Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2011 Visitor Reviews Submitted by Jashuh

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
30 out of 46 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted House (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/15/11 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the little remote town of Auburn, head toward the uptown and two haunted house attractions are looking at you - doesn't get better or easier to find ! No sign highway markers !

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment here, large fire pit and lots of good food and drinks. Try the taco's - good very good.

Length of Event: 15 minutes and maybe a little more .

Actor Performance: All the characters were perfect, this is one of the best character performances around - Everyone done a great job! The clowns were the best I have seen this year and by far, maybe some of the best ever ! I am saying that this years performance is the best ever - the corner nurse in the before stairs room was great, GOT ME for the first time in years ! (first rate)

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow started out good, but we had a problem after the clown room - the coffin room with multiple door options totally failed - we waited to clear the bottle neck and still the timing failed.. Even the guy who came out of the wrong coffin was off mark on this, it was a total failure here and sad too - the coffin man in the room was great but what could he do after this was messed up !

Appropriate Ages: I would say at least 10 years here, this is one of the better attractions in the state and they do have some in your face and fear factor in this haunted attraction - one of the best I have seen in years . Small children shouldn't try out this house!

Props / Special FX: Lots of great props here and yes a nice touch of automation - the half cut old man rocking on the walker, loved it and it caught me off guard for my big scare - worked great! The haunted basement cat-combs done a great job and keep us guessing until we found the exit. Lots of good effects, with some light fx effects .

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up was perfect, this is one of the best jobs I have seen at make-up ! You will not find a better job with these characters picture perfect here!

Summary: We view a lot of haunted events and this one I expect to be good, but this year it was great. I liked the new haunted rooms with cabinets moving and trash cans flying. It gives a great new theme to this event. The entire house was great with the return of the haunted wine celler and the new clown rooms. The only weak point here was the exit - we need something here with a lot more punch effect, you simple exit the event without no fear or threat - maybe several chainsaws here might be nice or a large creature experiment gone wrong - something ! We are looking forward to this event next year and keep up the great job and remarkable performances !

21 out of 34 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Spook Hollow / MC Manor (Marquette Heights, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/22/11 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The haunted house and trail are grouped together high in the woods of Marquette Heights, nice road marker and good location.

Wait Entertainment: Monsters walk through the lines and staged entertainment for the waiting crowds. The stage performances could use some more work, but they do have entertainment value.

Length of Event: Long lines (very long) so most time is here, there is a speed past to move to the front of the line. The event has some time behind it, we clocked almost 30 minutes - great length.

Actor Performance: Most of the actors were right on time and cue, everyone done a good overall job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow had some stumbles here and there, they group up in the first maze and later get back on track. This happens several times, but they slow down the event with multiple haunted house sets throughout the woods to control grouping and bottle necks. Things seemed to move better this year, with less crowding up.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 8 and above, some in your face scares here and lots of walking.

Props / Special FX: Lots of great props here, the have the effects, they have the automation. Things are popping in the haunted house, and within the woods - lots of detail here.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make up are second to none, all very well done.

Summary: This haunted attraction is a must see event, every year these people up the game. This is one of the best events in the state of Illinois and that says a lot! The haunted house event has improved every year and now has reached the quality of the trail, this has lots of action and well staffed to keep it's value high. The trail continues to get better with age (always has been one of the best) and has great entertainment with some real length in it. We had one of the best experiences this year, everything was great and right on time. Well worth the $20.00 gate fee and maybe even the extra $10.00 for a speed pass, and that's saying a lot .

15 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Family Plot (Pekin, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/30/11 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This is located in the heart of Pekin, yes and a resident area too... And we wouldn't have picked a better spot for the family plot, it's just perfect here - the neighborhood is turned into a haunted block and it's just great. Use your GPS and it's easy to find, no marked on streets but can could be a zoning issue - but if you look it can be found.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was great for a block event and one of the better shows we have seen at any event (shadow effects) it was great and more later. The two woman greeters (one woman and one large guy dressed) were just great and right on the mark, we loved it and I ever got my picture taken with them..

Length of Event: The event took maybe 8 minutes or less, but it worked for this event.

Actor Performance: All the actors done a very good job here, everyone stayed on character and even though the crowd was grouped together without much reload time - they pulled it off good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was moving along good with multi-grouping here and yet everything when through good and we didn't have any problems here. These people do better with this than some large scale events, the event just moves along smoothly..

Appropriate Ages: This attraction works for all ages, this is a family plot and that's the perfect name - a family event here. There are some areas that have maybe a little haunt to them, but all ages will find the event good.

Props / Special FX: There are some standard props here, some advanced props, and some homemade props. Everything was very well layed out and looked great. Love the large fog machine which cranked out massive fog throughout the entire exterior of the event - mixed in with laser lights ! More below on details.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make up was very good, no cheap masks here - everyone looked very good and pulled off the character without a glitch !

Summary: This is a family plot and is run better than some high cost events we attended this year, the price is FREE! Yes FREE and they do a great job with this attraction, it was a very enjoyable night even with some light rain falling. This event draws more and more crowds every year and there is a reason, it's just a great attraction and done by people who really enjoy what they are doing. I give this a higher rating because of the quality put into this and it's no charge to enter, these people do an excellent job and I have to say THANK YOU. This years scarecrow pumpkin prop (taller and larger than the home) stands over the event fully lighted with it's evil face glowing at you, very nice! Also; the next door dark house with a fully automated shadow attacks on a window was great - I have never seen this effect before in a haunted attraction and it looked great - the best effect I have seen in a long time. And as we exit the event, yes another window shadow effect on the owners front window also, it just keeps coming at you and grade A displays. The hurst in the driveway with a coffin in the rear and the horse skeleton driving an old style horse driven hurst just adds more to the event. Everything added together here, this was a great event and looking forward to next year.

13 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Realm of Terror Horror Experience (Round Lake Beach, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/20/11 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, parking attendants with good parking and lighted safe area, but that's where it ends - nothing scary about a business parking lot. No haunted effects for mood, nice bar area for waiting, but little else.

Wait Entertainment: A few characters working the crowd, but nothing too stand out here. You have to use the bar area to keep yourself entertained.

Length of Event: We took about 20 minutes to compete the attraction, the maze gives some added length to the event.

Actor Performance: Actors all done a great job, no problems here at all, on cue and in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We moved along well and no problems here, some of the rooms are small and seem tight but we moved along well.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10 years and older, some light in your face scares here.

Props / Special FX: Lots of good standard props and a few added effect props all worked together here good. They could use some more pop here and there, but overall not too bad.

Costumes / Make-up: Make up and costumes were great, no problem here and everything looked great.

Summary: We enjoyed this event very much, a mix assortment of events and effects and all seemed to work good together. Some areas are very well thought out and others need some work, however entertainment value was good and everything went off well. The vortex tunnel (again) is really getting old and has run it's course, however they do add a little twist to this to boost effect. The picture effect is nice and interesting, the shaking room (a few this year) is entertainment and gives some effect, very well thought out. Overall: a very good haunted house and maybe a great attraction with some added effects here and there and tweaking.. Another must see event here.

15 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Eleventh Hour Haunted House (Elk Grove, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/20/11 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Wll marked event, hard to miss with lots of parking and lights to get your attention. The same location every year, but a GPS will take you there.

Wait Entertainment: Everything good here, actors waking throughout the attraction, not lines because you have your group called out before you enter the event. It's nice to keep warm, get eats, etc.. before you go into the event.

Length of Event: At least 50 minutes to compete all 4 attractions, the corn maze could take some people more time to complete, but we didn't have too much trouble getting through it.

Actor Performance: Actors done an excellent job here, everyone was picture perfect - for once ! This may have been there best job ever - in the 3 years we have attended this event.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Some work need here - we have always had some bottle up in the haunted houses and this year was the same - we ran into 2 other groups within the event, waited to clear and all was ok. The corn maze can get grouped up but that is expected!

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10 years and above.

Props / Special FX: Haunted house props were great. Lots of mixed effects and props all worked great here. The shaking floor and rooms are nice (nice touch throughout several events this year) and give you a real effect while walking through the attraction, I really enjoy this touch! Theatre type effects keep getting better and everything moved fast and keep entertainment high.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up was excellent, no cheap masks here - everything well done.

Summary: Overall we enjoyed this haunted attraction very much, lots to do here and they do an excellent job for the show value. We were here a total of almost 2 hours - best to close out the night here as we did. You have 3 built in events which move together throughout one and then the next, and the last (4th event) the corn maze. All the haunted houses are action packed and well staffed to give the fright you need, the only weak spot is the maze. The wild ride elevator has entertainment value and gives you a great experience overall. This is (yes) another must see haunted attraction in the Chicago area.

11 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Raven's Grin Inn (Mount Carroll, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: After Oct. 31 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 01/14/12
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the small town of Mt.Carroll , we found it easy to find - we used GPS. Not road marked, but easy to find the house.

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment for us. but we went right in. There is lots of exterior to look at, so there is no need for wait entertainment here.

Length of Event: We were there almost 2 hours, great length, however Halloween rush was over.

Actor Performance: The guide did a excellent job, this was the best guided tour I have seen.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We freely moved from one room to another, and all very well done.

Appropriate Ages: I would think all ages above 6 would enjoy this, this might be a little scared from time-to-time but only because the owner (guide) gives 100%.. The mood is set when you enter and the ghost stories might scare the young.

Props / Special FX: Lots of props here, all homemade and look good.

Costumes / Make-up: The guide goes through seveal different face experessions and continues to throw curves at you - very good.

Summary: This is not your standard Haunted House, this thing is really haunted - we had several things which just caught us off guard. We really enjoyed the guide which goes through story after story about the house, giving get effects as things move along. The entire house gives off a special glow (feeling) that just makes everything come together here and work great. This was our first experience here and it will not be our last, we all just loved what we experienced here. The house is stacked with props and things to look at, it would take a week to see everything. The bed slide is great, and the wine cellar is haunted, we noticed a strange glow in the basement monitor as my son dropped down the bed slide exit - lights that should have been on were off and this strange glow on the screen, just weird. He said he felt some type of presence in the wine cellar area, hard to explain and he is a hard sell. Overall; this isn't your standard event, this is a classic and very enjoyable.

15 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Massacre Haunted House (Naperville, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/21/11 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find with large lighted sign, use GPS and it takes you to the parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: This late we had no real crowd lines, we waited maybe 15 minutes in line. There was one monster walking the line, but nothing too great .

Length of Event: We were maybe 15 minutes in the attraction.

Actor Performance: The actors done a fair job here at best, lots of work needed here. They had some major timing issues and things did not move on cue, maybe one time everything went good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was not good, we ran into another group right off the start. For the slow late night crowd this should have not happened, but maybe everyone wanted to go home - weak here.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 8 years or older, some light in your face scares but with timing issues - a lot of the fear factor was gone before they yelled.

Props / Special FX: The props were standard issue, some sets were better than others. Standard fog and strobe lighting, fair at best. They have some work to do here, the maze area wasn't too bad though.

Costumes / Make-up: No real make up to speak of, lots of masks here and average at best. The costumes were ok but still need some more work.

Summary: We were expecting much more from this event and it failed to give us the scare factor we needed. This haunted attraction has the possibilities to get better but much work is going to be required. The individual event isn't too bad but the tight spaces could make some people nervous, but we enjoyed this. Several of the events weren't too bad, but the characters poor acting job totally threw off the scare. The building itself has the possibilities to up the scares and give much more bang for the buck. I think the gate fee of $20.00 is way too much here, maybe $10.00 if things get better. Much work needed here before we will return.

9 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Q.C. Haunted Forest (Port Byron, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/29/11 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Nice location in the middle of nowhere - use the GPS and get right to it easy. The road markings are not good, you won't see anything until you get there. The building isn't scary but the remote wood setting (very large and dark) is very well done. They have a bar for the adults and play area for the young kids - so you have options here if you drive there.

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment here, but you have room to roam until you are ready to go.

Length of Event: The event took almost 45 minutes to compete, lots of walking here. You walk to the first entry gate and enter the attraction from the deep woods, to the hayrack ride, and then to another gate within the woods. Very good length here.

Actor Performance: All the actors done a great job, everything was on the mark here and everyone gave 100% to the characters.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was seamless and we had no problems at all - the flow is controlled at each entry gate and even the hayrack ride. We ran into no other group tonight, but the crowd wasn't too large here either.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10 years or older here, with all the long walking and the dark surroundings here, the young kids wouldn't enjoy this. There is some light in your face scares here too!

Props / Special FX: Lots of good props here, would like to see much more automation here - kind of weak in spots and very good at others. The special effects are average - standard smoke machines and a few strobes throughout. There is some interesting decor here that we haven't seen at other events.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and masks were good, nothing too stand out here but everything worked deep into the woods. With the deep woods and darkness the outfits were good for scares.

Summary: This was our first year here and we didn't know what to expect, and to our surprise we enjoyed this haunted event very much. It was very well designed with the long walks and the deep woods surrounding the attractions which you walk into. Everything went off great and we were impressed with what the actors put into this event, everything we saw went off great. The hayrack ride was enjoyable, but could have some characters jumping out at you or automation popping around you.. The only weak spot was the return walk after the last haunted woods event - you have a return walk of maybe 1/3 of a mile without anything ! The could have used several monsters or creatures walking the return or jumping out. Otherwise; we liked the event and will return got the follow-up next year.

15 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Gilson Haunted House (Gilson, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/22/11 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the old school house in Gilson Illinois, nice road sign but not lighted. Small little town so it isn't too hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: Lots of clowns and a few monsters walking the large crowd lines. Also; projected movie on the side of the building - rocking door out-house with old monster inside shooting his stream... Very good entertainment here!

Length of Event: The waiting lines are usually long, so there is some time there. The event took us about 15 minutes maybe a little more, and the maze can extend this time by several minutes more if you have trouble, we got through the maze without too much trouble, but it has challenges.

Actor Performance: The actors done a great job, everyone enjoyed themselves and it shows.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everything flowed great and guided well into the first half, but during the rocking room and the spinning room things slow down, and the maze also has the ability to bottle neck the crowds. Overall; with the crowd size tonight being high we still got through the event without any real trouble.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 8 years or older, no real high impact scares, but good sets and good cast - very well done.

Props / Special FX: Lots of great standard props, with some added automation, the spinning and rocking rooms, the 3d tunnel (double length) and some added effects here and there.. Very nice and yes it's nice to see the crank ghost back again.

Costumes / Make-up: Most of the event is masks, little make-up here. These are well done costumes and masks, enjoyable because the characters do a great job.

Summary: We attend this event every year and this year they upped the game, this year was the best experience we have ever had. The large crowd gets bigger every year and the quality of this house is proof that this group is doing the great job at scares. The wait line was enjoyable with the various actors and surrounding to keep you entertained. The house went through smoothly and everything went as triggered - no trouble with the maze and lots to see ! This year this group hit the mark and was very good, looking forward to next year already .

17 out of 33 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Catacombs of the Lost (East Peoria, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/23/11 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located between East Peoria and Sunnyland, large building - GPS will take you to it. Easy to find the building, poor markings - no street sign and no markers, OPEN sign flashing ??

Wait Entertainment: No waiting tonight in line however "staged" delay and who knows why? There were us and two other groups here tonight, we waited maybe 10 minutes for nothing ..???

Length of Event: The event took maybe 6 minutes to complete at best..

Actor Performance: Same five actors do a fair job if that, nothing high impact here and all young kids. Lots of work needed here, nothing special and very very low on numbers - 5 kids inside event, few adults on the outside.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was smoothless on our side, nobody else to worry about. I guess they let one group in every 5-10 minutes and who knows why??

Appropriate Ages: Any age could handle this event, no real sets to see (everything dark - more later) and the kids scares were weak.

Props / Special FX: You see more props before you enter the haunted house than you do when you enter, hard to understand ?? Inside the haunt everything is dark with a few flashlight bulbs and filtered in light from the warehouse windows parking lot lights, weak here... No fog machines, no strobes, no effects - DO YOU LIKE THE DARK ?

Costumes / Make-up: No make up we noticed, everything was masks, and as far as character costumes - who knows ?? This event is dark so they didn't really need to invest in costumes or masks - just yell... Not much here..

Summary: We usually give every attraction a try no matter how small they are, with the size of East Peoria and remote to Sunnyland and Washington we were expecting something like Pekin's Dungons event - WRONG !! This event has real issues here and where to start, too many to begin to list. This is maybe a MOM/POP event where the kids are the show, nothing more! The small area of the building is the event and the waiting area is twice as big as the event, why?? The larger second building isn't used here at all ?? The sets are unknown because everything is dark, filtered light (windows & parking lot) and maybe two or three flash lights, bad and very bad. The kids (characters) actual jump out at you and then run ahead (all in view) to scare you again, again, and yes again - 5 kids do the job of 20 scares and yes with the same mask and voice, cheesy and very low quality here.. The event is short and nothing here to stand out, usually you can think of something they did that was good, just nothing here.. The haunt cost $10.00 (yes $10.00 a person) and has NOTHING behind it, at $5.00 it wouldn't have cut it. Lots, and lots of work needed here, too much to even consider it a return visit.

20 out of 39 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Clinton's Terror on Washington Street Haunted House (Clinton, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/08/11 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in an old VFW building in the little town of Clinton. The event isn't marked at all and it can be hard to find for the first time, use the GPS and it's easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: A few monsters walk around the exterior, not too bad.

Length of Event: The event took us almost 20 minutes to get through, but this includes the intro and some slowed down pacing.

Actor Performance: The actors did a fair to good job, too many young children here - children just don't give the scare we need. Some event staff located where they didn't belong in the haunted house ??

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very very poor here (again this year) and no reason for this. The event didn't have large lines tonight and this should not have happened, we have to get better at this. With the event using some triggered events - these bottle necks destroy the timing and kills the effects.

Appropriate Ages: Take out the chainsaw man and I would say any young kids could handle this event.

Props / Special FX: Lots of standard props here but they do seem to work well, some are getting dated after I have seem them now for 10+ years. I would like to see more automation added to this event.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up do the job here, nothing too outstanding though - simple but effective..

Summary: This haunted house attraction has lost alot of it's pop and fear factor throughout the years - sad because at one time this was a very very hot spot for the scare! This events needs a complete face lift to bring back the big numbers of crowds again, the lines have went from thousand to hundred. The house has possibilities to get back to the glory days of yesterday but much work is needed. We all liked the white room with the strobes, and even I liked the elevator (even though every haunted attraction has one) but the little girl outside the elevator needs to disappear when the doors open - it damages the effect when you see her again at the next level. The event started very slow and dragged along until after the white room maze, then things seemed to get better - but bottle necks killed a lot of the effects and scares. I hope to see this event return to it's better days of high scare and large draws again.

16 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Haunted Mansion & Asylum 13 (Bolingbrook, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/21/11 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not hard to find here, route 53 at Ditka's, great parking.

Wait Entertainment: No real wait entertainment here.

Length of Event: The attraction took almost 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors were fair at best, young actors that were off cue and not very scary. Lots of yelling with little motivation, they could use some real help here.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow moved along ok, we had no real issues here.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 9 years or older here, lots of yelling and in your face.

Props / Special FX: With fog machines and strobe lights, nothing too stand out here. Could use more, automation would be nice with an event this size. The sets were ok but all standard props here.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make up wasn't too bad, not great but it worked.

Summary: This was our first year here and we thought it would give much more for what is cost us, sorry but NO.. They have a lot of room here to work with, but that's it - nothing in some areas and weak at others. A few rooms were detailed not too bad, but it didn't have nothing popping out or anything to keep your attention to the effect, just weak here.. Very poorly layed out, they have lots of potential here and yet they failed to give the attraction what it needs - scare factor! We just didn't see much here to want to return to next year - we'll give them some years to work on this.

15 out of 30 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Pirate's Den Haunted House (Saybrook, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/14/11 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in small town of Saybrook - right on the main drag - nice marked banner and lots of flashing lights .

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment here, we moved right to the start.

Length of Event: 15 minutes maybe.

Actor Performance: Actors done a good job and everyone stayed on the mark.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: A guided tour so everything moved along good, but crowd to speak of - flowed good.

Appropriate Ages: 6 years should enjoy this event , no real in your face stuff here.

Props / Special FX: Some light laser effects, maybe some fog machine, lots of standard props. Simple, yet in worked for this local haunt. We liked what we saw.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up was all good here, simple but effective .

Summary: Follow up on later report: my quick type yesterday was wrong - we where very happy with this event and NOT disappointed. This event was just our stop by during the travel from Bloomington to Chsmpaign and our hopes were not high, but we had a good time here and did very much enjoy our visit to Saybrook. The haunted Hayrack hide would have been a nice touch though, but due to low attendence tonight it wasn't running (probably should have though) ! The event had length and we were very happy we stopped by here..

20 out of 41 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Fearfactory Haunted House (Rantoul, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/14/11 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location the same every year and not too hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment wasn't nothing to speak of, but there were no long lines so everyone moved right through to the entrance.

Length of Event: Maybe 20 minutes here and all action packed.

Actor Performance: The actors done a great job, one of the better haunted house performances I have seen.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was great, no bottle necks tonight, but with a few maze rooms this could slow down the flow throughoutb the event.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 8 years or older, there are some in your face scares here. We saw a 12 year old girl too scared to enter and she had to exit.

Props / Special FX: Lots of great props here and some fx effects, like the devil's fire! Lots of interesting detailes here and lots of look at.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make-up was great, everyone done a great job here.

Summary: This haunted house has always been noted as a good haunted event, but this year they seemed ever better than ever. Everyone in our group had lots to look at, the sets were great, and the event was layed out excellent and moved along good. There are lots of very good people working this event and it shows, lots of super detail here and we are looking forward to next year. The event has some up/down stairs and crawling, but its all good and enjoyable - but be ready! This event does have some length overall and we never felt rushed through - so we enjoyed all the detailes!

11 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Decatur Jaycees Haunted House (Decatur, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/28/11 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is a large building (warehouse) with a lighted sign marking the event, not hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: No real wait entertainment to speak of, one creature walking the crowd - somewhat interesting but not scary.

Length of Event: Maybe 25 minutes here, a lot of time in the maze area.

Actor Performance: Actors done a fair job, could use some more work with the acting.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not too good here, we ran into another group right off the start, we had to control the jamming up.. The maze had several groups here, but nothing too bad - we got through it ok.

Appropriate Ages: 7 years and older here, nothing in your face here.

Props / Special FX: The props overall wasn't to bad, they have a good mix of standard and custom props. They could use some automation here!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make up wasn't too bad, they have some with real detail and others fair at best. Also; maybe a few less masks would be nice.

Summary: This haunted house has been much better throughout the years, last year at the Steve & Barrys old location was much better and maybe there best effort yet. This year things just didn't come together that good, the location (building) wasn't too bad but the effort well down. The house could have been organized better, the space available could have been used better. There were areas which had something going on and others that were dead, nothing - hard to understand except maybe the lack of props to cover the space.. This house has a good draw and should be on mark, with the proper people doing this event it should get better. The maze area was well done, it takes a little know how and time to get through it, this was good and maybe the best of the experience. I hope to see this next year with the added rooms and extra effort to get this back to a great event.

11 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Asylum of Mad Dreams (Cordova, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/29/11 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located off route 84 and well marked with lighted sign.. Nice remote surroundings, very good location.

Wait Entertainment: No real wait entertainment noticed here, but we weren't waiting long, group called ! We waited around fire until called out to enter the BUS.

Length of Event: Almost 40 minutes all together, get length !

Actor Performance: Actors all done a very good job, a few broke character only because some girls ahead of us called for their pictures, NO CAMERA'S SHOULD BE POSTED HERE - They kill everything going smoothly !

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow started good and hit bottom fast, these girls ahead of our group slowed and stopped the action cold ! A mess here and the characters even apologized for these massive delays and disruption !! Sad, because everything kept this event from a stand out is the crowd flow was bad to worst !!

Appropriate Ages: Maybe 9 or 10 because of the in your face stuff and remote wood surroundings .

Props / Special FX: Some standard, so home made and some high end all put together and done very well. Some automation monsters - nice touch with the full sized room monster, very nice work here !

Costumes / Make-up: Not a lot of make up here, but good masks and costumes seemed to work good. Maybe a little more detail needed but it is a remote location and dark so you might not really see the detail if it was there ??

Summary: This haunted house is one of the better ones in the state, lots of great length and overall well assembled and put together with buildings all grouped together and move flow from event to event. The rooms were from good to better and everything went off as planed but the flow slowed it up - NO CAMERA'S ! The BUS was the best experience I have had this year with a travel throughout a remote wooded area that no roller coaster could match - excellent and very well done. With our first year here we loved what we saw, the hillbilly remote walk through was nice, but maybe weak of actors. The buildings were done great and everything was detailed well, people did the job well here - with NO CAMERA's this would be great ..

18 out of 38 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Pirate's Den Haunted House (Saybrook, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/14/11 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the little town of Saybrook, hard to miss on the main street - nice banner well marking the event. Lots of flashing lights and nice pirate ship facing the road.

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment tonight, but not needed - we moved right to the entrance.

Length of Event: 15 minutes maybe a little more.

Actor Performance: Everyone done a very good job here and stayed on the mark.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The attraction flow was excellent - however this event is totally guided.

Appropriate Ages: 6 years and older.

Props / Special FX: Lots of standard props here but everything was good. No high impact fx effects, but overall nice.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up was all good,.

Summary: We attended this event between our trip from Bloomington to Champaign and we were disappointed with what we saw, this was a very enjoyable haunted attraction. We had no high expectations with this haunted event but we were wrong - this was a very good local event and everyone enjoed it. We missed out without a hayrack ride (they have one) but they just didn't have the crowd tonight to warrant a hayrack ride, but that would have been nice. The overall length of the event was very good and lots of detail work here to enjoy.

10 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Highschool Massacre (Port Byron, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/29/11 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunt located behind the school, and there is the twist here - it's not actually the old style school house you see upfront here but a remote one level storage building behind - not as scary ! The lighted road sign isn't too hard to spot, we stumbled over it by accident.

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment here at all, we moved into the haunt without much delay.

Length of Event: Maybe 8 minutes here at best at best, nice small event, but no length here at all and not much to expand it here.

Actor Performance: Actors done a fair job at best, nothing too high impact on scares.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was seamless here, but we had nobody else here to crowd into to. There was one group ahead of us (5 minute wait) and one behind us (5 minute wait) with a 8 minute event not crowding here.

Appropriate Ages: I would say any 5 year old and older here, the only impact scare was the chainsaw at the end.

Props / Special FX: The props were standard issue but nice overall, nothing high tech here - no automation here. They used the fog machines and the strobe lights, but nothing more on the effects .

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks here, but they were ok. The costumes were average here but with this event it seemed ok.

Summary: This is an average event but has some entertainment value for it's size - the price of $10.00 is too much, I would say $5.00 here at best. (Go get a SPIRIT card and get in for the $5.00 price). This event as stated before has some entertainment value with the props and some of the well dressed rooms, we enjoyed some of the rooms very much and they did a good job with what they had. The parking area isn't too large but for us we had no problem parking or getting out. Overall; nice small attraction and worth a look at, keep the price at $5.00 and it works.

13 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Rantoul haunted dungeon (Rantoul, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/14/11 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the basement of a downtown business (fish store) somewhat questioned but it worked good. The location is marked somewhat in question, but nice road sign on the main drag.

Wait Entertainment: No real wait entertainment we noticed, but not needed tonight anyway - no long crowd.

Length of Event: 15 minutes maybe a little more.

Actor Performance: Actors done a fair to good job, everyone was on mark and no real problems here.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good, but no real traffic to speak of.

Appropriate Ages: 6-7 years should be ok here, it depends on your fear factor.

Props / Special FX: Lots of static prop, nothing real stand out but all good here... No high tech stuff - no real FX to speak of.

Costumes / Make-up: Costume all good - make up all good.

Summary: This year was the first year we attendeded this event and it wasn't bad - we didn't expect much here but we had a good time and enjoyed the visit. This wasn't a knock out of the park event, no high tech automation (none) and no real high end props - but everything they had and done was enjoyable and well done. Some light in your face scares here, but nothing too off the cuff. The location was in question (fish shop) but after you enter the dark gloomy basement things begin to get weird ! The characters stayed on the mark throughout the event and everything moved onlong very well. This attraction did a fair job with what the had and we marked this enjoyable in your in town .

14 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Dream Reapers Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/20/11 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not too hard to find - use GPS ! Same place every year, sign marks the turn into parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: Some monsters walking throughout the lines, light entertainment here and maybe they could use more here. Rocking casket is fun but doesn't take too much time off the event wait.

Length of Event: I think we had 20 minutes here.

Actor Performance: The actors always do a very good job here and this year no different - on mark and on cue.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everything moved along good, we had no real bottle neck issues here and with a large crowd, not too bad.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10 and above, some in your face stuff here.

Props / Special FX: A very good job here, automation effects, extra pops, etc... Nice detail and well thought out.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were excellent, they always do a great job with characters and this year maybe the best of any other. Make up excellent and no real masks here to speak of, top notched job.

Summary: Very well done job this year, maybe some of the sets are in need of an update of more effects, but we enjoyed what we saw. The vortex tunnel again (they are getting dated) was ok but and the continue afterward was good. This years haunted house was very good and well thought out, with some changes over last year and added effects in some areas however, could use some tweaking here and there but they are on the right track. Everything moved along great and was well timed, on the mark triggers and all actors right on the cue. A must see event here !

16 out of 37 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Spider Hill (Chillicothe, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/07/11 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is the same as every year, it works great. More of a setup for younger children, but older will find the exterior woods surrounding that work very well. It's located at Three Sisters Park, so mark hour GPS - approx. 8 miles north of Peoria.

Wait Entertainment: Wait under the covered roof with a few monsters in costume and a few out. There is the new Fright Night Theatre (well done) with Nightmare before Christmas and Corpse Bride.

Length of Event: We were there about 2.5 hours, somewhat middle sized lines. The haunted house was about 15 minutes, the trail about 20 minutes and the hayrack about 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: All the characters done a fair job, some much better (trail clowns) and others (children) fair at best. I don't think children cut it in a haunted attraction, just not enough experience to pull it off.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The hayrack moved right along and no we had no trouble - as expected. The haunted trail was a nightmare of bottle necks and slow to 
Slower traffic flow, a real problem here. The haunted house is another bottle neck in the making, the middle maze gets everything slowed down and traffic jammed right in the middle to the end, we have to work on this guys!

Appropriate Ages: Younger kids can enjoy this attraction, maybe even 5 years or younger - no high impact scares here.

Props / Special FX: The props all work very good here, with the haunted trail with some automation, the haunted house with some automation, and the hayrack with some automation. Smoke machine, lasers, and a turning tunnel (yes everyone has one) but they have two ??? Some standard props and some home made props gives everything a nice original touch.

Costumes / Make-up: Nice selection of make-up and masks, the costumes all seem to work good. With the dark surroundings outside it's hard to see the detail in the costumes and make-up, but it works good from what I noticed.

Summary: We attend this attraction every year since it started, we seen the average to the better of this event. This year the guys have done the job good, everything looked much better this year. The hayrack ride was a great improvement, with more action going on - still weak of actors but much better with props and automation which works. The trail started out weak with lots of walking in a dead woods, no pops or monsters at first - but things get better, much better. The trail adds some more props this year with automation and more live actors - too many children here though. The haunted house give you the same twist as every year, nothing new here. I would like to see them put more effort in making some much needed improvements here. This has been a very good haunted house throughout the years, but let's update and upgrade this event. This years new Fright Night Theatre was a nice touch and much needed for taking a break, for both customers and cast. Overall; I give this attraction a 8 mark because it was very enjoyable (??) but not a total fright night experience by far.

12 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: 12th Annual Extreme Haunted Hayrides In Riverside Park (Springfield, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/28/11 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the park on the outskirts of Springfield Illinois, remote location that works good. Not hard to find and marked on the roadside.

Wait Entertainment: Low this year on wait entertainment, one monster girl walking throughout the crowd (no line here, they call out groups) and she wasn't too involved with her character. They usually have several monsters walking throughout the event as they break. They have a DJ doing Halloween music and videos, it seemed to keep people in the spirit as they set around the two fire pits and keep warm. Also; food provided if you need it.

Length of Event: The travel by the hayrack ride around the park takes about 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors done a very good job, others would draw your attention one way while monsters would jump out with chainsaws and explosions to jump you. These guys like what they do and do a great job as they jump on the hayrack with screaming people. Very good job here with impact scares!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow is seamless because the hayrack ride is controlled and everything is on the mark.

Appropriate Ages: I would say at least 8 or 9 here, with the darkness of the woods and the chainsaws and explosions, too much impact here for little kids.

Props / Special FX: Some interesting props throughout the ride, same things from year-to-year - could use some more props on dead spaces. Interesting props but could use some more pop out automation throughout the trip.

Costumes / Make-up: Too much darkness to make out the detail of the masks or costumes, but what we could see all worked ok.

Summary: This is a very good attraction and has a large draw, but could use a facelift here and there, too much of the same theme every year. Would like to see them up the game here with more props and some jump out automation effects. The only problem we noticed was the poor traffic control people handling this event, the woman with the light directing the main traffic flow was bad, she had no idea what she was doing and it showed. Otherwise, everything moved along very good and we had a good time, we will be back next year.

20 out of 47 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Fright Night (Forest City, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/01/11 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the remote small town of Forest City, there are no visual markings on the road to make this event easy to spot. This is a small town so you you can locate it without to much effort.

Wait Entertainment: A few monsters working the outside and walking around, some in character and some out. There isn't anything scary about people in character eating at the food stand though.

Length of Event: Between two locations and the hayrack ride to each, at least one hour here.

Actor Performance: All the actors and actress did a very good Job and stayed on form. The outfits were good and no cheap masks here.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There were no bottle necks with other groups and everything moved very well.

Appropriate Ages: I would suggest 10 years might be right here, there are some in your face fears here.

Props / Special FX: The props are all standard here, don't find any automation here. The houses and trails are well organized in layout and work good. No special effects to speak of, some monster grinding steel and a few smoke machines.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were all well done and the make up was good.

Summary: Overall a well done event and our group was happy with what we saw. There were some areas that could use some help, the set of the church has a dead stairway which isn't used but could be very dangerous for someone to fall into it - very dangerous!! The disorganization of the haunted trail with cast exit doors open (we actually exited the event early and had to return) and characters behind the sets, this mistakes take away from the event ! The church overall was very good, the event was well staffed and good in design in most rooms. The remote house is very good however some of the crawl areas entertaining but not scary. The trail into the barn was good however somewhat confusing in it's layout - but it worked. We go to this attraction every year since it started again, it is well worth the travel and enjoyable. Note: watch for the local speed traps though, the sheriff has lots of time on his hands here.

13 out of 31 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Asylum Xperiment Haunted House (Villa Park, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/21/11 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, signs mark the event good. Large building with lighted sign.

Wait Entertainment: Very good wait entertainment here, monsters walking the lines and do a great job. Concession stand with good food and reasonable here.

Length of Event: We took almost 25 minutes to complete this event, nice length here. The waiting lines do get large here, so start early.

Actor Performance: The actors all done a great job, everything was on time and the cue was perfect here - a joy to see. I only noticed one event that was off timing, but it still was enjoyable.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow slowed down several times here and there, but no real bottle necks to speak of. Everything went off good for an event of this size.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10 and older. There is some in your face scares here and they do a great job pulling these off.

Props / Special FX: Lots of great sets here, some standard stuff with added custom effects gives the haunted house a great overall look and effect here. The automation props are very good and have lots of pop behind them, very nice touch here.

Costumes / Make-up: The make up and costumes were perfect here, no cheap masks. Everyone looked very good and stayed on their mark.

Summary: Our first year here and we were surprised at the event, this is one of the best haunted houses we have attended this year and maybe ever. Everyone was perfect with the character and never broke character, some younger people here but it worked great. These people are focused on giving you the best scare and it shows, everything was great throughout the attraction. The elevator effects were well done and enjoyable and yes even fun. Lots of "visual effects" here and they looked great! This is a state-of-the-art haunted house and it doesn't get any better. Looking forward to next year already.

18 out of 43 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Darkness Haunted Attraction (Pekin, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/01/11 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the old Steve & Barrys sports shop, so we have a large building here, next to Super WalMart so you can't miss it. No street markings here, so you have to know its here.

Wait Entertainment: Some clowns walking throughout the attraction.

Length of Event: We took around 5 minutes in line, not too many here tonight. The event took about 10 minutes to complete .

Actor Performance: All the characters stayed on the mark here, no body broke character in out view.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everything moved along well and the event was very well designed.

Appropriate Ages: I would think that the standard 8 year could handle this attraction without much fear.

Props / Special FX: Lots of good standard props here, no automation however some could be used here and is needed badly. The special effects were only in strobe lights and fog machines.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make up was very well done.

Summary: We attend this event every year and have noticed improvement every year, but this year it just seemed to weak here. I would like to see more changes next year, the building has more to offer than what they are using. The event holds together good, the true blood twist might be interesting, but falls short of real fear factor. The ending this year was weak with the tunnel (good tunnel) but nothing - nobody this year blocking the exit or creating fear in the tunnel exit. This attraction is a nice touch for a haunted house, but much more work needs to be done.

12 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Terror at Skellington Manor (Rock Island, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/29/11 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the old hotel (3 stories high) in downtown Rock Island. The location couldn't be any better if it was at Disney - the large old style hotel gives you the perfect look, the best I have ever seen ! The marking are not good and it would be easy to drive by without notice, use GPS and make it easy.

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment was good, we had a great introduction by automation, the waiting line had chainsaw monsters and a large devil (large) walking throughout the crowd. This event draws numbers but they keep late hours and do a great job keeping you entertained. Even "Young Frankenstein" playing on a large screen with great decor to look at - you are waiting in the hotel grand ballroom. (picture perfect here)

Length of Event: The event took us maybe 30 minutes to complete and was perfect in length. We waited in line maybe 20 minutes - total 50 minutes here.

Actor Performance: All the actors done an excellent job, everyone was great and stayed in character throughout the haunted house. This was maybe the best job I have seen all year period - perfect!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was seamless throughout the actual haunted hotel, we ran into no other groups until the final exit. The final exit got messed up somehow but it didn't effect the total rating of this haunt, we couldn't see what slowed down the close, but we still had a good exit.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 9 years or older here, there is some scare factor here and young kids would have a problem with this.

Props / Special FX: The props are excellent - lots of top quality props here, nothing cheap! These are Hollywood type props and mixed into the setting perfectly and worked great .. This is the best stocked haunted attraction that I have ever seen, including Chicago and ST. Louis - remarkable here! The special effects are right out of Hollywood, lots of high tech automation, bust projections (Disney) and overall high end effects throughout.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make up was excellent, the best I have seen in years. Everything was picture perfect here, no masks here!

Summary: We attended this event for the first time and couldn't believe what we saw. This is simply put the best haunted attraction maybe in the state of Illinois, including the big cities. This haunted house is located in a large three story hotel with the surrounding that are second to none, and they use all floors here. This is a grand attraction and has no weak points at all, this gives you the feel of a real haunted hotel. From the start to the end you are surrounded by monsters, creatures, effects and everything in between, a must see to believe attraction! This is the best $12.00 I have invested all year for a haunted attraction, if this was in a large city you would be looking at double that price easy. Overall; we have found a new staple event here and we will return next year for more SCARES!

20 out of 50 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: InnerFears (Bloomington, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/14/11 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This building overall has possibilities (the old building used in the famous creatures crypt haunted house) - more later ! Marked good when you know it is there.

Wait Entertainment: A monster walking through the line with a axe. No real lines tonight so no long wait here.

Length of Event: Maybe 15 minutes top.

Actor Performance: All actors done a fair to good job - lots of pop out characters and everyone was on the mark.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was very good, but no lines either.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 5 years could handle this event without too much trouble.

Props / Special FX: Lots of standard props, some laser machines, lots of fog machines, a few pop props - nice overall but some work needs to be upgraded here.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up was good and everyone looked very good overall.

Summary: This marked the return to Bloomington with a haunted house in the building which housed the famous creatures crypt and that where it ends! The haunted house's return had us all fired up and looking for the days of great, but it falls short and fast! The house was too quick overall, everything went fast and there just wasn't nothing here to continue to. The events were standard props and no high tech equipment or special effects to speak of. The building is good but would like to see it shift back into the old location with more room, and next add some more to this event - maybe twice as much. For Bloomimgton there should be more to thus event, there are smaller attraction throughout the state which have more pop and give more scare factor with less location. I hope that someday this event marks the return to greatness of a Bloomington haunted attraction, but as of now, falls short!!

11 out of 31 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Boo Crew Haunted House (Rochester, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/08/11 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the little town of Berry Illinois, just outside Rochester. The event is very poorly marked and if you didn't know it was there you wouldn't know it.

Wait Entertainment: Lots of great (not good) waiting entertainment with well trained actors doing a fantasic job. They are the best at working the crowds, and they do have large crowds.

Length of Event: The event has some good length overall, I think we were good for 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: All the actors done a great job, however too many young children here. People just don't understand that kids are not scary and usually fall short. There was a middle aged woman who was dressed like a zombie (I think) who kept giving me those eyes and even with her make-up she was attractive, I hope go see her again and soon.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow moved through the attraction flawlessly and we had no problem.

Appropriate Ages: I would say about 8 years old and older, some light in your face scares.

Props / Special FX: These people do a very good job every year with automation effects and lots of smoke and mirrors, perfectly done.

Costumes / Make-up: The best costumes and make-up of any haunted attraction outside St. Louis and Chicago, these people do the homework great. You will not find anybody doing the make-up better, period !

Summary: We attend this event every year, and this group does a perfect job and it's a privilege to attend this event. This year we used the speed pass because this attraction draws the numbers, and we had to make tracks to other events. Everything went well throughout the attraction and we enjoyed this years theme, it seemed to work good - my son missed the airplane crash though... The only flaw I noticed was several Boo Crew staff members throughout the event talking to costume actors, just doesn't work good within the event.. There were other crew members stationed throughout the event which didn't seem right either, hard to figure this because they are usually better than this.. Overall we had a good time, and looking forward to next year..

10 out of 33 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Torment at Twelve Hundred (Orion, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/01/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the middle of nowhere, great location. Not marked very good, a GPS is used here !

Wait Entertainment: Some wait entertainment, with the usual cast of characters - hello Kirby. New Sheriff in town and he means business!

Length of Event: 30 minutes .

Actor Performance: All the cast did a good job, some of the girl performers could use a jump start.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everything moved along very well, but the crowd was very weak tonight.

Appropriate Ages: I would say anyone over 8 years could handle this easy.

Props / Special FX: Lots of good props, some of the same stuff as year after year. Some motion triggered events, but nothing too eye popping - same large monster as last year, but it works.

Costumes / Make-up: All costumes and make-up is very well done, no cheap masks here.

Summary: This is our first event this year and it came out good, really enjoyed the extra tunnel and trailer in the middle of the woods - nice added attraction here. We all thought more automation would be nice and much needed. The actors are low on numbers, they could use a booster shot here.. The events hold together good and the crazy attraction did entertain us, we were happy with the overall event.. The theme of events stays the same about every year (crazy house) with some minor tweaking here and there. The food and gift shop is a nice out and the food and pricing here is very reasonable and overall good.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2019 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at