Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2010 Visitor Reviews Submitted by cissypissy

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
13 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Decatur Jaycees Haunted House (Forsyth, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the Forsyth Mall.

Wait Entertainment: None really.

Length of Event: 20-25 mins. Longer than I expected

Actor Performance: Great! They've really improved this year.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There was a single guy who we kept running into. He passed us at one point and then we passed him. I think it was because he was by himself and possibly he was backtracking a bit. Not sure what was up with him. Otherwise, we did run into another couple behind us in the maze. Hard not to. And we bottlenecked the crawl. Totally our fault.

Props / Special FX: Awesome stuff this year! Really good job. Especially the entrance, nicely done.

Costumes / Make-up: All appropriate

Summary: The first year we went to the Decatur Jaycees Haunted House we had a BLAST! We've gone every year since. The last two years were ok. Not great. But it is a good cause, so we have returned. This year though, they have really, really gotten their stuff together. Lots of details and the actors worked for the scares. So far, this has been my favorite haunt! I believe the cost was $7.00. Great price!! I have never visited a haunted house twice in the same year, but for the price and how much I enjoyed this one, I would may visit again :)

18 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Clinton's Terror on Washington Street (Clinton, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very visible. Go down Washington St and you can't miss it.

Wait Entertainment: None. However, we were the only ones in line.

Length of Event: 20 mins. Good length

Actor Performance: Good. All stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Also good. We didn't run into anyone.

Props / Special FX: I really liked the white strobe hall. Not too scary, but it was freaking me out by the time I got through it. Otherwise, nothing new but still all good.

Costumes / Make-up: I really liked the girl in the tv room. If I might make a slight suggestion. She could use a little makeup on the lower half of her face and don't say anything. Before she moved her mouth, I couldn't tell what was wrong with her face. It was freaky....

Summary: I like Clinton. Always do. The outside entertainment could be stepped up. We were there on opening night so it probably will get better. All in all, totally worth visiting.

7 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Downs Haunted House (Downs, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We came from LeRoy. I was in the backseat. Sorry, not much help here. Plus, we know where it is.

Wait Entertainment: Scary brides and monsters roaming the crowd.

Length of Event: 8-10 min

Actor Performance: Inside the house, they were great!! All stayed in character and really tried to scare.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Guided.

Appropriate Ages: This one is great for kids, I think. Even if they don't want to do the haunted house, they have lots of kids activities, bonfire and park. It's a really nice atmosphere.

Props / Special FX: All good. I was pleasantly surprised. They have a really nice setup. Small but well done. Like the stairs room a lot.

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone was appropriate for their rooms. The guides could use more costumes. And perhaps code words for, "Is everyone here?!"

Summary: Downs is great. It looks like they have a lot of community support. And everyone was SUPER friendly. Love the fire and you can cook your own hot dogs for 50 cents! That is a bargain. The homemade baked goodies on the way out were really nice. I enjoyed the haunted house more than I thought I would. I like Downs and love to visit, but I don't expect a professional haunted house. Glad to say, they did a really good job with it. The hay ride to and from the haunted house is a really great idea, too. And man, you cannot beat paying TWO DOLLARS for the whole thing!

10 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Fright Night (Forest City, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/29/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Actually, it's kinda hard to miss. Very small town.

Wait Entertainment: They had bunches of roaming monsters.

Length of Event: 45 mins for all the attractions.

Actor Performance: Actor performance was just ok. I don't much care for the dialog. Very few actors have the training to make this believable and it just sounds goofy. I'd rather have them hiding and scaring. Telling us, 'the skinny ones taste better', is a cheesy. Also, why is everyone always yelling at us to get out?? That gets old really fast. All the touching was a HUGE surprise. While I personally do not mind that type of thing, PLEASE DO NOT PULL ON CLOTHING. My friend's jacket got ripped. That should not happen. Touch gently, do not use force. I am still on the fence about the little kids hanging on and you having to drag them through the house. They literally held on to your leg and you had to drag them. One of those kids is going to get kicked. I also don't think I saw adult supervision in that room and those were very young kids. That scares me for the kids sake. So, use touching to scare, not just to touch people. The girl in white almost had it down, but it was too much and don't touch on the face. Touching can be used to scare. This all bordered on annoying and was worrisome.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They could have done better. Not horrible though.

Props / Special FX: The girl in the freezer was very good. Otherwise, nothing new, surprising or over the top. I was disappointed in the overall decor of both houses. Nothing special at all. Just lots of broken stuff.

Costumes / Make-up: Again, nothing spectacular. Nothing really stands out in my mind.

Summary: I will start with the best. The trail was the BEST of the attractions. Absolutely! I had a blast in there. I love the wide opens spaces. That is unique. The Jeepers Creepers kid must be chugging the Red Bull. He is awesome, as he is every year. He really works that trail. He gets the jumpy scares and is everywhere! I really like the use of the chainsaws in the trail, too. Not at all where you would expect them. I got a scare from one of the chainsaw guys that is quite possibly the worst I've ever had.  
 
 
As far as the church and the house go, I wasn't impressed by either. That's a shame. I really liked them last year. The church had more individual room decoration, but the house had very little. Mostly, it was a bunch of trashed rooms with people yelling at you when you went in. There was a need for more actors in the actual haunted houses. There was too much dead space. I am also not a big fan of real axes and other metal objects being used to bash things. It's just not safe. All in all, the houses felt bare and quite disjointed in the decoration. Both houses really push the limits on acceptable behavior for haunters. I was worried about the actors and their safety. I also worried about all the unmarked steps/stairs. *Strobe lights on stairs is never a good idea* 
 
The "museum" was good. I liked going through there after all the other attractions. 
 
Overall, this is a really good deal for the 15.00 charge. I thought last year was better. However, with the hayride, 2 haunted houses, the trail, the paranormal investigators and the museum/snack bar, you get lots of fun entertainment.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2020 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at