Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2010 Visitor Reviews Submitted by goth_gina

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
16 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Shotgun Manor 2010: Vengeance (Sullivan, Illinois)
Reviewed by: goth_gina   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Came to town a little leery, as I had gotten a speeding ticket before there! There were lots of signs and we had been there before.

Wait Entertainment: Binkie you are AWESOME! (A little off your rocker though). There were several people outside including Binky and his sister. Binkie is always great, he could use a couple of new stories though. He told the same ones from the past, and only had a few new ones. I LOVE BINKIE! He is my PINKIE FRIEND!

Length of Event: It took 30 - 35 minutes.

Actor Performance: WOW! It was great! This is one thing that really sets this haunt apart from many. Lots of monsters that actually engage you in dialog! I was also impressed that our "BOO" count was at ZERO!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into one group that had to do some push ups? Other than that, we didn't see anyone. We heard a lot from other rooms though.

Appropriate Ages: 11+

Props / Special FX: There were many props, but not very many special effects (no fog thank GOD). One of the outside monster had a popping thing that was really cool at first, then became annoying. I don't know if it is a special effect, but monsters came out of NO WHERE! It was insane how they just seemed to come out of the walls and corners!

Costumes / Make-up: EXCELLENT! ORIGINAL! There was a lot of makeup and a few masks. There was only one "movie" type mask, but it was hard to tell because they had burned it.

Summary: I have been coming to Shotgun Manor since 05. This year is no exception to the great time I have had in the past. I would like to say that this year, I laughed until I cried. At one point there was a girl that told me she was a pumpkin mermaid. I don't want to ruin it, but it if you just go with her it is a lot of fun. After that it was pretty scary. My friend peed her pants (sorry Angie)! The actors make this haunt incredible. I am always impressed with them. I will come back next year!

12 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Dream Reapers Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)
Reviewed by: goth_gina   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We had been there before and there were signs.

Wait Entertainment: What can I say... it's Dreamreapers! Over the top actors!

Length of Event: 30 - 35 minutes

Actor Performance: GREAT! Way over the top. Impressive! Just a few words that come to mind. I have to say that this year is no exception. No character ever came out of his/her shell. I tried to back pigboy up and he came charging back!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did run into a the group ahead of us but they were running back the other way!

Appropriate Ages: 14+

Props / Special FX: So many I can't count. From the smells to the lighting, to all the details!

Costumes / Make-up: Top notch. nuff said.

Summary: I would have to say that this haunt is a favorite of mine, but where do they go from here? I try to rate haunts on if they were greater or less than the year before. How do you rate perfection? I tell you how, see what they do NEXT year! I would have to say that for the money, Dreamreapers gives you the most scream for your buck. I would not say they worked the hardest I have ever seen them, but they did outstanding just like always. I am glad we have a haunt in Illinois like this one!!!!!

8 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: The Scream Haunted Adventure (Decatur, Illinois)
Reviewed by: goth_gina   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right on the main road going through Decatur. Monster outside waving people in to the parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: We went in pretty quickly, there was no line entertainment, there were people outside.

Length of Event: It took us about 20-25 minutes. We got lost in the sheets. ;)

Actor Performance: It was just terrible. Most were a little off their mark. One monster was texting when we came into the room. Another room people were just having a conversation with thier masks on their heads. They let us pass with a couple of screams without even putting their masks back on.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't catch up to anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Lights, Sound, and my favorite darkness!

Costumes / Make-up: The usual masks that you would find at Spencers. They are better than Wal-Mart, but nothing over the top. I would have liked to seen more actors in makeup.

Summary: I would have to say I was disappointed. When my group got out, a friend of mine summed it up well, "Is that it?". I did jump at one point, but it just was not scary due to the monsters just not doing what they are supposed to do, SCARE PEOPLE. The lighting was weak, sound was ok. It all seemed like it was just thrown up and not much thought was put into it. I was really ready for it to end as it just seemed to dredge on. It was fun, just disappointed as they did much better last year. X

8 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Dungeon Of Terror (Mazon, Illinois)
Reviewed by: goth_gina   (Event Visited: 10/10/10 @ 6:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is on the main street but there really are no signs till you get there.

Wait Entertainment: There were some people in masks walking around.

Length of Event: 10 - 15 minutes

Actor Performance: They were pretty good. Santa scared my friend so bad she almost peed.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into anyone, but they made us wait a LONG time before going in.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: They had some pretty good, full sized, body props and good attention to detail in some rooms.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks. I was disappointed because I thought there would be more makeup.

Summary: I was very excited to go to this haunted house as they have been rated #1 the past two years. I was let down. I wish I could say that there was something that I found that was over the top, but I can't. Mind you it was a very good haunt, well worth the price of admission, but it was not worth the four hours of driving to get there and back. I don't think I will be going back to this haunt unless I am on my way to ones in Chicago again. If I had been expecting less, I would have liked it more.

8 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Ashmore Estates - No Mercy General Hospital (Ashmore, Illinois)
Reviewed by: goth_gina   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We have been there many times in the past. There are signs on the highway.

Wait Entertainment: Really good. There were several actors that were very entertaining.

Length of Event: 50 - 55 minutes including getting lost in the maze (tee-hee)

Actor Performance: They were pretty good. I did like the Frankenstein Room as well as the doctor that was operating on the girl. Most of the rest were just "Boo" or "rawr" kind of people, however, they were on their mark and scared most of us everytime!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: They had a vortex (was there last year), a cool new moving room and great lighting (except in the maze lol)

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks with a few in makeup. The masks were typical of walmart quality. The makeup was well done on some, others looked like they had either smeared it on or off!

Summary: I would have to say that this haunt has really turned around for me. I have been going to Ashmore Estates for several years and it is now an outstanding haunt in my opinion. The building in itself is HUGE and there is lots of room which they use now. I also liked the haunted clown barn. My friends are really afraid of clowns so it was fun watching them FREAK OUT! If you go to this haunt, make sure you go through the clown barn! It is worth shelling out the extra the bucks for a good scare!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2019 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at