Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2014 Visitor Reviews of
13th Floor Haunted House Chicago (Melrose Park, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
45 out of 66 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ngrant13   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 09/28/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Real easy to find. Had a big spot light and clearly marked

Wait Entertainment: Actors wer very good in the line, costumes looked really good. Actors stayed in character and scared a lot of the younger people in line.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes about the average for most haunts nowadays, but too short for price paid for admission.

Actor Performance: This is where it really fell off the map. Many of the actors looked young and inexperienced. Numerous times the actors would yell and make noise which I guess is scary to the younger crowds that were there.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: At the beginning the flow was good but within 5 minutes we ran into a group ahead of us, and the group behind us caught up. Let a group of young girls pass us because we kept piling up and they wanted to get through.

Appropriate Ages: 8+ This place seemed geared to scare very young people, I'd say anyone 16 and younger and that's it

Props / Special FX: Lots of animatronics, and and the sets wer well done. Big problem with the amount of fog pumped into certain rooms and how dark others were. The rooms that wer visible wervery well done though.

Costumes / Make-up: Also very well done. The masks, makeup, etc wer very good. Each room/set had different makeup and wasnt repetitive.

Summary: Personally I felt the price was way too high for what the return was, thought it should have been $10 at the most. The line was fine, have no problems waiting to get into the house. The in-line actors we're entertaining and didn't break character. Getting inside the house was when it started to get disappointing. Many rooms were either too dark or too foggy. The actors seemed inexperienced and wernt totally sure how to scare different age ranges. They succeeded at scaring 9 year olds but my entire group was disappointed about the lack of attempt to get us. If the first scare attempt failed, the actors would just stick to what they started and it got old quick. I try and visit 3-4 houses a year and maybe because it was opening weekend it was such a let down, but usually expect more when it's early and u still have energy. Very disappointed in the house overall and don't know if il visit it again anytime soon

34 out of 52 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: MickEmaus   (Event Visited: 10/04/14 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The police cars in the street drew visitor attention. Was in a cool warehouse setting. Parking signs could have been clearer.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment monsters were hands-down the best part of the event. The ventriloquist dummy and his monster was charming and chilling at the same time; Resurrection Mary was perfect - amazing make up and the actress was great; and the top hat skeleton guy was scarily dapper.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes, including two backups of five minutes each in-house.

Actor Performance: The wait line actors (see wait line comments) were by far the best of the haunt, except for the hillbilly girl controlling access to that section of the house. "She" was hill-Billy-larious.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Awful. There were multiple back up points inside the house and nobody (except for hillbilly girl mentioned above) really directing traffic. Coming out of the "maze" section, there was a backup for no visible reason. Another backup before the hillbilly house. Really bad flow control for a high-profile house like this.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: The opening skeleton/ death/ lord of the underworld was very cool. There may have been other cool effects in the house, but the lighting was so poor we couldn't see them. Even the casino room was dim, so that any detail was lost. In some places, notably the meat locker, that helped. A body-ish shape hastily wrapped in plastic wrap seemed underwhelming for an event promoted as much as this one was.

Costumes / Make-up: Again, tip of the hat to the line monsters praised above. Inside the house there may have been some good makeup, but the dim lighting in the house did not let us see anything spectacular or not.

Summary: By the fourth night of the haunt, we expected some of the bugs mentioned in earlier reviews to be worked out- they were not. 
I was excited to visit this haunt because the mythology of the secret of the taboo thirteenth floor seemed like a great opportunity to have a scare narrative that would make for a great house. Outside of the name of the haunt, the concept was ignored. Instead, we saw familiar themes in poor lighting, a couple ideas that might have been good, and some good line monsters, 
Crowd control at every point in this haunt was awful. I expect a long line at a top-rated haunt, but I also expect the line to be managed in a top-rated way. This crew had no idea how to manage the regular line and the two fast track options; as a result, both fast tracks bypassed the regular line at two separate points, so there were ten to twenty minute stretches where regular ticket line just stood there.  
The maze was just cattle fencing moving the visitors around the Tesla machine (very cool effect), and there were no monsters in this section, which didn't help, nor did the back up at the end of the maze. 
One of the coolest parts of a haunt for me is the vertigo tunnel, but this one was disappointing: neither spin nor black lights. Instead, looked like it was supposed to be lost souls clawing out of mud, but did nothing vertiginous. Another place where what looked like it might have been a good idea fell flat. 
By mid-house, the line was bunched together, and our group of four had been absorbed into the conga line.  
The line monsters were entertaining and engaging. The ones in the house were mostly scream-y and hidden by shadows. 
Overall, sorry I chose this house to open the haunt season, as it was highly disappointing. I will not be recommending it to anyone I like.

18 out of 30 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: wuzznme1   (Event Visited: After Oct. 31 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/04/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location was fairly visible between North Avenue and Fullerton.

Wait Entertainment: I loved watching the actors scare the other people in line. The actor was just creepy looking and all he/she needed to use was a shovel to scare some of the people. loved it

Length of Event: About 15-20 min...the group I was with walked at a good pace.

Actor Performance: The actors really did well blending in with their scenes. They were able to get quite a few scares in my group. They did very well working their scenes which in some areas were rather large. I absolutely loved the entrance and the graveyard like area.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was good...a group or 2 did catch up to us during one part of the haunted house; however that was remedied fairly quickly once you hit what I would consider phase 2.

Props / Special FX: The props and set up were absolutely amazing...the sheer size of this place is fantastic.

Costumes / Make-up: Really enjoyed some of the costumes and make-up...they paid good attention to detail.

Summary: This group did a really good job and pulling together a great haunted house. I am always one to go to various events to see what each haunted house does different and I really enjoyed myself. 
 
As with any haunted house that I visit I cannot wait to see what changes are in store for next year. The attention to detail in the event space is just amazing. 
 
The staff from beginning to end was really great as well...and for those of you who worry about colder weather, or get cold easily, they have heaters outside to even make your wait more enjoyable.

18 out of 35 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Moocheex55   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 09/28/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We've been before when it was 11th Hour, but I'd say the crowd and searchlights draw you in.

Wait Entertainment: Pretty great. Fantastic makeup and costumes. One even had a pretty good story to tell. She was a lot of fun.

Length of Event: Approx. 15 minutes

Actor Performance: A bit uneven but mostly really great. Many "fleshed out" characters with back stories. You can tell the experienced actors from the fresh ones. Kudos to the poor girl hillbilly with the babies and our host at the haunted house. They really stood out and greatly entertained us!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: A+. Never saw another group and there were many places they sped you up and then slowed you down to enjoy it all.

Appropriate Ages: We saw several families with youngish kids. They seemed happy. I'd guess 9 and up.

Props / Special FX: Some really large and detailed sets. Very impressive and expensive looking. Right from the entrance to the end there was a lot to see.

Costumes / Make-up: Good quality. Lighting in some scenes was so dim or nonexistent that a lot of the detail was lost.

Summary: Compared to the old 11th Hour, who they've replaced (bought out?), there's no comparison. We were disappointed last year with the amount of potential they had to be great. Too many child actors and not enough actual scares. 13th Floor has won us back. Far superior scenery (even the recycled sets were used in a smarter and more beautiful way) and the layout, flow, and transitions between scenes was much much improved. Lots of great and varied scares (warning: they really do come at you from every side). Also, LOVED the fun-house quality with some rooms being very disorienting and filled with obstacles. We only lost the intended path once (entering claustrophobia) but after that, we pretty much were able to cruise through, albeit getting attacked by quite a few adult and physical monsters. Have a great season and thanks for upping the game!

17 out of 36 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BIGGUN   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 09/28/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good. Lights and signs. Visibility is not a problem

Wait Entertainment: 3-4 characters mulling through what was a decent sized line

Length of Event: Appox 20 minutes or so. Decent in length

Actor Performance: The wait entertainment characters were more interested in taking photos with patrons than scaring them which I though was odd. In the house the actin ranged from very good to mediocre

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Decent. We ran into the group ahead of us, but the actors held us back to break up the flow which was a good thing.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: I thought the props were excellent, but I thought they should have been illuminated a touch more to actually appreciate them more.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good. I liked the monster with the shovel and tombstone attached to his back, and the zombie with the puppet. Some very nice props throughout the house

Summary: The house definitely has potential. I think for starters they need more actors in the house, as several scenes were left empty. The waiting area in the house has an enormous stage, but is basically empty sans a few pillars. I would think they could add a prop or two to make it a bit eerier.  
The tilted room inside the house was pretty effective, and original. I liked the casino area as well. Very good ideas, but not particularly scary. 
There were a lot of jump out scares that got our group good. The acting was pretty good overall.  
The maze wasnt really a maze, just a pathway through a bunch of cages setup to look like a maze. A couple of actors in this area would help greatly. 
The enormous Frankenstein prop at the end of the cages maze is almost missed, because of the poor lighting on the prop. 
I know that haunts are supposed to be dark, but there is a fine line with the darkness,and killing the effects of the actual makeup and props. 
This haunt kills the effects of the props and makeup for the most part. 
The hillbilly scenes were scary and a bit humorous.  
They were done well. Same with the hospital scenes. 
There was one scene where we were put in what looked like a hellevator, but all the actor did was close the door and start screaming. Then she opened the door and let us out. What was that all about!?!? 
Overall, I thought the haunt has potential, and is one that I would probably visit in the future. Once they iron out all the kinks I would imagine it will be very effective. 
On a side note, this haunt is only blocks away from the old Dream Reapers building. Sadly, it looked like the building was torn down. Sigh. 

12 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/12/14 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I came from distance the directions off the site were not the best if you don't know the area...not their fault...they have a flashing light and a twin spotlight

Wait Entertainment: not their strong suit....a couple typical creatures walking around.

Length of Event: 20 minutes or so

Actor Performance: They did fine. They don't perform because this haunt likes to manufacture atmosphere by being loud.I have no problem with that except you have removed your ability to little more than jump and scream. I think you need a mix of performance and screams.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Ok. The crowd for a Sunday was huge but I never saw a problem with spacing.

Appropriate Ages: I think a smaller teen would a adjust so I say 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: They have a Tesla coil....a big one....what else matters but they have a Tesla coil. To be fair and accurate their set is massive and high dollar. This is all show stuff not hand crafted. Kind of Goth castle with some high dollar props thrown about. The giant winged thing in the beginning was cool. This is a high dollar haunt that few can compete with in set design.

Costumes / Make-up: This is all high quality...no cheesy stuff. It cost 41 dollars for two people to get the speed pass equivalent so you expect professional makeup appropriate for the scene and you get it.

Summary: I want to love this event...I really do. I like high dollar show quality. They have that. I expect great makeup....they have that. They have a Tesla coil...but it's in a boring dog pen walk through with a wasted high dollar Frankenstein prop sitting all by itself wanting a scene around it. Their vortex tunnel is the high dollar body part version poorly lighted. It doesn't work on slow speed like a tunnel is supposed to. TURN IT UP!This was a great potential without passion or creativity. Show me something new or do something better than other haunts do them. You did all the stuff but you just didn't do it well. At least you gave me a state of the art set with a lot of noise. Did I mention they have a Tesla coil? I will go back next year to see how you have improved.

22 out of 48 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: thecurse   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right off the main road, the big billboard is a dead give away. A bit confused that the parking lot is the college, but there are signs so it makes it pretty easy on second thought.

Wait Entertainment: It was the opening night so no wait what so ever. But, they did have a main guy out there talking with customers in a very creppy english accent. so that was good. I did see a guy run and slide on knee pands at one group. And at the end the door lady ( a very nice dead bride?) who chatted with us a bit. All stayed in character the whole time. She was very good at her thing.

Length of Event: upwards of 20 minutes. To be honest we were wondering when we would be done because it just kept going.

Actor Performance: All but one were on top of their game that night id say. Only the person in the slanted room wasnt great, but come on now, he was hanging on for dear life just like we were. So I have no problems with him not doing better. The girl screaming in the chair could have done something else, i feel her voice will be gone in a week even if she knows how to scream properly.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was opening night so we didnt run into anyone in front of us. But one small group caught up to us kind of at the end so we rushes a few scenes to get aw away from them. But, I dont use my review as a stick for that. My friends and I walk really slow in haunts looking at the details. I mean really slow.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up. Nothing gross here, just scares.

Props / Special FX: The giant Devil that you had to crawl under was so impressive that i didnt see the girl crawling towards me and scared me half to death. The Opening scene is huge and just amamzing to look at. Some scene were just vast and so much to look at. I kept wanting to walk up the stairs in scenes to see what was up there.

Costumes / Make-up: Most the house was really dark so i couldnt tell.

Summary: This was by far one of my favorite haunts. I visited it in NM when i was there and this one was much better. Im one to laugh at scenes instead of get scared and jump. But they had me jumping left and right. 
 
The candles leading the way were a good move since the house was so dark in some scenes. The scenes were they had enough light were amazing. boarded up walls and cellings really made the atmosphere great. Actors pointing the way to fake doors and letting me open up doors they knew had actors behind them were great and caught me off guard numerous times.  
 
The GHOST priest was very creepy. He looked like he was from the band GHOST and he stood at the altar and started convusling and pulled a trick on me, good for him! 
 
The fence maze was...a bit long to almost no build up. I mean they did have the tesla coil but thats just the half way point. I feel a few good hidden black ghouls in there would hit the mark. They had a few scenes that seemed empty but it was opening night so Im sure they just didnt fill them up yet. They had a coffin with nothing in it, and it really felt like something would happen but nope. But thats just nit picking really.  
 
Now, the only down fall is that the house is too dark. It really seemed like the put a lot of detail in some scenes and it was just way too dark to see them. 
 
On that note, I would recommend this haunt to anyone. It one of the few high scare haunts in the area that deliver. It kind of a throwback haunt. The scene were gothic, creepy and just made you nervous about what was going to happen. 
 
Since it was opening night and no line I wanted to go again but they said id have to pay again. They should have a way to go again on super slow nights like this for cheaper haha. 
 
Great great haunt, you all should go to this .

27 out of 60 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: DragonSlayer   (Event Visited: 10/02/14 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: 13th Floor is located on George Street which is often a little confusing if you are not familiar with the area. It is inside of a warehouse with several large banners around it showing you are in the right spot. However it would help if they had light up signs and not just the searchlights on top of the building.

Wait Entertainment: We were well entertained by a few actors who made their way back and forth through the line. The best was the grave digger character who would not only mess with the customers but the other actors as well!

Length of Event: It took us about 25 minutes get through the haunt but we took our time to take in all the details. The haunt is well paced though and would probably take about 20 minutes or possibly a little shorter if you hurry though it.

Actor Performance: The actors were very much into their roles and never broke character the whole time we traversed the haunt. Several of the actors went above and beyond and added to the performance because the haunt was sparsely occupied by customers. You could tell that the actors enjoyed that they were doing and what they were a part of. Great performance over all by everyone and the Hillbilly character was by far the funniest one along with his weird side kick that clung to the poles!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We went on Thursday and it was in the early part of the season so there was not many people at the haunt. Still, we went in with a group of 6 people and ended up losing the group of 4 behind us making us only two. We took our time and ran into a couple in front of us but overall the haunt was well orchestrated and the flow was good.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up. This is always a subjective matter and it is at the discretion of the parents. There are a few things which might be inappropriate for young children such as the cross dressing hillbilly and some of the gory scenes in the hospital area.

Props / Special FX: Overall very detailed and beautiful haunt. The props are large and elaborate and include full size set pieces that are over 20 feet tall! One of the best looking haunts in IL for sure!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were very well made and some were of movie quality. Most of the actors had makeup as opposed to masks and the outfits fit the scene from the shoes up to the shirts and pants. Excellent use of makeup and neat contact lenses to boot.

Summary: 13th Floor is an interesting mix of movie quality sets and good old fashioned scares. The moment you enter the haunt you know you are in for some eye candy. The archways you enter through at the beginning hoist a giant death angel with massive wings! The haunt continues you through a series of scenes which seem to follow a theme of dying and entering the afterlife. The graveyard and church scene in the beginning have some good pop out scares as well as neat uses of lighting. As you proceed further you encounter an actual 8 foot tall Tesla coil! This effect is great but perhaps 13th Floor should consider adding an actor or two to this maze with the coil. 
 
Other well noted scenes are the haunted mansion and hospital scene which boast great amounts of details and interesting set pieces. There's also a casino scene which plays on gambling with your sole. Many of the scenes could have been better but the haunt is actually still under construction and transitions between the scenes left much to be desired. The blank walls are distracting from the atmosphere and the fact that some of the equipment didn't work made many rooms disappointing.  
 
Still, 13th Floor Chicago is a great haunted house and it's one of the most detailed around. The haunt will surely get better as the year goes on and the operators finish up the rooms and hallways. I wouldn't go as far as to say that 13th Floor lives up to the scariest motto that it claims but it is no doubt an incredible haunted house that should not be missed. I look forward to seeing more of this haunt in the future and watch it evolve.

19 out of 47 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Cheddar   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 11:30 pm)
Review Posted: 09/28/14
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find. There are signs and lights all around the area. Simple GPS navigation to get there.

Wait Entertainment: It was Opening night and there wasnt a wait. There were a few people outside interacting with what people were out there. One of the actors was asking people to take pictures of him...

Length of Event: took about 20min to get through. good length for the price.

Actor Performance: I found a few actors peeping out to see when people were coming. There were some good actors in there, nice and loud. Some others just kind of strolled around (kinda fit into the zombie-like setting throughout the haunt). There was one girl that literally just sat in a chair screaming. she needs to be careful because that will kill her as the season gets on

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was a slow night, and still managed to run into another group in the haunt. There needs to be more than one spot where they can slow down the flow of people.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: This was a good looking haunt. I imagine they still have some stuff to add in, but what they had looked great and it truly immersed you in the environment.

Costumes / Make-up: This was a very dark haunted house. It was kind of hard to notice details on the makeup, and i did notice a lot of masks. Costumes were a bit easier to see and i was pretty impressed by them.

Summary: This was my first of at least 2 visits to this haunt this year. I know most haunted houses improve drastically as the year goes on, so it will be interesting to see where this place goes from here.  
 
Knowing 13th Floor is a bigger name in the Haunt industry, i had/have high expectations. There needs to be more intensity in the haunt. I am aware that there was another haunt opening that night that had a big concert too, so i am also guessing you were missing alot of people who were attending that. This haunt has a beautiful building and i think they do a good job of filling it with big sets and props (i absolutely LOVED the use of the Tesla coil) I think it would be wise to put something above the rooms to control darkness better, because alot of the time i looked up and was easily able to tell i was in a ware house. Even a simple black tarp could suck people into the room enviroment much better. Your "maze" room needs something more to it. All it is is a very slow flashing light and a one path way through some fences. I hope to see some actors in there on my second visit. Overall i think this haunt can reach a great height but i think they need to be more settled first. This haunt should be a must-visit for all haunt-enthusiasts  

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at