Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2016 Visitor Reviews of
Midnight Terror Haunted House (Oak Lawn, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
27 out of 46 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: dragonslayer   (Event Visited: 10/07/16 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Upon coming up on the haunt you can start to see a bunch of strobes and signs outside.

Wait Entertainment: There was a DJ and lots of line scare actors. I would not say that they were short on line entertainment at all.

Length of Event: Black Oak Grove 9 minutes 
Factory of Malum 8 minutes

Actor Performance: Overall good acting though some actors do little more then jump out and yell at you. However there are quite a few interactive actors that play with you in the haunt adding to the level of quality to the haunt.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was done well and we did not catch any groups or have any catch us.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 12 and up based on the characters in the attraction and dialogue.

Props / Special FX: Props there is not much to look at but the sets are well done. We were upset that some props seemed to not work well or at all.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good costumes for the most part. A lot of detailed makeup and some neat outfits.

Summary: Overall Midnight Terror is a haunt with endless potential. They seem to always do a lot with what they have. This was apparently moved and thrown together inside the new location in less than 2 months which is quite impressive. A haunt this size set up that fast is going to suffer from the time constraints and there is no way around that. 
 
Lets look at the bad first. Props not working is the biggest flaw in here. There were things just sitting in the corner or not being tripped. In one part there was a set of claustrophobia bags that were barely inflated. Next there was the issue with some actors merely being off-cue or just yelling at you. This just does not work. Maybe it works on a few patrons but most will be thinking this is lame now. Finally, we have the sense in the haunts that they are seriously rushed. Everything felt like it was set up quickly and without much time. Adding into the rushed feeling is the open ceiling environment where you could see other lights from other rooms. This was not as bad as some other haunts but a distraction none the less. 
 
Now lets look at the good. Potential, potential, potential! Having this haunt go from home haunt to Pro haunt to owned space Pro haunt in just 4 years is incredible. There were many unique pieces like the vomit room and the office or school like area with the hangman chalkboard. There was a neat use of a very tall ladder. None of this is scary in the least but it stands out and gives the haunt character. The city are was also interesting as you double back to the middle of it about 4 times which makes for another unique addition to this haunt.I also do like the ending where you think it is over but it is not but I must say this has to be set up better. Without the actors there you could walk around the area. Also, as an added idea spark fences could come in handy at the end for added effect.  
 
I do feel that Midnight Terror has a lot to offer and that it will only get better in the future.

Click here for more information
about Midnight Terror Haunted House.

Was this review helpful to you?      

14 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: debchosen1   (Event Visited: 10/08/16 @ 6:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good signage on the road. Industrial looking building.

Wait Entertainment: We got there before they opened. There was no outdoor entertainment but once you got into the inside waiting area they were 2 very young girls who were pretty creepy using their flexibility to freak you out. There were several other line actors.

Length of Event: approx 15 - 20 mins

Actor Performance: There were 2 standout areas. the young female who hung upside down on the ladder and a room with 3 actors who used the art of distraction well in order to get their scares. In the first portion too many actors used "Help Me" after the first 2 times you hear that it totally loses it's effect. Others were over stocked into a small area and large spacious areas only had one actor. The actors in the second portion seemed to be more skilled.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Seemed to flow well. We were in a fairly small group & did not run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Nothing stands out in my memory

Costumes / Make-up: Makeup was effective & varied and costumes were good as far as keeping with the theme. The only "Costume" that threw me off was the line actor with the Hot topic bondage pants outfit on. Some drunk is going to pull on those bondage straps & rip the pants or make the actor fall on their face.

Summary: Full disclosure: I worked for 15 years in the haunt industry so I do not scare easily. But I can judge by other patron's reactions what worked. They opened a bit late and once inside we waited way longer then we should have for a venue this size. The waiting area had a DJ and a drummer which was much too loud. I get wanting to have heart pounding atmosphere but it was so loud when the drummer came on no one could have a conversation with you including the line actors. If I had to wait 45 mins or more with that drum I would want to pull my eardrums out! Once finally inside the area where they take your tickets to get in, the actor had to scream over the music . We were a group of 10 I think and we went into a room that seemed to serve no purpose, into a room where we had our hand stamped, for what reason I don't know, to a room where a soldier has to scream trying to tell you the rules of the house. I was third in line & barely caught any of what he was saying. Please just post the rules somewhere visible and or use the area where you take tickets to point out the rules. Once they get really busy the lines are going to be huge if they don't adjust the first 3 areas! My BF & I were about the 30th persons in line & it took over a half an hour just to get to the front of the line. So we were in the 3rd or 4th group to go in...at about 8 mins between groups the lines are going to be very long once it gets busier. The first portion of the haunt had all victims because it seemed 10 actors used the "Help Me" line. After the second queue line that we did not have to wait in the acting, makeup and costumes seemed to get better. There were plenty of spots actors could have hid for a scare but they were left unused. It seems like it was built with lots of nooks and pass through spots but they did not take full advantage of them. Most of the actors tried really hard and looked the part but did not take advantage of things that would give them a chance to scare the patrons. room for improvement and since it is early in the season I hope they can work out the kinks.

Click here for more information
about Midnight Terror Haunted House.

Was this review helpful to you?      

15 out of 33 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/09/16 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Parking was indeed a mystery as you were rerouted after you attempted to turn into the lot that was marked.

Wait Entertainment: Several actors portrayed characters from a clown to a creepy pasta character to a nose piking something or other.Overall average to above average if numbers matter.

Length of Event: The wait made no sense as this is a walk through without any performance art. A smallish crowd waited over an hour to enter. The event itself was 15 minutes tops.

Actor Performance: If you were not aware of other haunts that nail it they would be good. They did fine but they did not excel. I remind you of the cost of the haunt. Every scene is the same regardless of theme.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: poor...we caught up with a group and the group behind us caught up with us. Management had to stop our group to get spacing.

Appropriate Ages: Anybody that can take a haunt of any kind can take this one. Seven and up would be standard for any haunt if your child can take this kind of thing.

Props / Special FX: Not much really...multiple static props enhanced the theme of each scene but nothing blew your doors off.

Costumes / Make-up: This was the strong suit overall. They did very good to excellent with the look of most of the characters...good enough to sell the theme of the room anyway.

Summary: How do you rate it? If you look at cost and what they compete with it falls near the bottom. There is a great lack of a wow factor. Everything they do other haunts do as well and much better. Every scene is the same and the scare tactics are identical.Overall a very generic haunt with a long wait and no bang. I did not see any film and the speaking parts were very hard to hear and understand as the rules of the house were being read.

Click here for more information
about Midnight Terror Haunted House.

Was this review helpful to you?      

9 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: kwillis00   (Event Visited: 10/08/16 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: this haunt is right next to the road on 111th street easy to find haunt with all the signs.

Wait Entertainment: the wait ppl there was like about 6 line scare ppl makeup on them was good job espailly the girl w burnt face. there was a d.j. playing music and there was a drum set there but no one was playing on it just the loud d.j music.

Length of Event: this haunt took us about 25 mins or so give or take between both haunt so yea baout 25 mins.

Actor Performance: some of the actors were on que some were not. some you could understand and some no. like the huge devil on the stand couldnt understand him he was like welcome to the f***touim it sound like he said w his mask on everyone in our group though thats what he said also. there was one actress who stood out never seen this at no other haunt this girl was sitting at a table and eating something green n puking it bk up n eating it again. that was a cool idea good job on that.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the flow we did not run into no one in this haunt. which was good here.

Appropriate Ages: good for ages 13 on up.

Props / Special FX: there were some props that were ok k and some that didn't work. like the airbags when we went threw them they was like no air in them. some props the timing was off on them or they just didn't work at all

Costumes / Make-up: the make up was good here. some could have dne a little better then others. in there area but looks like it was falling off but other then that awsome job on make up and outfits.

Summary: for this being the first year in this spot they did a good job. this place has alot of potential here if you looked up while walking threw the haunt you could see the rafters of the building. the whole bus thing we chose not to do. but there was plenty of parking on site of where the haunt was at. give this haunt a couple of years and they can rock this place out.

Click here for more information
about Midnight Terror Haunted House.

Was this review helpful to you?      

14 out of 45 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: thecurse   (Event Visited: 10/01/16 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Since I know the area well I found it with ease. But maybe another sign or flashing lights would be a good thing.

Wait Entertainment: They had a few actors walking around scaring people. 2 little girls maybe 8 or 9 dressed up as dead dolls was fun. The one shorter one was dancing and scaring people as much as she could. The music, was way way too loud. I had to scream to my friends if I wanted to talk to them. I dont want to stand there not talking to my friends for an hour. It was definitely too much. And sorry to say the drummer person they have was just not good and did not add anything to the wait besides making it even louder.

Length of Event: Pretty Decent actually. Maybe around 25 minutes for both Haunts.

Actor Performance: They had some very very good actors there. The Dr. room was by far a standout. All 3 actors in there were going off hard. The lady with the syringes was very good and couldnt have doen any better I thought.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Well, since they have 3 staging areas before you actually go in, it wasnt bad.

Appropriate Ages: 7 and above.

Props / Special FX: Just the usual nothing out of the box.

Costumes / Make-up: Cant complain about that. All were done nicely and seemed done very well.

Summary: After going to this last year and being let down a bit, I told myself I wouldnt go again. But since me and some friends were having dinner down the street we decided to check it out. It wasnt bad. I personally didnt like the music and drummer in the main wait line. Much too loud to even talk. But if youre in to parties or raves then this is going to be your jam! 
 
Going in the Haunt we had to be staged in 3 different areas, much like statesville, but since this is no where near as big or busy that was not needed and to me a complete waist of time and space. they could have done something fun there. Also, we must have went on a night where they had technical problems, because I saw tvs but none were on. So actors had to sceeam the rules , what the house was about and themes, which since it was , again, so loud i couldnt hear a single thing and I was first in line. Sending us through in groups of 12 like that makes no sense to me sorry.  
 
The open ceilings were a big let down. It let in too much light. And you want some form of confined space instead of it being wide open. That along with that I can clearly see the prop sensors on the ground tapped down with black tape just screams rushed. Black and just random empty hallways need to be addressed. Also, why do 2 Houses mediocre when I know they can do 1 really well and make it that much longer. Ill chalk this up to a new locations and them getting the Haunts ready in time. Next year I assume they would have those fixed and stream lined. 
 
Actors for the most part were very good. the Dr Room, and a few of the actors hanging for the ceilings were great. My favorite room was the demon standing above everyone with 2 demon girls just being creepy as can be. You need more of that stuff! But, word to the wise, I am a bigger guy, I get it, You dont need to remind me every time I walk into a new room. The ending was very off. no big scare or anything just a girl talking to you then all of a sudden your outside and left wondering what just happened. 
 
But all in all it wasnt bad at all. for $25 its worth it so far. A few top notch actors, good use of strobes and some creepy scenes make this a decent haunt in its new location.  
 
 
 
The parking is super strange so be warned on that.

Click here for more information
about Midnight Terror Haunted House.

Was this review helpful to you?      

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at