Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2011 Visitor Reviews Submitted by spook

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
35 out of 52 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Doom Haunted Factory (Zion, Illinois)
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/09/11 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Rather difficult to get to from the south if your not from the area and it not well marked.

Wait Entertainment: small crowd for a Sunday early so I don't think the full crew was there. There were to clowns that were good not great.

Length of Event: 45 minutes

Actor Performance: They were all pretty good. For the most part they didn't have complicated parts so they did what they were suppose to do.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: You have several ticket options and picked the high one so we never had a problem until the chain link maze at the end.

Appropriate Ages: 10(brave 10) and up. we had a 10 year old in our group and he was fine.

Props / Special FX: Not quite I thought it might be but that have enough to put them in the upper class of high dollar haunts.

Costumes / Make-up: They don't ask a lot but they have is good. They don't do the really great make up for the most part but it doesn't hurt them

Summary: I liked this event better in the old location. It is basically the plywood maze with some nice rooms. We went for the single greatest attraction in the haunt world which is buried alive. it was half the size and half the event that it was before. I will say the outstanding feature was the 3D room and vortex. Next to the twin vortex at Spider Hill this one rocked! I kind of thought the price was a little high for the amount of stuff they had. I would expect that they will get bigger as the years go.

22 out of 38 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Torment at Twelve Hundred (Orion, Illinois)
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/16/11 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Impossible to get to and yet get there you must! It is beside route 74 and you must use two tiny roads to snake back to it. It adds to the atmosphere.

Wait Entertainment: They have one guy.....and great he is...he was there two years ago and he is still there. MOMMA?

Length of Event: 30+ minutes

Actor Performance: never skipped a beat even for a small group like ours. they mix performance and stalkers to match the scene. they are as creepy as you get. You will be creeped out cause you got pretty skin.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: small crowd on Sunday so I couldn't say on peak days.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: they excel here. These people know how to use a high dollar prop to great effect. The use of "poppers" was as creative as I have seen. Their final giant creature was a sight to behold

Costumes / Make-up: great again. they care about detail and go for makeup over masks.

Summary: We went two years ago and thought it was ok. It is a combination of outdoor trails leading to a multitude of shacks and buildings. There are mad doctors and deserted buses...a true variety. You will be assaulted the entire time by something. This was our second haunt of the night and WOW...what happened to this place? They have a mix of well lighted scenes, darkened scenes, dark trails, animation scenes....a simulated underground passage, vortex tunnel done right. It is far and away my favorite haunt this year and we have been to the icons of Chicago. I could not have been more entertained....great great job guys!

16 out of 31 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Nightmare on Fairgrounds Road (Princeton, Illinois)
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/15/11 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Along a main road(route 6/34) just off of 80. Easy to find

Wait Entertainment: They don't use the rope corridor that the big haunts do and it all outside. It is common to see the stalkers chasing someone across the lot. They love their chainsaws.

Length of Event: There is a wait between two barns so I'd say 25 minutes real time.

Actor Performance: Most were very good. they mix some performance people in with the usual screamers and chasers. I noticed a couple that didn't really seem to be into it but overall not bad.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Inside the barns the flow was good however when we were there there was a long wait in between. They have a short hay rack ride that takes you out and makes you walk through a long barn filled with actors.

Appropriate Ages: They have something for small kids in another barns so anyone can find something.

Props / Special FX: They had some stuff I have never seen before. Nothing really big except this plane scene that was awesome.

Costumes / Make-up: Nothing real special but the Castle scene had a couple that was well done. They could use a make up person.

Summary: We hit at a peak time so my complaint was the wait. Otherwise I had a ball going through this. The pirate scene was as detailed as any I have seen even in the big haunts. It is an odd collection of scenes that don't really look like some of the other haunts. They could use a couple more really good actors to fill them. They had two vortex's that were well done. The prison scene got me. The big event was the plane scene in the second barn. They had so much stuff going on I might need to see it again.

22 out of 45 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Terror at Skellington Manor (Rock Island, Illinois)
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/16/11 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is downtown and the parking is not great so follow you Tom Tom our get a good map.

Wait Entertainment: None that I have ever scene but we were there on Sunday when they are not busy so I don't know about peak times.

Length of Event: 30 minutes

Actor Performance: they have always been good in this area. There were only a couple that didn't seem to get into it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not bad, they tend to control the crowd as you go through.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: Yes indeed they have them. this is what they do as well anybody I have seen. If animated props are not your thing than be warned because that have lots of them. There is a collapsing mine that so cool I won't spoil it.

Costumes / Make-up: They do as well here as anyone I have seen. The actor are what they are suppose to be. There is a girl with these sharp teeth that is chills down you spine cool.

Summary: I love this haunt...I loved it last year and I love it still. They are located on several levels of an old Masonic Lodge so they have limits as to how they construct scenes but that do it with as much creativity as you would want. I am a regular haunt goer so I kind of know whats coming however they got me several times. If you have never seen poppers used get ready cause you are going to. The detail is as good as anyone although they stay pretty much in the low light. The actors stay in character and come from everywhere. When it comes to animation they are second to only the Giant haunts. I was entertained from the moment we entered until we left. Love this haunt!

13 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Dungeon Of Terror (Mazon, Illinois)
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/23/11 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Mazon is not a large town and its located on route 47 so it is easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: they had a chain saw "Massacre" character , a clown and another creep that were doing a nice job.

Length of Event: hard to say with two attractions and a puzzle maze at the end.

Actor Performance: They were good to great. There was a little girl screaming for help that was bone chilling.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good. we had a group catch up to us but that was no big deal really.

Appropriate Ages: parents know how brave their kids are and they should NOT take kids that are going to be terrified.

Props / Special FX: This is a non profit haunt so they don't have the money that the big boys have but they make the most of what they do. The dog scene is really good.

Costumes / Make-up: they have their own make up dept so you will see really nice make up here. They have an eye for detail

Summary: I had a really good time at this haunt. It is the classic maze design leading to several rooms where you are assaulted by mad doctors and bouncing clowns. They sprinkle in some very effective special effects along the way and always there are hidden pockets. Love the drop panel.Well done. The second attraction is a mind bending maze with a clown/creep master of ceremonies that lets you in but may not let you out. The effect is compounded as they point out your failures and make you feel really bad about yourself. It is a good time and I will be going back.

12 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Statesville Haunted Prison (Lockport, Illinois)
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/01/11 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/11
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty easy to get to from any direction as it is located close to large freeways.

Wait Entertainment: The wait was an hour and 45 minutes for us plus several waits after we got in. I think the ones they had were good but I could have used a couple more for tha waiting time.

Length of Event: 45 minutes

Actor Performance: they excel here... we have been to five haunts this year and the actors here are as dedicated as we have seen thus far.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They are good in this category but not great. we caught a group and a group caught us but it really didn't matter

Appropriate Ages: A brave 12 year old won't have a problem.

Props / Special FX: Oh yea...this is a big haunt with a lot of money and man does it show. Big creatures, stunning electrical, The best use of the claustrophobia air bags that I have ever seen.

Costumes / Make-up: Again the inside show was well done and detailed. The only cheap costumes were the outside stalkers that didn't really bring their A game in the costume dept.

Summary: This is the haunt that everyone talks about. If you are a haunted house enthusiast you must go here at least once. We go to as many of the name haunts listed by this website as we can. None so far can match the size and detail of this one. They deserve to be the icon of haunts that their reputation has given them. Having said that however I was not as entertained here as I have been by several others. The Doctors scene is intense, brilliantly performed, and a site to behold. The Bathroom scene will have you talking all the way home. The vortex was sub par. Guys...add a couple more scenes to break things up! You clearly have the talent and the money! Still a very good show.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2019 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at