Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2010 Visitor Reviews Submitted by ghosthunter

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
12 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Spook Hollow (Marquette Heights, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find off Rt. 29. Large lighted sign that leads the direction to the event.

Wait Entertainment: Saw Radio stations and food to purchase. Did see a fire dancer at one point.

Length of Event: 45 min. to 60 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors were great, all stayed in character. Some actors did have their timing off.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did run into a couple of groups and a couple of groups ran into our groups. This is difficult to control since groups move at different speeds and plus you are in open trails in the woods.

Appropriate Ages: 8 on up.

Props / Special FX: Most props on the trail were from Mother Nature, but did bring in some props to set the mood. Use of the shacks and houses in the woods were great.

Costumes / Make-up: A mixture of both, Best was the backwoods people!!!

Summary: I would say the best part of the attraction was the maze outside the house. Were the walls moving? I guess people will never know except for the monster actually doing it. The confusion the maze caused was great, actually making people a little nervous walking into dead ends and walking into people! 
 
The woods is always great! A couple of the house's were dead on causing screams and panic from my groups and the groups we encountered. I always like this house cause they force you to look one direction and hit you from the other direction!  
 
I really enjoyed the set up this year. You bought a ticket for $20.00 got in line for the house and after you exited the house you went immediately in line for the woods. Thanks for the speed pass! It is worth the extra $10.00. Overall the price is a little steep for a Central Illinois house.  

12 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted House (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Signs for Haunted House on main road through Auburn, very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: A couple of spooks roaming between house and haunted theater.

Length of Event: 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actor performance is great, all actors got into character and stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This house always does a great job in flow, did not run into anyone and did not hear any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 12 on up. Sometimes this house gets a little intense for young ones.

Props / Special FX: Great props, for a small house this group really works with the space they have. All scenes were excellent this year.

Costumes / Make-up: Great make up. This year the make up was pushed to the limit. Felt like I was in a reall horror movie at times.

Summary: I do have one complaint- wait time- we were told there was a presale bus group and that 1 group of the bus then one group of "regular" patrons would go through, reason we went ahead and bought the tickets. This did not happen. We had plans to visit another haunted house but got stuck in Auburn for four hours and had to cancel the rest of the night. Auburn has always been my groups favorite for years, last nights waiting performance and staff's fibbing kind of hurt the wait. The house on the other hand did not disapoint. The wine rack and the fork girl/with the cook were standouts. Speed Passes or something else for groups willing to pay extra would be great! Nice job on the house!

12 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Downs Haunted House (Downs, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find since Downs is a small town. Located in the middle of town in Dooley Park.

Wait Entertainment: Monsters roaming around seemed to scare the teenage girls very well.

Length of Event: 5 minutes for the house, 10 minutes for the hayrack ride.

Actor Performance: Great- actors stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Only one group was in the house at a time.

Appropriate Ages: 8 on up.

Props / Special FX: Nice props in the house.

Costumes / Make-up: Good use of masks and make-up.

Summary: The house is small but done quite well. The "victims" are led through the house at a good pace to keep the flow moving. Scares come at the beginning, middle and end of the group. For a cost of $2.00 for the house and hayrack ride it was well worth. The hayrack ride even took you through a spooky location! There are activities for the kids, good eats, and a bon fire for roasting hot dogs and making smores. This was out first trip to Downs for their Haunted House and I would have to say for the price they did a Great Job!

12 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted Theater - Redneck Rampage (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Main road through Auburn has 2 haunted house signs pointing the direction to the location.

Wait Entertainment: A few actors roaming back and forth between the two houses. Actors jumped in and out of character, could not tell most of the time if they were working the crowd or chatting. Young band was performing, they might have been good but could not hear the lead singer.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Actor performance was good. It did seem to be filled with young actors and most of the adults actors were outside. Actors did stay in character and seemed to startle the group.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great did not run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 12 on up.

Props / Special FX: Good use of props and FX.

Costumes / Make-up: About half masks and half actors in make-up. First guy with hooves for hands- kuudos in my book!

Summary: The Haunted Theater, once inside was great. The actors had their scares down and were ready for all. But I would have to say in all Auburn Haunted Theater was a little upsetting this year. They still do not have the process down for speed passes. The bus tour, you should have given some kind of warning on your website. The band outside: move them, you could not hear the call for group numbers, I had to ask if ours had been called 3 times. Another recommendation would be change the way the line forms, safety concerns in this area.

17 out of 30 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Clinton's Terror on Washington Street (Clinton, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find on Washington Street in Clinton.

Wait Entertainment: There were a couple of ghouls going to the bathroom. A tv that showed a scare within the haunted house which is always amusing.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors stayed in character for the majority of the time. 1 issue is there was someone roaming the house with a flashlight that was talking to the actors. This does not help with keeping the actors in character. Make sure theat "victims" have left the room before engaging in a conversation.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There was 1 large group in front of us that we had to wait a couple of times for them to give a little distance.

Appropriate Ages: 12 on up.

Props / Special FX: Good use of special effects. Strobe room was A1.

Costumes / Make-up: Good use of make-up and masks. One stand out- girl watching the movie. Nice creep factor and make-up.

Summary: We have visited Clinton each year and they always do a good job. It was opening night and I would say all in all they have done a good job this year. Could use a couple more actors. Great job!

10 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Rantoul Haunted Dungeon - (Rantoul, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/15/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Was easy to find, large sing directs you to the Dungeon.

Wait Entertainment: A couple of characters, your usual Freddy K. and a couple of other guys.

Length of Event: 15 minutes,lots of twists and turns.

Actor Performance: Some were good; but I have to say that they totally lost my vote this year as being good. Explanation in the summary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not run into any groups except the group of actors that followed us through the entire house. In large rooms we would turn around and see the actors from previous rooms following us, out of character talking.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Nice use of special FX this year, standout would be the bath tub scene.

Costumes / Make-up: Nice use of make-up and masks.

Summary: I was truly disappointed this year and tried to find the owner. I was with a group of 6 and we split up in 3 and 3. The first group had a different experience than my group. Actors were talking out of character and followed us through the entire house. The last couple of minutes we could hear people talking and once we got to the end a guy said, "Sorry we are on break!"& "oh I need a cig". Did not have a good experience this year and really doubt that I would recommend this house this year.

12 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Ashmore Estates - No Mercy General Hospital (Ashmore, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Could use more signs to locate the place. We happen to find it by chance. 1 large light up sign located near a road that would take you to Ashmore Estates.

Wait Entertainment: Actors roaming the crowd, made it creepier, even though the building was creepy enough.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors stayed in character and seemed to get everyone in the group.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Only one place where we ran into many groups. On one of the floor- yes this is a multi level haunted hospital, groups had to find there way out.

Appropriate Ages: 13 on up.

Props / Special FX: Use of the building was their greatest special FX.

Costumes / Make-up: Multitude of masks and make up. Great job in this area.

Summary: Overall we really enjoyed this house. 1 exception would be the ending. It lacked a major scare, not sure if this is how they attended for the ending to be or not. There was just a couple of kids that were screaming. Could have done so much more. One standout performance was the girl at the beginning that took tickets. I loved how mean she got and would yell at those waiting. Would really like to put this on the list since we travel all over the month of October Haunted Housing. Nice Job!!

8 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Fear Factory Haunted House (Rantoul, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/15/10 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, signs on the main road through Rantoul, house is located near the railroad tracks.

Wait Entertainment: The biggest Jason I have ever seen!

Length of Event: 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: All actors stayed in characters. 1 suggestion, screaming in peoples ears is not scary - just annoying.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow is always great in this house. Never met up with any other group.

Appropriate Ages: 13 on up. Some places get pretty intense.

Props / Special FX: The "Hell" scene- "WOW" that is all I can say. Super effect!

Costumes / Make-up: Great use of masks and make-up.

Summary: In all, this is always a great haunted house. The actors are always ready and waiting for a scare. The "Hell scence was my favorite. 1 girl in my group could not even look towards the demons she was so scared. Fear Factory is always on our list for a visit every year. All the rooms and sets were just creepy! I loved Grandma and the scene in the barn/house! Great creep factor. Another great scene was the girls bedroom, except the actresses just screamed in your ears. Great Job guys and take the suggestion of watching the screaming in people ears!

4 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Decatur Jaycees Haunted House (Forsyth, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, located at the Forsyth Mall.

Wait Entertainment: Did not see any wait entertainment. Great location within the Mall though!

Length of Event: 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Great, all actors stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into any other group.

Appropriate Ages: 12 on up.

Props / Special FX: Great room setting. All rooms tied together and the cemetary scene with the laserswas a nice touch!

Costumes / Make-up: Nice use of masks and make-up!

Summary: In all, this house did a really nice job this year. Last year when we visisted they seemed out of sorts but really stepped up the production this year. There were a couple of dead spots where an actor could have been used to scare up some fun. This is placed on our lists of visits every year and has shown great promise. Nice use of the chainsaw this year. I don't care what people say- if it used to much or what not but it gets a great scare everytime! Can't wait to see what you have in store next year! Great Job Jaycees!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2019 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at