Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2014 Visitor Reviews of
Realm Of Terror Horror Experience (Round Lake Beach, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
23 out of 34 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Esuom   (Event Visited: 10/10/14 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty easy to find. It's located at Kristof's Entertainment Center but the giant fire cannon doesn't hurt either.

Wait Entertainment: We got there when they opened but that didn't stop them from having 3 or 4 nasties stalking about. Oh, and make sure to give Santa a dollar.

Length of Event: About 15 minutes or so. Probably could have been longer but we were walking pretty fast.

Actor Performance: Each and every actor was absolutely insane. They come at you fast and mean. They're over your heads, under your feet...climbing the walls even! No one broke character...even when i ran smack dab into one. I apologized and he sniffed me. Ick.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into another group nor did any run into us.

Appropriate Ages: Personally, I would have loved it as a kid but I would suggest you leave the real young ones at home...or let them go bowling or something.

Props / Special FX: Not very high on the animatronics front but who cares! There was so much to look at! Everywhere you looked there was something vile that you wanted to avoid.

Costumes / Make-up: As with the scenery, everyone was foul and disturbing. The characters,the costumes and the make-up all fit in their rooms.

Summary: Last year was my first time going through RoT and we went at the very, very end of the season. I was completely blown away and rather embarrassed and disappointed with myself for never have been before. It's not your what i like to call a "Lego Haunt" where everything is snapped together and has a nice easy flow...RoT is the total opposite. It's ugly, mean, gory (heavy on the gore)disorientating and disturbing. I don't want to give too much away but a couple highlights are: The Bucket Girl (go ahead and let your imagination run on that one..) the wall runners and of course the one INSANE fella that comes out of nowhere and is instantly hanging over your head! Keep in mind there are areas you'll need to duck, or squeeze though. A total claustrophobic nightmare. I also love that you have to open doors to find your way out and not just go through fear-flaps and such to enter new scenes. But, the new maze is just downright outstanding. I don't recall going through a maze like that ever! In a nutshell; I should have probably saved this haunt for the last again... because it is truly going to be hard to top that.

19 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Cheddar   (Event Visited: 10/10/14 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Just off of Rollins road. GPS got me right there, and just follow the signs

Wait Entertainment: We were there early with little line but they had a Santa, Give him a dollar for your suprise gift. HE was great and him alone kept alot of people entertained while waiting for the haunt to open.

Length of Event: 30mins

Actor Performance: AMZAZING. actors were very high energy and stayed in character. i was blown away. this is definitely a strong point here.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: never saw another group. perfect.

Appropriate Ages: 14+. loud, gorey and language make it not too good for little ones

Props / Special FX: Sets were great. Simple messy and gorey. Not too many animatronics but that worked in thier favor. when you have the actors they have, you dont need animatronics.

Costumes / Make-up: It was pretty dark but makeup look pretty good from the ones that i saw. The whole haunt is medical themed and all costumes showed that.

Summary: Great actors can make a subpar haunt a good one. Or you can be RoT and have a great haunt set and amazing actors. I have not seen such high energy in actors since Dream Reapers closed. They were in your face and making you feel uncomfortable at all turns. The use of drop doors is perfect. I can keep babbling on about the great actors and set design forever. (By the way i had to stop and applaud on actor hanging from the ceiling and bouncing around... amazing) All i can say is this is a haunt you CANNOT MISS. I have seen multiple haunts this year and in years past and on my first visit here, i cant believe it took so long for me to see it. do not skip this haunt for any reason

17 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mkazen   (Event Visited: 10/11/14 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Somewhat hard to find if you don't know what you're looking for - kind of sneaks up on you when you're driving down the street, however they do have lights and people direction traffic. If you're familar with Kristof's then you know where it is.

Wait Entertainment: We had the "skip the line" passes, so we only had to wait a few minutes; however they did have several actors trying to get a rise out of the crowd, including a guy in a santa costume making raunchy comments and generally amusing people

Length of Event: It took us approximately 15 minutes to get through, which was only disappointing because in previous years we were usually in the haunt for close to 30, but they revamped the maze (more on that below)

Actor Performance: Actors are very good; sliding walls, startling appearances and some actors climb the walls or hang from the ceiling; it makes for a very good experience

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: In general they do a pretty good job of keeping groups separated from each other, but we (my wife, daughter and I) were sent through with another group of 3 and they kept pushing us. I would have preferred that they let the 3 of us go by ourselves; it made us rush a bit and in fact we caught up to the people in front of us.

Appropriate Ages: Very disturbing scenes and agressive actors make it not really appropriate for those under 16

Props / Special FX: Excellent; there are several places where they time the strobes to be very disconcerting; also you wander through a room which starts moving and there is also a large squeeze through which is approximately 10 feet long.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent; very good when you can actually see them - the place is very dimly lit, so it's almost that some is lost on us :)

Summary: This is the 4th year in a row going to the Realm of Terror and in the past has been my all time favorite haunted house. The acting is excellent and the props/scenes are very good. The only issue that I had this year was the fact that they made some changes. In the past, the last quarter or so of the haunted house is this large walk through maze filled with white smoke and strobes; they had the timing of the strobes such that it was EXTREMELY disconcerting - you feel like you should be able to see when it strobes, but it makes it actually harder to see. On top of that, I believe that some of the walls moved and there were a lot of dead ends. It took a long time to get out, and even after you do, I had NO idea how big it was at all. 
 
Well, they removed this maze and replaced it with what they were calling a pitch black maze, but it wasn't really - it was just an area with one way to go and the lights were off. A maze has dead ends and switch backs and the feeling that you can't get out... This was just "directed" and I was disappointed after the previous years. Don't get me wrong; I still think it's a great haunted house, but I really miss the strobe maze and I really hope they bring it back next year.

11 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cupajoe415   (Event Visited: 10/04/14 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Based off of its location at a Fun Spot of sorts it is never hard too hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: Best Santa Ever! Always funny, ignorant, and offensive. If you don't want to be offended don't go. He is one of the highlights for sure though. They also had some pretty cool clowns working the line, but on our particular night the actor seemed to know some people so he was having a very non-scary shooting the breeze conversation with his friends. Early in the season though at this time, so I wasn't to bothered.

Length of Event: 12 minutes. I'm guessing

Actor Performance: Actors were pretty good. Not everyone was just screaming. There were a couple of one liners, which is always a plus. Some need to get a bit more comfortable with this though.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We could have used a couple of actors interrupting the flow a bit. We kept running into the group in front of us even with my best efforts to slow us down. I do think a couple of the actors could have helped with this by blocking the path for a minute or two though.

Appropriate Ages: 15 + imo

Props / Special FX: Great as always. They really immerse you into your environments with very tight spaces. It was great.

Costumes / Make-up: Great.

Summary: I usually don't give the whole rundown of each haunt I visit since I visit 10+ ever season, but I usually like to share just a few of the improvements I saw over last year if I visited it before as well as mention anything that I think might be helpful for the future of the haunt.  
 
This year was my second year driving 2 hours up to see you guys. Though I was originally charged $440 on my credit card for a single ticket, they took care of it! :)  
 
I think the acting has only gotten better in the haunt. There was less screaming and more lines which I think is a plus. Good work there as well as on the makeup.  
 
I did prefer the maze last year, when we went from the bright white light maze to the black out maze. It was a little more fun,as the actors could control when you exited one to the other. We were in there for a while and even got passed by other groups. While this might not be great for customer flow it certainly was alot of fun. The maze this year probably had better flow, but lacked in the fun I had the year previous. Either way love what you all do. Good job to all the actors and staff, and that Santa that would not take a picture with me. Happy Haunting.

18 out of 38 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BIGGUN   (Event Visited: 10/10/14 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty good off of Rollins Road. Lot of construction in the area, fyi.

Wait Entertainment: One dude covered in bloody clothes, and a mirror mask, and another with a gas mask on wielding blades.

Length of Event: 22 min.

Actor Performance: Absolutely insane, and literally in your face. Probably the best performers I've ever seen in a haunt.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great! Never ran into any groups.

Appropriate Ages: I'd say 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: These may not be the best props some of the bigger haunts have, but they are used properly, and there are always actors with each prop enhancing the scene.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good as well, but like the props, the actors performance enhance what may be a lack of detail in make up.

Summary: I give this haunt a 9.5, but it would have gotten a 10 if not for keeping my waiting close to 30 minutes after it was supposed to open. I HATE when haunts do this, and they are almost ALL guilty of this. 
That aside, this was an INTENSE haunt. I havent been there since 2010, because I couldnt stand the white fog maze they had back then. I heard it was gone this year, and it was.  
SO I ventured up and I'm glad I did. The haunt had actors ALL over the haunt. 
There werent any rooms with just pop ups like some haunts. 
This haunt had actors coming at all directions to scare people out of their wits. 
Twitching body bags, disorienting lighting, people with half bodies, and on and on. 
They really use every inch of space for this haunt, and the end result is fantastic. 
The final passages isn't just a dark maze, as some have reported. It's all kinds of twists and turns that will definitely keep you on your toes. 
For me this is the best haunt of the season, and I HIGHLY RECOMMEND it.

7 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: DragonSlayer   (Event Visited: 10/23/14 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Realm of Terror is easy to spot at the Kristof's entertainment center. There is a large billboard attached to a panel truck out front.

Wait Entertainment: There was one guy scaring people in line but we were the first ones there and not many people had showed up at the opening time.

Length of Event: About 25 minutes.

Actor Performance: Extremely good! The best actors in IL hands down! They are in your face and all over the walls!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. We went in as a group of about 6 and they split us up in the haunt into a group with me and my buddy and the other group of 4 then later we all caught up to each other again.

Appropriate Ages: Parental discretion is always advised but I would say due to the language and intensity of the haunt I would like 14 and up. A 10 or 12 year old may be able to go through if they are the type but it's definitely more for adults than kids.

Props / Special FX: Extremely good! The props and actors all blend into the scenes well and become hidden and some of the scenes are very realistic. The cyborg guy with wires sticking out moving back and forth is very cool. That's a one of a kind thing.

Costumes / Make-up: Extremely good and movie quality. Realm of Terror always delivers on this. All the characters are patients of the facility and they all fit into the rooms well and have costumes that fit into the scenes.

Summary: Realm of Terror has become my favorite haunt in IL. They combine great scares, cool effects, unbelievable actors, and lots of eye candy to make a haunt worth praising. They also move patrons through well without jamming people up or messing up the experience for anyone.  
 
The overall theme of Realm of Terror follows a contagious outbreak and while this type of theme has been done to death by most haunts, they do it best at the Realm! The actors are in your face and really make you feel like you are in danger and like you should be scared. This is what a haunt is supposed to be. 
 
The rooms are great and small and a lot of parts make you have to climb through and around things to get to the next part and make you feel as if you are trying to escape. The maze at the end is as always great and I really love it even with the changes to it. In fact I think it is better than before because it doesn't allow for people to jam up at the end yet still disorients you and makes you feel dread. A lot of people don't like the maze but it has been a favorite of mine and I still love it. My advice, if you only hit one haunted house this year, make it Realm of Terror.

6 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: AleksOsis   (Event Visited: 10/12/14 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Fair. A little tricky to figure out where to drive in. Behind the game center. Driveway is on the west side of the building.

Wait Entertainment: Crazy good! One of the characters got on all fours and quickly scampered like a spider right through the line and everyone jumped out of the way. Another chased us right into the venue smashing two machetes at random objects as we booked it. Ahem, also a bar? Give it a 10.

Length of Event: 25min

Actor Performance: Athletic climbing, hanging from the ceiling and jumping. Hard to imagine how they keep that up all night. Very good. Perfect 10.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Perfect. No running into anyone. Felt like our group of 5 were alone.

Appropriate Ages: Some mild sexual content and swearing. Guts everywhere. No worse than cable. 12+

Props / Special FX: Sets are a 10. Elevator was amazing! Not very flashy but so creatively done. Disorienting in a good way. Room decorated with intestines blew me away.

Costumes / Make-up: Better than previous years and that's saying a lot. Another 10!

Summary: Realm of Terror in Round Lake did an excellent job this year as always. This one may turn out to be my favorite this year. We'll see. The sets were substantially more impressive than previous years. Actors were much more athletic(jumping out, climbing upside down, crawling around) than other haunts. 
The line entertainment was probably more scary than most haunted houses you'll find. Maybe skip the V.I.P. and wait the extra 30-90min. It's fun. They have a bar in line, which is genius. The line is covered but outside so dress appropriately. "Skip the line" tickets are offered for $8 more. Normally tickets are $22 but the Walgreens a block away sells tickets at a $7 discount and a $2 discount if you buy online. $15 for probably the top haunted house in Chicagoland? Are you kidding me?

7 out of 36 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: kwillis00   (Event Visited: 10/23/14 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: the location was good just had to look to the fun center. with lots of cars. then you go park in the back of the fun center.

Wait Entertainment: there was one guy that came out and was messing with the line it was just one because we got there right when it opened up but he did a great job.

Length of Event: it was i say about 24 mins. long or so

Actor Performance: the actors in this haunt were right one cue. right in you face with the scares very good sets.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: they let us go in just me n my friend by our self we was the first to go in. although the other group did catch up to us towards the end of the haunt. which is no big deal.

Appropriate Ages: this haunt is appropriate for ages i would say 10+

Props / Special FX: the props n special fx were awsome in this haunt espially the elevator set it gets you in the mood right away n they tell there story. the set that looked like a robot getting worked on was a nice touch diffrent have not seen that in no other haunts.

Costumes / Make-up: the make up and actors out fits where great. I though the actors were all over the walls in this haunt.

Summary: this haunt was very goo the set the mood. for you when you go in nice touch. really enjoyed that the sets were good some were diffrent never seen some. the ducking in some stop were great. and how some actors looked like props n then come alive. they blened in so good. the drop doors blened in with the set and got us a couple times. the maze at the end I think was just a little much i couldnt see at one ponit and got poked by a actor and i ran in to a prop. but i would rate this haunt very high scares and they did a very excellent jon great job realm of terror keep up the good scares!!!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at