Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2011 Visitor Reviews Submitted by dropap85

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
43 out of 69 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Doom Haunted Factory (Zion, Illinois)
Reviewed by: dropap85   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/01/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the history warwick bulding, it is hard to find if you dont have gps, but its a creepy bulding when you get there.

Wait Entertainment: There was a big guy, with a face on his stomach. He was entertaining, and a few actors inside... a pirate guy and a clown, both awesome makeup.

Length of Event: They have different priced tickets, but we did the ultimate package with buried alive.

Actor Performance: I been here for past four years, actors are usually really good idk if it was the first night or what but the actors broke character alot, the only cool thing we went into a bedroom and a guy came from the bed that was cool, but the actor wasnt ethusiastic, and alot of them broke character, and when we went into the 4d mercy hospital, the guy sending people in was rude and swearing at me cause I teased him, and the actors in the gerneral hospital were good, until we got into the morge area when I saw the actors in the corner talking on walkie talkies and not even paying attention to us, they could have been better.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They always do awesome in this area since there were six diff passage ways into the haunt. never ran into another group but it was a dead night when we went anyway.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: This is the category they did awsome in, alot of new props, and sfx, 4d mercy was awsome, more props beginning of house when they say ruled things drop from ceiling really cool.

Costumes / Make-up: They always do good in this category, makeup was realistic, excpecially i give props to the makeup artist doing the makeup in 4d mercy general, mad the characters blend in with the 3d panels on wall very awesome.

Summary: Overall, it was opening night for them, but them being ranked one of the top haunts, I wasnt very impressed this year, like I said, I been to this event the past 4 years, they really did an amazing job, i jumped alot, and actors stayed in character, and it was there opening night, this night I brought 6 people all girls who never ever been to the haunted house who didnt even want to come in, when they got in, they laughed the whole way, disappointing this year, cause they actors where breaking character, in the clown room, mercy general, and the room with all the barrels, and haunted houses there not allowed to touch you and out of all the rooms they had maybe 2 didnt touch us, but yeah, actors could of been better, but overeall special effects, makeup, and props always amazing, this house as a chance to be number 1, but they have alot alot of work to do.

18 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Frightmare Haunted House (Burbank, Illinois)
Reviewed by: dropap85   (Event Visited: 10/17/11 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: this attraction was located on the property of haunted trail amusement park, right off of harlem ave, there the haunted trails sign that says haunted house open and big frightmare building

Wait Entertainment: when we got there it was kinda busy for a monday, maybe caus eit was a 99 cent day, but there was no one roaming the line or entertaining us,it would of been cool if they did

Length of Event: 10 min or depends on how fast you walk throught took us 10 min

Actor Performance: actor performance was very very poor, i mean all the actors did was stand there and stood at you, but i did like the girl in the ring room, she was good and creepy got a girl in the group we were in,but they need to be more ethusiactic and creepier and also dotn take off mask when we are still in your room after your scare

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: patron flow was excellent, i didnt run into any groups

Appropriate Ages: 5 and above

Props / Special FX: the props where ok, the dog in the begaining popping out of the wall was pretty sweet, and this guy flying out of a mausoleum that was pretty cool

Costumes / Make-up: costumes matched the rooms the actors were in, but on that night, most of the actors didnt even wear makeup and had plain faces, some rooms where good like jason mask in the wood and michael myers in the bedroom and the ring girl, long black hair awsome, but other room, like a clown in a cage no makeup, clown outside befor you go up the stairs no makeup

Summary: overeall this wasnt a scary house, it was more fun then scary, it a good start haunted house for kids or even teens who never ever been to a haunted house, there where a few things that i like, the loud music playing in front, got you ready for the attraction, and the ring room, with the well was very detail and actor in there she sas creepy, but the other things they need to work on, more actors need to be more creepy and ethusiactic, i recommend this haunted for a whole family, not scary,def wouldnt pay 10.00 for it what it usually is, but pretty decent haunt

15 out of 30 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Statesville Haunted Prison (Lockport, Illinois)
Reviewed by: dropap85   (Event Visited: 10/25/11 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: locations was good, right off of weber rd, across from menards, in the cottonwood farms,

Wait Entertainment: they excelled on this catagory, they wait entertainment was awsome, statesville wait area, really made you feel in a prison scene, and the actors, out of this world, entertaining and funny, 
 
city of the dead entertainment, were ethusicatic and nice

Length of Event: statesville-14 min timed it 
city of the dead-10 min

Actor Performance: actor performance was okay, i mean they were alot better in the past, the on acotrs they were awsoem was th eacotrs in line of statesville and city of the dead, the guy fluffy, was creeppier but funny, and the zombie that just looked at a rock and screamed, funny, and took peoples hat an dput them on other people,  
and city of the dead, the girl with a skull mask veyr interactiv ei like her, the actors in statesville, was good, but they could of been better, in the bus and actor popped out to early,and werent into ther roles liek i thougth some just stood there city of the dead, more in your face and creepier, excpecially the guy who runs over your head when you go in between the air bags

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: patron flow,  
statesville-very poor went in with group of 6 cam out group of 18 ran into to more groups ahread of us 
 
city of the dead- poor- literally throught the whole house there was a line of peopel walkign threw they have time to spread them out

Appropriate Ages: 9 and up

Props / Special FX: props and special effect where awsoem to the warden always good flying over your head, to the electrical current, and citry of the dead actor levetates over the crowd very cool, and a big greature comes with a saw awsome

Costumes / Make-up: costume and make up where good, def perfect for the rooms

Summary: overall, i was reall disapointed how this house went this year, 30 dollars is alot but i had a buy one get one free coupon, liek the wait entertainment was the best out of the hous,e actors, interacting with the customers, gettign into there face chasing them and just being funny and creep, to ge tthe tone for the haunt, and going into a cell mad eyou feel liek in prison, and after the warden, wnet down hill from there, some of there actors where ethusiactic and some just stood there, and one of the actors 2 of the in the room with the girls wearign the gas mask, i was surprise to see this, the girls where texting on there phones, when we cam on i heard and my group told the other girl ill text you later an dtalk later then scream by then where where half way out of the room already, other cool this about this was the new clown room, bungee awsome 
 
i will come back next year, but alot of young actors there i can tell after i saw in that one room two girls texting on there cell phone, and one other thing, two many actors in one room, doesnt get scary spread them out 
 
CITY OF THE DEAD- this out was alittle better, but actors made creepy gruntin gnoised, awsome blacklight makeup,  
 
def seen better statesville, i come back every year def wasnt your best year, hope u have a great rest of the season

10 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Six Flags Fright Fest (Gurnee, Illinois)
Reviewed by: dropap85   (Event Visited: 10/23/11 @ 3:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: its at six flags great america so its so easy, to find right off the highway on grand ave

Wait Entertainment: there where not alot of street actors walking around but i really liked the biohazard section all the actors there where awsome, 
 
studio 13- no actors entertaining the crowd just taking tickets and telling the rules 
 
mausoleum of terror- none 
 
medical masscre center- none 
 
primal scream-none

Length of Event: mausoleum of teror- 5 min 
 
massacre medical center- 3 min 
 
primal scream- 1 min 
 
studio 13- 2 min 
pluse it all depends how fast your group walks

Actor Performance: actor performance in the haunted houses and around the park were ok, they could of been better, i think the best actors where lke i said the one in the biohazard section with as mask and all over the customers very good 
 
mausoleum of terror- the actors, were ok, they werent very ethusiastic all they did was pop out and some actually sayed "boo" they one that said boo, are the one that where in the drop frame 
 
studio 13- actors here wheree alittle better, they got into there roles, but they could of bene more ethusiastic 
 
medical masscre center- this was the bes tout of all the attractions, the actors here really got into there parts, none of them broke character, and in the begaining this girl in regular cloths came up to us ask she lost here group so we told her they can join us, while we where walkign past a front desk and near eleveators, a acto poped out of one of the elevators did expect that and took they girl, was awsome 
 
primal scream, actoirs, need to learn how to act, only were 3 in the section and two broke character

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the patron flow in all ther attractions where ok, alot better then recent years, bit i still ran into groups they only place i didnt run into a group was medica massacre center

Appropriate Ages: 6 and

Props / Special FX: props and special effects in the park , were out of this world alot of new props this year, and the haunted house, mmc, a realy ambulnace so awsome 
 

Costumes / Make-up: costume and makeup really great in this catagory, all make up fit there scene, and just awsome job with medical masscre center make up really made it seem you were in a hospital scene very awsome

Summary: overeall, this year fright fest, is alittle better, every year seems like they get better trying to change stuff last year saw, this year primal scream and medical masscre center,  
 
my advice but more actor out on the strret, and train actors in the haunted houses, to get more ethusiastic and in face,  
 
like the actors in medical massacre center, were amaizng, not creepy just awsome, in your face, really made you seem like in a hospital,with the ambulance in the bulding and all the medicla beds and iv machine veyry detaile and great actor in that area 
 
awsome job with new , and this year keep up good work

10 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Screams In The Park (Rosemont, Illinois)
Reviewed by: dropap85   (Event Visited: 10/24/11 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: if you dont know where you are going, you will get lost, but whne you get close you got the police directing you to the haunted house, its next to the muvico theater

Wait Entertainment: there where no wait entertainment, idnt really need it when i was there i was the only person walking threw the house

Length of Event: 15 min

Actor Performance: actor performance, where good, but you can tell this is a new house, some acotrs really got into there charactor, like the guy rounning the elevator, the guy in the fotn telling you the rules, with a dog that was awsome, also some actors when they popped out sayed boo, and when they actors popped out there timing was veyr bad i was like two arm lenghts away when they popped out,its kinda of happens when your anew house, but next year they should be good and better

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: patron flow, they really need to work on this catagory, i was the only person in my own group and i ran into a group near the fireplace youe walk into.its a new house this is one thing they really need to work on

Appropriate Ages: 9 andup

Props / Special FX: this is the catagory they excelled in, alot of awsome props to a dog in the begaining moving around barking, to a big creature in the cemetery, talking to you very awsome, props they actors had whee a meat cleaver, so plastic cause when they banged it against the hospital bed in the morge, the top of it flew off, but awsome special effects, alot of money but into them, it was more fun looking at them then gettting scared

Costumes / Make-up: costume and makeup, could of been alot alot better, they just had white makeup on and some blood, but all actors had same amount of makeup and i love the costume, made you feel into the 1800s era

Summary: overeall, for a new house they did a pretty good job, its more of a visual haunted house then a cary haunted hous,e veyr visual with scence and props, alot of the actors where really good in the roles, but popped out to early, the actors that really stand out the elevator operator really awsoem and creepy, and the girl in the be that rose up, really cool and the actor in the front telling you the ruled while he is petting the roboting dog that look real really cool,  
 
if you dont like getting scared coem to this one, its more a visual haunte dhouse and great for startes i recommend this for family memeber, give it a few years thus house as poential for beinga good house, my only concern was they house had alot of light in it, has to be darker, to make it a creepier area

14 out of 42 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Fear City: A Haunted Attraction (Morton Grove, Illinois)
Reviewed by: dropap85   (Event Visited: 10/25/11 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it was in a old factory kind of buidling, it was hard to find unless you knew wher eyou were going, when you get closer you say cop cars guiding you to th parking lot

Wait Entertainment: there was no wait entertainment, but there place was dead, but there was one guy walking around in a top hat, with rats having people hold them that was cool

Length of Event: 20-25 min

Actor Performance: actor performance were good, but they could of been better,we got the vip peep show, that was interesting, actress in there was into her role, when you get into the house, some actors where very ethusiastic in your face really played there rolls good, some didnt, the clown room where the clown pooped up from the ballons good scare,

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: it was good, there was no one else there so didnt run into any group

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: props were so and so, some parts you new had fake knives other, when they put two knives together they spark that was awsome, special fx, was awsome, the el train pretty cool, but during the shaking the doors open, and the big creater that came out of the wall very cool, and the rooms where so well designed and looked really awsome like it was really part of downtown chicago,excpecially with the bedroom scene and justin beieber pic in there

Costumes / Make-up: costume and makeup where good, def fit to there scene in the room

Summary: overall this house was better then i thought, i read the reveiws and was debating on if i should go or not, but honestly this is a fun, awsome hous ei jumped one, i dont jump very ofte, so i dont knwo why peopel talking abou tthis is a bad house, i an my group very enjoyed this, the scene in this house where awsoem and very detail so the alley to the el train and red line station, to the clock room was awsome, the actors can be more creepier, but the one that got me was, the dark maze and there was a glow in the dark pic on the chest and pooped out good scare just liek the clown in the ballons,  
 
 
i mean it was a overeall great hautn, i would def recommend it, scene awsome, actors need to do some work but this is there first year, next year they should be good, my only bad comment is, they need to be alittle more dirtier, it was to clean other then that, great job fear city, def goign to stop by next year to see you guys,

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2019 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at