Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2011 Visitor Reviews Submitted by ghosthunter

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
18 out of 35 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Fearfactory Haunted House (Rantoul, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/08/11 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunt is easy to find, just watch for the signs on the main street. We have been there several times so no problems finding it.

Wait Entertainment: None, there was no wait; but maybe this will change when they get a little busier.

Length of Event: 12 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: Only two actors were memorable and they were the two first performers we saw. The stilt-walkers are always good. The 7-8 little girsl that we saw working in the house were just screaming in people ears as they walked through. Not scary, just annoying. They would also get right in front of you and stand- when you tall you can see them until you run into them. Please teach them to say something different or not to scream directly in peoples ears. Good thing I am deaf and could just see them screaming in my friend's ears as she cringed.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This house needs to learn to control the patrons a little bit better. They always seems to be a large group walking through at the end. Our group went from 5 to about 15. there are many places in the house that will allow for a little wait for patron control.

Appropriate Ages: 10 on up.

Props / Special FX: Good use of props and animatronics. Explosion was good as always.

Costumes / Make-up: Figure out something else to do with little kids- giving them a mask or spray painting their hair green and pink is not scary. 
 
Stilt walkers are great- backwoods characters are really good!!!

Summary: They did not change the house around very much just that the exit was the entrance this year. The slide which was a nice attraction was changed also and made it very difficult- don't stand up too fast- please post a warning.  
 
This house has always done a decent job in the past. What has changed? This year I thought the admission price was TOO HIGH for what they were offering. I felt we did not get our $10.00 worth. I thank my lucky stars that I did not pay the $15.00 for the 3D tour, I would have been very disappointed.

18 out of 37 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Clinton's Terror on Washington Street Haunted House (Clinton, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/14/11 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find located right on Washington Street in Clinton. The street is marked off by baricades that should keep people out. Please people driving cars stay behind the baricades they are there for a reason.

Wait Entertainment: There was music playing outside. There was also 1 stilt-walker standing outside but he was more interested in talking to his friends. We were there for at least 20 minutes and he never moved from his spot. When we were in the ticket line you could see he was just hanging with friends.

Length of Event: Less than 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: I don't even know where to start on this one. Our first room after the "Rules Room" we did not even know if this was the right way to enter because there were two adults dressing in that room. We finally went in the room and one woman pointed and said look and the other woman in costume said "It's...(long pause)...It's Alive". The rest of the actors were not on cue or paying attention in any way. Only 1 actor seems creepy- the old woamn but then you looked down to see her bright tennis shoes.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This is an area that the house did a very poor job. Even at the beginning they said in the rules to count to 10 when you ran into another group. This never happened the group just ket getting bigger and bigger. At one point there was 13 or 14 people all shoved into the elevator. Even though we told the group behind us to wait.

Appropriate Ages: 8+, I did not see anything that would scare children. The chainsaw guy might have. I am not sure since our group was over 14 people at this point.

Props / Special FX: Some strobe lights and a few animatronics that were falling apart. Nothing too out of the ordinary.

Costumes / Make-up: I only saw a couple of actors that looked like they had dirt on their face and everything else was a rubber mask.

Summary: Clinton has always been a stop on our Haunted House tours but I think this year they might have lost us. Everything was off the mark, no scares. The house seemed to be the same they really did not change much. 
 
In the ticket line we told the ticket counter that there were 6 of us and since it was not busy we wanted to go in 3 and 3. When our number was called, which was a new feature this year, we found that they had put people in our group. They were not busy there was no reason for this. 
 
The price of $8.00 dollars was too expensive for the house. This was a $4.00 house at best. 
 
Please take some of the comments from this reveiw and the other reviews to improve the house. 
 
Better luck next year; but I would imagine Clinton will be off of our list for visits.

17 out of 37 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Gates of Delirium Haunted Attraction (Gilman, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/08/11 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Once we arrived in Gilman there could have been more signs leading the way. After driving through Gilman we did happen on the downtown area. Not too difficult to find.

Wait Entertainment: There was one old vamp that was really good. Looked like a creature out of the Decent.

Length of Event: The event ;ast around 12-14 minutes.

Actor Performance: All actors were in character and stayed in character. Most the time you would happen upon actors talking and did not experience it in this house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The patron flow was really good. They did a really nice job in this area. I was last in our group and did not see anyone behind me except ghouls.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 12 and up but I did notice some wee littles ones going through. Maybe their experience was a little less frightening.

Props / Special FX: The use of some props that I have never seen before. Really nice electrifying event! Blood and Gore always works good in my book and they used it well.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks in this area. I only saw a couple of characters in make-up but what they did was really good. Kuodos to the spit up man!

Summary: For being their first year this group did an excellent job. Overall the actors had great timing and bought their A game. Would have like to seen more actors scaring people in a couple of areas but I saw the people in front of me screaming which was a plus. Would like to see you instate something like a fast pass. We were traveling and always try to hit a couple of houses but since the wait in line was long only did two that night. Nice job this year- can't wait to see what is in store for next.

13 out of 34 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: InnerFears (Bloomington, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/14/11 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was easy to find since there were three haunted houses that were located here in the past. Sign that said "Inner Fears" located at the turn onto Bunn Street.

Wait Entertainment: Really just two guys that came up to talk and joke with us. One demon and a pirate- plus one guy outside that let out a girly screech as some patrons walked by.

Length of Event: Around 7 minutes at best and that was walking straight through.

Actor Performance: One actor was on cue scaring but the others were lackluster. No ones performance really stood out.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not run into anyone else in the house; but I think if this was a crowded night and there were a lot of other people waiting to go through there would have been big groups. There were really no stop gaps unless the actors did this to prevent large lines walking through.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Nice use of strobes and laser lights but in 90% of the rooms they were in, there was no scares just black walls. The smell of cotton candy in the clown room was great!

Costumes / Make-up: The majority of the actors were in make-up. Only two really stood out and that was the guys working the lines.

Summary: Our group had worries going back to this location that it would be another house that was not worth the money. Our inner fears came true this was a rehash of houses that had been tried in this location in the past.  
 
The creepiest room was the public bathrooms loacted right off the wait line. 
 
$10.00 is way to expensive for this haunt. At best this is $6-$7 haunted house. Especially for the first year consider reducing the admission cost. For a first year house you have to bring your A game for a $10.00 admission price and clearly this house does not match the price. We wanted to ask for at least $5.00 back as we were leaving.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2019 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at