Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2015 Visitor Reviews of
Clinton's Terror On Washington Street Haunted House (Clinton, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
54 out of 68 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: MalarieLynn   (Event Visited: 10/17/15 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Perfect location. Easy to find. Free parking! Large lot. Large banners, and signs. Good sized concessions with fair prices. Roads are blocked off.

Wait Entertainment: Included a fortune teller. Played Horror films. Large Chainsaw man walking about. Photographers. Could even hear the shrieks of those being scared within the house.

Length of Event: 25 Minutes. But, depends on how fast you move throughout the house.

Actor Performance: Amazing! All continuously worked very hard, and seem to do so with every weekend. Their makeup and costumes always look fantastic. Costumes and Makeup always fit the theme of the scare. It's obvious that they're passionate about what they're doing. Never broke character. Bravo.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into another group. Scares were on time, and we never caught the end of one.

Appropriate Ages: I would say about 13+. They also provide friendly ghost tours for the smaller children! Very neat, and the guides for that are amazing!

Props / Special FX: Very cool! So much time and hard work was definitely put into this house. Everything was so detailed. Very stunning effects. Very impressive props in their toxic and Satan room! Their Alice in Wonderland room was beyond amazing as well! Very detailed, and there were many surprises in there.

Costumes / Make-up: Fantastic! These individuals obviously knew what they were doing when constructing their monsters! Very detailed costumes, and makeup. From gory zombie makeup to detailed skeletons, this Haunt has it all!

Summary: I highly recommend attending this haunt. Only $10 to get in, and it is so worth it! I've gone to this Haunt for many years now, and they always outdo themselves! 
 
There are many new rooms this year, and they all were very detailed and neat. A few of my favorite included their Clown room, a Satan themed room where the devil himself is waiting for you, a Toxic room, a creepy hand hallway (The hands looked like you were about to be grabbed, the Alice in Wonderland room, and their insane asylum! 
 
The monsters this year will definitely blow you away, and scare your socks off! Between the monsters, the rooms, and the actual makeup and costumes, I have a hard time choosing what is my favorite! As always, phenomenal. 
 
Also, their staff needs recognition as well! Amazing people! You can always tell who is a staff member because of their makeup, and their personalized shirts and jackets! These individuals also show their scaring skills throughout the night, as there were screams within the waiting area! 
 
 
As always, great job Terror on Washington! My family and I will continue to come back each year! There is definitely nothing bad to say about this haunt!

55 out of 71 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Insanefan   (Event Visited: 10/09/15 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very visible once you reach Washington Street. Roads closed off with eary blue lights shining out of a hearse.

Wait Entertainment: There was a huge chainsaw maniac outside terrorizing the crowd, and an extra large vampire creeping around. However, tiny kids talking on the microphone calling up groups and cartoons playing outside really killed the atmosphere.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors inside the house all fit there scenes perfectly. Crazy patients, doctors, demons, and even bushes. YES, bushes and flowers that are alive!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Once inside the house we never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 15 and up

Props / Special FX: There were more electronics this year than any other. Doors that opened automatically, and props that didn't look like they should move jumped out.

Costumes / Make-up: A lot of make up, and a few !asks. With the lights so dim inside the house it's hard to see most of the make-up so people look normal, but the masks are super creepy.

Summary: We attend Terror on Washington St. Every year and always enjoy the entertainment inside and outside the haunt. Normally we are nervous with jitters to enter the house, but this year the outside seemed to kill the nervous 'haunted house vibe' with the cartoons being played and children talking to you over the microphone. 
 
There were a few new rooms this year, that were highly decorated, but also several that remain the same year after year. Our favorite rooms were a scene right out of Alice in Wonderland, The Walking Dead, and a contaminated zone that had stinky yellow water spewing out of it. 
 
This year the haunt seemed to be more 'museum'ish because there was ALOT to look at, but very little scares or actors in the house. Normally, we jump or startle in every room, or every other, but this year was extremely empty and washed down. Electronics don't have the same scare factor effect as some one screaming in your face! 
 
Overall, you can tell a lot of work has been put into this haunt, and the decorating is beyond phenominal in several rooms! Actors are right on cue in there scenes, but there seems to be less actors every year.  
 
Hoping Terror returns to the terror-rizing feeling next year, and fades away from the fun feeling. 

19 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: JordanSucks   (Event Visited: 10/16/15 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty easy to find, on a main street blocked off from traffic. A large sign is located on the side of the building along with inflatables and other decorations outside. Many places to park nearby.

Wait Entertainment: Incredible wait entertainment including movies (such as The Simpsons Halloween special) playing on the side of the building, and many actors running around allowing for no calm moments in the crowd, getting everyone involved (including scaring people who take a pit stop in one of the porta-potties)! An especially scary feature was a very creepy clown puppet looking as though it was attacking a young man running loose in the crowd!!

Length of Event: About 12-15 minutes depending on the speed of your group.

Actor Performance: Very well done, all actors were volunteer and stayed in character throughout the entire scare. The insane asylum scene was particularly good, and the actors very crazy and truly horrifying! Another actress in an Alice in Wonderland room came out of nowhere it seemed and was suddenly hanging out of a window right in our faces and even began climbing out of her window at us, sending us running out! Very committed performers for sure!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Well spaced, we never ran into another group, but could hear screams coming before and after us (which is a good thing to hear in a haunted house!)

Appropriate Ages: Around 12 and up. A lot of gorey props, so be cautious bringing in younger kids!

Props / Special FX: Incredible props this year, including a man cut in half (his upper half was in the basement and his lower half was upstairs I believe), a woman ripping her heart out, toxic waste pouring out of seemingly no where into a barrel, and a clown clawing onto an actor were a few that impressed our group the most. A lot of startling additions too, such as alarms and horns blasting, water and air spraying, and a cake looking like a normal prop until it launched off the table towards you! Very careful attention to detail was put into this haunt for sure!

Costumes / Make-up: All costumes were well executed and planned out, fitting into the room seamlessly. Some blended into their surrounding while others were fitting characters. Some of the most memorable to me were a couple of young ladies with their skin peeling off of their faces, the Purge actors who were very true to the film, a very creepy doll that comes out from a little girl's mirror, a living bouquet of flowers, and a very memorable twisted take on Alice in Wonderland with a giant warped smile on her face exposing her full gums and teeth, and a large playing cards embedded through her chest (at first glance she almost looks like a doll)!

Summary: Our wait time was not too long, and was made fun by all of the actors running around and the short film playing. When we entered, it was obvious that incredible attention to detail this year, and many new rooms were added. Our group never had a break from the scares, inside or out, and got the full experience from each room. Our favorite rooms definitely had to be a hand hallway were seemingly hundreds of hands were coming at you from every direction, a room full of toxic wastes spilling from the ceiling, and a funeral scene where even the flowers on the casket weren't safe!! However, I would have to say our overall favorite room was Alice in Wonderland; where the room had everything you would hope for and more. You begin the experience by coming out of a hospital scene (a nice touch, might I add) and walking through a disorienting hallway towards a giant eye spinning and seeming to hypnotize you where you then come out into a room with a full scene including memorable things such as the Mad Hatter's tea party table, a giant hand coming at you from above, and of course the Cheshire Cat. You never knew what would pop out at you from where; with a face in the wall by your head, a cake flying towards you, and a drop down where Alice herself made her entrance to fully complete the experience. This year was our favorite year yet, and we cannot wait to see what next year has in store!

16 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/31/15 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Same location on Washington Street in Clinton, street blocked off and is easy to find with GPS if all else fails ..

Wait Entertainment: A couple monsters walking the lines, video monitor of horror film ..

Length of Event: The entire event lasted 12 minutes, the biggest time factor bring bottlenecking issues throughout the event ..

Actor Performance: This was total hit and miss, some characters done a great job while others were just prevent, a monster standing by watching the crowd just don't seem to scary ! This is a department which needs some help, everyone at this event should be involved with the scare factor here!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This has some real issues which could be avoided with proper management. This event has been presented for 15 or more years (except last year because of fire codes) and they should have crowd control well established by now .. A complete nightmare here !

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10 years old here should be about right, some light in your face scares when the actors are motivated ..

Props / Special FX: Lots of standard props here but they work ok.. These props are somewhat dated and seen from last years over and over again, might be a good investment to update the broken and worn out settings ..

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and makeup was ok, it all seemed to work but this might use some tweeking next year.. Maybe to many masks for this type of attraction, might need to up the game here a little bit ..

Summary: Overall after being out of service last year to update their fire codes I would have expected a totally redone attraction with lots of impact value here, but it seemed to much unchanged here! It appears that a golden chance to upgrade the settings and surroundings was lost and the supporting cast seems to have lost a considerable number of actors.. This event once commanded high respect as a premium haunted house attraction however that no longer holds true, everything appears dated and out of stream ! This haunt could return to the glory days with some serious work and devotion but until that happens .... ?? I think we'll give them some time to redesign here next year ..

10 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: wdsjh54321   (Event Visited: 10/16/15 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find in Clinton. The block is blocked off to traffic, and it's on a main street. Easy to find parking places close. Building is clearly marked.

Wait Entertainment: This is the best year for wait entertainment. They had old scary horror movies playing outside which distracted you enough for the costumed workers to sneak up and scare you. Awesome! Plus they had outdoor heaters.

Length of Event: It was long enough to not be disappointed, but went fast enough to be entertaining. It was just right. More rooms this year to go through. Lots to look at in each room.

Actor Performance: The actors were the best they've ever been this year. There was at least one actor in each room. They were good at waiting until the right moment to jump out and scare you. The insane girls were great. The ones that followed us once in a while were creepy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was good. We had to stop twice to count to 10 to let the group ahead get far enough ahead. This is much better than last year. The group on front of us last year was slow. We could go slow enough to get scared and see the rooms, but fast enough to have fun.

Appropriate Ages: My 8 year old loves this. She loves to be scared. I'm an adult and was scared enough to scream in almost every room. Better than the last 2 years. My teenage boys also loved it this year better than the past years.

Props / Special FX: Props were great. Very gross. Pretty realistic. Great ideas for different rooms from the prior years and had a few favorites too. Lots of strobe lights this year. More special FX than prior years.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and makeup were detailed and fit each room perfectly. Helped make the experience more realistic and scary.

Summary: We've gone to this haunted house the past few year. This was by far the best. More rooms, more workers to scare us, more twists and turns and special effects. Great ideas for rooms and props. Small town, so easy to get to. Great line/number system. Great heating and entertainment while you wait.

14 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/10/15 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's been in the same place forever. Not too difficult to find.

Wait Entertainment: Huge chainsaw dude was working the crowd the entire time we waited!!

Length of Event: 10 mins

Actor Performance: Need to work on this.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Didn't see anyone but our group.

Appropriate Ages: 10& up

Props / Special FX: Same old stuff. Not much changes in this department in Clinton. What I wouldn't give to see some new stuff here. They have the building all year long!!!

Costumes / Make-up: Nothing stands out at all.

Summary: First thing. I really, really, REALLY dislike being put in a group of people I don't know. Second, I HATE being in a group of more than 4 and they put us in a group of 6. There were just 2 of us and they put us with 2 other couples. They weren't busy and even if they were, this stinks. I paid $10 for 10 minutes of fun and this sucked all the fun out of it. Plus we missed 90% of the scares because we were the last two in the group. The scares consisted of mostly drop downs and those were back up by the time we came in the room. There is no way to scare a group of 6 in a small room unless we're all riding piggy back. Stop putting large groups through!  
The rooms were the same as they've been and I've seen 100x. Bug room, scream room, etc (and not a single actor in most rooms). They had more 'security' personnel walking around than actors and security just seemed to walk back and forth on unknown missions. There were even 2 of them waiting in a corner of a room we went through and then they proceeded to go backwards through the door on yet another unknown mission. That doesn't help the atmosphere. Maybe you should repurpose some security into actors. That could help.  
I did like the casket room with the flowers. That is a cool idea. Although we didn't get to see what was up with it until she was resetting when we left the room because we, of course, missed the scare coming in.

14 out of 50 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: meatclever   (Event Visited: 10/24/15 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I visit this house every year so I know where it is and how to get there. Small town so if you haven't been there its easy to find ....

Wait Entertainment: Got to watch "The Walking Dead" projected onto the side of the building. Creepy clown stalking around kept everyone on edge.

Length of Event: 12 or 13 mins ....

Actor Performance: Scares were located perfectly and timing was right on ....

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: As always were told at the door to stop and count to ten if we came up on anyone and then continue. We didn't need to do that - not once ..

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: This house always goes above and beyond with set design and again they didn't disappoint me this year. Not hard to see that they put a lot of time and effort into every room. Used strobes lights in a few places and again placed in the right place and not over done which can happen ...

Costumes / Make-up: Good mix of both masks and make-up. Didn't see any street clothes unless the room or character called for them ...

Summary: Year after year these people put a quality attraction together and wouldn't hesitate one min to recommend the 2015 edition of Clinton's "Terror on Washington Street" haunted house. Another off season of hard work and effort has again resulted in a kick-butt HH. This house is easy to get to, parking was no problem, priced fairly, and again, had a really good time! ... I will defiantly be back next year. Great job folks!!!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at