Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2010 Visitor Reviews Submitted by partycentral

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
15 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Doom Haunted Factory (Zion, Illinois)
Reviewed by: partycentral   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Using GPS won't really help you to get to this haunt. There are very few signs and they are small so really look closely at the curb in the area. Thankfully, we saw a bunch of cars turn onto 27th street all at once so we knew we were going the right way.

Wait Entertainment: Some entertainers but not overly scary. The videos they were showing were hilarious and gross. I won't give it away but if you just ate, don't watch! There were some cool moving props, and they take your picture on a green screen with a surprise.

Length of Event: The line to get in was about 45 minutes at 7:30 on a Friday, so make sure you leave enough time. We paid for the Ultimate Deal which is worth it because you get to go through the first floor twice (different areas), buried, and an upstairs section. Total time was 1 hour on the dot but if you minus waiting time in the attraction, 45 minutes. The actual upstairs portion is about 5 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors were very involved for the first 15 minutes, we felt and then acting died off a touch. Actors stayed in character all the way through and really jumped out at the right times.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Throughout the attraction, they have several check points where you come to and have to wait in line again. This is because of the different ticket packages and they have rooms where you need to show your colored bracelet to an actor so they can let you through to the right door. Because of these section, after the first 10 minutes, we went from a group of 6, to 22 people (we counted) and then the scare factor went much lower. Fortunately, we ran passed some people on the second floor staircase to get ahead of people to get the scare factor back up.

Appropriate Ages: 14+

Props / Special FX: Lots of props and special effects. Props with their use of strobe lights was very effective especially in the long hallway of skeletons. The only problem I saw was in Mercy General where props didn't seem to work well.

Costumes / Make-up: Over the Top! When you compare the costumes and make up to other haunts in the city of Chicago, there is no comparison. Dungeon of Doom was great.

Summary: Overall, the haunt was awesome. The wait line, and the actual attraction itself was well put together as it is on a permanent site. The biggest problem is the location. 
 
The location really is in the middle of nowhere and they have pointless road closure signs that make it harder to get to it. The house needs to put in several of thousand more dollars next year and make it longer, with 1 pass rather than 3. For the location they are in, they have to be #1 to get people there. If they are #2 or #3, they will lose. 
 
Actors were good in most areas and props were fun except for the crawling part which was not made well. They need to work on crowd control as that is a big problem. 
 
The introduction show was not effective, except for the room after it with the coffin. I look forward to going in a couple years when it hopefully will be better.

9 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Realm of Terror (Round Lake Beach, Illinois)
Reviewed by: partycentral   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location and Visibility is very easy and parking is great as it is an entertainment center.

Wait Entertainment: It was fun. There were TV's playing disgusting videos. Seriously, don't watch if you just ate. We were able to order beer and food in line from a vendor, and there were actors scaring people but more were just staring at girls than anything. We waited for 45 minutes.

Length of Event: Total time was 30 minutes, however the end maze was about 5 minutes, could have been longer or shorter depending on your route or if you ask which way to go.

Actor Performance: Actors were great but not amazing. They knew where to scare you and we did get scared multiple times, but they didn't fully stay in character or engage you in each scene.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: In the beginning, they separated people into groups of 2 or 6 and we ended up with a cute group of girls that were holding onto us the whole time. It was funny. Unfortunately, we ran into a group within the first 5 minutes and the rest of the haunt was in a group of probably 15 people so the scare factor wasn't as effective.

Appropriate Ages: 11+

Props / Special FX: Lots of cool special effects and use of props that scared you.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up were really great.

Summary: The overall feeling of the haunt was that it has a lot of potential but we didn't get to see it because of their crowd control efforts. It just didn't work the way they did it. They also could extend it by about 5 minutes if they wanted to. As a Haunted House fanatic (I go to 18 per year), I want to see better introduction shows and wait entertainment.  
 
The actors stayed in character for the most part but some were lacking acting skills. The make was amazing and a lot of the rooms were really done well. 
 
The maze at the end was fun with a lot of strobe lights and smoke. I want to say that they should use even more smoke next year but people might pass out. All in all, great haunt.

8 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: X-treme Hauntings (Fox Lake, Illinois)
Reviewed by: partycentral   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Make sure you print out a google map or use GPS, but even then it is still pretty easy to find. Cool building and nice staff guiding you in.

Wait Entertainment: There were some entertainers but were not doing a good job. They must have been very amateur because they didn't seem to have a clue on how to act. There was a clown and a, a, a something....however, the mood in the line was high and people were having a good time.

Length of Event: 30 minutes. The maze at the end was 10 minutes, but upwards of 15 and at least 5.

Actor Performance: Congratulations! The actors were the best I have ever seen. Having been to more than 50 different haunted houses in the last 4 years, I would say that this was by far the best acting job done.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The elevators, while not being scary in the beginning was cool and bumpy, definitely made the crowd control perfect. We never ran into a group until the maze before the pitch black maze.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Really well use of lighting and props. There was a Christmas room that was really great with what they used.

Costumes / Make-up: Incredible and movie like. They should win an award for this one.

Summary: I had been to X-treme Haunt before a few years ago and didn't remember it being this good. What was important is my review is that the haunt wasn't super scary, but the acting was incredible. Each room kept you engaged in what was going on and the actors were good at keeping your attention and mood in a high mood. 
 
The christmas room was by far the best. There was a midget or a small person that was very obnoxious but really well in tuned with what their job was. 
 
Best part: the pitch black maze. Key: lose your friends in it. Yes, just disconnect and get away. It is more fun that way. It is big, you are running into walls and people and their are actors that can see you but you can't see them. It really is a giant labyrinth of turns and it is very hard to find the exit. Don't ruin it with your cell phone as its not fair to others in the house. 
 
Great job.

5 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Dream Reapers Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)
Reviewed by: partycentral   (Event Visited: 10/31/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is easy to see, but parking is $3. Try to park on the east side of the street. No matter what they say about getting towed, you will be okay.

Wait Entertainment: None. We had VIP tickets and did not have to wait, however I did see actors walking by the crowd outside.

Length of Event: 15 minutes. I walk slowly to enhance the experience.

Actor Performance: Actors were good but seemed like they were ready for the house to be done for the year. People seemed bored inside the house, but at the same time, acting was effective in parts. The best actors were the ones in the introduction room and elevator.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were VIP so we never had anyone in front of us, however people did catch up with us in the last room. The house did a great job with crowd control but should slow people down if they are running through the house like the people that bumped into us at the end.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Sinister Scents always does a general good job but all haunted houses including Reapers need to go through the house every hour and spray because the scents go away and all you smell is sweaty actors. Props and special effects were very well done! Very detailed.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and Makeup were movie quality but not very bloody. They were scary nonetheless but not scary enough to say that a 10 year old couldn't go through by themselves.

Summary: Overall, Dream Reapers always does a great job with detail. The acting is usually good but this year seemed a bit off. Still scary, just not in a horrifying or shocking way.  
 
They need to add better lighting effects and more smoke and mirrors. They also should add more blood and more smell.  
 
We won the VIP tickets through Haunted Illinois, and were let into the haunt through a separate entrance in the gift shop. I definitely think it was cool to be let in this way. 
 
The acting was good, and the costumes were okay. The only real problem that I saw was that a lot of scenes are always the same, like the alien in that spiral tunnel, and the rain forest. Finally, this haunt is fun as the details of scenes are nice but it is a good place for families and kids, not really hardcore haunt fans. 
 
The employees were nice, but seemed like they took advantage of our group when it came to buying items. When an item said $45, they said it was $80, etc. We got some cool shirts though so make sure you check out the shop at the end.

7 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Eleventh Hour (Elk Grove Village, Illinois)
Reviewed by: partycentral   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Just look for the yellow blinking lights with an arrow. There is construction so watch out for them.

Wait Entertainment: We were the first people there and right off the bat, there was someone outside trying to scare us, but was more crazy looking than scary.

Length of Event: The corn maze was about 10 minutes, but could have been longer if they did a better job keeping us going in circles. I would say if you are a someone who likes to get scared, and you follow every nook and cranny, you could be in there for 30 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors were okay. Some were better than other inside the Haunts (not the Corn Maze). All I will say is that some actors were better than others, but it was also early in the night and they might have been getting warmed up still.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the only ones in the attraction the entire time and never ran into anyone which made it more fun. In the houses, they tried to stop us in certain areas to give us a show, but the acting didn't work well enough to make it really scary.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: We saw very few special FX as a lot of things didn't seem to work anymore like the giant dinosaur looking thing in one of the houses. There were some cool looking special effects that were effective. Props wise, things were there and scary looking but there wasn't enough. The laser lights were pretty sweet.

Costumes / Make-up: Makeup was so so, costumes were basic and not over the top.

Summary: All in all, the venue of 4 haunts were okay. I have been to this house many times before and they didn't seem up to it this year. They were not ready when we go there at 7:15, and they were supposed to be open and ready with music blasting at 7. The corn maze was pretty cool but could have used 1-2 more actors in better costumes...possibly with a chain saw. 
 
Eleventh Hour House's introduction was not effective and the same as every year. There were areas in the house where I was scared and there were definitely places in the houses that were very effective like getting lost in some of the mazes they had. Everything was very dark and claustrophobic.  
 
If I were them, I would remove the Chain Link fence at the end as it was easy to get through and too bright (since it's outside). I would also make the Eleventh Hour connect to Pitch Black so there is no showing your tickets twice. They should charge for 1 house (not 4) as there really are not 4 houses.  
 
Acting was good but not great. Costumes were so so. People in the house stayed in character for the most part but there were some that spoke to us telling us which way to go. The courtyard was not effective as there were not enough actors, and the houses in general were not loud enough, nor dark enough.  
 
Overall, the house is scary but not overly scary. Worth the price? Only if you pay the online rate of $19.75. I hope they do a better job next year.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2019 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at