Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2016 Visitor Reviews of
Clinton's Terror On Washington Street Haunted House (Clinton, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
27 out of 52 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/08/16 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's been in the same place for years. Very visible.

Wait Entertainment: There was one clown who was getting into his role. Otherwise, just a couple of others wandering around. The girl with the tight clothes and cape...I thought she was a lost patron.

Length of Event: Around 10 mins

Actor Performance: Awful. 2 stood out. The rest were really lacking. MOST just stood motionless as we walked through the rooms.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Again, awful. A group of 2 caught up with us and stayed with us. As it turns out, it was the girl in the cape wandering outside and she had a kid with her and she just joined our group. She also told the kid the names of the actors and the scares coming up! Seriously?!?

Appropriate Ages: Any

Props / Special FX: None stood out

Costumes / Make-up: Awful. Costumes did not fit the rooms or scenes and the masks didn't even fit! Even in the semi dark I could see it. One clown outside had an ill fitting costume and the mask showed his/her hair, their neck and part of their face.

Summary: Every year I go back and every year I am a little more disappointed. This year will be my last. That building is there the whole year. They could do sooooooo much better. They need better actors and costumes. It was very amateurish.  
 
Allowing a worker to join your group with a small child is completely unacceptable.  
 
There were 3 good characters. The girl who made the comment about how I smell when I sleep, the girl coming out of the wall was awesome and the chainsaw guy did great.  
 
I saw absolutely nothing original or even interesting. I was completely disappointed.

Click here for more information
about Clinton's Terror On Washington Street Haunted House.

Was this review helpful to you?      

12 out of 31 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hauntedfan74   (Event Visited: 10/15/16 @ 12 Midnight)
Review Posted: 10/18/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: From Clinton so location was easy

Wait Entertainment: They give you a ticket with a number on it, so you can go back to your car and wait or run and get food or whatever

Length of Event: Felt like was in there for 10-15 minutes or so

Actor Performance: Everyone working did great jobs, didn't get out of character

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Towards the end one group ended up meeting up with us, but then fell back behind so that was only people we seen

Costumes / Make-up: All costumes and makeup were done great, time well spent on them

Summary: Terror on Washington Street is an awesome haunted house, I've been going there for years now, actually used to work in it. Everybody does great jobs staying in character and scaring. There is entertainment outside to keep you busy while waiting or you can leave and come back, which is awesome compared to waiting in long lines. Clinton's terror on Washington Street deserves to be on top 10 list again

Click here for more information
about Clinton's Terror On Washington Street Haunted House.

Was this review helpful to you?      

16 out of 42 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: scaremedog   (Event Visited: 10/09/16 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The building is very easy to find and has been in the same location for years.

Wait Entertainment: They had characters walking around and creeping up behind people. They also had screens with trivia and other halloween things on them which was entertaining.

Length of Event: 15-20minutes

Actor Performance: The actors preformed very well! After my group had gone through, we found out that the scarers were a volunteer high school, and I was very impressed with the dedication these volunteers showed. If I had not found out they were volunteers I would assume these were people who did this sort of thing all the time and had a passion for scaring people. The ONLY time an actor broke character was outside, and they heard my group discussing bringing a younger kid, and they said they have 'lights on' walk through for younger audience.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Once inside, my group never saw anyone other than the scarers. The pace throughout the attraction was decent and groups flowed in and out smoothly.

Appropriate Ages: brave kids-adults

Props / Special FX: Everything inside was very convincing and worked well in each room. I go every year and they still manage to change the house rooms, and add new rooms and effects that make for each yearly trip to be new and exciting.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes in each rooms made sense and didn't look like a $5 cheap halloween costume. It was all well done, and you can tell they put a lot of time and effort into this house.

Summary: Overall, I was thoroughly impressed with the haunted house and my experience there. As we waited for our group to be called, we would see people of all ages running out of the house screaming and laughing. The creativity of the rooms and enthusiasm of the actors made the experience all that much more spooky. Learning about their lights on walk through was also enticing for my friends with younger kids, who would like to experience haunted houses, but in a less intense atmosphere. This year was another for the books and my friends and I cannot wait to see what Clinton's Terror on Washington St. has in store for us next year!

Click here for more information
about Clinton's Terror On Washington Street Haunted House.

Was this review helpful to you?      

14 out of 59 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BNZombie   (Event Visited: 10/14/16 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location of this haunt is on washington street. The town is not to big and the street is easy to find. They close a portion of the street in front of the haunt making the parking lot begins the haunt difficult to locate if you are from out of town.

Wait Entertainment: Terror does not have the typical "wait in line for ever" flow. The tickets are numbered for each group and when its your turn to go through the haunt they call your number and show the number on a large screen beside the entrance. They have a number of very cool heaese on location to take pictures with. They have a number of vendors you visit while waiting. The funnest thing might be the place were for a small fee/donation you can watch a tv with a feed from inside the haunt and when people walk by you can control a pneumatic air gun and shoot the people in the haunt. The kids and adults love this.

Length of Event: My group love to take in all of the details of a haunt. This one is self guided so we were able to walk through at a slower speed. It may have taken us about 1t minutes to walk through. It is so hard to tell how long it took because the haunt has about 25 or so rooms and it is so well done you loss track of time and think "will it never end" as you go through. And that's not a bad thing cause I didn't want it to end.

Actor Performance: The actors in this haunt are some of the best volunteer actors I have seen. I found out that one of the clowns was new and was working the haunt for his first year. He was amazing, he got in your face, did the clown laugh, taunted the people waiting to come in. He was good. Also the girl in the Alice in Wonderland room was unbelievable, she seemed to float out of a wall... Whaaaa. It was great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This is a self guided haunt. We took our time and didn't have people catch up so they leave a good amount of space between groups.

Summary: This haunt is one of the best in the central Illinois area! The whole experience is a wonderful one. The numbered tickets are amazing. They make it so you don't have to just stand in line. They call your ticket number when its your turn to go through the haunt. So we were able to mingle and check out the cool hearse they have and the venders out side. Once in the haunt its a great scare. The actors are good and the house itself... OMG its great! The rooms are well decorated, the props and scares are well thought out and executed! Its also a new haunt each year. They change the layout and add and change things each year. I highly recommend visiting this haunt every year! Its also very well priced for the size of haunt. As we walked through the self guided haunt it just seemed to not end, its room after room after room of fright. Go to this haunt... You won't be disappointed

Click here for more information
about Clinton's Terror On Washington Street Haunted House.

Was this review helpful to you?      

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at