Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2016 Visitor Reviews of
The Freakshow And The Haunt At Bonesaw Mill (Champaign, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
38 out of 52 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: HauntloverLD   (Event Visited: 10/08/16 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is behind the fluid event center and off to the right. Gps no problem. Parking lot crew were there to guide you no issues there.  

Wait Entertainment: Entertainment I saw was some actors walking around in the crowds. They had zombie paintball and food.

Length of Event: Inside was about 14 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: Loved it. Great scares in the most unexpected ways, won't spoil it!  
Great makeup and costumes for both in and outside settings.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Waited about 20 minites in line. Not bad. There was a tent outside before we entered. When we did enter they checked to see how many were in our group, which was 4. The zombie lady let us all go together, which we were so glad! We clenched onto each other like no other. We never ran into any other groups, nice flow.

Appropriate Ages: I saw some pretty young kids in the ticket line, guess it depends on how much your kids can handle.

Props / Special FX: Lots of detail everywhere! I will not spoil it with any examples as it's all really great.  
I will say Michael Myers and the chainsaws are terrifying!

Costumes / Make-up: Makeup looked great from what I could tell. Could tell how scary the clowns and zombies were when able to get a good view. Some I couldn't tell if it was 
makeup or a mask haha.

Summary: My first haunt this season for this year!  
I loved it since I love haunted houses. We started with the inside one, Bonesaw Mill. The lady warned us of dark hallways and oh boy she was right. Every single turn there was someone or something there. Some haunts can over do it but that was a pretty good flow of scares on the inside. Outside we walked through some massive gates to the Freakshow. Fricken clowns people! The creepy dark night with the fog made it look awesome, just like a movie. So many great scares out there too, from all angles.  
Was nice to warm up by the fires they have after the outside one.

Click here for more information
about The Freakshow And The Haunt At Bonesaw Mill.

Was this review helpful to you?      

25 out of 40 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/14/16 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Somewhat difficult to find, use the GPS system takes a lot of searching out of it - highly recommended! Not the best markings on the roadway and overall extremely dark surroundings ..

Wait Entertainment: A few monsters working the crowds, nothing too intense here..

Length of Event: The Mill took around 10 minutes and the following crazy trail with clowns and monsters maybe 15 minutes ..

Actor Performance: All the actors were very convincing and put in 100% effort, no weak actors tonight !

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not an excessively large crowd tonight so we moved freely without obstruction here, no bottlenecking issues tonight, no weak linkers tonight - nice !

Appropriate Ages: I would suggest 8 years or above here ..

Props / Special FX: The overall effects and surroundings was excellent and everything went off as planned, but somethings are getting dated from previous years, it's maybe time to up the event a little ! A few basic triggered automatic pros and lots of standard props ...

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and makeup was acceptable, however maybe too many masks here, this is maybe the weakest link here - masks are somewhat dated and just don't pack the punch anymore !

Summary: Overall this is a good haunted attraction and usually draws good, being somewhat difficult to find probably don't help there numbers..  
However, we attend this attraction about every year and have watched it advance to the next level throughout the years - these people have always have the best efforts here to give you a great scare - it's a very good event and highly recommended!  
The only issues we experience here was the somewhat lacking of volunteers tonight (maybe because of Friday night football) and too many masks, however enjoyable and a fairly good bang for your buck ...

Click here for more information
about The Freakshow And The Haunt At Bonesaw Mill.

Was this review helpful to you?      

9 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: HauntGeekFre   (Event Visited: 10/15/16 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Need more signs in order to find location, without GPS, it's not an easy haunted house to find.

Wait Entertainment: A few actors who walked around, and you get a feel of what your about to walk into since you're able to hear the haunted house from the line from which you purchase tickets.

Length of Event: Bonesaw took 10 minutes tops, Freakshow took about 10-15.

Actor Performance: I distinctly remember one actor in particular who simply screamed "Boo." But overall, they were doing there job. Some hovered for too long.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never caught up to a group, nor did a group catch up to us.

Appropriate Ages: All ages, depending on parents.

Props / Special FX: The furnace room stood out the most, as well as the locker room.  
Drop panel scares were a hair too late to be effective.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly makeup with a few masks.

Summary: Overall, it is not the worst haunted house I've ever been too. However it is not all that I thought it would be, being so high rated on the charts at the current time.  
There was definitely room for improvement.  
One thing that stood out, that thoroughly displeased was was the last room in which you could see the hole the actor was sitting in, and the saw didn't move as you thought it would.  
Is it wortha visit, but not the the 20$ for BOTH haunts.

Click here for more information
about The Freakshow And The Haunt At Bonesaw Mill.

Was this review helpful to you?      

10 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Mowhawkman   (Event Visited: 10/01/16 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunt is located right of I57 which makes getting there easy. However some signage once in town would be useful. Yet once your there you will know as your welcomed by a very old and creepy hearse.

Wait Entertainment: Once you pull into the large parking lot staff will direct you how to get your tickets.The ticket process is easy and the wait is fair. However for a ticket upgrade you can go to the front of the line.

Length of Event: Getting through both haunts takes about one and a half hours for those who like to take it all in, however both could easily be done in less then one hour.

Actor Performance: The actors seem to be as eager to fill the rolls they undertook as those who come to be scared. Great costumes, make up and effects make this haunt a great way to celebrate the holiday to the fullest

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow of the haunt seemed smooth and timed so everyone can enjoy themselves.

Appropriate Ages: With extremely detailed props, actors, and environment I wouldn't recommend this for anyone under the age of 12.

Props / Special FX: Props and effects are done extremely well, and add to the outcome of this haunt. They are very graphic, and realistic yet just as you focus on one this you will notice another.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up are done well, with details more towards the overall experience and not aimed at one specific item.

Summary: This haunt is sure to please the haunt lover in everyone. After you find the location everything else will please the senses.From friendly staff to professional actors you will find that fear never leaves you until you leave the premises. From the well thought out props to the lighting and sound effects this haunt gives you extreme value for your money.

Click here for more information
about The Freakshow And The Haunt At Bonesaw Mill.

Was this review helpful to you?      

7 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Zendeh   (Event Visited: 10/16/16 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/16
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Tons of parking, easy to find, it was a bit confusing as someone had to direct us to park further back from the street by the attraction (which was fine because it was creepy and deserted up front)

Wait Entertainment: Wouldn't know, didn't really wait in line because we went on an off day

Length of Event: We were speed running it out of fear so your mileage may vary. I was trying to push my team along we got out of there in 10 minutes, but if you weren't literally running for the exit I'd say 10 or 15 or so

Actor Performance: Top notch, the actors were incredibly dedicated and didn't just give up if one of your group members were unamused or unphased.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Fantastic, after I sprinted out at the end, my friends and I were surprised to see a group come out right behind us, for we had no idea they were even in the attraction the entire time

Summary: Ya'll, I'm a scaredy cat. Like, can't handle when a pot falls off of the counter. This was supposed to be part of my becoming an adult and not being terrified thing. That, um, didn't go well. I went with two friends who were significantly more well adjusted than I was. We went with the Bone Saw Mill after tons of discussion because I didn't think I could handle the freakshow which is outside. As soon as we parked the experience started. Just something you might like to know, if you want to prep yourself in the car. There were actors roaming around outside and weren't afraid of going up to you while you're not looking. I was always on my guard lol. 
I don't remember most of the show because my goal was to speedrun it without crying or looking and that was mission accomplished. But, from my friends who were actually looking (who I threw into most of the scares), they report that it was incredibly well done. All of the actors were incredibly dedicated and in person and instantly singled me out as the weakest link and went for me, even when I tried to put on a brave face. Even my friend who doesn't get scared by haunted houses still thought it was extremely fun and would come again. And one of the most amazing parts was the fact that right after we made it out, another group followed us and we had never heard them, heard their screams, had any idea they were there. It was pretty incredible. All of the sets and experiences were well thought out and even though I went through most of it with my eyes closed and clutching the girl in front of me for dear life, I still enjoyed myself. 10/10 would do again if I had fresh underwear and a will to go on

Click here for more information
about The Freakshow And The Haunt At Bonesaw Mill.

Was this review helpful to you?      

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at