Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2016 Visitor Reviews of
Hoppers Haunted House (Rockford, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
26 out of 41 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Scheckl   (Event Visited: 10/15/16 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find

Wait Entertainment: Mr Tickles was great to interact with while waiting.

Length of Event: 30 minutes

Actor Performance: Very scary but since I was with kids ages 10 and under, Mr Tickles agreed to walk through with us. The kids felt more comfortable with him there and they had so much fun.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Seemed okay, went early. First ones in line.

Appropriate Ages: Probably geared to teens and older.

Props / Special FX: The costumes and props were scary.

Summary: We were the first ones through the night that we went. I brought a bunch of kids 10 and under. Some of them were in tears because they were so scared but Mr Tickles, a clown, helped them feel more confident. He agreed to walk with us through the whole house. I was so happy that the kids got to experience their first haunted house. They are so pompous now telling everyone that they got through the entire haunted house. Thank you Hoppers for being so accommodating.

Click here for more information
about Hoppers Haunted House.

Was this review helpful to you?      

23 out of 40 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cdowning   (Event Visited: 10/15/16 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: IT is located on a highway that is fairly dark and you come up to a location that has a ambulance in the front which is a prop. They could use more light to light up the main signs so you know you are there.

Wait Entertainment: We waited about 15 minutes from the time we paid till we entered the haunt.

Length of Event: We asked the owner if we could start a stopwatch from the minute we entered and he agreed it took us 25 minutes to go through

Actor Performance: Overall the actors did what they needed to do. We got scared quite a few times. They really seemed into.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never caught up with a group nor did a group catch up with us.

Appropriate Ages: More for 12 and older but I could see some littler ones enjoy this as long as they like scary movies

Props / Special FX: All the rooms were very well decorated and a lot of thought and effort put into it. Well done

Costumes / Make-up: The make up done was fitting to the room they were in

Summary: This haunt is out in the country but that really plays well for them. They do not have a lot of animatronics which is good by me I like to see more people interaction then props or animatronics. I pay to get scared by people not fake things. What you pay for this haunt in my opinion is worth it it takes 25 minutes to go through and you get scared. You cant compare this haunt to any Chicago haunt because they are 2 different kind of haunts which is also nice.

Click here for more information
about Hoppers Haunted House.

Was this review helpful to you?      

12 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bucc12   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Bright lights eazy to find

Wait Entertainment: Vary fast got us right in

Length of Event: 20 min

Actor Performance: Alsome

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into no other groups

Appropriate Ages: 16

Props / Special FX: Grate

Costumes / Make-up: All makeup looked real and they did a grate job

Summary: My favoit part was all the chain saws and the maze same as last they did a alsome job keep it up love this haunted house all the lights and strobes were grate need more fog but other then that i loved it i will keep come comeing many years to come lil bit of a drive but well worth it for shure 2 thumbs up to everyone in this house t

Click here for more information
about Hoppers Haunted House.

Was this review helpful to you?      

10 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/14/16 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: On a fairly well traveled Highway but it could use a sign upgrade and the vines cleaned off

Wait Entertainment: Two clowns, one really gave it a try the other was an apprentice type.

Length of Event: 15 minutes give or take

Actor Performance: They did what they were asked to do as they were outside of the flow of the patrons, more or less in cages so to speak.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: fine....the maze at the end was difficult to maintain a steady spacing.

Appropriate Ages: Are you afraid of the dark....that's your age limit. Nothing terrifying beyond shadowed characters.

Props / Special FX: None really, they depended upon the Sparc scenes to sell the concepts.

Costumes / Make-up: below average I'd say. the bar in other haunts have been set to a standard in which they do not compete.  

Summary: I don't wish to say bad things other than to point out that the price puts them on par with haunts that they cannot compare to. This is old school from 25 years ago when fundraisers used this kind of plywood maze haunts to great effect. In those days this would be a great haunt. They just don't measure up to the high tech haunts in Chicago that are not that much more money. Having said that they are effective if you are looking for a creepy dark chainsaw driven experience and not expecting the Massacre or Statesville. Take it for what it is and you can have a good time.

Click here for more information
about Hoppers Haunted House.

Was this review helpful to you?      

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at