Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2010 Visitor Reviews Submitted by Nightsticker

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
18 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Decatur Jaycees Haunted House (Forsyth, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The mall was easy to find, but which door to enter was not. No signage on the doors.

Wait Entertainment: saw a monster roaming.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Excellent. They were on cue and did not just go for the first one in the group.The clown girl was a stand out. The scream guy flew out at us!! NICE!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did run into multiple groups, BECAUSE WE WERE SO DISORIENTED and lost, hard to complain about that.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Excellent props, they really improved the sets this year!

Costumes / Make-up: good combination of masks and make- up

Summary: Please go see this, we were all impressed with a job well done. well executed sets with good timing by the actors.the dark maze and crawl really mess with your mind and direction.I floated between giving and 8 or a 9 and went with the nine..a job well done.

12 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted Theater - Redneck Rampage (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: downtown Auburn. Don't need to now much more when town is this small.

Wait Entertainment: Band of children rockers! A few monsters roaming.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Good actors. Hoof man is gross!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: The usual fair..forrest, dungeon..car was a nice touch.. I did like the head on the table at the end!!

Costumes / Make-up: Combo masks and make up..all appropriate.

Summary: Enjoyed the house once able to get in..chaos in front of the building. I did not know which line to get in. When I finally figured it out, got up to the window, asked for my Speed Pass they denied me. We did not drive as far as we did to get stuck in Auburn and miss the rest of our haunted evening. Unfortunately that is what happened. This is the 3rd year visiting this house, the 1st year their was some problem with them figuring out how to do a speed pass. 2nd year went great..3rd year..welcome back to chaos and mayhem..and not of the haunted kind. This place needs to get the functionality of the Haouse together!! As we left the house, there was a man screaming at the ticket girl over the same situation..get it str8nd out.......

10 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Fear Factory Haunted House (Rantoul, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/15/10 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Seeems like we never have a problem finding it.

Wait Entertainment: Large Large Large Jason!!!!!!

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Stand outs were definintely the stilt walkers and leatherface!! They were great...other wise..lots of kids screaming in our ears.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Guided...ugh...so never met up with anyone. Had to wait at the "slide" right in the beginning.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: 3-D neat touch..but the glasses didnt fit and kept falling off. Our guide said that has "happened all night". Good detailed sets!!

Costumes / Make-up: Masks and costumes are done very well.

Summary: 3-D for an extra $5...helped with the experience, but this is not a $15.00 haunted house, nor $25.00 for a speed pass. If you are going to offer a 3-D experience..offer it. As I returned the glasses into a bag..I thought I hope they sterilized them??..icky. 
The actors really put out an effort, a couple creepy little girls did a good job..they were one of the few that did not scream in our ears. We stop into Rantoul to visit both houses and will return next year...consistent..all the way down to the rude guy who takes tickets every year.

15 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted House (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: downtown Auburn..sure to find.

Wait Entertainment: Creepy..creepy carney belly dancers. One was Amazonian the other tiny and rotundish with what looked to be a bear suit under her costume we could not tell..odd...but very creepy!!!

Length of Event: Timed it>> 10 minutes. (The door guys told us 15-20)HMMMM?

Actor Performance: Outstanding!!!!!!!! The actors take the show!!!! Prison guard..torturing woman..voodoo woman..and most def>>the bartender were all stand outs!(The door man said the actors were required to be professionally trained in acting classes) HMMMM?

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not run into any groups. The actors control the flow once inside, and they only let a group in every 3-4 minutes.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Each room of the "Bayou" extremely well done. A couple times I felt like I was part of a horor movie. Wine room fantastic. The Cabin room made me scream!!

Costumes / Make-up: Very well done..all actors fit the rooms and looked amazing. (The door man told us that the make up is done by a professionally trained make up Artist from Paramount studios) HMMM?

Summary: Always loved Auburn in the past, and still enjoyed the house.They have got to get this line thing figured out. We travel to several Haunted Houses in a weekend. We do not mind spending extra to get through quicker. Places to go places to be..we are not about hanging around the town all evening, and yet this is the only haunt on our tour that sticks us every year. It is now becoming a problem, and I do not feel like recommending or attending next year. If you have a bus tour coming through, my guess is you know about it!? Share the info on your website. It's a shame, because I think they run the inside of the house well!! (Maybe they should get a professional crowd management team from Madison Square Gardens) HMMM?

15 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Shotgun Manor 2010: Vengeance (Sullivan, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Get your self to the downtown square...no problem.

Wait Entertainment: Binky, Binky,Binky...that poor man, friendly as he may appear...truly has some issues!

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: These guys work real hard!! "set my dolly free" girl was outstanding,,super creepy! The guy up in the rafters ..hardest working actor in the haunt.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we did not run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: The house was put together well..no real stand out rooms, yet consistent with the theme of the house.

Costumes / Make-up: Interesting make-up..I had to look twice at a couple of the actors..some of it was simply wrong..in a good way!! Some masks.

Summary: This was my first time and really enjoyed the haunt. The actors give you 100%.They make Shotgun Manor worth the visit. There is a "goofy" quality to some of the characters that was entertaining.The haunt just kind of ends with out an attempt of a finale.

13 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Downs Haunted House (Downs, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: When you go to the park to get your ticket , you are treated to a hay ride to the haunted house.

Wait Entertainment: Monsters scaring the crowd..zombie girl roaming and roaming.

Length of Event: 5 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors really give their all. Well done! They ALL stayed in character...one of the most important aspects for success.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were guided, so we did not run into a group. We were also the first group in after a short break.

Appropriate Ages: 7+

Props / Special FX: Toxic room, clown room, nice detail. Air gun in the dark maze..always good for a jump! Last room..great recipe for a scare!!

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks.

Summary: For $2.00 this is the best deal in the haunt circuit. Hot dogs 50 cents..good homemade treats..The city of Downs does a mighty fine job with what they have to work with. We had a great time, and jumped more then once. The tree guy did an outstanding job. There is some opportunity for a scare in the clown room....but I will never be critical because of the price and what this offers the community. The added hay ride through the cemetary...great fun! Nice job Downs..keep it up, you should be very proud!

12 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Ashmore Estates - No Mercy General Hospital (Ashmore, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Asylum sits out in the middle of no where. There is a big sign directing you down the road.

Wait Entertainment: Lots of actors millling around during the rotaion of breaks.

Length of Event: 25 minutes

Actor Performance: Every actor stayed in character.."hoo hoo" guy in the maze was fun, scary, and made the event for our group. Our friends that were spilt off did not have him in the maze, and did not enjoy the house as much as our group.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: If you ran into a group the actors quickly held you. Even in the dark confuaing maze.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: There were a few detailed rooms, the Asylum itself has so many creepy things about it you don't need much. The moving room..a great scare!

Costumes / Make-up: good combination of masks and make-up...there are a ton of actors.

Summary: The drive up to the Asylum was daunting. The creep factor of the building is great. There is an uneasy feeling walking through the haunt, but uneasy, not really scary. Most of the rooms had actors, playing the roles quite well, with different "medical" issues, and creepy Doctors. Most of the time the scenes do not have a scare, just visually creepy. The confusion of the dark maze gave us more scares then the actual house. Bring the coupon with you!!

12 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Rantoul Haunted Dungeon - (Rantoul, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/15/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: downtown on the square....easy!

Wait Entertainment: A few roaming monsters

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Fantastic! In your face..sick and wrong!!! Demented!! Clown crwiling..gross...black masked criminal following me in the maze whispering " Do you want to play with me?"..ugh!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into another group

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: This place is disturbing on it's own. Dank creepy basement..very uneasy..actually feel like you may be murdered.

Costumes / Make-up: Masks and make up..all well done..very sick....loved it. The autopsy..gross....the bathtub...argh!!!!

Summary: What I love about this haunted house....it is a scare house!!!! They send you in and impending doom is upon you. Our group looks forward to this house every year, and it just gets creepier, sicker, which to us means better. The loud music and actors jumping from all sides...and not screaming in your ears...but scaring the heck out of you!!!! Unfortunately, part 2 of our group were disappointed because the actors went on break b4 they got out of the house!! Glad we were in front. Awesome job!!!!!

10 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Spook Hollow (Marquette Heights, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Nice big lighted sign off main road directing you to the park.

Wait Entertainment: Lots of stuff going on here. Stage spook show..roaming monsters, concessions.

Length of Event: 45 minutes

Actor Performance: The millions of actors all were in character and put out a great effort.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we ran into groups frequently..but then we are seperated again..I think they do the best they can with such a long haunt.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: outstanding. So much to look at!

Costumes / Make-up: great use of both masks and make up..so many actors, I can only imagine how difficult this must be to arrange.

Summary: Spook Hollow has always been a favorite..think I have given them 9's in the past. They ramped this year up to be bigger and better. The house is better, great scenery and some outstanding in your face scares...lost in the mazes..nice touch. Then on to the woods...the triple chainsaw..nice touch..the Zombie house..well done...These guys are masters of diversion. Using the creep factor of the woods helps, but the lighting placement makes it impossible to see the scares..but I have to say....the most impressive daunting room is the Leatherface room..entering from the far side...in a narrow hallway with slats to see the back of Leatherface (who was incredible..MVP award) working on something. I actually felt like I was in the movie. Then, when you make it around to him..come on....it was just not right! I loved it!!!!

5 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Clinton's Terror on Washington Street (Clinton, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Clinton is a very small town and the road is all blocked off. Just find Washington St.

Wait Entertainment: A very tall ghoul

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Over all good actors. Could have used a few more, some real missed opportunities to scare. The girl at the bottom of the stairs as well as the insane laughing boy on the chair..very very good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we did not un into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Lots of pictures, which helped confuse the scares. Some very good props and scenery.

Costumes / Make-up: good combination of masks and makeup..check out the face on the girl watching TV.

Summary: Clinton is always consistent. We go every year. Waiting for the year they have a "big" scare, always a good effort. The added white maze with the strobes was a nice addition which gave a feeling of length to the house.

4 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Darkness Haunted Attraction (Pekin, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's in a mall. We cam up the backway because we kina knew where it was..did not see any signage.

Wait Entertainment: Hearse out front...3 maniacle clowns working the crowd. They did a very good job!

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Mostly kids..Zombies..excellent!!!!!! Carnival kids were great!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: a group ran into us and stayed until the end with us..hate that...the actors should help control with in.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Really enjopyed the rooms and smells..cotton candy in the carnival..incense in the voodoo room..

Costumes / Make-up: I really enjoyed their make up..all scenes appropriately outfitted with good characters

Summary: I like what these guys do. The scenery is great.The loud bangs of metal on metal..adds to the creep factor. The cemetary fantastic..the zombies knocked it out of the park...voodoo room and voodoo gal very good. I really liked the asylum and the carnival..the kid on the ground was all over the place..I liked the themes and the actors really seemed to get into the rolls..my only wish for this haunt is a bit darker and a bit longer..There was a missed opportunity to actually scare in the white maze, the kids in hockey masks were neat..but they could have gone for a scare at some point.over all,,,well done and worth the price of $8.00 admission.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2019 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at