Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2015 Visitor Reviews of
Boo Crew Haunted House (Mechanicsburg, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
56 out of 71 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: topher12175   (Event Visited: 10/10/15 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location in regards to finding the Boo Crew Haunted House is a little challenging since it's in the middle of no where outside of Rochester, IL but the sign is well lit on the side of the road and we didn't have a terribly difficult time finding the haunted house.

Wait Entertainment: The overall wait was over an hour and that was when the line was starting to get long but it was worth the wait.

Length of Event: It took us around 10 - 15 minutes to walk through the trail and then we had to wait in line for the haunted house which took around 15 minutes to walk through which was good.

Actor Performance: I thought the actors performance was great. It was one of the best i have been to and really enjoyed it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The patron flow was fairly good but i could see it getting a little backed up as the crowd to get into the haunted house got much longer by the time we were leaving.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Summary: The Boo Crew haunted house did a great job overall. We visited this haunted house when it was at a different location but overall they have really improved it and made it worth the $$. We have been to haunted houses in Chicago and St. Louis that were much more expensive and overall i thought for the $$ this was a great deal and worth the effort to attend the haunted house. Great job to the "Boo Crew" staff and i look forward to attending this haunted house again soon!

26 out of 35 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Queenween   (Event Visited: 10/30/15 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Lit up with signs as we drove past. Parking attendance guide you in.

Wait Entertainment: Out door line waiting. Actors were very good at taunting the crowd.

Length of Event: 20-30 min

Actor Performance: Excellent! They stayed in character, interacting with patrons not just jumping out at you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We caught up to the group in front of us. An actor held us back when he noticed the group was big.

Appropriate Ages: 7 on up

Props / Special FX: Excellent! A lot of detail & animatronics used.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent! The makeup on several actors was very detailed.

Summary: Haunt began with an outside trail, this gave you a "pre-scare". then end up at the buildings where they have rope set up for lines. We got their when the opened, so our wait wasn't long. Props, Actors make up, interactions, and distractions to scare you was great! I felt indoor was too short, or Maybe I just wanted the scare to last longer?

61 out of 85 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/09/15 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not too easy to find. They need signs on roads leading from Mechanicsburg. We had to pull over and figure it out although GPS was taking us the right way, we thought it wasn't because it leads you pretty far out of town...it seemed.

Wait Entertainment: Couple monsters roaming. Not too much.

Length of Event: 20 mins with both the trail and HH.

Actor Performance: Very, very well done. One actor told us to "go" in the body bag room and I didn't appreciate that at all.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Group behind us caught up a few times, but we go slow. I like to see the rooms.

Appropriate Ages: Over 10

Props / Special FX: Lots of props and special FX. Used very well too, except the trail. Too many there. They needed more real people.

Costumes / Make-up: Great mix and some really original stuff

Summary: I really, really enjoyed the haunted house. There are so many rooms and they have great detail! There were also tons of actors. They were coming out from everywhere! Great acting too. Couple things to work on. The girl letting us in tried to get us to go through in a group of 6. That's too many in one group, I think, unless people request it. Also, in the body bag room a worker walked up behind us and told us to GO because we were kind of turned around and taking time. I mean like 15-20 seconds, not a huge amount of time.  
The trail really wasn't much of anything but a walk through the woods to the HH. There were 3 actors. I did like some of the props. Loved the horse and carriage and the carnival area. They just need actors. Overall I really enjoyed myself. This is a good one to visit!!

37 out of 54 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: After Oct. 31 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not to hard to find using your GPS but this does have a remote setting ... Sign marking the location from the roadside ..

Wait Entertainment: We noticed a couple of crazy evil clowns working the crowd tonight .. Also projection screen displaying loud ghoulish music videos, very interesting .. Flashing laser lights and various lighting effects displayed on the waiting area walls...

Length of Event: The entire event took around 16 minutes to complete after we entered the attraction ..

Actor Performance: All the actors we encountered done a very good job and stayed right on the mark .. These people have always excelled at their performances and this year was no different - perfect job !

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This has always been an issue with this event and this year no different .. We had one group ahead of us and two groups behind us throughout the trail event, not good ! In the haunted house event we also ran into another group and again while half way through had another group on our heels ... I wish they could control this issue better because this effects the triggering and operation so badly that it takes away from the quality of this haunt ..

Appropriate Ages: I would say 12 years old would be about right, they do a good job bring the scare factor here so use your own judgement ..

Props / Special FX: The props and special effects here are absolutely perfect, you have balance of CGI effects, automation, lighting, and set dacor, every detail right on mark..

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup was done to perfection, we noticed nothing weak here!

Summary: This is the second year that this attraction took place in their new building, last year they never effectively used the woods but this year was first rate - the extended walk through the haunted trail compete with a zombie plane crash and various other creatures of the dark was great ! The haunted house afterward was much improved over last year, everything was absolutely fantastic this year except for various bottlenecking issues which still need lots of work .. Everything we experienced inside the haunted house was triggered very well, not perfect but very close .. Our only issue this year was a very weak ending which took place inside a freezer set, nothing to it, after entering and misdirection you have three groups piled up into a tight space with a cast member blocking the exit door - nothing here ! I would suggest they bring back the multi-door clown room from the previous year which had a much better effect ...  
Much improved over last year and great attraction.

12 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Evil   (Event Visited: 10/09/15 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A few more signs would help along the way. We wasn't sure how far down to go.

Wait Entertainment: Very good! The wait area had scares and they came up out of the trail too. My friend was terrified of the lady with the ax.

Length of Event: 10 + on the trail 20 in the house.but the wait line was fun and the bonfire too.

Actor Performance: Very good, the trail is very scary with actors getting you from several spots.the lady followed us just swinging that ax and a clown followed us scaring us to the building almost.very good job!the creature by the graveyard was excellent,the girl in the house on the bed running around the room was great,a guy walked out of a door in the crypt and got us good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Ran into another group in the house and slowed down to get more space between us.after that we were good.easily accessible and nice rooms.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up maybe.

Props / Special FX: Costumes and makeup were fantastic. Props are very well done! Super job!

Costumes / Make-up: Very good in the whole event.

Summary: Job well done! The trail scared us to where we ran. None of the actors broke from their characters. The face on the lady was creepy I think a lizzy Borden kind of scare and clowns were excellent! Amazing makeup and props inside the haunt. Parking was easy and a real fun scary time! We enjoyed the bonfire with a hearse sitting on both sides. We have gone to this event and this year is the best yet!

14 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: After Oct. 31 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not to hard to find using your GPS but this does have a remote setting ... Sign marking the location from the roadside ..

Wait Entertainment: We noticed a couple of crazy evil clowns working the crowd tonight .. Also projection screen displaying loud ghoulish music videos, very interesting .. Flashing laser lights and various lighting effects displayed on the waiting area walls...

Length of Event: The entire event took around 16 minutes to complete after we entered the attraction ..

Actor Performance: All the actors we encountered done a very good job and stayed right on the mark .. These people have always excelled at their performances and this year was no different - perfect job !

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This has always been an issue with this event and this year no different .. We had one group ahead of us and two groups behind us throughout the trail event, not good ! In the haunted house event we also ran into another group and again while half way through had another group on our heels ... I wish they could control this issue better because this effects the triggering and operation so badly that it takes away from the quality of this haunt ..

Appropriate Ages: I would say 12 years old would be about right, they do a good job bring the scare factor here so use your own judgement ..

Props / Special FX: The props and special effects here are absolutely perfect, you have balance of CGI effects, automation, lighting, and set dacor, every detail right on mark..

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup was done to perfection, we noticed nothing weak here!

Summary: This is the second year that this attraction took place in their new building, last year they never effectively used the woods but this year was first rate - the extended walk through the haunted trail compete with a zombie plane crash and various other creatures of the dark was great ! The haunted house afterward was much improved over last year, everything was absolutely fantastic this year except for various bottlenecking issues which still need lots of work .. Everything we experienced inside the haunted house was triggered very well, not perfect but very close .. Our only issue this year was a very weak ending which took place inside a freezer set, nothing to it, after entering and misdirection you have three groups piled up into a tight space with a cast member blocking the exit door - nothing here ! I would suggest they bring back the multi-door clown room from the previous year which had a much better effect ...  
Much improved over last year and great attraction.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at