Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2016 Visitor Reviews of
Sickhouse Haunted Attraction (Mokena, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
33 out of 48 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: sarsabey   (Event Visited: 10/01/16 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Behind Dennys and White Castle. Easy to find if you plug in GPS

Wait Entertainment: People sit outside and creep before you even buy your tickets. Theres a live DJ there who plays decent stuff, and everyone is super personable. Theres two people inside with you while you wait in line.

Length of Event: 20 min

Actor Performance: Actors are spooky and scary. definitely an in your face haunt. Theres guys in there that walk upside down, clowns that still haunt me, and an amputee. Actors are great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Easy moving.

Appropriate Ages: 14+

Props / Special FX: Many lights, sounds, mist, and obstacles that make the house come to life

Costumes / Make-up: make up is awesome. even the lady at the ticket booth had awesome makeup. Statesville quality make up there.

Summary: Awesome haunt. Even though it's the first year, theyre doing great. Keep up the good work. I've worked at haunts before and the sickhouse clowns had me in a fetal position holding up the group. The house is huge and they really make use of the space well. Well worth the money and possibly the drive. A+

Click here for more information
about Sickhouse Haunted Attraction.

Was this review helpful to you?      

41 out of 65 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: kathleen66   (Event Visited: 10/14/16 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you aren't familiar with the location you could miss it, you have to enter off off of 191st not LaGrange, other than that they have a lift truck with a big sign in the parking lot so you can't miss it.

Wait Entertainment: There was a girl outside doing tricks with flames and a number of actors that greeted you as you entered.

Length of Event: about 10 min

Actor Performance: Fantastic, everyone stayed in character and had great energy. They didn't just jump out just once they kept coming at you. A number of rooms had multiple actors so they caught you by surprise a number of times.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We had no problem with running into other groups but there wasn't a line when we got there. There was an issue before we went in so they had to hold us for about 5 min so there wouldn't of been anyone in front of us but there would of been groups behind us and they never caught up to us.

Appropriate Ages: 10 on up

Costumes / Make-up: Make up was great looked like they were on a movie set it was so professional. Not a lot of masks mostly make up.

Summary: I loved this Haunted house. I was a little concerned because of the name that it would be gory and gross. (I will never understand why people think the exploding toilet is scary) The actors were creepy and were very effective. The guy who leads you into the haunted house was fantastic, completely set the mood. My daughter made the comment that after him her expectations were high and they were met by the rest of the haunt. The sets were very detailed and the sound effects were perfect loud but not to loud. My favorite parts were interacting with the guy at the beginning, the black "maze" and the creepy girls, I don't want to give anything away. This is their first year and I can't wait to see what they do next year. My only negative would be that I wish it was longer. I would like to add that there was an issue before we went in that they had to hold up for about 5 minutes. If they guy wouldn't of said anything we wouldn't even of known that there was a problem. They handled it professionally and still kept us entertained.

Click here for more information
about Sickhouse Haunted Attraction.

Was this review helpful to you?      

13 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cupajoe415   (Event Visited: 10/22/16 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find using GPS. It did bring us around the back though, rather than to the front parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: There was a dj and a tent, along with a clown wandering around messing with people in the lot. In the line inside there was a fun strange guy and his puppet along with a nasty clown working the lines and taking pictures. The line was only about 15 minutes long, so there were no worries with that.

Length of Event: 10 minutes, in the haunt.

Actor Performance: Some did really well, others were needing some attention. Effort was high though... Nobody was being lazy. The guys in the room with crap on the floor traded words with me in a very humorous way when I informed him of the crap on the ground. A few listened very carefully to any names we said so they could taunt us with those names. Great job in this guys! The barker at the beginning was funny as well. While he made fun of me being a big guy it was creative so I laughed. It can get and was annoying when some actors simply say, "oh a big boy, I want to eat you" over and over again in every room. This did happen a bit. Remember, I don't mind in the slightest, as Im not self conscious, when it is creative, it just stupid when its like "Oh he is fat" Ya know? When you are creative about it, we all get a laugh! Great job to all of those who bantered with me and others. Your wit is amazing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No problems here. That went great!

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: You guys did well with what you had. The rooms were lightly themed and you made the most of it. I think you could use alot more though, and I was drawn to the rafters above more than I wanted to be. Great start though.

Costumes / Make-up: All of this seemed great! No complaints here. The makeup and costumes went along well with each room. Great work yall.

Summary: Sickhouse was a good haunt. I think it has room to grow, and good leadership to do so. While the rooms were not totally up to par, it was still a good show. There were very short lines when I went, and I hope this is not because people don't think it will be good. If you are in the south burbs, it is definitely worth checking out. For real! I hope they capitalize on what is going well, and continue to grow.

Click here for more information
about Sickhouse Haunted Attraction.

Was this review helpful to you?      

14 out of 30 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/09/16 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Needs help with the addition of a spotlight or something for those that are not familiar with the area although it is off the interstate and in a well lite area.

Wait Entertainment: A really great clown and ghoul although this is a new haunt and the wait is not great anyway. That is a shame but it will change.

Length of Event: 15 minutes more or less

Actor Performance: as good as it gets. they miss nothing from the stalkers to the guy lining you up to the actors in each scene...they hit their marks and did physical fear as well as any I have seen.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the group behind us caught up but that is expected as you always get lookers that enjoy the performance and those rushing to save their own lives.

Appropriate Ages: better go 10 and over and know your child for this one. It is a scare haunt like evil intentions.

Props / Special FX: They have good static stuff not a lot of wow stuff but appropriate for the scene. When your actors carry the show props are enhancements and don't have to carry the show.

Costumes / Make-up: They didn't do a lot of silicone or really standout masks but the makeup was good to excellent.

Summary: I was shocked at how good it was for a maze haunt that didn't do 3D of vortexes or large rooms. This is a strict shock value haunt in the classic style.It is a subtle difference that you see in really good layered performances and straight screamers. Veterans of the haunt world know what I mean. If every haunt could do what this one did, they would. I hope this gem catches on in a hurry.

Click here for more information
about Sickhouse Haunted Attraction.

Was this review helpful to you?      

12 out of 30 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: debchosen1   (Event Visited: 10/08/16 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They have a large crane in the parking lot so that you can see it from LaGrange road. It is in a shopping center.

Wait Entertainment: Only one actor who mainly interacted with the actor at the entrance into the actual haunt.

Length of Event: 15 -20 mins

Actor Performance: Amazingly they all had a lot of energy and great timing even though we were almost the last group to go through before they closed at 11

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good flow..we did not run into the group ahead of us.

Appropriate Ages: 12 +

Props / Special FX: A few static props but they relied mostly on their spirited actors!

Costumes / Make-up: Good looking makeup and costumes that kept with the theme.

Summary: If you want to see a diamond in the rough go visit Sickhouse. With the actors they have giving it their all to weird you out and a nice area to park and reasonable ticket price you should give this one a try! I don't want to spoil the ending but if you are lucky it is not over when you exit the building! Also we visited the bar & grill just down the way from the haunt afterwards & took advantage of their specials.

Click here for more information
about Sickhouse Haunted Attraction.

Was this review helpful to you?      

9 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: karat   (Event Visited: 10/22/16 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was right off the highway with a huge sign held up by a huge crane with a spotlight.

Wait Entertainment: There were flame throwers and actors walking around interacting with everyone from the moment you step out of your car.

Length of Event: It took about 15 minutes to go through the attraction but it seemed much longer.

Actor Performance: The actors were very interactive and frightening. There was one room with a man missing a limb that jumped up off the table at you! They knew exactly the right moment to scare you as you walk through. They even make you beg them to let you out at the end!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They were letting a small group (3-6 people) in a time probably every three minutes or so. We did not run into any other groups inside so they planned it out well.

Summary: From the moment we stepped out of the car we were entertained. Actors walked through the lines to talk to you. There were flame throwers putting on a show. We were also very entertained seeing people chased around the parking lot by a clown with silly string as they exited the haunted house! Inside there was a really flexible girl who had her arm twisted up the wall which was so creepy (and impressive). I could not believe how well the actors were able to hide themselves so you couldn't see when they were going to jump out at you. My favorite part was the long, black hallway with a bright green flashing light that made it so you could not see anything until a clown showed up in your face! There was also an almost pitch black maze that you have to try to get through. I kept running into walls and freaking out that I was going to run into an actor. There was so many rooms with so much detail. I really thought the guy missing his leg laying on an operating table was fake. It was very different having to scream and beg at the end in order for them to open the door to let us out!

Click here for more information
about Sickhouse Haunted Attraction.

Was this review helpful to you?      

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at