Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2016 Visitor Reviews of
Fables Fright Nights (East Dundee, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
54 out of 88 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: fridayxiii   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Santa's Village itself was lit up and the rides were visible from 25 and 72. However, there was no signage about the haunted attraction. If we didn't know that the event was at Santa's Village, we would've passed it.

Wait Entertainment: We didn't need to wait to get into any attractions since it was early in the season and it was dreary outside. The actor outside of Carnivale and the actor outside of The Catacombs were very convincing in their roles.

Length of Event: Each attraction was approximately three minutes long, but there were lots of attractions to keep us busy. We were in the park for about an hour and a half, and we didn't even ride any carnival rides. I imagine we could've easily spent a couple hours there if we had spent time on the carnival rides.

Actor Performance: All of the actors we saw did a great job. It was clear that they were serious about their roles and they never once broke character. The guy outside of the catacombs was consistently scraping his shovel on the pavement before any customers even approached him. Creepy. Salty the Clown was hysterical. The guy operating The Last Drive was a riot. The psychic medium in the haunted house was animated. Honestly, everyone did a superb job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Since it was early in the season and it was raining outside, it was a slow night. We really didn't run into any other groups inside of the haunts.

Appropriate Ages: I think 13 and up would be an appropriate age. Some of the event would be family friendly, but some scenes inside of the haunts may be scary for little kids.

Props / Special FX: Most of the haunts were actor driven and interactive. There weren't a whole lot of props, but the ones they had were detailed and fit in well with the scenes. The special FX that stand out to me the most were the different things they did with lighting. Some of them were really unique and impressive.

Costumes / Make-up: I LOVED the costumes near The Last Drive! They were very Haunted Mansion-esque. It seemed like every character throughout was thought out and costumed very well. The make up that we saw up close was well done and it didn't seem to be coming off in the rainy conditions.

Summary: Upon our arrival at the ticket booth, we received a detailed map of the park with descriptions of each attraction. This came in handy because the place is huge and we did get turned around a couple of times.  
 
We were invited into Santa's cottage and we got to visit with Krampus and take a picture with him. We walked through a house that was decorated with Christmas lights and overrun with spirits. The effects inside of this house were impressive. We visited the Catacombs, which consisted of dark, twisting halls filled with corpses and souls trying to trap us into staying with them. Finally, we found Carnivale, the circus themed haunt that was overrun with energetic clowns and clever little tricks.  
 
We also got to meet Butch Patrick, who played Eddie Munster on television. He and his wife told stories that had us mesmerized. Butch was also signing autographs and taking pictures with guests.  
 
Our visit to Fables Fright Nights at Santa's Village really was enjoyable. The creepy music filtered through the streets that were just barely lit with Halloween and Christmas lights set the scene for a spooky autumn evening. It wasn't terribly frightening, but it was incredibly entertaining. We didn't even utilize all of the features that they had to offer and we still had fun. They had concessions open and beverages for sale; even some alcoholic ones! The carnival rides that they had operating looked like a lot of fun. We had a wonderful time and we are planning on going back at least one more time this season.

Click here for more information
about Fables Fright Nights.

Was this review helpful to you?      

20 out of 35 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: maximus   (Event Visited: 10/15/16 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Sign on Dundee really helped but I already knew where Santa's Village is located.

Wait Entertainment: Awesome job of showing up and trying to scare you or even just talk about weird or funny things

Length of Event: Christmas past was short but entertaining with a medium and great ghost but other 3 haunts were longer plus there was a picture spot for Krampus, some of the actors were willing to pose too.

Actor Performance: Car drivers were fun to ride with, corn maze was scary for some, Catacombs was dark and foggy with some great distraction scares, Clown area was great with many different scares coming out and a teddybear with a chainsaw

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This place is so large you felt that you were the only person in the place until you turn a corner and find some groups.

Appropriate Ages: 13 or more

Props / Special FX: Could have used some more animatronics or special effects, Krampus was hard to tell if he was real until he... overall it was good

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and makeup were great

Summary: I liked the outdoor feeling, animals and access to the rides at night was awesome! The ability to move throughout the park at night is creepy in a good way, each haunt had at least one great character that really stood out. I even saw a friend and they stayed in character the whole time. I am hoping to see more next year.

Click here for more information
about Fables Fright Nights.

Was this review helpful to you?      

41 out of 77 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: joseyled   (Event Visited: 10/14/16 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Yes, go thru the main gates of Santa's Village. on Route 25 just a block down of the intersection of Route 72. by day this is a child amusement park

Wait Entertainment: none, there was no wait at all which was wonderful

Length of Event: we stayed two hours, 4 rides open you can stay as long as you like, food in park with adult beverages too!

Actor Performance: There are ghouls and goblins who walk around the park, had really good costumes and stayed in character. Made it creepy walking around you would turn around and one of them would be following you

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very organized going into the 4 main haunt attractions. they are spread out in the park and this made the atmosphere eerie

Appropriate Ages: not for small children at all they suggest 13, lots of jump out characters so may be too intense for kids below 11

Props / Special FX: There were your basic chain saws etc, in the haunts was hard to tell what was real person and what was fake....of course until they scared you!

Costumes / Make-up: wonderful job, everyone either had makeup or masks on i thought was done well.

Summary: If you passed this one by when looking for Haunts you should reconsider. This was a great value, and a big bang for your buck. 4 haunted attractions, 4 or 5 rides open unlimited use. With my favorite the Tilt a Whirl. The weather has been mild for October and it was great walking around this amusement park at night. They have eerie music playing as you walk through the park, and characters who surprise you here and there or just show up and startle you. As with any haunt search the web for some discounts, right now for this weekend check out their FB page for a code to get 50% off. We stayed for 2 hours and rode some rides and we met Butch Patrick aka Eddie from the Munsters! This will be his last weekend there so get out there to meet him. Have 2 of the Munster cars, and tomorrow night 10/15 they doing a hearse night. Well worth the drive, it is actually in Santa's Village go through the main entrance gates, lots of parking, food and adult beverages. The Krampus attraction had some cool special effects and it looked like the real Kramps. This was a fun time and great value. Visit Krampus, go through the Catacombs (this was my favorite), Carnivale, The Ritual and the Ghost of Christmas past.

Click here for more information
about Fables Fright Nights.

Was this review helpful to you?      

16 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: debchosen1   (Event Visited: 10/23/16 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's at Santa's Village theme park. You can see the rides from the road & there was signage

Wait Entertainment: None. The ticket booth is outside the entrance. All the action is inside the park

Length of Event: we were here about 2 hours

Actor Performance: They all were on point & tried for multiple scares. There are roaming actors who I saw scare some people enough the female in the group screamed bloody murder.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not run into any other groups within the haunts

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Nothing that stands out in my mind. A very slow vortex (spinning room)

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and makeup appropriate to the theme of whatever haunt they were in. There are multiple haunts inside the park

Summary: This has the potential to be a BIG event . Modeled after Great America's fright fest it offers multiple haunts, carnival rides, photo ops with the Krampus , Food & drinks including alcohol,(beer, cocktails & some special amped up hot chocolate the night we were there) & roaming characters. A creepy atmosphere just being in Santa's village at night with minimal lighting. Chilling music played all over the park's sound system. Shout out to Salty the clown , your line guy at the Carnivale haunt for being witty enough to make comments & jokes & interact with us. Also the host of Carnivale, in the first room was very good...keeping us off balance by moving around and hanging upside down, etc. The Ghosts of Christmas past also kept you surprised with multiple appearances by the same creatures over & over again. My favorite part was a Visit with the Krampus. I have been a big fan of the Krampus for a long long time now. For those not in the know, Krampus travels with St Nicholas to punish bad boys & girls ! Not only was there a naughty little elf to greet us but the special effects talking statue(Bust) was awesome. They take your photo with the Krampus which you can see on a screen when you exit and decide whether or not to purchase. Of course I purchased mine!!! Overall good entertainment value for the money.

Click here for more information
about Fables Fright Nights.

Was this review helpful to you?      

12 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: kwillis00   (Event Visited: 10/02/16 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: umm. yea on this the visibilty was very poop you did not know if the place was open or closed there was no sign no where. The location they could have done so much much better with this with use of the huge parking lot like have ppl out in the lot around the ticket booth i know this was a family friendly place but needs major major inproment.

Wait Entertainment: oh wait enterminemt there was non at all the ride here were the most fun of the whole place. there was a girl dressed up as a clown and one guy draggin a chain he kept asking do u want candy but the clown girl was talkative i will give her props.

Length of Event: the length of this took us like total of all the huants like 3 mins they were very very very short. the xmas ghost the guy played a good role the medium. but the other actors in there need lessons on how to act.

Actor Performance: the actors i would say the entrance one n some played a good role but it was mostly boo being said or get out or popping threw holes. there was a couple actors who stood out though the car drivers were funny, the clown running around she kept talking to us n the guy dragging a chain n kept asking us if we wanted candy. needed more actors. I even scared one of the actors it was funny.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: patron flow oh wait there was none got right in the haunts n the rides it was like we were the only ones in the place it was nice but this place was a total bust for being told about fables in the past was looking fwd to this but it was a total bust go some where else. the only high point was to get to meet butch frm the munsters he was very talkative. and the ppl running the rides

Appropriate Ages: all ages for this place not scare at all.

Props / Special FX: the effects in ghost of ya past was good w the medium that was diffrent but the other stuff in the haunt there was none

Costumes / Make-up: make up could have been so much better and same w the outfits.could not harldy see since it was so dark there needed more lighing a little bit

Summary: over all this place was a mojor bust i will not being going back here. was a total let down. poor telling u that they was open not enough actors in the scare zones just badly done mabye if they keep this place they can get mre ppl and do more scare and amp this place up and you can do this i know its a family friendly place but needs work

Click here for more information
about Fables Fright Nights.

Was this review helpful to you?      

21 out of 66 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: dragonslayer   (Event Visited: 10/02/16 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Visibility was awful here. We knew where Santa's village was and that the haunt was here only from our own research which means that Fables will have an extremely hard time pulling in random customers who happen to be in the area. There were absolutely no signs or lights indicating its presence here.

Wait Entertainment: There was no wait as we went on a Sunday and it was early in the year. I felt that they needed more actors so that they could spread out in the parking lot as well to welcome guests and scare them before entering the park.

Length of Event: 4 minutes total for all 4 haunts. 
Ghosts of Christmas Past 1 minute. 
The Catacombs 1 minute. 
The Ritual 1 minute. 
Carnivale 1 minute. 
 
There were also some rides open and a few various things so you could spend a little more time here.

Actor Performance: The actors were okay. A few of them did really well such as the gothic looking clown, the medium at the Ghosts of Christmas Past and the guy with the chain. These people never broke character and were interesting to be around. The other notable one was the carni by Carnivale. Otherwise a lot of the actors did nothing but the same as everywhere else and yelled and screamed the typical get out and boo.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There were no patrons so this is irrelevant.

Appropriate Ages: Everyone not scary or obscene in the slightest.

Props / Special FX: Nothing notable and this is a let down as Fables used to be top notch.

Costumes / Make-up: Again nothing to get excited over. No notable costumes but Krampus looked decent.

Summary: I was extremely disappointed with this haunt in very way imaginable. It did not have the trademarks of Fables before it. Gone was the cool interactive scenes and high level acting. Gone was the makeup and props that rivaled larger attractions. Fables really fell short on this attraction and let me down as i have stood by Fables in the past and really enjoyed it. Honestly there was absolutely nothing notable about Fables and felt the rides and a spider I saw in the park where scarier. It is fine to not be scary but you have to have some sort of entertainment value such as a good interactive bunch of characters and funny show combined with creative displays. 
 
Overall, there were many things which need to be fixed. First, there needs to be signage as Santa's Village gets lots of traffic and people know where it is. Second, there needs to be more scare actors roaming the parks. Third, there needs to be more lights and visuals in the park as a whole. The actors could hardly be told from the regular workers. In fact, my buddy scared the actors while there as there was not much else fun to be had. Fourth, they need to increase the length of the haunts and add more to them. You cannot have the haunt be so short that nothing happens. Finally, they need to do more of the interactive stuff that they are known for. This attraction was mostly guys popping out of halls and holes yelling get out and boo.  
 
Overall this was one of the worst haunts I have ever been to in my entire life. I say that because they charge 20 dollars or more to get in. I would expect this level of haunt from a home haunt or small charity event but not from Fables. The only saving grace were the rides in Santa's Village and the opportunity to meet Butch Patrick from The Munsters. Otherwise I think everyone should skip this haunt altogether. It pains me to say this.

Click here for more information
about Fables Fright Nights.

Was this review helpful to you?      

12 out of 42 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: derekz   (Event Visited: 10/21/16 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: IF you know where Santa's Village is in E. Dundee then you will have no problem finding it. Has a large parking lot. Only issue was it was not marked well from the road and the lot was pretty dark. Would not but sure it was open.

Wait Entertainment: Since it was at Santa's Village the animals were out in the pens. Kids enjoyed seeing them at night. They had scary music playing and entertainers walking through the park. Several of the park rides were operating as well so you could take a break from the scares to enjoy the rides.

Length of Event: The haunts lasted roughly 2 minutes to 10 minutes depending on which you went on. The corn maze and Carnivalle were the longest at close to 10 minutes. Lady Davenport? Not sure on the name and The Catacombs took maybe 5 minutes and The Last Ride was the shortest....maybe 2 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors did a great job - they stayed in character the entire time....I mentioned knowing a staffer and no one left character to talk about it. They all fit pretty well with their theme....Clowns at Carnivalle, Killer pumpkins at the Corn maze, etc..... 
Great job by the Elf when we first got there.....gave us the tour of the part and I could not be sure if they were a kid or just a short adult.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was pretty quiet crowd wise while we were there so the flow was great. They had a staff member outside of each haunt pacing the crowd entering so we never ran into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: It was appropriate for families. I brought my 10 year old who loved it. It was more of jump scares then it was visual scares. Plus having it in Santa's Village with the wide open space s and rides made it much more comfortable for families with children. I however dont think I would go much younger then 9 or 10 years old.

Props / Special FX: The costumes were great on the cast members. They did have a spinning light tunnel on Carnivale but overall it was not a strong visual effect environment.

Costumes / Make-up: The actors were a mix of make up and masks. Everyone was in a character that fit the environment. The Krumpus costume was great and everyone seemed to put a first rate effort into the costumes.

Summary: Overall I would say that it was a good experience. It was pretty quiet the night we were there and better signage and advertising would hopefully help with that. That being said the small crowd was great for my son and I to get through everything - the cast members actually picked up on our names and would radio ahead so when we got to the next haunt they knew who we were. My son loved that a ghoul or clown knew his name without having to say it to them. Our favorite haunt was the Catacomb which had some great scares and costumed actors in it. Our favorite actors were the Elf On The Shelf, Salty the Clown and the very creepy Santa Claus that did not speak but made some very crazy sounds. No scare really got to bad for us but overall the experience was great because the cast members put so much effort into make it great for us. There are definitely more high tech haunts out there but I cant imagine a group of actors showing more attention to the crowd than this group. We had a discount coupon to go and it was will worth the $16 I paid for each of us.

Click here for more information
about Fables Fright Nights.

Was this review helpful to you?      

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at