Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2015 Visitor Reviews of
The Freak Show And The All New Haunt At Bonesaw Mill (Champaign, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
65 out of 78 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hessianhorse   (Event Visited: 10/16/15 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It should be noted these are TWO SEPARATE attractions in one location. The Freak Show is outdoors on a haunted trail behind Fluid Event Center. The Haunt at BoneSaw Mill is in a building behind Fluid Event Center. There were ghouls on the main road waving us in, so it was very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: There were a couple of guys in creepy costumes lurking about, but nobody was getting too freaked out by them.

Length of Event: About 10 minutes each.

Actor Performance: The Freak Show was incredible and much more memorable than BoneSaw. I don't want to give it away, but I still don't know what I saw on that trail.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good for both. Never ran into anyone else, and they let us go in in our group of 3. No guide.

Appropriate Ages: The haunted trail could do some serious psychological damage to a little one. Hahaha So maybe 12 and up. You know your kid better than me.

Props / Special FX: The Freak Show was all outside on an abandoned train track and hiking trail through the woods, which gave it an outstanding creepy atmosphere. The BoneSaw was your usual haunted house inside of a warehouse and had some good stuff, but nothing that I hadn't seen before.

Costumes / Make-up: Here again I don't want to give the best scare away at the Freak Show, but yes, A+. BoneSaw had some nice costumes and make-up.

Summary: Tickets for a single attraction is $15, or you can do both for $20. The BoneSaw was a let down after the high scares at the Freak Show, so if you're going to both, go to Freak Show last. My biggest complaint is both were too short for the cost. Combined, they were about the same length as the Haunted Barn at the fairgrounds. I think this is their first year doing Freak Show and the Haunt at BoneSaw Mill, so they're off to a great start. Just need to take the acting up at BoneSaw a notch, and the attractions need to be longer to be worth the price of the ticket. I wanted to go back into the Freak Show the moment I was done, but wouldn't do it for the high ticket price.

58 out of 73 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/16/15 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Using GPS this isn't hard to locate but trying to find by street marking it presents a challenge ..

Wait Entertainment: No actual wait entertainment to speak of, various monsters walking around the parking lot but actually these are actors working the trail exit ...

Length of Event: The Bonesaw event took maybe 10 minutes or slightly more, with the crazy trail it was around 15 minutes ..

Actor Performance: Everyone stayed on character and appeared to give 100 percent ..

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow through both attractions was good and we never ran into another group on the trail or the factory ..

Appropriate Ages: I would suggest 10 years old at least, there are some intense in your face scares on the trail ..

Props / Special FX: There are hundreds of detailed props throughout each event and everything looks great ..

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up was fair to mid level, nothing to extravagant but they pulled it off .. There are also a few more masks than I normally prefer, I think you better characters are achieved by make up ..

Summary: We have attended this event before years ago and so we had a basic idea of what's to come, however this year they added the trail event and it has really upped the game here .. The trail gives you an eerie approach to haunted themes by the various crazy characters on the trail - they actually pulled by girlfriend off the group and held her as we continued onward (however she claimed they had her look down the well and released her) but it did add a scary view to our group who wondered what happened to her .. The mine shaft effect on the remote railroad tracks was great, would have loved seeing more people working this though ... The Bonesaw haunt was very enjoyable however it contained many of the similarities we saw last time we were here .. The only issue was the extremely long crowd lines and the waiting from attraction to attraction, might suggest the Speed Pass option for the little extra ..

22 out of 45 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Dean1985   (Event Visited: 10/09/15 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very poorly done, if you somewhat know there area then your okay. Aside from that the signage is just a basic arrow to the large front parking lot and nothing really showing you parking or entrance.

Wait Entertainment: None, very poorly characterd Jason whom broke character and talked a few times.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: Very poor, seemed to have a lot of inexperienced youth actors with no kind of training. Many rooms were missing actors,, and most actors had the same generic catch phrases that got very old.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Didn't have problems here.

Appropriate Ages: Any

Props / Special FX: In this category I was pleasantly surprised, coming from a fellow hainter, their was some great potential and rooms that were themed very well with good effects. But again the low ammount of actors and bad actors was an Achilles heal here.

Costumes / Make-up: Very basic, nothing that sticks out, seemed to be mostly masks with some light poorly done makeup.

Summary: Was very displeased with this haunt. Low staffing, very poorly planned and timed rooms that missed their scares. Most actors that I did see were out of character and generally unscary. I was pleased with the sets, but it ended there. As far as the outside trail, it's a neat idea but executed poorly. Scares are easy to see coming, actors were more interested in talking then scaring, plus it was very short just like the haunt. waste of money.

18 out of 40 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: keatonm   (Event Visited: 10/24/15 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/15
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find via Google Maps, they had people at the end of the drive to direct you. The location is nice, gives a convincing secluded feel.

Wait Entertainment: Minimal actors, no music. Made waiting in a tent a little boring and the cold that much more apparent. Could definitely stand to add music in the tent.

Length of Event: Bonesaw mill seemed to be one of the longer haunts I've been through, maybe fifteen to twenty minutes long. Freak Show was maybe five to ten.

Actor Performance: There were definitely a wide variety of actors and skill, and definitely made for a good surprise when someone really nailed it. Some of the actors didn't seem to either be paying attention or have a proper warning that patrons were coming, we caught a few unaware, who didn't seem to know what to do with us once they noticed us. There were a lot of boys that would run out at us that, in haunt makeup, looked very similar, which I thought was very interesting, because it helped to make me wonder where we were in the haunt, if we'd looped so a boy we'd seen earlier would be able to get us again. It helped to make it disorienting.  
On the trail, I found some of the actors pretty impressive in their dedication, especially the boy in the tree - though I'm still concerned for the safety of that branch he was leaning on. 
Main complaints: actors who didn't know we were coming (even though it was a busy night) and too many actors saying variations of "get out," which, y'know, gets old.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Didn't hit any other groups, and we took our time looking at everything and the group behind us didn't catch up, so timing seemed to be pretty good.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: REALLY good sets, great props. Everything looked so well put together, everything seemed to add up to a nice atmosphere. Very, very well put together.

Costumes / Make-up: Most of the time pretty good, but sometimes I couldn't tell if the mask I was seeing was the same person I'd seen earlier or just another person in the same mask. I feel like there were quite a few devils. Makeup and costumes were on point.

Summary: SUCH an excellent haunted house, definitely worth the twenty to go through both the house and the trail. A few kinks that could stand to be worked out, but even with them, I'd go through again. The actors that were good were REALLY good, and the others could just stand to have more warning or switch up what they yell at the customers a little. Very impressive, great atmosphere, great haunt.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at