Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2014 Visitor Reviews of
Hoppers Haunted House (Rockford, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
16 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: aingram   (Event Visited: 10/23/14 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I love the location of this haunted house. It is basically in the middle of nowhere off a main highway. There are woods all around it, and a river across the highway. That increases the fear factor significantly!

Wait Entertainment: They have a very real ambulance parked out front, which immediately scared my children because they thought it meant people really get hurt! It's a great conversational piece. There were very friendly staff out front directing traffic, and didn't hesitate to answer our million questions, and keep us engaged. The great thing was we didn't have to wait, but would have been happy to if it had been necessary.

Length of Event: I have always enjoyed Hopper's, because it takes about 20-30 minutes to make it through, which is a long time for this area. Others I have gone to have only lasted up to 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors are great at what they do! They scared me, and I love how they get really into character! Their demeanor seems so real! They are even willing to tone it down for younger children, which is great for children who are nervous but really want to experience a haunted house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Our group was able to move at our own pace, and we didn't encounter any other groups. The time allotted in between groups is well thought out, and I think they do a great job.

Appropriate Ages: I would say teenagers and up, unless the child has gone to other attractions, and is familiar with how the haunted houses work.

Props / Special FX: We were impressed with the lighting and sounds, and the natural environment makes everything so much more scary. The scenes set up inside are realistic and freaky-looking.

Costumes / Make-up: It is evident that the characters and operators of this location take pride in what they do, and work hard to ensure they are scary and memorable. The costumes are great, and they really bring them to life!

Summary: All in all, every time I have attended this house, I have had nothing but a fantastic time. And even though I think I won't be as scared as the last time, I always am! I am so impressed with this group and their hard work and dedication to keep this house open each year, and I look forward to it! They add more scared and chills each year, and I hope they continue for a very long time! And again, the location is fantastic! It plays so much into the fear, and they utilize it in an awesome way!

19 out of 31 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: debbis   (Event Visited: 10/18/14 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is in the country. Which makes it a little scarier. They have an old ambulance with the lights on which makes it festive. There is a smoke machine which makes it hard to see (scarier).

Wait Entertainment: Smoke, ambulance and a wall of survivers.... Lol 

Length of Event: 15 to 20 you can obviously go different ways (our group got separated).

Actor Performance: All the actors stayed in character and were very convincing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not run in to any other groups nor did any run into us.

Appropriate Ages: I would not take anyone under ten it was pretty scary.

Props / Special FX: The clown room is great, way scary. The way you go in and out of the building keeps things interesting. You think you are out of the attraction but you aren't.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were original. Or very real looking.

Summary: We had a blast at hoppers haunted house. There was about twenty to thirty people in line in front of us in line. We had nine people in our group. We went in together but we were separated during the haunted house, which confused and baffled us on how it happened. The haunted house is very dark with lots of twist and turns that confused us and scared us. The actors stayed in character and were very scary. There seemed to be a lot of actors. We will be going back to Hopper's haunted house this year to enjoy another round of fright.

7 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Passerby5   (Event Visited: 10/19/14 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We were able to find the location relatively easy but they could have posted extra signage up.

Wait Entertainment: Given the time and day of the week that we went on we were able to get into the haunted house almost immediately so the wait time was maybe 5min so we really didn't require any additional entertainment.

Length of Event: 20-30 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors remained in character and were able to be responsive and dynamic when engaging customers in conversation.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were not rushed and did not see members from other groups who went before us or after.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: They utilized strobe lights, fog, laser, black lights, wall artwork that made you think that there was someone there, labyrinth design, vortex tunnel, outside/inside transition, cages, realistic crypt scenes, more than I can remember

Costumes / Make-up: Sometimes you couldn't tell what they were wearing or what they were supposed to be because of low visibility.

Summary: Overall the place is well thought out and planned and I would recommend anyone to go and give it a try. The place made good use in designing the route inside to throw people off a little And keep you on your toes and keep you thinking as there was a very tight maze and the walls were made to look identical to throw people off. The transition from an outside scene back inside helped keep it fresh and break up the monotony of being stuck inside the entire time and kept you guessing.

6 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Contagion   (Event Visited: 10/20/14 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's on a dark portion of Illinois 2 between Rockford and Byron. It's located just on the Ogle side of the county line when leaving Winnebago. When I went with my date we found it rather easily, there is a big sign lit, and two smaller bright advertising portable signs. Plus there was a fake emergency vehicle with it's lights running. At first I thought it was a real ambulance, but it's not.

Wait Entertainment: There was almost no wait when we went, I was able to talk to the owner, very nice gentleman. We waited less than 5 minutes.

Length of Event: 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors were good. The only time I saw them break character was when my date got so scared she was laying on the ground using me as a human shield. Each actor fit well with the scene they had set up.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow seemed to go really well for us, until we got to the clowns. The person with me had a huge fear of clowns and it really took some coaxing by me to keep her going. Not the events fault, they did a good job. At the very end the group behind us caught up.

Appropriate Ages: I'd recommend a more mature group, depending on their maturity, it can get a little intense.

Props / Special FX: There were a lot of good gags and props. Most of them were static. The crypt area was pretty cool.

Costumes / Make-up: There was a mix of makeup and masks. I really couldn't tell the quality too well due to the dim lighting. They worked well enough to give the effect they wanted.

Summary: I really enjoyed this attraction. You could hear the actors through out the mazes taunting the crowd. The final maze was painted so well that it was difficult to see the passages, you really had to concentrate to find your way. There are no dead ends, but it sure does look like it due to the tight cornering. This attraction is handicap friendly. Before the final maze there is a handicap exit. The final section is too tight and twisty for wheelchairs to maneuver. I can't remember having this much fun in a haunted house ever. Well worth the $10 admission price. From what I heard Sundays are the nights to go, there is almost no crowd there, so you can get in relatively quickly. That was my experience too.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at