wait to see what's new then!

24 out of 36 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: MrsHyde58   (Event Visited: 10/18/14 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find with lighted signs and ticket booth

Wait Entertainment: Had a "last ride" coffin ride out side at an addtion cost.Also had a projection screen in the main que line with their video from their website and hardrock music videos.

Length of Event: 20min

Actor Performance: Great all stayed in charector and did their jobs.Stand outs in the haunt were the HUGE mad doctor and his little minion.Also the cabin/rednecks were great.Also the poop eating girl...thats just wrong on sooooo many levels

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great they were busy as all get out and we didnt run into a group once

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: props and effects were great and placed amazeing. They werent the main focus in the room like some other haunts use.The used them to distract you from the main scare and actor.

Costumes / Make-up: SIMPLY PUT The BEST in the area I have seen Hands down I saw maybe one mask in the 3D clown zone but all others were makeup and Prothstectics

Summary: My group was a little cautious seeing the vistors fav haunt poll putting them at No1 when we went through. But they delivered on this.One of the best I have seen in a long time in the area. Great props ,scenes,and actors. We came through last season and thought it was great but this year they changed a bunch with new mazes and a HUGE Church and more ( dont want to give to much away) But Bravo gents! keep up the good work and we will be back next season!

27 out of 55 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: SandyJakes   (Event Visited: 10/17/14 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was easy to find, but visibility wasn't that great. There were lights in the parking lot, but there didn't seem to be enough light up at the ticket booth.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't a very long wait....no one in line. There was a video that was showing on the screen inside, but like I said....we were the only ones there, so there was no wait. We did ask the attendant if it was the same as last year because at $15 per person, we really didn't want a repeat of what we had already experienced the year before. There is also a "Last Ride" experience you can do for an extra $3. The customer climbs in a coffin and is taken on their "last ride" to the graveyard. There is a video camera mounted inside so that your friends can watch your reaction. Although the attendant was very nice and TRIED to adjust it, she didn't quite understand how to point the video camera at the face of the customer, so instead of watching my boyfriend's face while he experienced his "last ride," I had a continuous view of his shoulder. Not exactly entertaining. Another attendant tried to adjust it for another member of our group, but again, he was not successful. It was pointed at her chest the entire time.

Length of Event: 15 minutes or so

Actor Performance: There seemed to be more animatronics in this haunted house than actual actors. However, most of the actors that were there were ok. Some just stood there though...and didn't really interact. I think the weirdest one was this guy who just stood over to the side and said "Hey. How's it going?" in a totally normal voice. He was dressed as a character, but it didn't go beyond his costume. And some rooms didn't have any live actors in them at all. One actor informed us that he "Sh** himself" and we proceeded into a room with a toilet that smelled really bad. I only mention this because if you are offended by bad language, this might not be acceptable.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There wasn't any problem with flow since we were the only ones there.

Appropriate Ages: Their signs say 13 and up, but I think younger kids would be ok in this one since it wasn't quiet as scary as some of the other ones I've been to. HOWEVER, since one of the actors actually used bad language, I'm not sure that it would be appropriate for that reason.

Props / Special FX: The 3D clown room was cool. Good use of the pain, etc....and the 3D glasses added to the effect. However, it seemed to be exactly the same as last year. Most of the attractions were the same as last year. I think the only thing that was actually added was the room that smelled like poo.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes on the live actors were pretty good. The zipper face lady looked really weird.

Summary: All in all, I would say that although it wasn't bad, I was a little disappointed. For $15 per person, I expected a bit more...especially since we specifically asked if it was the same as last year and were told that it was completely different. I didn't care for the "poo room" but that may just be me. However, I definitely wouldn't want to take any kids through when an actor is using bad language...which did happen here. The clown room was an good feature, although not exactly scary. However, if you have a fear of clowns then I'm sure it would be much more intense. Although this was the 2nd year I have attended this haunt, I doubt I will return since they just didn't seem to change it up enough for me. And honestly, I think it is a bit overpriced for what you get. One thing worth mentioning also is that you might want to bring cash. Although they do take credit cards, they do NOT take them at the ticket booth. We had to get out of that line and go inside (split apart from our group) to go pay for our tickets in another location. Although it wasn't too bad for us since there wasn't any line at all (we were the only people there), it could be a problem if they did have a line. The rest of our group paid by cash, but then had to wait on us because we had to go pay somewhere inside.

12 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: nightmare23   (Event Visited: 10/17/14 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very good location right as you come in rantoul its right behind pizza hut

Wait Entertainment: I loved it when my wife saw the chainsaw guy walking up to the car and my wife bout pissed her self when he teasing her to come out

Length of Event: Well considering its close to halloween we may of waited twenty mins or so but it was worth the wait thinking about bring my mom she cant help but run from the chiansaw guy due to past experinces with movies and haunted houses... He did a great job he really looked like he was ready to kill almost movie acting ...GREAT JOB CHAINSAW GUY!!!!!

Actor Performance: Love every bit of it no complaints here

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Loved that you had to find your way out

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: Loved the wild wolf thing

Costumes / Make-up: Movie star makeup looks so real

Summary: YOU GUYS ROCKED THE SHOW KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK AND SCARE THE HECK OUT OF PPL YALL DESERVE TO BE NUMBER 1 😏 definitely coming back by Halloween maybe bring my whole family who knows definitely worth the drive and money ....im happy it wasn't like any other haunt yall had sum creepy stuff in there ... Way different then others ...ive never seen a church thing in one ether ... With that said good job guys cant wait to come agin

4 out of 9 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: LipSewn80   (Event Visited: 10/31/14 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/04/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Since I had attended this attraction last year, I knew where I was going. It's located in the Taylor Studios building. There was plenty of parking but there was some confusion because there is a sign saying one more block. There are some small lights on the ticket booth but no major signs out front.

Wait Entertainment: There was heavy metal music playing and videos being shown on a large screen in the line waiting area. There was a few groups in front of us. The line is located inside which is nice because it was freezing outside! There weren't any actors interacting with the customers though. Also they have a "last ride" attraction outside where you can take a ride in a coffin. I haven't seen that done before and I thought it was cool.

Length of Event: 25 minutes or so

Actor Performance: All of the actors were great!!! They all stayed in character and really got some good scares out of our group. There was this really really huge mad doctor guy that I swear could not really be that tall! There was this witch in the church that scared the life out of us! We thought she was just a prop but turns out she was very real. And walking thru the zombies was like being on the walking dead. So believable! Everyone did a great job and played their roles perfectly.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: After the group's in front of us went thru, we never saw them again. The actors gave you time to enjoy the rooms but helped move you along without you really noticing! I liked that we weren't rushed thru.

Appropriate Ages: 14 and up

Props / Special FX: This place had some really cool props! There was one room that looked like a dentist office and it was decked out! Then you went into a house in the woods and there is this huge rabid werewolf that seems like it's going to take your head off! There was also a really cool 3D area and they give you the glasses to wear. The church area was massive and you could tell they put a lot of work into the scenes. The props that were used were never the main attraction. They were mostly used to distract you from the actors that were there to really scare you.

Costumes / Make-up: All the costumes matched the rooms they were in perfectly. I never saw a doctor or patient past the asylum and I never saw a clown in the woods. The makeup was spectacular! I think I only remember seeing a few masks. The rest were makeup and prosthetics. It looked so real. Half the time I couldn't tell if they were really bleeding or not! Definitely movie quality. I also liked how many of the actors wore those crazy contacts.

Summary: Overall this was a great place! They really changed a lot since last year. The scenes were very detailed and realistic and the actors were great. There was never a lack of scare. They have a really awesome maze with these flap things that really disoriented us. By the end of the maze I could barely breathe. It seemed to take forever to get thru the maze. The church area was great but there weren't many actors in it. I was hoping for nuns and maybe even a priest or something to that effect. There is a video they have on their website that gives you a story about the place and it really had us amped up to see it in person. We drove over 3 hours just to enjoy this and it was worth every minute! Between the witch and zombies and mad doctors, I'm sure to have trouble sleeping! I've never seen such a detailed haunted house! Top quality!

21 out of 54 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: StephJohn94   (Event Visited: 10/11/14 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location wasn't very hard to find. It looked as though it were in an old Wal-Mart building. We punched the address given via the website into our GPS and it wasn't difficult to find. Once we pulled in though there were people directing us where to go, but they led us in the wrong direction, we figured it out alright, but that could have been done differently.

Wait Entertainment: There was virtually no line entertainment and it was quite disappointing. There was one man who was dressed in weird get up, but he didn't interact with the people standing in line or do much with anyone. He kept entering the building and leaving those of us outside with no entertainment but ourselves.

Length of Event: About 20 minutes inside attraction

Actor Performance: Most seemed to be okay. Had usual lines like, "Get out" "Stay with me"

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Moved along at a steady pace, didn't run into any groups in front of us which was nice.

Appropriate Ages: 9+

Props / Special FX: I believe there was a Spirit Halloween poster inside and so a lot of their props and special effects were probably from there. Awesome props.

Costumes / Make-up: Didn't really pay close attention to the actual costumes so, I don't have much to say about those, but it was nice seeing most of the actors were in make-up and I don't really recall seeing any masks. That's always good.

Summary: I'm going to start off saying how excited I was going to this haunted house and that the Youtube video they have on their website did a good job of luring me in. I wanted to pee myself just watching the video. My friends and I drove over an hour just to get there, we meant business. We got there, it wasn't too hard to find. We purchased our tickets, which were $15, not the typical $10 I would spend on a haunted attraction, but the video I watched before coming made me shell out the extra $5.  
The line didn't appear long when we had first gotten there. There was only one group in front of us. They were let inside the building shortly after we got there. We stood in line, what we thought to be the front for a little while, with no line entertainment. It had probably been about 20 minutes that we had stood there at the front of the line when a man came out telling us that from where we were it was going to be about an hour and a half wait and if we wanted we could spend an extra $5 to get us not to the front of the line, but "close". My friends and I turned down the offer as we had just spent an hour to get there and $15 for a ticket. We were then taken inside the building where there were more people waiting.  
The wait from there really was not that bad, apart from all the people who had paid $5 extra dollars to cut in front of us. At this point I was a little disappointed with the way my experience was going.  
There was still no form of line entertainment once we got inside, just a projection screen with "screamo" "Marilyn Manson" music blasting over the speakers and an occasional actor running up to a chain link fence and screeching at everybody, but was difficult to hear over the music and hard to see since he was in the dark corner. We waited in this line probably no more than 30-45 minutes which really isn't that bad, just really glad I decided not to spend $20 that night to go in any sooner. The woman taking tickets or marking the wristbands was dressed as a nurse and was in full makeup and my personal opinion is that if someone is in full makeup, they should be acting as such. They should not be talking as themselves, or on their cellphones, which this girl was a couple of times. Don't wear makeup if you don't intend to interact with your patrons. I would have been fine if this girl had been wearing jeans and a t-shirt/sweatshirt advertising the haunt.  
Once we got to the front of the line, there were 4 people in my group, we were forced to bring in a smaller group of 2, making our total 6 people. We didn't know these people and let's be honest, I wasn't there to make friends. It put a damper on our haunt experience and the 2 people who were forced to go inside with us. Most of the actors only wanted to lunge out at the person in the front of the group, which was a tall MAN. There's a reason he was in the front, HE'S NOT SCARED. I was in the middle because I am very easily scared, but no one went for me and by the time I reached the point where the person in the front was standing, the haunt scene was already over. I counted that only about three people total out of probably to 40+ working inside the haunt actually made me scream/scared. I was the first person to make myself scream though.  
Right before the 3D section, which was my absolute favorite, we caught one of the actors on their cell phone and talking to his roommate in a normal voice. Very unprofessional. I am there to be entertained, your texting/phone calls can wait. I did let people in charge know of the cell phone use, and I hope they talked to him about it.  
I will say that the props were absolutely out of this world. They were the best props I have seen used in a haunt around the Central Illinois area. They moved, looked real, and even got some of the scares. The rooms were decorated nicely, and the maze with the flaps was really fun. The 3D room was my favorite, they provided the glasses! 
All in all the haunt wasn't bad, I just wish it had been a bit cheaper considering. Hopefully the haunt can get better than the time I attended and I will probably give them a second chance in the future.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at