Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2010 Visitor Reviews Submitted by stuffy2004

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
24 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Satan's Portal (Joliet, Illinois)
Reviewed by: stuffy2004   (Event Visited: 10/17/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They have signs on the main road directing you to the haunted house.

Wait Entertainment: None.

Length of Event: 4 minutes

Actor Performance: Fair. You could tell the actors enjoyed playing their part.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into several other groups throughout the haunted house.

Appropriate Ages: 15 and under

Props / Special FX: Fair. The props were decent, but the special effects were poor.

Costumes / Make-up: costumes and make-up were fair. They were just wearing masks, with robes or street clothes it seemed.

Summary: I did not feel Satans Portal was worth the price of admission. The parking was good, and we had almost no waiting in line. They had 9 differently themed rooms, but with the way it was set up it was hard for the actors to sneak up on you, so you saw them right when you walked into the room. When you leave they put you out the back of the building, and you have to walk all the way around to get back to the parking lot. There were a lot of doors that said "exit" on them, which made it confusing as to where you were supposed to go.

12 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Shady Hollow Insane Asylum (Annawan, Illinois)
Reviewed by: stuffy2004   (Event Visited: 10/15/10 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They have an arch that is lit up at the entrance, but there are no signs on the road prior to reaching the attraction. It is next to someones house in an outbuilding.

Wait Entertainment: There was a fire, but you had to wait in line. You wait outside and there is music playing.

Length of Event: 8 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors were good. They had appropriate timing and were effective.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They were effective in wait times to make sure groups did not run into each other.

Appropriate Ages: all ages

Props / Special FX: The props were good. There was not many special effects.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make up were effective. There were masks and face paint.

Summary: It is a small haunted house but I felt it was worth the admission fee. When you first go in you sit on a couch and you have to wait for about 3 minutes. My favorite room was the one with the fireplace. The actors were convincing. There was not really any entertainment outside while you waited. There are parts that you have to hunch over to walk through, but it is posted outside at the ticketbooth. There were no available food or beverages. For the size and location of the haunted house I felt that it was worth the price and was an effective event.

18 out of 46 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Basement of the Dead (Aurora, Illinois)
Reviewed by: stuffy2004   (Event Visited: 10/17/10 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There was a billboard directing you to the location, there was a parking garage nearby, and there was plenty of signs and lights. They even had an old hurst parked on the street with lights on it.

Wait Entertainment: They wait entertainment was very good! There were 5 or more actors out roaming through the lines and crowds scaring people. They also had a tv playing a movie and a few windows with mini movies.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good. The actors were very convincing,stayed in character, fit with their roles, and had very effective timing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We had a group catch up to us in the last room of the haunted house. Otherwise we had no more run ins.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: They had 2 vortex tunnels, and animatronics. Special effects and the props were very good.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were very good, they were very detailed and in theme with the rooms. The make-up was very detailed, they even did the special contacts for their eyes.

Summary: I felt that Basement of the Dead was well worth the admission price. I really enjoyed my time in line with the actors coming through. The vortex tunnels were very good. The actors were very convincing and effective. They had quite a few differently themed rooms. They do have strobe lights and lasers. The location and atmosphere were very good. The wait in line was even entertaining. They also have a concession stand with food and drinks. We went through twice and the actors still effectively scared us the second time through. It was a very entertaining haunted house.

4 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Asylum of Mad Dreams (Cordova, Illinois)
Reviewed by: stuffy2004   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They had a sign with the light up arrown with directions to the haunted house. You have to drive through a field next to the drag strip to get to it, and that is where you park.

Wait Entertainment: They had a concession stand for snacks and beverages, and 2 fire pits to keep warm.

Length of Event: 30-40 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors were very good, you could tell they enjoy it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. We didn't run into any other groups. If you start catching up to the people in front of you the actors hold you up to ensure you don't join up with the people in front of you.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: They had really good props and special effects! I'm still trying to figure out how they did some things.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make-up were well done.

Summary: This was a very entertaining haunted house, and was well worth the price. We drove an hour to get there and felt it was very much worth the drive. I really liked the variety in the 9 different rooms. There is also an outside trail. Make sure you dress according to the weather, as the waiting is outside. I really liked that you didn't stand in line. When you purchase your ticket you check in, and when they are ready for you they call your ticket number over the intercom and you go right in. It was a very entertaining haunted house.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2019 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at