Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2015 Visitor Reviews of
Downs Haunted House (Downs, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
48 out of 56 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Whiteghost   (Event Visited: 10/30/15 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: When going down HWY. 150 there is a big light up sign pointing to the haunted house. When you drive down a little further you could see signs pointing the way to Dooley Park which is where the tickets are sold. There was plenty of signs pointing the way and was easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: There was a little graveyard set up for us to look at and some music that got us hyped before going in. While we were waiting in line there was a Burn victim waring white hospital clothes lurking around. He was scary, you could hear people screaming behind us when he would walk through the line and when he got to me he got really close to me and snorted in my ear. I screamed! Later on when he came back around we asked for a picture with him and immediately he put his arms around us and covered our mouths with his hands, this was totally unexpected but it made our experience even better. He was very good at working the line. There was also a psycho clown with a baseball bat, he would smack the street sign with his bad and silenced the whole crowd. The same clown also did some fire breathing, It had all of us content.

Length of Event: The total time from when we entered the door and exited was 8:37.

Actor Performance: The cop in the guard room was really good he had everything down including teeth, accent, and clothes. The clowns all were dressed alike and were all high energy which was appropriate for the room. There was also a boiler room with a tall man that popped out, next to him was a small girl in a burning oven scream for help as if he was burning her. Everybody was convinceing and was very professional. None of them broke their character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Before entering the haunted house they sat us down in a chain link cage until the guard told us to come in. While we were going through we never ran into another group. Or had a group run into us.

Appropriate Ages: Most children that you saw go through came out crying so a good range would probably be 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: All of the rooms were detailed and had some special FX that made them stand out, like a pipe that burst and shoots steam down on you. Another thing that stander out was the electric chair with a convulsing girl. There was also an animatronic monster that jumped out from the corner.

Costumes / Make-up: It came off as if everyone had gone through hours of make up. All of the costumes were aged and fit the room that they were in.

Summary: We have been coming to this event for over 5 years and we have never been disappointed. They have improved every year. I really enjoyed the padded room and the electric char room. They were both creepy and the actors did a good job in both rooms. One of the rooms had something that scared me, it was this dark hall way we were walking through and all of the sudden a bright light flashed with a loud bang. All of the actors good but there were some that stood out. The cop was good with the people and very interactive. Also the burn victim outside was good at scaring people and had great makeup. The graveyard was nice but they have had it every since I have gone so I think it would be nice if they could change it up a little bit. This was the first year that they did not have tour guides, which I loved because it allowed us to see more of what is front of us.

12 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: boester   (Event Visited: 10/16/15 @ 6:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Downs Haunted House was easy to find. They had a hayrack ride to take you from Dooley Park to the haunted house and then back. The ride back was extra long with some extra fun surprises thrown in! This was a hit!

Wait Entertainment: They had great characters walking around. I appreciated they let us take pictures and spent extra time interacting with my boys!

Length of Event: It was perfect for us! (family of 4 with a 7 and 9 year old)

Actor Performance: They did a great job! I will say that I felt like they really did a great job given we had two kids going through it! Towards the end the 7 year old was scared enough and one of the actors kindly offered to usher him and I out while my husband and older son finished. They were amazing!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Pefect!!!

Appropriate Ages: We were a family of 4 with a 7 year old and 9 year old. The 7 year old was the one that wanted to go but it was a bit too much for him. Although he is still talking about it and telling everyone who will listen how scary awesome it was and he says "but I cried!" ha!

Props / Special FX: I am not expert but I thought it was all great!!

Costumes / Make-up: Again, great costumes. Great make up! the prom girl in the wait line was very convincing and scary! We loved all of the costumes/make up.

Summary: The Downs Haunted house was an amazing overall experience.  
I want to say again that I appreciate that they recognized that we had kids with us and modified it for us. The actor who helped us exit early and the main lady who came up and talked to my son for a long time. He was scared but he does want to go back. We are going to go back to the lights on version next week just so he isn't traumatized for the rest of his life, ha ha. The laser tag and food offerings were fabulous. The hayrack ride as I stated before was just awesome!!! The haunted house itself was perfect! Thank you Downs. I can't believe this little treasure is right in our backyard!

35 out of 56 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/30/15 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Using your GPS will lead you into the small town of Downs and right into the haunted house attraction. Large illuminated sign indicating the event and dates, no way no miss this !

Wait Entertainment: They had four to five monsters walking the line along with a crazy chainsaw clown - it doesn't get any better than that ..

Length of Event: The entire event took around 10 minutes but that includes an interesting introductory by a zombie prison guard ..

Actor Performance: Every actor was absolutely perfect with their character and delivering some type of scare factor, very nice job !

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The patron flow throughout the attraction was seamless, everything triggered on time and all actors were in position when are group entered their setting ..

Appropriate Ages: I would suggest that most children below 10 years old do not attend this event, however there's considerable in-your-face scares here so judge your own tolerance ..

Props / Special FX: With what they had here all the props are very nicely done and work very well with this event, some light automaton however nothing above the rim here ... Lots of smoke machines and flashing lights, great sounds throughout and everything well timed out - not to bad !

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and makeup was acceptable here however to many masks, it's hard getting much scare factor from a rubber mask - however the "Physo Clown" and "Grabber Frankenstein" was good.. Costumes worked ok with each character, about average overall ..

Summary: This was our first year here and we had heard that this group brings it all to the event and yes they do.. After arriving at the haunted house you take a very enjoyable trip through the town by hayrack ride, your trip just happens to include a stroll around the town cemetery before you arrive in the town park.. The park contains the ticket booth, food buildings, and optional laser tag entertainment - when finished here you hayrack back to the haunted house.  
From entering the event you can see these people have put a lot of energy into giving you a great scare and at $5.00 this is by far the best deal around .. The house isn't long (10 minutes) which includes the intro by the prison guard, various clown settings, pressure room with the steam, etc... Normally this might get the 7 rating but for $5.00 these people have put together a very enjoyable experience and we had a great time while here, would like to see a much larger event because it's that good - so a well deserved solid 8 .. Keep up the great work !

24 out of 50 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/17/15 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: You buy your tickets at the park and take a hayride to the haunted house. The haunted house is easier to find. The park is in the middle of town. But we knew where we were going already.

Wait Entertainment: At the park there are lots of things to do. I saw laser tag, a fire where you could roast hot dogs, popcorn vendors...

Length of Event: 7-8 mins

Actor Performance: All were good and stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. Didn't see or hear another group.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Downs isn't big on this, but what they have is well done.

Costumes / Make-up: Very nice. Especially the teddy bear. Maybe a little makeup on the neck and that would have been fantastic. Cover up the human parts.

Summary: You cannot beat Downs for a fun time. Over the years the haunted house has gotten better and better. This year is very good. They have some good and stinky scenes. The rules guy is good and the ending is so LOUD! Loved it. I liked the dark mazes and the creepy doll room. At the park where you buy your tickets they had laser tag and a fire for cooking hot dogs. Then you get a hayride to the haunted house and back when you're finished. Seriously, where are you going to get that kind of fun in a tiny town? For the price you aren't going to get better and even if they charged more (not that I hope they do) it would be a good deal.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at