Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2014 Visitor Reviews of
Haunted Haven (Rock Falls, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
15 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: tayhuskie   (Event Visited: 10/04/14 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is right off a highway and is very easy to see they have flashing signs to point you to where you need to go. you cant miss it.

Wait Entertainment: They had tons of bonfires in the line so that you can warm up while you wait which was convenient with how cold it is. Also they have some entertainers that definitely kept us entertained they also made it funny as well.

Length of Event: The longest part that took us to do is the maze at the end. other than that it took us about 10 minutes to get through the first part before the maze maybe a little bit more. and then the maze took us about 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors were very good. You can definitely tell that they knew what they were doing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: After we got out we all felt like we were rushed through the event and its not because we walked to fast is because we walked into a room and they pretty much got their acting done with like what they needed to do and told us to get out. we ended up scaring the group behind us in the maze because it took us so long and they caught up with us.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10 or 12 would be a good age if they dont mind getting jumped out at.

Props / Special FX: All of the props they used were very realistic and very interesting. they definitely know what their doing with special FX.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up definitely were realistic the clowns make up were very well done.

Summary: All together it is worth the $10 they charge, it is very easy to find. They make the wait entertaining and warm for you so that you dont freeze. They do need to slow it down a little bit on the inside so that people dont feel rushed through and that the maze isnt the longest part of the haunted house. we were the first ones through so id get there right on time if you want a good spot in line becuase after 7:30 the line got long. other than that it is worth the money and the little drive you have to take it isnt too far outside of Rock Falls.

24 out of 40 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 09/28/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located on a state highway just off an interstate it was easy to see. They have a large lighted spiral something that stands out like a beacon.

Wait Entertainment: Two stalkers, a shirtless pig and a....well...strange guy. The stalkers were ok but they didn't match the intensity of the rest of the house.

Length of Event: not bad a all...about 20 minutes which would make it a medium size haunt.

Actor Performance: They were as intense as any I have seen and there were a lot of them. I don't think I walked more than 10 feet without someone after me. I must say however that I think the phrase "less is more" might apply here. For me it lessened the effect with so many so close kinda doing the same thing. There was a guy with a whip(real whip using it)that stood out. The actors inside stayed in character but would have benefited if they had a few props to incorporate.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We caught the group ahead of us but that wasn't the events fault. The gave ample time to create space so I don't know what they were doing.

Appropriate Ages: Not giant shocks so if you kids don't mind getting screamed at I would say 10 will work fine.

Props / Special FX: I am not complaining but this was not their strong suit.Most haunts have a WOW scene that you remember on the way home. I am struggling to remember anything other than the clown rooms. They go with actor intensity as their props. I must say though the Claustrophobia air prop is done as well as any I have seen. The thing at the end....I hated it but that's just me.The rest of you will just have to go and find out.

Costumes / Make-up: Nothing Hollywood here but appropriate for what they wanted to portray. Acceptable makeup should enhance the performance or in some cases become the performance. Their actors are not asked to do a lot of performance art so the makeup and costumes fit the requirement.

Summary: I was surprised by this event. Let me get the drawback done first. The parking is in a cornfield. A quarter of the event is outside so if it is raining I imagine they have a rough time. That said I think the event itself was a hoot. I am older so I am not effected by in your face screaming actors. If you are than this is the haunt for you. They have as many actors per square foot as the top rated haunts in Chicago(yes I have been to them)and they are good at what they are asked to do. If you are looking for a highly detailed prop driven haunt this isn't the haunt for you.Either way I don't think you can do any better for the price.10 dollars is a good price for a good time. I had a ball.

9 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: star433   (Event Visited: 10/31/14 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/04/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Couple miles out of town but directions are easy

Wait Entertainment: There was a weird goat monster to creep you out in line. Not my favorite but the other characters would come out and play with the line too. I took a couple pictures with some of them

Length of Event: 20-25 minutes

Actor Performance: AWESOME!! they all stay in character real well even when they are walking around outside. It doesn't matter what you say to them they never break there characters.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I never heard or saw another group so that made it great

Appropriate Ages: Sign says 13 or up but if you have brave younger kids they might make it

Props / Special FX: They had this awesome affect where they had a girl burning but it actually looked like she was catching fire

Costumes / Make-up: Make up is COOL!! Everyone had such great detail. My favorite is probably the really creepy X eyes the dolly girl has. Kick a@@ (censored) The girl in the hotel had super creepy make up too! She was a scary hotel greeter. The person that carries bags and stuff. She looked awesome and I hadn't seen her before.

Summary: I go almost every year and what I love most is how they change every year! This year they had new rooms and characters I had not seen. A couple favorites would definitely be the guy outside dragging the girl and whipping her. I'm pretty sure that was real. It sounded real anyways. I LOVED the red hotel lady. And there was a white room with an old gypsy woman in white asking you to stay with her. CREEPY AS h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) I love the dolly girls. She's so mean but SO funny. And the other girl in there was really creep rocking back and forth. Then you go into a weird carnival and see the clowns!!! The yellow one is funny and the way they all pop out of the walls. I didn't know where they were coming from! Haunted Haven is so fun and they are always trying to make it better and I'm never let down!

13 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: random333   (Event Visited: 10/11/14 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is great. its out in the country and that gives it more of a scare atmosphere. Haunt Haven is easy to find there are signs directing where the haunt is and where to park among the ads with the directions to the haunt that are posted online and in the paper.

Wait Entertainment: waiting in line isn't bad at all. there is a bit of a wait but that all depends on how late or early you go or if they are really busy. The actors come out into the line which makes it really fun.

Length of Event: it takes about fifteen minutes to get through which isn't bad at all.

Actor Performance: The actor performance was great. you can tell that they work very hard on the parts that they perform.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the flow inside was good. my group didn't run into other groups.

Appropriate Ages: i think the appropriate age would be 12 if they are ok with things and people jumping out and scaring them.

Props / Special FX: the props and special effects were great and very realistic. in some parts you couldn't even tell it was a special effect everything was very well created and thought of.

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes and make-up were done very well.

Summary: overall, haunted haven is worth the ten dollar admission. the haunt is easy to find and also while your waiting in line they have bonfires going to keep everyone warm. every year the haunt gets better and better giving a great scare experience during the Halloween season. the actors wont disappoint you they are awesome at what they do. if you go to haunted haven you wont be disappointed i sure wasn't. great job guys!

8 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Msimester11   (Event Visited: 10/04/14 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find! You can't miss it.

Wait Entertainment: Line time was reasonable. Lots of line actors to keep you busy.

Length of Event: I felt like the event length was perfect time. Not too long and not too short

Actor Performance: On a scale of 1-10, actors were at a 10. You can definitely tell they take the time and put for effort into their characters. Loved every scene!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were able to get through the haunt in a timely manor yet we weren't rushed through either.

Appropriate Ages: Very appropriate for the ages that are suggested.

Props / Special FX: Awesome props. The air cannon scared the crap out of me!

Costumes / Make-up: All costumes and makeup were appropriate for characters.

Summary: Haunted haven was amazing! So worth the price and wait. Actors were amazing. They were always in character and brought the best to the table. The overall run of the haunt was very good. Loved the Salem theme. Dolly's room was great as always. Clowns did an awesome job. I loved that they were there one minute gone the next then you turn a corner and there they were again. All actors flowed very well together! Great job guys!!! Will definitely be back next year and possibly again this year.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at