Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2010 Visitor Reviews Submitted by Jashuh

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
22 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Torment at Twelve Hundred (Orion, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/01/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This attraction is located in the middle of nowhere. Could be somewhat hard to find for the first time, but year after year it gets easier.

Wait Entertainment: On opening night they had the standard "Kirby" working the crowd and yes he does a good Yoda type voice.. In larger crowds I am sure they have line workers though, but I have never seen them.

Length of Event: 30 minutes throughout the event, half the attraction is exterior walking through the woods.

Actor Performance: All actors done a great job and stayed on character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The opening night we moved throughout the attraction seamlessly and I have never been bottlenecked here. They do a excellent job controlling the line movement in this event.

Appropriate Ages: I would say above 10 years old would be right.

Props / Special FX: The props are good, but stayed the same year after year. The new automation monster was great and closed out the event. I think every year the add something new to keep it interesting.

Costumes / Make-up: This attraction has some great make up people, no cheap masks here. The costumes are all detailed and everything looks great.

Summary: After years of going here, this is one of my staples. I really do look forward to attending here, and maybe the $12.00 isn't too bad this year. It seems the continue to make this a better attraction every year, you can't beat that! The introduction this year with a mad doctor popping green sits seemed weak, better work on a better plot next year. Also would like to see more action on the dark trail, nothing here... And yes, add a dimmer to those return trail lights, they are too bright. Overall rating here is good, a must see haunted attraction. And yes, the food is good too.

8 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Eleventh Hour (Elk Grove Village, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/29/10 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find - Bertholds Garden.

Wait Entertainment: Some monsters "creeps" walking throughout the crowds. Crazy nurse in a wheelchair being pushed around, she has been here the last several years - it's works!

Length of Event: It took about 30 minutes or a little more to get through the entire attraction, not too bad. We waited for maybe 40 minutes before being called.

Actor Performance: All the actors done a very good job and stayed on cue..

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The crowd flow was excellent, these people know how to maintain a good flow throughout without running into other groups, and this is a large draw attraction - the know what they are doing here!

Appropriate Ages: I think a 10 year old could handle and enjoy this without any problem.

Props / Special FX: Lots of good standard props and some added detail effects. No special effects to speak of and they should have some by now, the fog machines and strobe lights need more, I think some digital effects would really make this a 10 event!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up was excellent, same every year - these people are good at this. No detail was emitted here.

Summary: Every year we try to attend this attraction and it never let's us down, they do a very good job. The mineshaft was one of my favorite sets, however the "creatures of the corn" was interesting and fun - need more actors here and some chainsaws! The "catacombs" was my favorite house by far, lots of action and the sets were excellent throughout. Note that all 3 of the haunted houses are linked together so you flow from one to another smoothly, not too bad, same every year but it keeps the flow moving.. I would suggest that you buy tickets on line because it's quicker and cheaper.. I think the price here is a little high, but they do put a good attraction on here.

16 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Darkness Haunted Attraction (Pekin, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the Steve and Barry's sports old building. This large building is a good location and is easy to find, across from Wal Mart.

Wait Entertainment: Great wait entertainment here, Michael Myers (great actor) walk outside and throughout the doorways. Great clowns walk throughout the lines and entry points, very well done and great make-up job.

Length of Event: 15 minutes or a little more.

Actor Performance: All actors done a great job here and never broke character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow throughout the attraction moved along great and we never ran into another group, perfect job.

Appropriate Ages:  
I would say around 10 should be able to handle this.

Props / Special FX: Lots of great dressed rooms, some with great detail - cemetery might be the best here. I like the girl haunting the vortex tube - never seen this done before and it added greatly to the standard vortex effects - keep up the good work. The white room effects were good also. No high powered automation props but everything worked ok here.

Costumes / Make-up: Great make-up and costumes, doesn't get any better.

Summary: This attraction just keeps getting better each year, the only weak thing for me was the entry street walk, I liked last year introduction better. The actors do a excellent job throughout the attraction and put a lot into the effects to scary you, none broke character. Everything throughout the event worked great and the cemetary was very well done. I liked the white room and cemetary sets the best, lots to see here and the price of $8.00 was well worth it.

19 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Spider Hill (Chillicothe, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location has been the same since it started 9 years ago. It isn't hard to find located at Three Sisters Park.

Wait Entertainment: Lots of monsters walking around, some in character and some not.

Length of Event: The haunted house is around 15 minutes, the trail is around 15 minutes, and the hayrack ride maybe 15-20 minutes, but not all scare here.

Actor Performance: The actors are fair at best, needs some work here - lots of young children which isn't too scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow on all attractions moved along very well, no bottleneck except in the haunted house maze.

Appropriate Ages: Young people will be able to handle this haunted attraction, I would say 8 years old would have no problem here.

Props / Special FX: The props are a problem here, everything is dated. The hayrack ride props are the same old stuff year after year and lots of props no longer work - very weak here! The trail is better, but again for what they take it, it should have more automation and more going for it here. The haunted house is the main event here, most of the actors work here. The house has been put together good, but year after year the same stuff starts looking old, would like to see a better and redesigned haunted house.

Costumes / Make-up: Standard masks and costumes here, nothing new.

Summary: Overall this haunted attraction needs some major work, as stated before, everything looks old and used. This attraction draws good and should invest more money in updating the the props and automation effects. The hayrack ride is the worst by far with no real actors anymore and most of the props no longer work at all, you see motors and squirt hoses which no longer work. The trail has lots of potential but stays the same year after year, a few tweaks here and there but just nothing to stand out. The haunted house is fair and is interesting, but needs a facelift - same thing year after year. Overall this event might be good for someone new or someone who attends it every 6 years, but year to year people will lose interest here fast. This years $5.00 discount on wristbands was a good deal and keep the price for all events at $15.00. The hot air balloon was again a no show, last year and then again this year with no balloon, it's time to square with the customers that this isn't going to happen so people won't be false lead.

8 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Dream Reapers Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/29/10 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is the same every year, but this is easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Several monsters walking through the outside lines and others working the inside line. Projectors inside showing haunted images of the haunted house.

Length of Event: I took us about 15 minutes to get through the attraction, quick but a lot too see here.

Actor Performance: The actors all done an excellent job this year, but maybe numbers weak, I think they needed more people working this.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow through the event was seamless, we had no crowd up effect anywhere and this is a big draw event. I have never seen any crowd flow problems here.

Appropriate Ages: I think 10 years old could handle this event, there is some in your face scares.

Props / Special FX: Lots of great props throughout the attraction, but this year it did seem to me that there was less than previous years. No real special effects to talk about, they also need to add some.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up was excellent, they do know what they are doing here.

Summary: Overall, we try to attend this every year and this year was good, but just not enough bang-for- your-buck.. The people who put together this event were working on another Chicago event this year and it showed here. This is one of the best haunted attractions i'n Chicago and I hope they do more next year, some sets need a facelift and I think more of the profits need to be used on high tech stuff.. It's time to advance this haunted house to the next level to keep people interested more. We enjoyed our visit this year, but hope to see more next year.

9 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Lewistown Spook Trail (Lewistown, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Somewhat hard to find on the outskirts of Lewistown, but once your here you will remember next year. Need some bigger road signs next year, to get more attention.

Wait Entertainment: Not designed for wait entertainment. Lots of things for young kids to do while older people do the hayrack ride to the main haunted trail. Everything works good here, no problems.

Length of Event: The kid trail walk maybe 20 minutes around and the main haunted trail uphill maybe 20 minutes..

Actor Performance: All the monsters on the haunted trail (main) done a great job, everything went off exactly as set up and everybody stayed on cue.. (impressed me with this being the first year) and the kids trail was nice and enjoyable for the young. (well lite and monsters not scary here, a good job)

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No real heavy crowd this year (first year) but they have the space and the format here to handle a very large crowd. The flow around the kids trail is seamless and no problems could ever cause a flow problem.. The hayrack ride up the hill to the main haunted trail can control the flow and therefore no problem here either. Everything moved along great.

Appropriate Ages: All ages work here, the older trail maybe 8 years old..

Props / Special FX: Lots of good props on the main trail, no high priced stuff here but it's fun. The kids trail is setup with inflation pumpkins and lots of color lights, nice. Not designed for special effects.

Costumes / Make-up: The consumes and make-up was very good, didn't see any problems here. Now this isn't high priced costumes, but they work here.

Summary: This being the first year we wasn't expecting nothing, but wrong! These people done a great job, making it a family haunted attraction. The hayrack ride up the hill was good and the lighted stick man (yes stick man) was original and very well done. The haunted clowns done a great job and was one of my favorites here. As for the younger groups trail I walked it and too was very enjoyable (no scares) with lots of games, food, and prizes. The younger kids really enjoyed this attraction, and myself included. Note that both of these trails are paved, yes blacktop trails so rain will not mess-up this event. The kids trail open and well lite by generator lights and the haunted trail through the dark woods up the hill, doesn't get any better here. The only weak part here has to be the parking, there isn't a lot of room for parking and this someday might be a problem. Overall rating on this event is very enjoyable and yes (for fun) we'll stop by next year.

8 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Family Plot (Pekin, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/31/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This attraction is located on a residential home lot, however it isn't hard to get to and there is lots of parking on the block.. We noticed no sign markings at all, but this could be a zoning issue that they can't mark public streets with local residential haunted houses?

Wait Entertainment: There was a large monster walking throughout the crowd, he done a good job. We Also noticed several other creatures as we got closer to entering the outside attraction.

Length of Event: This event took us maybe 5 minutes, but lots of scares going on.

Actor Performance: All the actors done a very good job, one of the better jobs I noticed this year - yes..

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow throughout was seamless, we didn't meet another group until we exited the event. Very good flow!

Appropriate Ages: This is an event that all could enjoy, but I noticed young kids (6 years old) going into the attraction, however many we scared.

Props / Special FX: They had a good selection of props here and lots to see, very good for a residential house. I noticed props here that will haven't seen in high cost haunted house, other haunts could learn from these people. No major special effects, however great balance of light, fog, and strobe lights - well done!

Costumes / Make-up: The make-up, masks and the costumes were very well done, these people held their own with any event I saw this year - unbelievable job!

Summary: This was our first year here and we never though about attending this event because of its location (residential area) and the fact is doesn't cost you a dime (it's free) how could this be worth seeing, I totally missed this! Despite this being a small (5 minute) haunt, these people do an excellent job and totally funded with their own money - very nice touch for everyone. The main reason for my high rating isn't the size, but the quality and the workmanship these people do and all for free! We found ourself here wanting more and more of this event, the quality is rated as good as the best haunted houses in central Illinois, and yes it free! So, we closed out this year without a lot of high impact scares, but this made our day.. We will return next year and would suggest anyone looking for an enjoyable and yes scary attraction show up next year.

9 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Terror on the Square (Petersburg, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ After Midnight)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This old funeral home has been used for years and continues to do a good job at setting the mood. Easy to find i'n downtown Petersburg, you can see the line of people from the road.

Wait Entertainment: No real line entertainment here, the coffin simulator (cash box) is here and gets a lot of hits keeping the customers happy. A few Monsters looking out the windows upstairs above your head.

Length of Event: The attraction takes maybe 15 minutes to complete. The wait outside in line can takes hours, some people waited 2 hours just to enter.

Actor Performance: Everyone did a good job and stayed on cue throughout the event.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow through the haunted funeral home was very good, they keep the group size down and still continue to move people seamlessly from one room to another. This is a big draw event and you never run into another group - well done!

Appropriate Ages: I would say 8 to 10 years old kids could handle this event, lots of optical effects but no real blood or in your face scares.

Props / Special FX: They have good props here (used about every year) but the special effects are their trademark, they do a great job with this. You will not find better optical effects anywhere except Chicago or St. Louis. These people do a standout job here!

Costumes / Make-up: The consumes and make-up is well done and gets better every year, you don't see any cheap masks here.

Summary: We attend this event year year, with last year a little weak, this year made up for it. The major sets had a nice facelift and everything looked great, nice to see them give the attraction a new look and still keep the basic funeral home effect. This event has again became one of my favorite Halloween attraction, the new look and advanced optical effects really pulled this out. A must see event for anyone new and a very enjoyable attraction for the regulars. The price of $8.00 is very reasonable and well worth it. My only problem was that the end event was very weak and needs more, a projected face on a wall plate just doesn't make it! Also, my son enjoyed the casket ride (simulator effect) so I guess the cash box ride is a positive here, try it!

8 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Boo Crew Haunted House (Rochester, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/15/10 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This is located i'n Berry Illinois, can be somewhat hard to find your first and second time - they need much better road signs! We go here every year since it opened outside of Rochester 6 years ago or more.

Wait Entertainment: It doesn't get any better, they have lots of quality monsters walking throughout the attraction.

Length of Event: The event is around maybe 20 minutes long, but lots to see here i'n a short time.

Actor Performance: The actors did a great job throughout the attraction, lots of people working this event and it didn't let up from start to finish.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow throughout it usually good without running into another group, but this year we ran into another group twice in the event - bad timing here and it's hard to find out why.. The group flow at the beginning was great and somewhere i'n the middle crowd slowed, we waited it out two times..

Appropriate Ages: I would say around 9 or 10 years old would be ok here, but there is a scare factor - some younger kids could have a problem with this.

Props / Special FX: Lots of automation pop props, great surrounding throughout the event and the timing was good. No real special FX effects, but lots to see here.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up was great, no small detail was emitted. These people know the make-up and what they are doing is nice.

Summary: This is one of those must see attractions and for central Illinois it is one of the best haunted houses around. The price of $8.00 is excellent and for what they put into this, a good deal.. The remote 
surroundings, the large building, 
The great detailed haunted house effects And workmanship make this a must see event . 
attraction. The best scare this year  
has to be the clown area and the  
swamp room, lots of great detail  
here and the missed nothing. The  
new "tight" areas were good too..

7 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted Theater - Redneck Rampage (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in downtown Auburn, small town and not hard to find. Some street signs also helping to get you here.

Wait Entertainment: In line entertainment wasn't too bad, a couple of creatures walking around - however we later saw these same guys in the attraction, would like to see more characters here.

Length of Event: I would say about 15 minutes in the actual event and our wait in to enter maybe 20 minutes, 10 minutes outside and 10 minutes at the seated theater of the funeral..

Actor Performance: All the characters stayed on track and continued throughout the event.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow throughout the event moved along great and we had no other group troubles.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 9 years old could handle this attraction ok. There are some light in your face scares but nothing to bad.

Props / Special FX: There are some good props here, but standard stuff, nothing too automation here. The FX effects were interesting with the girls head on a table nice, but the gunshot girl in chair just didn't seem all the scary. I think last years smashed head effect worked a little better, maybe next year.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were fair to good, nothing too detailed. The old woman working the theatre funeral was good and costume excellent, like this new introduction. The masks and make-up wasn't too bad, they used good quality masks here.

Summary: Every year we attend both Auburn events and look forward to them. This haunted theatre always does a great job and this year no exception, a great job. The new funeral intro was much better than the old movie playing year after year, much better! The walk throughout the basement event is always great, just the feeling of walking down those stairs sets up a good mood every year. The basement was great and we enjoys some of the new stuff that was added. Everyone was ready, however some of the auto timers were off a little. A good time overall and the price wasn't bad.

8 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Hollis House of Pain (Mapleton, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This event was somewhat hard to find even with the signs the had posted, small print on white cards, hard to see at night. We noticed the flashing strobe and lighted faceplate of the event from down the hill, hidden up on the hill.

Wait Entertainment: Nothing here to speak of.. We didn't notice much waiting entertainment if any, but we had little wait.

Length of Event: Maybe 10 to 12 minutes.

Actor Performance: For the first year these guys done a fair job, too many young kids here.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everything moved along good, but no real crowd test here.

Appropriate Ages: 8 years old should have no problem here, younger kids might enjoy - no in your face scare here.

Props / Special FX: For the first year we have standard props, nothing that stands out. Strobe lights, color lights, and basic sets.

Costumes / Make-up: Everything I noticed was masks, no make up to speak of. The costumes was standard, but this is the first run here.

Summary: This being the first year and with a limited budget the fire fighters done a fair job. I think they need a better location and a larger house, just wasn't that impressed here - the large lighted faceplate monster was nice. The event seemed a little costly to me $7.00 for a first run haunted house is high and the bang-for-the-buck just seemed weak here, maybe $5.00.. The kid games just weakened the scare factor here, coming out of a haunted house and in the backyard of kids toss-and-throw game just doesn't make it.. The have some good people here and a great idea, but this event needs some tweeking. Hope to see something next year with more punch behind it..

9 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Spook Hollow (Marquette Heights, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located on the hill at Marquette Heights, signs well posted at turn. This location is the same every year and it's a good one, doesn't get any better.

Wait Entertainment: Lots of good wait entertainment, all types monsters roam throughout the lines... We had "fire" entertainment during the start, however most of the line creature fade-out as the night goes on and on and on...

Length of Event: The actual time of the haunted house is 15 minutes, the time of the haunted trail 35 minutes, and the waiting line to get i'n 5 hours, yes 5 HOURS!

Actor Performance: Most of the actors stayed on cue, however they too got bored throughout the event and by closing dome where on cell phones or paused out behind fences and backdrop, sad!! Like the crowd they were burnt out after hours of performance..

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Real problems here, lots of bottlenecks, lots of waiting lines throughout the event (yes even after a 5 hour standard line wait) and monsters actually "rushing" people through the mazes just to get more people bottled up behind and i'n front of them.. This is the worst crowd control that I have ever seen at a local haunted attraction, and totally disrupted the mood of the event! Even attraction in Chicago and St. Louis 
that we attend don't have this much trouble!

Appropriate Ages: No real in your face stuff noticed on our event, I would say 8 years old or more.

Props / Special FX: Some new props this year, including some automation and more detailed surroundings in the haunted house. No special optical effects at all, and at this price there should be!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up was great, these people do an excellent job here. The make-up is as good as any haunted event in the state, it doesn't get any better.

Summary: Problems here... We look forward to Spook Hollow ever year and so do thousands of others, but this year they stuck-out.. The larger trail was nice, the new trail maze great, and some of the added details were good, but overall the jammed up crowds (bottlenecks) and continued waiting throughout took all the pace and excitement out of the event fast... After waiting 5 hours just to get into the entry, then we walked 200 feet just to wait in another line for 15 minutes.. We had a total of 5 waiting lines throughout this entire event and like others were very upset at this stop action from one point to another. Now comes the price of a $20.00 charge to attend this event, an increase of $8.00 from last years $12.00. The $20.00 is way (far) too much for this attraction, "Fright Night" located in St. Louis Includes 7 events of high tech props and costs $20.00 - this gives you an idea of bang-for-your-buck... The crowd this year on opening night was large just to see what major steps were taken go justify the cost increase and it just didn't live up the hype.. The speed pass at $10.00 extra was a joke, it just line jumps you ahead on the 5 lines throughout the attraction and totally breaks the fright mood as people say "speed pass" throughout the events! I can't image paying $30.00 to attend this! For years I have looked forward to the Spook Hollow at Marquette Heights, but this year they got off track.. They need to go back and break-up the haunted house event and the trail event, get the admission price reasonable again, and get some help managing groups. There was NO reason to group the haunted house (the past lower draw event) with the haunted trail (the main event) because waiting lines break-up the flow anyway and the added cost just isn't worth it.. This was a sad year because of all the problems, but if you fork out the $30.00 a ticket (crazy) for a quicker run and have some luck with other grouping flow, you will enjoy this!

7 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted House (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in downtown Auburn, not hard to find. This is a major event for this town (2 houses and free hayrack ride) would like to see large lighted road sign, but you can find them if you know to look.

Wait Entertainment: No real line entertainment at the Haunted House, nice camp fires, and good food available.. You can do other things around town while you wait for your group to be called - nice!

Length of Event: Maybe 15 minutes. We waited about one hour and a half before our group was called, but we walked to the Haunted Theatre and took the hayrack ride, time went quick!

Actor Performance: All the actors done a great Job and stayed on cue throughout the attraction.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow of our group of 5 went without any problems at all, they control the flow throughout this attraction and you never run into another group here..

Appropriate Ages: Our group including a young boy (Curtis) who was around 8 years old and he didn't have too much trouble.. I would say around 8 to 10 years old depending on their scare factor..

Props / Special FX: Lots of good standard props here, a few extra pop props, all timing was great.. No real special effects to speak of.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up was great, these people do a very good job with this every year, no detail was emitted here!

Summary: A great evening here, with two separate haunted events and a free hayrack ride around Auburn (ride went maybe 10 miles or more) back roads. The haunted house was very enjoyable and every year has a different story line around it.. Lots of great work here, these people work hard to keep the groups spaced out and everything and every scare right on time. The actors within the house never let up, the keep everything going.. This years new wine celler which goes completely crazy with you inside was great, my favorite. The ending inside the house was very weak, hope they work more on this. Would also like to see them use more of the house, most of the main floor and upstairs area are not used (small side on the main floor and the basement are used every year) this could be a major player if they used more of the house.. Good scare factor here with the monsters communicating with you as each room stories continue. The little girl with the forks in he hands did a good job too!  
Just a note to thank the hayrack ride people (not contracted by this event) for one of the best rides and most enjoyable I have ever had - and free!

7 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Fright Night (Forest City, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the small little town of Forest City, not marked very good however you can find it. Every year we attend this event and it can still take us a street or two to find it. Slow down going through the town, local police watch speeders close.

Wait Entertainment: The have very good wait entertainment every year. This years white zombie girl, butcher, and twig girl was interesting. Watch out, the butcher guy is very involved in his part.

Length of Event: The event usually takes a good amount of time to go through, this year we covered a little over 2 hours here. The main house and trail was around 20 minutes. The second house and trail was maybe 20 minutes or a little more. The hayrack ride around the little town was maybe 8 minutes.

Actor Performance: Most of the characters were very well done, the best for me was leather face with his chainsaw. Some of the younger girls (more than I really like) were off on their timing and somewhat load and hard to believe as monsters.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: For the first year ever we had some major troubles here. The main house we had several bottleneck issues, even once toward the end we got into a back room that jointed into other attraction rooms - major design flaw, but there was a bottle of booze close by..??..the hair lover had skipped out no doubt sick!!! Very weak end to the first house! The second house and trail was much better, but again on the trail they had a design flaw near the mesh wire walking path! We noticed that several of the actors were off timing on the second event also, the young girls before entering the house was asleep before they noticed us.. The flying guy outside house two was interesting, but could use a higher base with hanging cords to add more to the effect. The hayrack ride was fun and listening to the woman build up the effects of actual haunts in the houses was interesting at best.. They even have assembled a ghost hunters group outside house two to show you computer sound bits of monsters and spirits talking along with a couple video clips of the spirits in the basement, lots of good fun here to add to this attraction - and people did enjoy this. This year was a bigger attraction, but for week three the movement in the events should have been much better and seamless, we got bottlenecked several times and had to wait for the setting to clear - not good.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10 years at least here, there is some physical monsters here and lots of in hour face scary stuff..

Props / Special FX: The props are good here, but nothing high technical or high money involved. The props they use are all standard items, blades, chainsaws, and foam floors.. No special effects to speak of, but they could use them bad.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes are all very good to good and the masks are the main scare here, little make-up on the zombies and the little girls.

Summary: We have attended this haunted attraction every year since it started, we seen the big event in the city park to the no show year, to the now getting back to greatest slowly.. Every year this attraction is getting better now, everything good however the is some tweaking needed now. The haunted house one had some set design flaws that gave us and others trouble. The second haunted house and trail had problems with design flaws too, the fence wire entrance way was a mess, people didn't know what to do? Some of the younger children was off key, the second house basement girls were almost asleep here! The hayrack ride was good and the woman building up the event with stories of actual haunts in both houses to add more suspense seemed to work, lots of the people were going for this - it worked great! The tent with actual ghost hunters was fun too, this even build up more suspense and interest in two old houses, everything worked great. These guys had the computer laptop with sound clips of ghosts talking and video clips with spirits moving throughout the basement and house - great planning here! Overall this is a must see haunted attraction and just needs a little work here and there to make it seamless. The basement monster collection is fun and the food looked to be good. The arm bands should be sold every week for unlimited times, most people wanted to take another go through on one of the houses. I think things should have been smoother the third week into this, but everyone enjoyed it including myself, so who cares! See you next year!

6 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Gilson Haunted House (Gilson, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/01/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located every year in a old school house with multiple floors and a basement area, doesn't get much better than that.

Wait Entertainment: On opening night we went straight in without line, but some monsters are available for line working here.

Length of Event: Maybe 20 minutes throughout the attraction, the maze would be a time consumer here. The maze can be hard for the first time, but after years of doing it (doesn't change much if any) I mastered it easy. They also have people (guides) working the maze to keep people more confused here and making it more time consuming.

Actor Performance: The actors done a good job, could maybe use more people with this larger attraction, but it worked for us. Everyone stayed in character and done a good job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everything moved along good, but opening night we had no crowd to deal with also. The maze is the only place you will have a bottleneck effect and there is no way to prevent that here, they like that.

Appropriate Ages: I would say anyone above 10 years could handle this attraction ok.

Props / Special FX: The props have stayed the same year after year, they should put a little more into the house every year, but this year I couldn't see it. The 3d room with the glasses stayed the same every year and is now getting old. The vortex tunnel spinning entry dial is gone and the upstairs crank ghost has vanished. Some extra work to facelift this might help next year, it needs some added tweaking.

Costumes / Make-up: The constumes are simple masks and basic stuff, nothing to stand out here. It works for them, but simple here.

Summary: This attraction is located in the perfect building, but needed some extra work this year to facelift everything to the next level. The house stays too much the exact same every year, and this event could easily be reworked. The 3d is no longer interesting and now maybe weakens the scary factor. If this is your first time here you will love it, but repeaters might find things getting old after a time.

6 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Clinton's Terror on Washington Street (Clinton, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/30/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located on Washington Street in the small town of Clinton.. Easy to find, but we have been here before.

Wait Entertainment: No real wait entertainment we noticed, however tv monitor shows others inside the house - same as every year. We used a speed pass here to avoid long line wait.

Length of Event: The actual event took 15 minutes. Normal line wait maybe 1 hour, but we used speed pass here.

Actor Performance: Everyone did a good job, nothing above the rim here but everyone stayed on their mark.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow throughout the house was good, we had a group get behind us toward the end.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10 years old could handle this attraction.

Props / Special FX: The overall props were ok, but they could use more - the house didn't seem as well put together as years past. The new "white room" was good, but could have been more on length. This event needs more attention next year!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes, make-up and masks were ok, but again more detail needs to be put into this. Some of the actors were in too much street dress here.

Summary: The Clinton people have for years been putting on this event and usually do a great job, but this year everything seemed very weak. The new Frankenstein room was a nice touch, but too little and too late. Also; the actors are weak i'n numbers this year, they need more people working this event. The speed pass got around the line, but at that cost we were expecting much more.. I hope next year they get back to what made this event a stand-out. The entire haunted house could use a facelift, too much of the same stuff every year. This house has great possibilities but they need more.

6 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: 217 Terror Haunted House (Roodhouse, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, slightly below Jacksonville Illinois...

Wait Entertainment: No wait in line entertainment, no waiting line at all.. We went straight into the house..

Length of Event: Maybe 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors did a good job and all stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow throughout the house was good except for the upper level, we had to wait until another group cleared the stairway before we could continue our exit, this bottleneck did take away from the scare factor.

Appropriate Ages: I would say anyone 10 could handle this haunted attraction.

Props / Special FX: The prop were good, but no high priced items here. Lots of basic store bought items with a little tweek here and there. Most of the house is stocked with the basic items, no high scare automation props here.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were all good, most standard wardrobe here. Would like to see more detail used here.

Summary: This was our first year of going to this haunted attraction and it wasn't too bad. I would like to see more detail put into this attraction, the house itself looks good and sets up the mood very well.. I think more soundtrack would make this much better, it lacks a lot here. The outside short walk isn't too much, it needed more real actors and a better more reliable chainsaw. For next year I would like to see a little more put into the scare factor here.

3 out of 8 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Shotgun Manor 2010: Vengeance (Sullivan, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/30/10 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located on the town square, this isn't hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: We didn't noticed much wait entertainment, but the time was late.. The was some crazy guy walking around talking to the crowd outside, but nothing great.

Length of Event: It took us around 15 minutes in line (late night) and 15 minutes throughout the event..

Actor Performance: All the actors done a fair job, but too many young kids here. The actors done a fair job to keep everyone interested, but jumping out and screaming isn't too much here.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good and we ran into no others inside the event.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 8 years old could handle this haunted house without any problem..

Props / Special FX: Somewhat light on props, they need to put more into this event. No special effects!

Costumes / Make-up: This house was mostly masks, the costumes were ok.

Summary: This attraction needs some work next year.. The haunted house has a fair location, however it seems to quickly assembled, no real set detail here. The haunt is make up of people in masks jumping out at you as you walk throughout halls in the event, needs more room settings. The new mermaid was ok, but not enough to give a scare factor here.. The overall event seemed weaker this year than last year! I think more adults are needed here, children with masks just don't make it. Also; noted that the storyline of this haunt has nothing to do with what you see experience as you walk through.

4 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Realm of Terror (Round Lake Beach, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/29/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not hard to find and overall good location, would like to see a larger building used. Well marked and signed, not too bad!

Wait Entertainment: Good wait entertainment, however line not too bad tonight and moved along well. Maybe 2 monsters walking the lines, good concessions.

Length of Event: Maybe 15 to 20 minutes, maze took a little time.

Actor Performance: Everyone seemed to be on cue and they done a good job, but would like to have more "scare" put into the acting..

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everything moved along well, however they do have beer here and some people maybe enjoy the time a little more than they should, a few slow people ahead of us - I would like to have seen less people drunk here..

Appropriate Ages: Maybe 10-12 years old here, also adults drunk or over-drinking makes it hard to younger children here..

Props / Special FX: Lots of good props, no special effects to speak of. Decent sets and lots of work put into everything.

Costumes / Make-up: The consumes were good and the make-up not too bad, could have maybe been more detail put into several of the actors.

Summary: Overall, not too bad of haunted house here, but they have some work to do before I call next year, dome major tweaking needed on several of the sets.. Would like to see more actors too, but for this size of attraction would be more punch to it, seemed somewhat weak! The maze was ok, but not that hard to master, we took about 3 minutes maybe.. The crazy ward was the best, lots of good detail here, this is a good set, but other rooms need work.. We didn't get exactly the scare factor here that we thought - pass.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2018 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at