Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2010 Visitor Reviews Submitted by ilikehaunts

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
26 out of 36 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Doom Haunted Factory (Zion, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ilikehaunts   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 09/30/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Unfortunately The Dungeon of Doom has little to no visibility off of the main roads, and due to a police order you can only enter down one specific road. This is all clearly marked on their website though, so there weren't any surprises. Once you finally do pull up to the attraction though, you are greeted by potentially the single best location any Illinois haunt has.

Wait Entertainment: It was slow when I attended, but still there were several Character roaming the line. Amongst them were a Goo-covered man, a red-haired clown, and a machete-wielding ghoul. All of these characters stayed in character and did a good job of working the groups that were there.

Length of Event: This time will vary depending on the Ticket Purchased. For this we will base it off the Ultimate ticket, priced at $25. This included 2 trips through the 1st floor, Buried Alive, and The 2nd Floor. 
 
1st Floor (both trips) 20min 
Buried Alive 3min 
2nd Floor 7min 
 
Total: 30min

Actor Performance: The Dungeon of Doom was well staffed during our visit and really seemed to have most of their areas filled rather nicely. The actors were energetic and with the exception of a few, all had well timed and executed attacks.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Smooth, we only ran into other groups in designated waiting areas. Again though, it was a slow night.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Dungeon of Doom had several areas featuring animations and effects. They had some fun intro scenes too, including a saw type execution scene. One feature that is pretty neat is that there are 6 different entrances that lead into 2 separate paths, so you can get a new mini-show during each visit. (if you decide to go twice) 
 
Unfortunately, many props and intro scenes were either hard to hear or functioning improperly so at times that was frustrating.

Costumes / Make-up: The Dungeon of Doom has always had an exceptional makeup team, and this year was no exception, faces looked great.

Summary: As a comeback from what was a herky-jerky season in 2009 the Dungeon of Doom really impressed me this year. They seem to have remembered what they are and what they should be doing, and really improved on what was a lacking product.  
 
As this show is multiple attractions I will break it down as such. 
 
The Dungeon of Doom 
The acting is as it always has been, but the scenes really had some improvements. One notable area had you crouched and borderline crawling for upwards of 20 feet! This created a very claustrophobic feeling and had a lasting impact. The Detail in the attraction lacks in some areas, but detail hasnt always been their strong suit. Rather, they make effective use of darkened areas throughout the attraction.  
 
One complaint is that certain areas of the attraction seemed to be rather physically demanding. This made for a cool effect, but at times it seemed at the cost of some kind of awkward trip points and props that literally hit you (kind of hard I might add) as you walk by. 
 
Buried Alive 
Now an additional cost on your ticket, buried alive has always been a staple of the Dungeon of Doom attraction. As it stands, it hasn't changed in years and really begins to lose its effect over time. 
 
Mercy General Hospital 
The second floor of the Dungeon of Doom is a medically themed area with some cool props and interesting actors and make up. This area employs a much brighter environment than its downstairs predecessor, but it is effective none the less. This section has changed very little since last year, and in many ways seemed to lack this year. In 2009 Mercy was the Highlight of DoD, but this season it seemed to have lost some of its impact. Additionally, several props seemed to be functioning poorly on the night that I attended. 
 
 
Overall, as I stated earlier, the Dungeon of Doom really did impress me this year, they seem to have brought back their old style, and have fixed most of the problems they had had last year. They seem to still have some growing pains ahead of them, but regardless, they have a very solid show. 
 
To the Dungeon of Doom good luck for a great 2010

15 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Eleventh Hour (Elk Grove Village, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ilikehaunts   (Event Visited: 10/07/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Eleventh hour is located at nursery, on the night I attended they could have used a lot more signage. We drove by, and we knew what we were looking for. there was little signage for the event, and what was there lacked lighting. The location is easy to find, but it isn't overly apparent that it is a haunted house.

Wait Entertainment: On the night we attended there wasn't too much in the way of wait entertainment. There was only one guy entertaining the crowd, he wore a tie and a cut off tshirt. As people waited he taunted and made fun of the people waiting. It was fun to watch but got tiresome after a while. I would have liked to see more people trying to get scares, but this could have also been due to it being an off night.

Length of Event: Eleventh hour is split into several attractions, the total time was approximately 25 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actor performances in the house varied. In the main portion of the house (eleventh hour) the actors seemed to have more theatrical performances, where they would stop the groups and actually spout off lines. The actors delivered the lines very well, and really seemed into their roles. Unfortunately this style of acting doesn't impose as much of frightening environment. It was very entertaining however. The actors in the other attractions seemed to follow a more traditional approach and really did a good job. Overall there was a good mix of theatrical and traditional scares that really made for an entertaining show.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Our group never ran into any others, crowd control was well done. This is largely thanks to the main house with their ability to stop groups as they needed to.

Appropriate Ages: I would say the main house is appropriate for all ages, as it isn't overly frightening. The second portion would bring a rating of about 10+.

Props / Special FX: Eleventh hour usually has many cool animations and props, but unfortunately on the night we attended many of them were not working. Overall the static props and scenic details were effectively used and helped to set the mood.

Costumes / Make-up: Eleventh hour did not excel in this area. Many of the makeup jobs seemed to be rushed, perhaps the makeup would be better on busier nights.

Summary: I have been attending Eleventh Hour for many years, and let me begin by saying that this year has been one of my favorite performances by them to date. In the past the show seemed thrown together or unfinished in areas, but this year was different. The rooms this year seemed more complete and well rounded. Unfortunately, the main haunt hasn't changed in several years, or if it has, the changes seem unnoticeable. The big plus though is that the other haunts have been improved greatly. The detail in the second house was improved and each of them had some pretty cool scenes. Some favorites were a large semi-truck that crashed through a wall, an interesting take on the standard dark maze, and a very cool lazer room.  
 
Overall, Eleventh hour put on a really great show this year. If the main haunt were a bit scarier it would have made the experience that much better. Unfortunately the price tag is a bit high at $25 for everything, although for three attractions it averages out to about 8.50 per haunt, which is absolutely worth it. If you get a chance and are in the area, Eleventh Hour is a good time!

16 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Midnight Massacre (Naperville, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ilikehaunts   (Event Visited: 10/07/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Midnight Massacre is located inside of Odyssey Fun World, which is pretty visible and easy to find. Once pulling up, they have signs on the road directing you.

Wait Entertainment: On the night we attended the only wait entertainment was some horror movies playing on tv's at what would normally be the counter to pay for lazer tag.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors at this attraction seemed to try very hard, but due to many of them seeming relatively young it seemed that their attacks just didnt live up to what this haunted house claims that it is.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was slow on the night we attended, so there is no way to judge how they would do when it is busy.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: This show had some cool props and effects like a giant T-Rex head with realistic movements, and a truck with a very loud blaring horn.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup were ok, but did not live up to what I or anyone in my group would expect out of a haunted house that claims to be "The Midwest's Scariest"

Summary: First off, I have to ask who named this haunted house "The midwest's scariest haunted house." After visiting it i searched all over the internet, and the only place I can find that is on their website.  
 
The show is an okay haunted house, they had a series of miscellaneous rooms, all of which were decently decorated in regard to what they were supposed to be. The part I didnt understand was the beginning. It was a rather large area housed in the fun centers Lazer Tag area, it was not decorated other than setting up barricades and hanging camo netting. They actors in this area wore popular horror movie masks like the Saw puppet and Michael meyers. These actors said nothing and just stood there. It was confusing. 
 
The rest of the house wasn't in a lazer tag arena. These areas featured some fun scares and decently decorated rooms. Overall, this was an okay haunted house. 
 
In the end I had two issues. The first being their "top rated" claim, which appears to simply be their own opinion. The second is the price. At $20.00 this haunted house is WAY overpriced for the quality of show it delivers. If this attraction were to lowers its price tag, and stop making false claims, it just might be a pretty decent show.  
 
Overall, I think that this show is about what I would expect to see out of the location it is in. But as a family-friendly show, it does not have a family friendly price. 
 
Until the price goes down on this show, I don't think I would recommend it. 
 
A Fun time, but it needs improvement.

20 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Evil Intentions Haunted House (Elgin, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ilikehaunts   (Event Visited: 10/07/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Evil Intentions is kind of hard to find if you arent familiar with where it is located. It is down a small road, and is located in a large warehouse. They have signs to direct you.

Wait Entertainment: Evil Intentions did really well in this category, they had a large screen playing videos of the attracting, and a pretty cool looking facade-type structure with an illuminated "Evil Intentions" sign. Along with this were several actors walking around in various "goth/Bondage" type outfits.

Length of Event: Overall it took about 15 minutes to make it through.

Actor Performance: Actors in this show did a pretty good job, they utilized many props and things like saws as scares. Much of their attacks were loud and on target, with the exception of a few whos timing seemed to be off.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: This show utilized darkness and lights to create most of their effects. It was done pretty effectively too. In terms of animations or props though, this house lacks in that department.

Costumes / Make-up: Most of the costumes (as earlier mentioned) were Goth/Bondage type outfits, given the type of attraction though, they seemed to fit in.

Summary: Evil Intentions put on a good show this year. The scenes overall seemed about the same as in the past, with the major change being a rerouting of the house. By changing the order in which customers experience the rooms it did make the house seem like it had undergone some relatively large changes. The waiting area this year was bigger, and gave off a much more impressive appearance. The intro this year was the same as in the past, with the main difference being that the coffins you stand in were bigger. Unfortunately, all that happens in them is that you watch a video, I would have liked something more to have happened...  
 
Overall, Evil Intentions put on a good show this year. And at $15.00 per person it isn't that bad of a value either! 
 
If you get a chance, check out Evil Intentions!

23 out of 35 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Psychosis Haunted House (Elgin, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ilikehaunts   (Event Visited: 10/07/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Psychosis is located in a somewhat confusing area, the building they are in is big and relatively easy to find. They have a large banner above the building that says "Psychosis Haunted House" and a decently sized parking lot. Unfortunately it is on the opposite side of the building, but overall it is pretty easy to find and see.

Wait Entertainment: On the night we attended there was no wait entertainment. Our group waiting in a city type scene for a decent amount of time. It was basically a large open area with little store fronts. None of them seemed run down or distressed, it seemed very out of character.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors in almost all rooms either did nothing and stared at you from a corner of a room, or spoke rehearsed lines, but unfortunately almost all of them seemed to have forgotten their lines.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The night we attended it was very slow, so I can't comment on how effectively they would handle large crowds.

Appropriate Ages: All. Anyone could make it through this haunted house.

Props / Special FX: This Haunted house had very little in the way of props. In some rooms there was random items scattered about the floor, and many other rooms seemed either unfinished or just didnt have much going on. The lazer maze at the end was cool, but was very easy to navigate.

Costumes / Make-up: Almost none of the actors had any makeup on.

Summary: Psychosis haunted house advertises itself as the states most interactive haunted house. Personally I do not see that. This haunted house just moved into a new location, and I expected it to expand and become even better this year, but unfortunately this has been one of their most ineffective years.  
 
Psychosis follows a theme that you are supposed to find a mad serial killer called the maze master, who is hiding somewhere in the haunted house. This is however, hard to understand as the person at the front kept messing up their lines. As to traverse the haunted house "searching" you encounter several rooms that seem to make no sense in context with the theme. As you move though there are rooms like a Dracula room, mummy room, bum room, furnace room, and many others. Dividing these areas were many "black halls" these weren't exactly hard to get through as light poured in from above as none of the scenes were covered.  
 
Actor performances weren't very scary. In fact the best actor in the haunt was approximately 8 years old and was hitting a piece of wood on the wall. The rest of the attacks involved them having you stop in a room, asking you in a normal voice to read a sign, and then allowing you to keep moving.  
 
Overall, this haunted house just did not deliver. And at $15.00 per person I would not recommended it to anyone looking for a real scary haunted house. 
 
This show would be a good started haunted house for parents looking to expose their kids to haunted houses and not having to worry about it being too over the top.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2019 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at