Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2015 Visitor Reviews of
Terror At Skellington Manor (Rock Island, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
57 out of 77 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/24/15 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Using your GPS this is an easy find, same location every year ..

Wait Entertainment: After we entered the hotel we were greeted by several creatures in the grand room, there were various figures working the main line but we used the VIP line.. 
During our short wait to proceed up the stairways to the next level in this huge grand room, all the lights suddenly flicker and go out to a large boom of thunder and this large screen projection CGI suddenly comes to life .. Fantastic surrounding for waiting to enter a Halloween event - one of the best ...

Length of Event: This event actual rounds out around 30 minutes long after you enter - great length here .

Actor Performance: This is another high point here, every character tonight gave 100 percent as they always do.. In the past five years attending this event we have never had any issues with the cast doing a fantastic over the top job ..

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This is the only issue they don't get a high 10 mark, throughout the years they have always had some type of issue with crowd bottlenecking or stoppage in the lines.. This year no different, we encountered several crashes into the group ahead of us which caused triggering issues and therefore missed opportunities of observing some effects ... Right from the middle of the event to the final exit I was required to slow our pace just  
to let the other group move up ahead and we still encountered them ..

Appropriate Ages: I would say 12 years old and above, there are plenty of high in your face scares and surroundings which could scare younger kids.

Props / Special FX: This is another high point, you could visit the best event in Chicago and not see half of the effects and automation you'll find here - this is by far the best collection of high tech special effects you'll find anywhere .. The surrounding props are fantastic as well, every set is decorated to perfection and absolutely nothing is missing .. This motel is loaded with more professional effects (smoke, lights, sounds, automation) than any event around - first rate..

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup here are second to none, besides the great acting each character is done to perfection.. It's incredible that every detail is this perfect but it is, they have actually created new horror figures which look great ..

Summary: This event always packs a first class experience and this year it actually upped the game considerably, it's unbelievable the amount of effort which is put into this 3 floor haunted hotel. With this year they enhanced the experience with some new high tech sets and effects, adding the elevator from h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) experience and increased the horror factor throughout the hotel - great work here .. This event always draws a considerable crowd and this year appeared to be one of their best, we actually used the VIP ticket to hurry our line waiting time..  
Looking forward to next year already !

24 out of 42 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Colleen5   (Event Visited: 10/03/15 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find if you're familiar with the area. The front of the building is well lit and there is sound effects playing on outside speakers.

Wait Entertainment: There were no characters entertaining the line. Perhapes cause there wasen't a very long wait during the time we were there? They had music playing and a screen with with creepy people and blood etc. playing on it.

Length of Event: We took our time going thru so we could enjoy all the decor. I'd say it lasted at least 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: All of the costumes went well with thier scenes. They all stayed in character during the whole time we were in each area.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow seemed to go well. There were a few times that the group behind us nearly caught up to us but that may have been our fault. Like I said before we took our time walking thru so we could really enjoy each room.

Appropriate Ages: I'd say it'd be fine for 13+

Props / Special FX: The decorations were great! Very good attention to detail. There were no "dead spaces". I really liked the green lazer lights on the ceiling.

Costumes / Make-up: On a scale of 1 - 10 I'd give them a 7 overall for costumes/makeup.

Summary: It was my first time going to Skeleton Manor. I had alot of fun! Thier "entry ticket" idea was very creative. I think it was a fair price for the duration of the event. The "Do you have an appoinment" guy at the beginning was good. My favorite areas were the Theater room with all the dummies in the matching doll masks. The all white room with the characters props/dummies all dressed in white and the "Lady Boy" room. The Elevator. The crib with the movie doll arms. There was a Devil/Demon character at the end to entertain and take pictures with the people leaving.

23 out of 46 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BillC   (Event Visited: 10/03/15 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Very good. A Devil outside that had fun sneaking around the parking lot. Greater at the start point had a nice little skit he did.

Length of Event: Probably around 30 minutes, but seemed much much longer.

Actor Performance: Excellent! No one broke character. All interacted with customers.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Smooth, but the group behind us did catch up, which can ruin it for them because they see what's lurking around the corner before they really should. Actors should make attempts to keep groups evenly spaced. I know that can be difficult at times, so maybe the groups fault?

Appropriate Ages: 14+

Props / Special FX: This is where Skellington shines! Lots of animatronics, very well thought out lighting / lack of lighting, where needed.

Costumes / Make-up: Another point where Skellington shines! From what I could see, very few if any of what I call "WalMart Masks". Clothing matched mask and theme, even down to shoes. I could tell the actors invest time and money into costumes and make up.

Summary: This is my first time at Skellington, and there will be more, maybe even this year! Ample parking straight across the street. All indoors so cold / rain / snow is not a factor. The lay-out is superb. Seems like the building was built around the haunt, not the haunt put into a building. It's an old Masonic Temple, and you can tell such by some of the wall decorations and furniture, which are creepy. Sorry, but I think some things about The Masons are a little on the strange and creepy side. But hey, it's fits in perfect for a haunt. Actors, props, animatronics, costumes, location, building etc., all top notch. Without a doubt, the best haunt I have attended in my 10+ years of visiting haunts. Highly recommended!

17 out of 40 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Chain   (Event Visited: 10/24/15 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunt is very easy to find. It is well marked and there is plenty of parking.

Wait Entertainment: The queue line is inside a big ballroom. That's a great touch as the weather can be a concern so it was nice to have a warm dry place to wait. There is a fantastic light show while you wait with a high creepy factor. You can also get T-shirts and snacks.

Length of Event: Once we started the whole thing took about half an hour. There 3 floors of scares so there are steps involved.

Actor Performance: These actors are obviously pros who love their jobs!! They did not break character. The really liked that all the actors didn't do the same thing ..some jumped at you to scare you. Some talked, some didn't.. We never knew WHAT they were going to do! There was a very big very scary clown who had the creepiest voice. There was also a room full of demons. At least we thought it was full, turns out it was one big dude who moved really fast and kept scaring us over and over. The girl in there with him flew at us out of no where with the most terrifying scream/fangs/eyes and was relentless. There is an amazing graveyard where a very acrobatic girl came at us upside down and backwards., She was amazing!! They have a LOT of dedicated performers.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They seemed to be sending the groups in at reasonable intervals. There were a few times when we caught up to the group ahead of us but I think that was because they were moving super slow.

Appropriate Ages: This is an intense haunt. I saw little kids in the queue line but I wouldn't bring anyone under 12 to this.

Props / Special FX: The props were VERY realistic. Too notch details in each room really set the mood. The SFX were very well done as well. There wasn't one room, hall, or stairwell that hadn't been creeped up!

Costumes / Make-up: They HAVE to have SFX makeup artists!! The makeup was stellar. Those who wore masks had high quality ones.. No cheapo Walmart specials here! The costumes all were perfect for the characters.

Summary: We went to this haunt the first year they opened. This was our first time back since then and the improvements and changes they made were incredible!! The animatronics blew us away., not just in how good they looked but by how MANY they had!! The sets had SO MUCH detail .. Each one.. It was hard to take it all in. The actors are outstanding!! We can't wait to see what they come up with NEXT year. I highly recommend this haunt to anyone who is looking for great scares!!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at