Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2014 Visitor Reviews of
Rob Zombie's Great American Nightmare (Villa Park, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
28 out of 41 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: horrorguy   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 09/28/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Their was no signs directing you off the main road. If you don't know where the Odium is then make sure you use a gps. The parking lot entrance is not lit well.

Wait Entertainment: Their was only one actress in the line and all she did was walk around and stare at people. Didn't attempt any kind of scare.

Length of Event: I'm going to give a guess of 15 mins.

Actor Performance: I'm not sure where to begin on this. I was unsure of most characters. They did a lot of staring, no attempts to actually scare you. In the 3D house a lot of the actors just waved at us. WHAT! I can't say they stayed in character when I didn't even know what character they were suppose to be. The only actor that stood out to me was Captin Spaulding in his murder ride gift shop. He was the most believable. I felt he was the only one who took his roll seriously.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This was another issue. We kept running into the group in front of us. It was a constant conga line.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and older just because of the language used in the houses.

Props / Special FX: They had a nice amount of video effects, but they were off cue. I usually just got to see the end of the video thing. Nothing else is worth mentioning.

Costumes / Make-up: The only cool looking costumes were in the 3D house because they popped in the black light. The make up was very basic or a cheap looking mask.

Summary: The Rob Zombie house consisted of 3 different haunts.  
The Lords of Salem haunt was 90% black walls and random single strobe light.  
Then we went to El Superbeasto 3D, this was cool just because I like 3d haunts. BUT the 3D could have been done better in my opinion. A lot of wide open rooms with very little in them.  
Then was the haunt of 1000 courses. The entrance was really cool looking and so was Captain Spaulding's gift shop. The res of it was very basic.  
 
Overall this attraction is a low scare, not twisted as stated in their advertisement . The price is way to high for this level of entertainment. It doesn't feel like there was any love put into making this haunted house. Personally I was disappointed. I will not be returning to this attraction.

31 out of 48 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: meatbag21   (Event Visited: 10/12/14 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: With GPS, it's very easy to find. Even without it, it'd be pretty easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment was okay. They had around 2-3 costumed individuals walking through the lines. Outside, they had a few wrecked cars and an individual that ate fire.

Length of Event: 2 hours. Mainly due to the multiple lines and bumping in to other groups ahead.

Actor Performance: Actor performance was okay. One of the actors was joking around with the group right behind me and wasn't in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was pretty bad. The group behind caught up pretty quick and we had caught up to the group ahead. Once inside, there were two other spots where they had lines formed that those that bought VIP couldn't skip ahead of.

Appropriate Ages: 18+ due to adult themes

Props / Special FX: Best special effects was the one area that you had to use 3D glasses in. That was pretty cool. The rest of the props/special FX were not so good.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were pretty good and so was the make-up. They did a pretty good job with that.

Summary: If you're wanting to be scared, I'd avoid going to this haunted house. I found myself laughing and I wasn't even frightened once. I had high expectations considering that the cost of the tickets were $30 each, parking was $5, and that this has Rob Zombie's name attached to it. My favorite area was the room where you had to wear 3D glasses. I liked it because they did such an awesome job with making it look really cool. Even in this area though, I never once got scared or jumped. I can understand if this was a small, neighborhood haunted house put on at a church or something, but with Rob Zombie's name attached to it, I expected a lot more.

19 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Cheddar   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 09/28/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If yu have been to the Odium before its a no brainer. If not, its very easily found with a GPS

Wait Entertainment: Actually outside the haunt (before you enter the building) there were people spinning fire and a drum line where they placed music with buckets a beer kegs. That was very cool. INside the haunt, while actually waiting, there was one girl walking around. And that is all she did. Walk around

Length of Event: 15 mins at most

Actor Performance: Very disappointed. Actors were scarce to begin with and most were low energy. Captian Spaulding in the gift shop was probably the best and he didnt really have to do much to acomplish that.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Bad. They sent in big groups (wasnt even too busy that night) and we kept running into the group in front of us. There was also a group almost right in back of us.

Appropriate Ages: 13+ (only because i dont think alot of parents would want thier kids to see el superbeasto due to adult scenes. and swearing throughout the haunt. If you are fine with seeing that, as far as scare-wise i would say 10+ 

Props / Special FX: There were some really cool sets in there. The animatronics were well placed and there were even some video screens placed throughout the haunt (the best one i remember is when a guy shot himself in the head and the screen in back splatted with blood and a bullet hole. Very well timed). the entire El Superbeasto was a cool sight to see with the 3D glasses.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were nothing special and makeup wasnt used too much. Saw alot of masks. IN the el superbeasto, most of the actors were girls wearing neon tube tops dancing around.

Summary: All the hype for this haunt opening and i dont think they delivered. I got my ticket off groupon for cheaper, and i still feel like i paid too much to see this. Scares were few and far in between and they were lacking alot of actors it seems like. This was a good looking haunt, but i feel like it still needs alot of work. Since it was opening weekend, i will comfortably say that come closer to Halloween they will be better, but i dont want to put expectations too high. And what was the deal with the first house? (lords of salem i believe) i dont think there was a single actor, all it was was a pitch black hallway with twists and turns. Not a maze or disorientating, just blackness and running into the people in front of you.

12 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: shwee81185   (Event Visited: 10/04/14 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find

Wait Entertainment: One person

Length of Event: 20 mins for all 3

Actor Performance: Very poor.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: None. We waited in line for 3 1/2 hours!

Appropriate Ages: All ages

Summary: There was 12 of us in the group and we were all excited to go. We bought our tickets in advanced and still waited for 3 1/2 hours in line. The first house was just pitch black no one in there. The second was the "best" it was more of a fun house and the last one was a joke. Most of the people in our group r scared of their own shadow and no one was scared at all. Most of the time we had no idea what was the theme of the room we were in. I don't think it was worth the admission price!

19 out of 35 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: LaurieStrode   (Event Visited: 10/11/14 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find with GPS

Wait Entertainment: Some actors

Length of Event: 30 minutes (including wait lines inside the actual attractions)

Actor Performance: POOR! Almost all actors broke their character

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: TERRIBLE!!!

Summary: I went to the Odeum the last few years for the Asylum Experiment haunted house (which was AWESOME) and was sad to hear that Rob Zombie beat them to the space for his haunted house this year - but whatever, its Rob Zombie so I bought my tickets and went there last night. I felt like cattle being herded through because you are literally on the heels of the person in front of you throughout the entire thing! There are long uneventful hallways with minimum decor to kill space and save money on actors. Absolutely nothing in this house was scary besides the dark maze, but that was only because it was the first thing you go through so you don't know what to expect (FYI: there is nothing to expect, its just a dark maze). PLEASE READ why you the amount paid for this "haunted attraction" may not be worth the actual value: 
 
- On top of the $25 tickets (with the discount, $30 is the normal price), they also charge $5 for parking. It's not a huge deal but it's annoying to not even mention it anywhere online 
 
- My group got there around 8:00pm and waited over an hour in line. Also not a huge deal because all good things come to those who wait, right? ... not in every case 
 
- You can purchase drinks and food in line but you're looking at around $6 a bottle just to give you an idea. 
 
- On the plus side, the line was moving pretty steadily and there were performers occasionally walking through the line . Once inside the haunted house, I could see why the line was moving so fast.... 
 
- On the inside, the first house is a dark maze which builds you up until you are met with yet another line to wait for the second house. Talk about an adrenaline kill. 
 
- The 2nd house was a HORRIBLE 3D cartoon gallery! You literally are walking through on the heels of the person in front of you and looking at paint on the walls in 3D. Minimal actors and all the actors do is dance in place. Nothing is meant to be scary. It's very brightly colored and lit throughout and actors are in plain sight. 
 
- There was a monkey alien guy in this part with an oversized ball sack as a prop and he was putting it ON people. Before you walk into the haunted house in the beginning, they say not to touch the actors and they will not touch you so I don't understand why this guy would touch us even after I saw several guys in line get pissed off about it and this actor STILL continued to taunt them by putting this prop ON THEIR HEADS! No one in line did anything because then they would have been kicked out... so unprofessional. Nothing in this house was meant to be scary...and it wasn't. Another letdown.  
 
- After we got out of the 'gallery,' we were met with another line to the third haunted house where they were letting in groups of 20 at a time, yes 20! This was yet another problem once we were inside because our group met up with the group ahead of us in a matter of seconds and the group behind us was not very happy either once they caught up with us.  
 
- The "house of maniacs" was SO hyped up! It literally consists of a single actor in a small room either sitting down or pacing. The whole Gacy room controversy was totally a media stunt. In this room he was just sitting down on a couch blowing up a balloon. Yawn. 
 
- Then the token chainsaw guy at the end was just revving the chainsaw but not chasing or anything. He literally was just standing in the middle of the exit tunnel not even trying to surprise anyone. 
 
 
THERE IS NOTHING HAUNTED ABOUT THIS "HAUNTED ATTRACTION."

13 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bullme109   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 09/29/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty easy to find, huge expo center. The night we went they actually charged $10 for parking, which seemed a bit much with how much tickets cost. Not sure if this is every night, or because we were there the night of the Rob Zombie concert.

Wait Entertainment: Not much of anything. One person kind of aimlessy walking around. The "bloody blvd" they advertised was literally one person dancing on a car outside, before you go in to wait in line. There was no "freak show" that was advertised either. Asylum Experiment, who was at the Odeum last year, in comparison, had a fantastic setting while you waited in line. For this, nothing. Not even any decorations to speak of while in line.

Length of Event: I would day 15 minutes or so, as they really pushed us through pretty fast.

Actor Performance: The first house, the maze, had nothing. It wasn't even dark. We literally just walked through some black hallways. That was it. The second and third house were better, but this is where I'll lay the blame on the organizers, not the actors. They literally led us in, in one huge congo line. Not kidding. It was one giant line through the house. So with that, the actors really had no chance to do anything. Reading comments on the event Facebook page, it seems a lot of the actors quit after opening night.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: As I stated above, flow was the worst I've ever seen, and I go to 2-3 houses a year. It was one giant congo line through the house, and I'm not exaggerating at all. Truly awful. VIP tickets really got you nothing but a cheap tee-shirt.

Appropriate Ages: Some adult themes for sure, and some skimpy outfits for some of the ladies, so maybe 13+ minimum.

Props / Special FX: Very let down here, for a haunt with Rob Zombie's name attached. The haunt that was here last year was much better. It just seemed lacking on detailed scenes, and nothing really stuck out. The 3D section was cool, and some of the building facades are awesome for anyone who liked the movies.

Costumes / Make-up: Nothing too amazing here either. Some of the actors looked like their counter parts, but in the house, nothing that stuck out like some of the characters you used to see at Dream Reapers or Asylum Experiment in previous years.

Summary: Overall, just not a very good haunt, especially for what we paid to get in. The scenes lacked detail, and there were no real scares. The flow was truly horrible, with one huge congo line walking through the house. I was pretty excited to see this, but was very let down. The concert was awesome, and maybe some of their problems were due to this, and it could be better on another night. I just was expecting more scares, effects, and detailed scenes with having Rob Zombie's name attached.

12 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: icecoldbtch0   (Event Visited: 10/10/14 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Being I am from this area, I already know where the Odeum is located. So this was no problem at all to find. Visibility was fine.

Wait Entertainment: Not much, besides some smashed looking piled up cars outside, and a person throwing fire. There was 1 actor working the line, but he was not very frighteneing, kind of joking around with the customers waiting in line.

Length of Event: 2 hour wait, and about 20 minutes inside the haunt.

Actor Performance: Mediocre, at best. Not too impressed being this haunt was overhyped, highly advertised. I really felt they were especially lacking in this department. With the exception of literally maybe 1 or 2 actors, 1 of them being 1 of the Spaulding characters, and the other being 1 of the girls in the Superbeasto 3D room. Other than that, this haunt's actors were weak. And nowhere near as scary, or as entertaining as my group expected.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Horrible. Worst ever orginazation on the staff who held this event's part, in my opinion. They had no idea when to let in groups, the whole thing seemed totally disorganized....And when they were letting in groups, it was like 20 of us at a time! I only had 6 in my group, but they mixed us in with another dozen or so people. That alone lost many points for scare factor experience, while walking throughout this entire haunted house. My whole group was really disappointed we couldn't just go the 6 of us. Kind of ruined the experience we had inside this haunt.

Appropriate Ages: Basing on content, or adult themed dialogue?? I'd say 18. and up. But if we are basing this off scare factor alone? Then I'd say 8+ up.

Props / Special FX: The only cool props we saw were in the 3D Superbeast Manifesto area, other than that all typical haunted house butcher room stuff, Gacy sat there blowing up a balloon in 1 of the serial killer rooms, but the only props he had, were 2 boyscout mannequins. Boring.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were ok, some were decent. But as for make up, I was not impressed in the least. For something with Rob Zombie's name attached to it, you'd think they would have top notch make up artists working behind their scenes. Not here. Disappointed in just how ameteur and very basic their make up was. Some of the masks were pretty cool though. I liked the one Spaulding mask, I am assuming since there were 2 Captain Spaulding characters, one of them looked like make up, and the other looked like was wearing a mask. I loved the masked Captain Spaulding. Very cool looking, looked just like the movie! I also did enjoy the 3D room costuming, it fit the room perfectly. These would be my only better notes I can put down here.

Summary: Honestly, kind of a let down this haunt was, being we paid so much, and also we had high expectations since Rob Zombie is the name behind it all. My entire group was complaining most the ride home, and I honestly don't blame them. This haunted house was Not scary at all. The first part of the house was one long black dark hallway maze, not 1 actor in this entire part, it went on for what seemed like 15 minutes! We at first were scared, not knowing what was ahead. But as it went on, we realized there was nothing ahead. Next, was the 3D haunt, which was kind of fun, but still no scare factor. The girls in this room were entertaining, being they danced for you, but still, nothing scary at all being this room was pretty brightly lit. Next was the house of 1000 corpses. This was where all the serial killer rooms were. Gacy room was boring. He did nothing but blow up a balloon that popped in my friend's ear, who complained about the ringing noise in his ear all night after that. The Charles Manson room was also equally lame. The actors in here were dull, strange, blithered crazy talk as you walked through their rooms, there was one girl screaming at a pregnant corpse. It was not scary, just annoying! There were 2 Captain Spaulding characters in the haunt though, and they were both good. Other than that, there were overall not enough actors or scares. My entire group felt pushed through like cow cattle, I can see why a lot of people on the reviews are saying the same thing. Overpriced, not enough bang for your buck in this case. I also heard Rob Zombie is pulling out of this operation, this will be their 1st and last year doing Great American Nightmare in Chicago's suburbs, being it's already a sinking ship, according to many who've already attended this event.

12 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: JawBone   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 09/28/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There is a billboard sign on the main drag coming from the east towards Villa Dr. Other then that didn't see any signs. The event center is big and has a big sign out front. Very hard to miss this location.

Wait Entertainment: Outside fire dancing,homemade drum music. 
Inside you had the chance to watch live band music playing. First night was Rob Zombie, however, I went 2nd night which was Devil Wears Prada.

Length of Event: Approx. 20-25 mins

Actor Performance: I went first throughout the event and came into scenes with some actors not set. Once noticed the actors when into character and did very well. Never had one break character the entire time I was in this event.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Only ran into one group going through Lords Of Salem due to the group in front being really scared. Had groups running into us the entire event. This might be due to going alittle bit slower then usual groups to enjoy our times and the details and scenes.

Appropriate Ages: 13+ due to graphic scenes, language, and adult gestures throughout the haunt.

Props / Special FX: The props and special effects seemed a little low for a haunt with a name this big backing it. I would have like to seen more larger props throughout the haunt. There are a couple, however, feelings this could be amped up a little more to give the actors a little more break and to try to help bring up the scare factor.

Costumes / Make-up: For the most part the costumes and make-up seemed to be lacking for a high dollar haunt. Most costumes were just low dollar end costumes or just very skimpy outfits throughout the event. The actors that went with the monster ride were very close to the movie characters and in-tune for there locations.

Summary: With this event we bought VIP 1 tickets there was little to no wait on this night. Seemed even if we had bought GA tickets we would have only waited for 15-20 mins. With buying the VIP tickets you also get a free t-shirt. Only issue with this is the largest size T they had was a Large?? Not understanding the idea behind that, however, my kids will enjoy the shirt. 
When you arrive at this haunt you drive down the front of the building past some wrecked cars and different preforms standing on the cars to start off the night and set the mood. Once into the event you go get your wristband, then walk over and get metal detected. They will take your lighters at the door so if your have a special lighter leave it in the car. When you come back out you can get your lighter out of the bin, however, it's free for the picking. So bring a bic. 
You walk up a ramp and go into well marked lines pending what type of ticket you bought. Then proceed in to get 2 pictures taken which you can have printed at the end of the event for a small fee. Then you proceed into more roped off lines waiting to go into the first of 3 haunts. 
Lords Of Salem- The front of this event looks like a huge house. Alot of detail has been put into this house to really start off the night. 
This event is your typical dark black maze with a few surprises on your way venturing the mazes. This event is a riot if your keep your eyes closed and use the rest of your senses to get through it. A few actors here in there to help hype up the experience. 
El Superbeasto 3D- This haunt was very detailed with some awesome spins and effect done with 3D paint.  
Not alot of scare factor done throughout this event. It more of a eye catcher. Most of the actors in this haunt were females wearing more or less revealing out fits that had some neon colors to add to the 3D experience. I always enjoy a good 3D area in any event and the artist that did this did a amazing job.  
Haunt Of A 1000's Corpse- This event was your more detailed horror scene haunt. Starting off walking up to the entrance to the Murder Ride (Walk Through Event). You are first confronted by characters from the movie to set off the experience in full motion. So really nice scenes and effect throughout this haunt a couple of startling things to get a jump out of you. 
Once again this area has adult content and language used throughout it. Not to go into much detail the last room of this haunt is a really cool effect. 
Overall I feel this event was fun and had some great details and scenes just not that big name details that I was expecting. The scare factor throughout this haunt also wasn't as high as I thought it should have been due to being a high dollar event back with a famous name on the entire event. 
This is one of those events that I would say is a haunt I would not be going to more then once unless things were changed up big time from year to year. With the 2 1/2 hour drive and the $39 dollar online ticket fee for the VIP 1 ticket I would rated this haunted house as very average. 
If you haven't been to this event I would say you have to try it out at least once just to say you have been there. I enjoyed my time at this event and I am not disappointed for checking it out overall it was fun!!!

10 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Foxy_Loxy   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 09/29/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Fairly easy to find. There were a lot of parking spaces.

Wait Entertainment: In line we had a girl who just walked around and looked incredibly bored. I wish there were some actors to set the mood a little better.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Since the majority of the cast left this haunt the night before, it wouldn't be completely fair to comment on the lack of actors. The only thing I can say is that a lot of these actors left had low energy and not too much to say.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were let in with a group of 4 and that was a good group size. Unfortunately we ran into another group, by no fault of the haunt, because a jerk felt the need to touch all of the props.

Appropriate Ages: 14+

Props / Special FX: The props were pretty cool, especially in the 3D and Hillbilly/ serial killer haunt.

Costumes / Make-up: The make up was good and fit the rooms the actors were put into

Summary: This haunt had it hard the second night with all of the mishaps from opening with a Rob Zombie concert and trying to cater to 4000 drunk jerky people. They were understaffed due to no fault of their own, but the actors could have had more energy. The sets were beautiful and it shows that a lot of time was put into the last house. The first house was very mild on the scare factor. There was a long winding hallway that you went through in total darkness and by long I mean 15 minutes of hallway. I expected actors to be in there and I am sure opening night they were. I felt like there was more people saying "No, don't" or crying and staying in one place rather than trying to scare us. In the 3D haunt, I felt like I was in a fun house. It was interesting, but the whole time I was waiting for something to happen and was sorely disappointed that nothing did. This haunt has a ton of potential and I really hope things come together for them. Right now, it is a rocky start and I am sue better things are to come. New haunts are definitely a learning experience for everyone involved.

6 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: AleksOsis   (Event Visited: 10/04/14 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Can't miss it. Big complex.

Wait Entertainment: Saw a few characters outside. They never got close. Fire breather seemed overwhelmed by having to do that all night. Didn't wait in line very long but I saw none in the intensely lit stadium area as I was walking around inside. I'd give that a 2.

Length of Event: 1hr

Actor Performance: Hit and miss. Great actors and indifferent actors.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Jumbled, confused, turned into a solid line of people.

Appropriate Ages: Lots of sexual stuff, innuendo, objectification of woman, mock sexual acts. If that makes you uncomfortable, don't bring your kids or your date. 16+

Props / Special FX: Fairly good, especially the last section. I'd give it a 7.

Costumes / Make-up: Once again. Hit and miss. Some good, some phoned in. A respectable 6.

Summary: I was expecting to grudgingly bow down to this newcomer from the west coast but sadly this was not the case. If you go, get the VIP pass. People leaving told me they waited for 3 hours in what looks like a soccer stadium with no entertainment at all. There are three sections of this haunted house so once you get in, expect to wait in line two more times. Luckily we bought VIP passes and skipped the 3hr line with zero waiting. 
The first section had no visible actors and very little artwork or sets. It was just dark. A few noisemakers later you're waiting in line for the second section in which cartoony characters molest you and make sexual gestures of all sorts. Great if you bring a date(sarcasm)! Look up El Superbeasto and you'll get the gist. The final section is by far the most creative and interesting. Basically a walkthrough museum dedicated to serial killers. The sets get good in the final section and the actors are decent but no real scares. Sadly it would not make my top 5 in Chicagoland and I will probably not review it next year. It still was a lot of fun but when these other places set the bar so high it's tough to compete.

16 out of 48 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: djmalsidious   (Event Visited: 10/04/14 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Villa Odeum. Pretty easy to find. Same place as the Asylum Xperiment.

Wait Entertainment: There was a drum line to watch which was little different, but kinda cool in it's own right. I didn't see any actresses

Length of Event: 2+ hours even with VIP 1 package. Realistically 20-25 minutes of actual haunted houses

Actor Performance: The El Superbeasto actors were great! The rest of the haunt left a lot to desire. Actors screaming help always has been a huge pet peeve. My first thought is... with what? Oh... someone's trying to kill you? That's original.. Ugh.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Absolutely the worst I've ever seen. There are 3 total haunts. Once you get through an area, there is a very long line sometimes backlogged into the haunt itself. When you're in the pitch black part of the haunt, this was especially annoying to have people bumping into you trying to figure out what's going on. An actor/security should of been in there with a flash light to entertain guests and let them know what's going on.

Appropriate Ages: Definitely not for kids.

Props / Special FX: The lighting and set details were both creative and interesting to soak in. Minus the whole pitch black section. Absolutely hated that.

Costumes / Make-up: A+

Summary: I've been a huge fan of the Asylum Xperiment. I was even part of the crew one year. Once I heard they had merged together with Mr. Zombie, I was beyond excited. I wanted to like this house. I really did. What killed the experience for me was the multiple lines per attraction. This haunt should of only took 25 minutes to go through. Even after I spent $45 + Parking with the VIP package, I still spent incredible amount of time waiting in lines. It made me feel the extra cost really only got me a $45 T-shirt and not the quality haunt which I was looking for. 
 
Haunts: 
 
1. The Pitch Black haunt: It's big. It's dark. It has 2 random strobes and I can't help thinking why they didn't have any actors or scares. It felt more like a big long line to the next attraction. I wasn't too far off either. The crowd control was so terrible that we spent a good 15 minutes in the black out section at the very end just waiting to get to "El Superbeasto". People were complaining and borded. The chick in front of me took about 60 selfies so the endless flashing annoyed me even more.  
 
Really hated it. 0/5 
 
"El Superbeasto"  
 
I'm not really sure why they included this in the haunt other than It's Rob Zombies feature animation. The music about porn and masturbating gave a hilarious and whimsical feel as the more adult natured scares consisted of a blow job "scare", really hot gogo dancers in neon paint, and a few oddities that flowed well with the movie, but as a haunt, felt very out of place. Don't get me wrong, the gogo dancers were very attractive, but it felt like it was more like a terrible strip club then a haunted house. 
 
Liked it. 3/5 
 
House of a 1000 Corpses 
 
Capt. Spalding played his role quite well. The various sets were interesting taking you through the many noteworthy famous killers as done so in the tour except without the roller coaster car and a giant creature thing to push you through the tour. I honestly didn't find too much memorable about this section and possibly unfairly so. Due to all the waiting I think my patience was over and I just wanted to leave. I didn't find any of it scary. Some of it was just weird or otherwise pointless. 
 
Hated it. 1/5 
 
Overall... I bought a $45 tshirt that I had to wait 2 hours for. The haunt just seemed to be in the way of the exit.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at