Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com – Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2010 Visitor Reviews Submitted by babyripken

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
17 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Realm of Terror (Round Lake Beach, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/03/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right off Rollins Road, easily indicated with signs and lights.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was good, a wide variety of ghouls that varied in personality.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors were great, stayed in character throughout the rooms and even followed a little bit.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not many people were there, so flow was great.

Summary: Overall, I thought it was a good house, but I feel it was less scary than last year's house. It went with a theme this year of a hospital/asylum, which worked in terms of gore throughout the rooms, but every room seemed the same. The added bonus of the strobe light maze is still entertaining, unfortunately a little too easy to get through for my taste, but I understand many people really don't like strobe lights throughout a maze.

9 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Saint Pascal Haunted House (Chicago, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right off Irving Park road, west of Austin.

Wait Entertainment: They had some creepy guys scaring the patrons, one of the people looked like an escaped mental patient that was really creepy.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Good, mostly children volunteers in masks.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ended up catching up to the group in front of us, which I believe mad emy score lower.

Summary: The last couple of years, this has been one of the better houses, this year it wasn't as good. They end up putting the house in the basement of the school, which adds the atmosphere, hence the high school for the spookiness, but it wasn't that scary. I also believe there was something going on that night, because two security guards ran by my group at one point, but I am not sure what had happened. But, overall, it is still a great neighborhood haunt, and I think a lot of the people in the area end up having a good time at the haunt.

16 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Evil Intentions Haunted House (Elgin, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/24/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's off the main streets in Elgin, but there are a lot of signs and lighting to show you the way.

Wait Entertainment: There were several scary people, very large and intimidating.

Length of Event: 30 minutes

Actor Performance: Really good, they were very scary, and great doing the pop out.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the first people in after the actor break, so we didn't run in to anyone.

Summary: I really like this house. It's set up in a warehouse, which helps add to the atmosphere. There are also a lot of rooms which end up being very scary, and a lot mazes. One of the maze areas had these two little kids made up and they would follow you through that area. They were very creepy. My favorite aspect of the house is that, there are so many different maze areas, that you end up not going through the whole house. There are several different ways to go through parts of the house, I feel I would like to go back and try to find a different way through the house. The actors are really good at hiding in the rooms and scaring you. One of the scariest and moodiest houses.

10 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Dream Reapers Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/10/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right off of North Ave. with signage throughout.

Wait Entertainment: There were several actors throughout the line scaring people, and they had a coffin that, if you paid extra, I believe, you could sit in and it would shake around while you were inside of it.

Length of Event: 30 minutes

Actor Performance: Really good, very scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Moved smoothly throughout.

Summary: Dream Reapers is always an entertaining haunt, with a lot of scary creatures, great pop outs, and the rooms look very convincing as well. There is a lot of variety to the rooms, and all of the actors really want to scare you. The maze parts are very good, lots of twists and turns, and enjoyed all the creatures. I also enjoyed the "Bait and Switch," where you would think a creature was going to pop out from one area, and would actually pop out from another place. A lot of rooms haven't changed much over the last several years, but they are still very good, and Dream Reapers never diasppoints.

8 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Ditka Haunted Mansion & Asylum 13 (Bolingbrook, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/21/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right off the main road, easily lit so you can find the place.

Wait Entertainment: There was a guy walking around on springy stilts, which could make him bound after you very quickly. Also, there was an inside waiting area that, for some reason, had an area with a chicken coop with live chickens.

Length of Event: 25 minutes

Actor Performance: Really good, the women who were in my group got followed by the actors seevral times, they really liked scaring people.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No one else was in the house, so it was easy.

Summary: Overall, I really enjoyed this house. There was a great maze aspect that had many twists and turns, with several great pop outs. The rooms themselves had some great fx in them as well. My favorite part had come after a very dark maze, you went inside a room that was blinding white, with several actors popping out at you. Right after, you go back to a pitch black maze which was very disorienting. There was also a great fence maze that had many false exits, with many actors following you and trying to confuse you. I had a lot of fun at this house.

24 out of 40 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Eleventh Hour (Elk Grove Village, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/03/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Plenty of signage around the area, easily seen from the street.

Wait Entertainment: Not bad, but I feel it would have been better if there was a bigger crowd. I went through everything essentially by myself, so I bet a lot of the actors were in the houses.

Length of Event: 30 minutes if you do all three houses, as well as the corn maze.

Actor Performance: Really good, one guy followed me throughout the corn maze, and the ones in the houses had really good make up and were very scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flying solo, so no one else was in the houses.

Summary: First off, there are three different houses and a corn maze. The corn maze, although in a small area, was really well done and very confusing. The first house seems the same as last year, but it is still really well done. The second one was in a farm, and wasn't as scary, but I feel that was due to going in late on a Sunday, I expected a few more actors in that room. The third house was a maze that you can easily get lost in, like I did. The first half of it is pitch black with plastic strips hanging down, and the second half you go through a laser light show that easily confuses you with the lighting. There is an added bonus that if you buy a ticket for the whole thing, you can come back for free on Wednesday or Thursday, and I will definitely take them up on that offer!!

10 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Doom Haunted Factory (Zion, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/15/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Lots of signage, very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: There were several actors scaring the patrons, and I love the giant animatronic creature that looks like it's eating a person.

Length of Event: 45 minutes if you do the whole thing.

Actor Performance: Really good, they were very scary throughout all the houses.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Went very smoothly, didn't really run in to anyone.

Summary: First off, I have to say I did the deluxe package which included the buried alive part of the house. I have to say this was one of my favorite houses I hve gone to this year. There were a lot of twists and turns throughout this house, and there are places were you sometimes have to crawl on your hands and knees to get through part of the houses, and the buried alive part was great. They ended up dropping about four feet of plastic balls on you, and, at least where I was laying down, an actor pressed down on the balls on top of me, scaring me even more. The other part of the house becomes a scary hospital, which becomes a maze at the end that was very confusing to get through. Overall, one of the best I have been to this year.

8 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Statesville Haunted Prison® (Crest Hill, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/21/10 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right off Weber Road, with plenty of signage and lighting to let you know where the house is.

Wait Entertainment: Really good, they employ a lot of people who just hang around the lines scaring all the people.

Length of Event: 40 minutes

Actor Performance: Really good, very convincing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not the greatest due to the large amount of people at the house. Several times during the houses we had to stop and wait in line to make sure all the groups stay seperate.

Summary: Let me start out by saying every aspect of the house is top notch. The actors and make up is amazing, and the special effects and animatronics are, by far the best I have ever seen. The only problem is that the houses are not that scary. Maybe due to the large groups going through the houses, or because of the configuration of the houses, there are very little pop outs in the houses. Most of the houses go from room to room with very little maze aspects, which I also enjoy. I went in with a family that included a 10 year old boy, and two fourteen year old girls and they said that they enjoyed the house, but it wasn't very scary.

11 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Disturbia Torment of Fears (Addison, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/17/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right off of Lake Street very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: One guy scaring people, but I really enjoyed the second waiting area, which was a large room with spider webs hanging down all over the place, with an awesome light show going through the webs,

Length of Event: 30 minutes

Actor Performance: Really good, especially chainsaw guy chasing you out the exit

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: With the maze like aspect of the house you end up running in to different people.

Summary: This house starts out with one of the most scary aspects of a house I have been to so far this year. They seperate you from the rest of your group, by doing what I call the "Birth Canal," which is the giant air bags on either side that you have to squeeze through to get to the other side. Then, after that, there is another set of them that is one the longest versions of this than I have ever seen, which leads in to a maze of them that gets very confusing, and I have to say freaked me out a little, especially went you get a group of you together in a small area. Most of the rest of the house becomes your standard house, but it gives you choices on which parts of the houses to go through to get out. I feel that the second half of the house was built for the "pitch black" house that they are doing on Halloween night, because it wasn't that scary, but seemed to be a great maze in the dark.

10 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Psychosis Haunted House (Elgin, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/24/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There was one little sign out on the street letting us know where the house was.

Wait Entertainment: There was one janitorial guy that was a little creepy, but not scary.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: It was ok, not that scary. Sadly, one of the guys kept getting in your face and kept spitting on one of the people in my group which went a little too far.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We caught up to the group in front of us very quickly, we had to keep walking slow so we wouldn't keep running in to them.

Summary: I thought the house was better than it was last year, but it still was not great. The premise is that you are searching for someone in the house called the Maze Master, but we never saw this person in the house. It seemed that the only reason for this is because actors throughout the house kept using that info as a password to get to other rooms in the house. The dark mazes were well done, and a little confusing, which I enjoyed. I also enjoyed the laser maze room where they had half walls and the lasers tried to confuse you, but I didn't find this house that scary at all.

8 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: X-treme Hauntings (Fox Lake, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/03/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Sign off the main road, plenty of people to guide you right to the house.

Wait Entertainment: Great, when I was there they had scared a woman so much they had her pinned in a porta-john and refused to come out.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Great, they kept you entertained throughout the house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No one was there, so flow went very well.

Summary: As always, this is a vrey entertaining house, the actors get very close to creep you out and whisper evil things in your ear. Thankfully, they brought back this year the pitch black maze at the end where, essentially, the only way to get through is to follow a voice of an actor. Unfortunately, people in the group kept lighting up their phone and ruined it for me, but I will probably go back to go through it again.

6 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Trails of Terror 2010 (Chicago, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right off of Pulaski, good signage.

Wait Entertainment: There were some odd people who looked like they were riding chickens, but they didn't really interact with the people.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Most, if not all of the actors were 15-16 year old kids, and I feel they weren't that scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We kept running in to the group in front of us, and the groups ended up in odd configurations.

Summary: Overall, I found this house to not be that scary. It was built in one of the Park District trails, but a lot of this haunt is a series of houses built along the path. Like I stated earlier, most, if not all, of the actors are high school students, and I felt that they were trying to be scary, but just don't have the experience of a good pop out. On the plus side, there is a wide variety of different areas to go through, one is a mental ward, one is a pirate ship, and one seemed like a spooly area. I feel the best part of the haunt was the outside paths, because it gave the actors great places to pop out and scare the patrons. Also, realize that the haunt doesn't end when you go out the last house, the trail continues almost back to the parking lot.

6 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Labyrinth of Lost Souls (Beach Park, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/15/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find right off of the street.

Wait Entertainment: Really was nothing there

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Very entertaining, not that scary, but very funny.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not catch up to anyone, but the group behind almost caught up to us.

Summary: Overall, the house is not scary at all, but I had a blast going through this house. This house is very amateurish, in terms of both how it was built, and the set up of the rooms. But all the actors in this really enjoyed being a part of the house, and I feel that helps the "fun" aspect of the house. It starts with a great maze, that has several false walls that makes is confusing to get through. Then you have to go in different rooms, and "search" for a key to get you out of the room. I had to put search in quotes, because finding the key is so simple, the search aspect is not difficult at all. The next part, you walk through a cornfield, and a soldier gives you a gun to shoot zombies, but the zombies are little kids that really enjoying dying, then coming back to life to scare you again. Then, another "serach for the key" room, that ended with a scary clown room. Like I said-not the most high tech house I have been to, but certainly one of the most entertaining.

16 out of 35 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Asylum Xperiment Haunted Experience (Villa Park, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/10/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's at the Odeum in Villa Park, plenty of signage around the area.

Wait Entertainment: There was one actor scaring the kids, and had a giant screen showing old horror movies.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: The actor performance was great, very convincing and stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Went very smoothly, no one caught up to us, and we didn't catch up to anyone.

Summary: As a long time Haunted House fanatic, I was looking forward to going through this house, as it was one of my favorites in the late 90's/early 00's. Sadly, I was a little let down, because the house wasn't that scary. The first half of the house was a dark maze that was pretty straight forward. Half way through, my group was asked to all hold on to a rope for some reason, and gave it back towards the end. There were very little pop outs, nothing that scary until the end. There was a twist towards the end of the house, and they ended with the chainsaw boys, but, overall, not that scary.

16 out of 36 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Basement of the Dead (Aurora, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/14/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Lots of signage throughout Aurora, easy to find on the street.

Wait Entertainment: Wide variety of creatures just waiting around wanting to scare people, and they had Evil Dead 2 playing on monitors, which is always awesome.

Length of Event: 30 minutes

Actor Performance: Really good, very scary throughout the house and really enjoyed scaring me, sometimes several times at the end in the maze part.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I was the only person I saw in the house.

Summary: So far, this is one of the scariest houses I have been to this year. Throughout the house, it is very twisting and turning getting to the rooms, and once you get to the rooms, the actors were very convincing and popped out throughout the room. Also the whole house is very dark, and the loud music disorients you to the point that you get very confused going through the maze-like aspect of the house. This house is very good as going in to a dark area, and having something loud and bright coming at you, and it is very startling. The end is a pitch black maze, that actors like popping out at you with flashlights, scaring you very well.

4 out of 9 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Elgin Turners Haunted House (Elgin, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/24/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Somewhat hard to find, because it was raining and there was only one sign in front of the place

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't any.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Good, they stayed in character and had really good timing for the pop outs.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There was only a couple in front of us, and we never caught up to them.

Summary: This house was a lot of fun. There were a lot of good twists and turns, and at one point I was convinced we were in the wrong place because the fllor was covered in mats and I was unsure what the point of that room was. I have to also include that, at one point, there is a ride in the middle of the house that ends up being very scary. I will not give away what happens, but I will say I am glad they had a seat belt. I'm not sure how that would work if there was a bigger crowd, but overall a very entertaining house.

8 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Midnight Massacre (Naperville, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/14/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The house is located in the Odyssey Arcade, very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: There really wasn't any, with the exception of showing clips of scary movies on the monitors.

Length of Event: 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Really good, they were very convincing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No one else was there, so it went very smoothly.

Summary: This house started out in the Odyssey Lazer Tag area, which they tried very hard to hide. It gave the actors plenty of places to hide and pop out. There was a maze after that, that was a little confusing. There is a great animatronic T-Rex in the middle that looked really good. There is a pitch black area in the middle that ends with a truck coming at you, which is one of the best uses of the "Truck coming at you" aspect of a house I have ever seen. I feel that being part of the giant arcade hindered certain parts of the house, but I feel, overall, they did waht they could to overcome those obstacles.

5 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Abyss Haunted House (Channahon, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/21/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The house was kind of off the beaten path, my favorite part was, as you approach the house, there is a dark foresty area which I thought was very creepy.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't any.

Length of Event: 30 minutes.

Actor Performance: Really good, they did some great pop outs, and they liked following our group through the house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No one else was in the house as we went through it.

Summary: The first house is essentially a long maze, there are a lot of twist and turns, and the walls get very close in some parts of the house. The group with me had to hold on because of the darkness and the claustrophobic maze. Also, the house has different levels, at one point you go upstairs in the house to go through another part of the house, and have to come back downstairs to get out. You then go through an outside cemetery to go to another house, and end up outside again to have even more actors follow you practically to your car.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2019 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at