Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com – Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2014 Visitor Reviews of
Evil Intentions Haunted House (Elgin, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
19 out of 33 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: tomsmith   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it was easy to find using navigation on phone location was great

Wait Entertainment: it was opening weekend and they weren't very busy so we didn't have a long wait but the wait entertainment was good there were a couple of actors coming from the building to the parking lot scaring the customers when we were walking in a character came out on stilts with a great costume making a noise that was nowhere near human which started us off good

Length of Event: 20 minutes?

Actor Performance: very good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good flow but it was hard to tell cause they weren't very busy

Appropriate Ages: 13 or older

Summary: I have been to many haunted houses in the Illinois area and this is the best I have been to from just a creepy eerie location to start with to great scenes and acting a lot of places rely on expensive animatronics this place doesn't need them I led our group small group of 6 and found myself flinched going around every corner it is an old casket factory that had a crematorium in the basement and it felt like it also you know it is good when the lady selling the tickets wont even go in!

8 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Lora   (Event Visited: 10/23/14 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's very easy to find. It is in a very creepy big building and there's a big parking lot right across from the building and the parking is free.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was great! There were 3 different actors in and out and they were very scary. One of the actors was climbing all over the place and hanging upside down from the pipes above us. He even used the little zip line and landed on the stage in the waiting room. I also love the setup of the waiting room. It is very dark with red lighting and they blast really creepy music which sets the mood and makes you nervous while you're waiting.

Length of Event: The wait was about 45 minutes and that was on a thursday night. The actual haunted house lasted about 35 minutes and that's perfect!

Actor Performance: These are the best actors I've ever seen at haunted houses. They give it their all! And they go all out! What I like about Evil Intentions is that a lot of the actors don't talk much which makes it ten times scarier. They get really close to you and get right in your face and sniff you. They know how to make you uncomfortable and scared!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I was in a group of four and we NEVER ran into another group! I've been to this haunted house four times now and every year we never run into other groups. Evil intentions is really good with keeping different groups away from each other which is great!

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: They had a lot of different rooms where some of the stuff were props and the others were actors and you couldn't tell who was real and what was a prop which was scary! There were also a lot of strobe lights and fog which is extremely scary in a haunted house because it's hard to see so when an actor jumps out at you, you can't help but scream!

Costumes / Make-up: I LOVE the costumes and makeup at Evil Intentions! They are very unique and extremely creepy! They don't have your typical scary movie characters, they make their own characters. The makeup jobs never look bad. Almost all of them wear contacts and thats what does it for me. I love when actors wear contacts at haunted houses because it just looks very professional and obviously very scary!

Summary: One thing I love about Evil Intentions is the fact that they base their haunted house off of the history of their building. It is an abandoned casket company building and it is really haunted, so just walking into that building you get the chills. There are a lot of coffins in the haunted house, there is a maze with coffin shaped hallways which is very fun! There wasn't one actor that jumped out at me that didn't make me scream! I thought I pulled a muscle in my side from screaming so much that night! One room that really scared me was a doll room. Some of the dolls were fake and some of them were the actors and there were strobe lights in that room so when the lights were off for a second and came back on, one of the dolls would be right in your face. I was terrified to walk through that room! Overall, Evil Intentions is the best haunted house I have ever been to! I've been to all the popular ones and this one has been my favorite for years! Everything about it is just SO creepy! The actors here know how to do it right. I will definitely continue to go back here and it's an hour and a half drive. It has always been worth the drive. I highly recommend this haunted house to everybody! It is extremely fun and worth the money!

12 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: icecoldbtch0   (Event Visited: 10/04/14 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, if you follow the GPS, well lit up signage outside. Hearse car out front with people & Clown character actors, Parking lot right across from Haunt, which was very convenient.

Wait Entertainment: Not much at the time outside, being we were the last customers walking up to the Haunt..However, inside there were 3 different Character actors entertaining the crowd/line patrons. One of them was a big Hill Billy looking guy with woman's breasts, Scary mask he had on, sticking his tongue out thru the mask & playing with his (woman's) nipples, posing for cell phone flash cameras that were being taken of him while he posed "sexy" for the patrons. He was very off putting, perfect for line entertainment. Also there was a man in some crazy long faced hazmat looking mask, he got right up in our faces more than once while waiting in line. A woman also came around interacting with the crowd, she had great make up on in a dark witchy looking dress. Also! Can't forget the unplanned "entertainment". Two HUGE racoons came walking up the plywood above us, they clearly got into the building by accident & were lost. But I just kept watching them the entire time as they walked the rafters above us thinking OMG I hope they dont fall INTO the haunted house! And then we get attacked by these Racoons. That added to the scare factor just standing in line alone, altho I must report there were no further sightings of these racoons once walking inside this haunt. Thank GOD. Haha

Length of Event: Total haunt length was around a half hour, very long! Impressive being most haunts I walk thru never take more than 20 min tops. As for line wait, I'd say around 35-40 min total, being we didnt purchase VIP.

Actor Performance: Some were decent, others were Superb at their craft. They all stayed in role character, noone broke act thru out the entire walk. Some made screechy loud screaming noises, others were quiet & simply creepy the way they stared at you, & yet the rest were laughing evil deleriously mad laughs, I personally loved the variety of characters & dialogue as I walked thru the different scenes/rooms. Also I must point out this one girl on a hang glide looking strap harness came flying across the room out of nowhere, calling my husband "Daddy?" it literally came out of Nowhere, and not only startled us both but was unbelievably entertaining in itself. Special mention must also be given to the girl in the pigtails who looks like the exorcist girl, she is wheeling herself around in a wheelchair in the room you being forced to walk around her, to get thru this candle lit dark creepy room....The entire time she has her head backwards contorted over the backrest of the wheelchair, looking up at you not saying a word, never once moving her head upwards or her neck, it was an amazing part of this haunt in my opinion being she never once broke character. Definitely added to the overall creepiness of this entire Haunted House.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was perfect, being we were the last couple walking thru this haunt for the night. So we ran into noone.

Appropriate Ages: 12+ and up.

Props / Special FX: Great masks. Excellent Make up I must also give mention to. As most haunts do not have exceptionally good make up, but this one absolutely does. Well worth the visuals alone!

Costumes / Make-up: Very good costuming & excellent make up. Props to this make up crew! Also the masks & clothing on the male actors was equally great for a haunted house. No big named Horror slasher flick killers being portrayed in this haunt, just good old fashioned creepy & evil themed stuff here.

Summary: This haunted house was very long to walk thru, so I am sure I wont possibly remember each & every single scene! But I will just tell you the overall experience, as I have said which characters stood out to me in the above notes.....I had a great time at Evil Intentions, having never been in this haunt before, so I had no idea what I was in for. But I am a heavy critic when it comes to haunted houses, being I have been frequenting them since the mid 90's. So I definitely had a lot to compare it to!! I remember the beginning of this haunted house being a little cheesy, so to speak, just 2 young guys in zombified make up taunting & lightly harassing & insulting (jokingly) you while telling you the rules of the haunt. They didnt scare me at all. However, one of the next rooms I remember going into was this huge prison cell maze, where they actually jump down from every direction at you, they run along the ceiling above your head which is all prison bars....Very cool effect. Then another part that stood out was the Satanic room. There was this girl in there with crazy awesome make up. She was dressed in black, she didnt say a word til after you passed her by, then she let out this loud sound in my face. It was great. A lot of the females in this haunt were scarier than some of the males in masks!! Just the way they acted, the things they said, or didnt say...& there was even one who came following me outside where I thought the haunt was over, but boy was I wrong! After we walked thru this outdoor graveyard, we walked back inside to a whole other section which was very scary the way the walls were all black diamonded, like the feeling of the walls closing in on you. There were monks in black, monks in white all lined along the walls you had to walk in between them to get thru hallways, it was very scary because you werent sure who was a mannequin & who was real. Last part of the haunt that stood out to us was the ending. Super scary, I wont ruin the surprise but the last 2 actors we ran into were what I believe to be true psychopaths...The way they spoke, the things they said to us, & the last evil clown looking guy was twisted enough to actually scare me into thinking the scene might have been real. Let's just say he was holding an ax, and he wasnt afraid to use it to intimidate on a level I have barely ever seen in a local Haunt. This alone upped the scare factor GREATLY!! As both my husband and I are horror film buffs, we love & appreciate everything horror. And even he questioned whether this guy was for real or not! I'd say this is a Must see haunt, esp for the die hards like us, who appreciate a good old fashioned unnervingly deliciously disturbing & creepy haunt. I did not get as many startle scares as I would have liked,,,but the creepy factor was most def present, being this is an old abandoned Casket Company warehouse, so the building is creepy in itself already.

8 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: nsn2010   (Event Visited: 10/04/14 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There were a few twists and turns to get there from IL20, but you will be fine using navigation.

Wait Entertainment: There wait entertainment was really good! Creepy yet funny clown while in line and there were numerous entertainers lurking the parking lot. They even messed with friends that decided to stay in the car because they were too scared to go in. Great effort!

Length of Event: 15-20 min haunt, but incredibly long wait. We waited almost 1 hour WITH VIP line cut.

Actor Performance: The actor performance was very good. Character was kept throughout. Great effort on voice changing and overall creepiness.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were in a group of 6, which was too much in my opinion. This haunt would have been really great in small groups. Having said that, it is understandable to push more people through especially with that massive wait.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Props were good, not incredible. Familiar sections such as a "balloon walkway", maze, prison. I felt like there could have been more effects and overall darkness. There was a very intricate outdoor section with detailed shrubbery and a satanic theme which was very unique and fun.

Costumes / Make-up: Too many masks in my opinion especially for the excellent makeup that was done on others.

Summary: Evil Intentions is a decent haunt, but not for the money ($35 for VIP) or time. It was not incredibly scary due to generally too well lit areas, and also featured just too much "hallway" with not enough "sceneage". If you go, make sure to get the VIP line cut because you will be there for hours and hours. The VIP line was 45 minutes alone and I saw barely anyone moving in the regular line.

10 out of 43 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: venatora   (Event Visited: 10/18/14 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Entrance and parking were easy to find - you can't really miss the hearse outside. Parking and outside waiting area are well lit.

Wait Entertainment: While we were waiting in the line outside, we only had 1 actor working the guests. Inside we had 2. All were entertaining and had great costumes/makeup.

Length of Event: 20-25 minutes

Actor Performance: Fantastic. All of the actors played their roles perfectly. As someone who doesn't scare easy in haunted houses having worked in one for many years, these actors succeeded in giving me those creepy crawly feelings throughout the entire house. Great job guys!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They were putting groups through on average every 3 minutes. I had expected to run into someone in front of me or behind me (I like to walk slowly and enjoy the costumes and room décor) but the actors did an awesome job of traffic control.

Appropriate Ages: 11+

Props / Special FX: Props were great. Many real props instead of plastic cutouts. Definitely ups the scare factor when a scythe is thrown into a wall and sticks!

Costumes / Make-up: The masks and makeup were absolutely amazing. You get used to seeing the same 10 masks and costumes at haunted houses - but not here. Some awesome creativity and prop hunting went on. My favorite costume included some really creepy finger gloves with some sort of tentacles on the end.

Summary: Absolutely hands down my favorite haunt of 2014. I'm a tough critic and don't scare easy - but left this house with my knees knocking. I was calm, cool and collected until about 30 seconds into the first room. Evil Intentions will satisfy you whether you're looking to walk through and observe the artistic design of the house, rooms and costumes or be legitimately scared.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at